Amsterdam to Maastricht Tour Reviews — 1 to 16 of 16

Castle in Cuijk, the Netherlands. Flickr:Stephan Dufornee en Twan van de Valk 51.728799135543326, 5.882335318853196

Amsterdam to Maastricht

8 days from €1214

4.5 out of 5

Amsterdam to Maastricht

Easy Bike + Boat Tour in Netherlands

This European bike and boat itinerary leads from the west of Holland, through the heart, and into the south as you navigate and cycle Dutch river landscapes through medieval villages! As you cycle…

4.5 out of 5

 


Edmund P.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We highly recommend this tour for its scenic itinerary, charming villages, and cultural experiences. The Sarah compares favorably to other Standard Class barges. The staff were welcoming and attentive and the meals well prepared. Our guide, Wilme, created relaxing, amusing, informative and safe routes that adapted to all skill levels. This was our 9th bike and barge experience and we are already planning our 10th. As far as advice, it is more for the traveler than the host. Knowing your comfort level with the various barge classes will allow you meet your expectations. Swapping amenities for intimate small canal and passenger capacity works for us, but not for all. Finally, practice paying at home with your phone pay apps as Europe is increasingly cash less and even credit card adverse. For us, nothing beats seeing Europe at the speed of our bikes!

Domenico R.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Maastricht and Amsterdam

John J.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Great crew on the ship. Had a large group of 19. Was very satisfied with all aspects of the trip. On time, on schedule, and good value. The guide was able to assist a couple of people who wanted to find old family connections during the tour which made a very memorable trip for them.
We did arrive a couple of days early to get our bodies adjusted to the time change. Also spend a extra few days in Maastricht to take in the local sites. (well worth it) A day trip to Valkenburg was excellent.
Minor issues. Could have used a extra guide to split the group in two more compatible riding groups. With the large group it was hard to move through traffic( stopping at intersections or crossing roads) Dutch traffic was extremely polite and accommodating.
We were blessed with a couple of local people on the tour who assisted in filling in information for us tourists. Where to eat, what to try, tips on getting around, and what types of pastries or beers to try.
Map and GPS riding system worked wonderfully.

William O.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The bike routes were the best and our tour guide Klaas exceeded our expectations

Elaine W.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

What a wonderful week biking Maastricht to Amsterdam. Riding through beautiful countryside every day with our knowledgeable leader made this trip a memorable one. The staff on board the Sarah were top quality and we would consider another trip again.

MaryJane A.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Best trip ever. It would be nice if the crew did not smoke on board but that is the only negative thing. Everything else was fabulous!

Johannes S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

There was none. Due to the Covid situation we decided to cancel the trip. However we were not able to change the reservation to next year and ended up having to pay to get out of the deal. Not very nice and not very user friendly, Haven't heard any response to my earlier complain.

Sandra S.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Seeing the Netherlands by bike is an enjoyable way to do so. It was also fun to share our experiences each day on the barge with a group of like-minded people. Our bike leader made sure that our needs were met.

Dawn D.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Wonderful tour guide- very knowledge, very helpful

Sandy S.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Seeing the countryside in the Netherlands was the highlight of this trip. The group was very friendly as well.

John and Deborah R.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip. The crew on the "Sarah" were fantastic, the meals amazing, the cycling through the countryside
was unforgettable. Would recommend trip to anyone wanting a friendly, relaxing cycling tour.

Maureen W.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most Memorable Part: The gardens at Achen. Huge and impressive. But you need to get there before 3.30 to do them justice. No entry after 4.00/4.30

Winona N.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most Memorable Part: The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff as well as the beautiful scenery.

Mikky from Tripsite
6 years ago

Tripsite Staff

This was my second tour with Tripsite and my first tour in Holland, and it was wonderful. The Elodie offers an indefinable atmosphere, which made this more than a bike tour, it was an experience I will never forget! The camaraderie amongst passengers was established the moment we stepped foot on the boat. Our tour guide, chef, and captain were amazing, they treated us like kings. I work here at Tripsite and would love to share more details with anyone interested in this tour. :)

Jon H.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

5 star bike tour in the Netherlands. The Elodie is a clean and comfortable barge with a family type atmosphere. The guided tour through the country side is the best way to take in all the sites of the small towns along the river banks. Staff aboard the Elodie was first class and the food was amazing.

Jim M.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This was our 4th Barge and Bike Tour. This and all of the tours have been wonderful. Really enjoyed the country side and the little towns along the tour.
Our guide talked about some fascinating history as we rode thru the Netherlands. The windmill tour that our guide arranged was outstanding.