Around Lake Constance Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 62

Stein am Rhein on Lake Constance, Switzerland. Flickr:Luca Casartelli

Around Lake Constance

5–8 days from €523

4.5 out of 5

Around Lake Constance

Easy Bike Tour in Austria, Germany, Switzerland

This bike tour around Lake Constance (aka Bodensee) will lead through the countries of Austria, Germany, and Switzerland on the Lake Constance Cycle Route, one of Europe's best-known cycling paths.

4.5 out of 5

 


Catherine G.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This trip was so well planned. All services, hotels, transportation were excellent.
Bike trails were great. Attractions were great. A good time was had by all.

Ann A.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Overall, this is a lovely trip, with beautiful sites and numerous delightful stops along the way. We chose category A hotels, modified the 7 day trip by adding a 2nd night in Lindau, and spent the last 2 nights in Arbon, where we ended the trip, without returning to Konstanz (this is our 9th trip, about 50% bike and barge). It appears the daily destinations change depending on the length of trip and availability(or best rate for booking company??).
Pros: Lots to do in Konstanz, including swimming in the lake. Enjoyed Hotel Halm very much - central location, nice rooms and good breakfasts. We adored Hotel Rheingold - rooms were new, with patio or deck, and restaurant was delicious, with a gorgeous hilltop view. Lindau was the perfect 2 night stop with lots to see and quaint restaurants. The upgraded Bayerischer in Lindau was super with much appreciated sauna and two wonderful pools, delicious breakfast - highly recommend the A+ upgrade. Parkhotel in Uberlingen also had Read More

Clare S.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Everything was great! Accommodations were clean and comfortable, luggage arrives onsite each day. Everything was well organized.
We had a wonderful Ed smoky trip, the memories will last a lifetime! I’ve already shared your website with quite a few people! Highly recommend!

MARJORIE S.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The trip was amazing and we loved seeing all the towns and the countryside. I would rate it as easy-moderate as there were some pretty challenging hills. Also, the directions could be confusing at times.

Taylor R.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

I loved cycling through the small towns the first 2 days. The buildings were so cute and the flowers were gorgeous! Highly recommend a gel seat pad. We used the wee-hoos for our 2 girls and they were great, however if you are short there are some challenges getting them attached to the bike. The bike shop was great working with us to make it happen, but it took some creative adjustments.

Nikki B.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Amazing scenery and wonderfully organized. We were extremely fortunate with the weather for our 5day tour. Being late September, it was harvest season and we watched them unloading, weighing and processing grapes at the winery in the centre of Meersburg, as well as cycling through orchards of apples and pears at the peak of harvest.
On the weekend there were multiple events around the Untersee, including a rally car event, Porsche event, and moped event. Travelled through picturesque towns, as well as agriculture fields with cows and sheep with the iconic sound of their traditional bells. Most of the ride we were on trails designated for bikes exclusively, and where the bike trails were shared , with either traffic or pedestrians, priority and respect was given to cyclists. This route had very few hills. The hotels were well organized for bike storage

Ellen L.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Lovely trip, beautiful scenery. There is construction which has made some of the paths change. Some signage a bit difficult to follow.

José M.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The places visited was memorable, both: towns and hills.

Kathleen F.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The scenery was so beautiful and all the hotels were very nice. The signage around the lake was confusing at times. There should be an option, for an extra fee, to have quality helmets provided along with having bikes delivered and picked up at hotels at beginning and end of tour.

Tobi W.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Unfortunately ww had a lot of rain and some cold temps. However we still made it to the hotels every day!
Our hotels were wonderful and in great locations. GREAT VIEWS!
We also made a few wrong turns due to poor bike signs..
Overall..it was still a fun trip and glad we did it!

Eugenio R.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This incredible trip allows us to have a mix of beautiful natural views and amazing old towns. It’s not a tough biking, which is good because all the family can enjoy together.
Along the tour you will have the chance to enjoy the German and Switzerland gastronomy, which is a great point of this experience. I deeply recommend it.

Richard M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The whole experience was fantastic!
The operator was extremely well organized - all our bikes were ready, the explanations were detailed and thorough and the maps/information booklet was very useful.
Hotel selections were fabulous and a real treat to arrive at each after day of riding. Hotel staff were well prepared to deal with biking groups; our luggage was always easy to retrieve.
The "extra" day we spent in Lindau was also very enjoyable.

Christa K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The bike rentals were heavy, I normally ride an enduro style mountain bike which is super light compared to the rentals. Next time I would look into different bikes as there was two big hills we had to climb for one hotel.
All hotels were amazing and paying extra for city centre was worth it.
We were surprised to find that there was a huge language barrier in Germany- they were not at all accommodating and even rolled their eyes when we spoke English. All European countries I have been to will at least try and we can get a meal ordered.

Piero B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The whole tour was fantastic.
Perfect cycling path on all 3 countries crossed.
nice villages and mood.
Perfectly organized and targeted for families.

Tom K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Lake Konstance was a wonderful biking experience. The ebikes were great! I would recommend some type of rearview mirror on the bike. We did the 5 day “easy” trip but there were 3 fifty mile legs. We cut thing short by taking the ferry and that worked well. Anna from Tripsite was excellent switching our hotels as a result of shortening. Luggage delivery to the hotels was seemless! Both hotels were great with excellent breakfasts.
We had perfect weather the whole trip.

Rami H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The lake was beautiful! Pretty much flat land the whole time. Enjoy the days! Rain was pretty frequent so get your rain gear.

Lonnie Maddox
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We are two couples who rode this tour on two tandems. We thoroughly enjoyed the entire ride, which was mainly on cycle paths or on low-traffic roads. The sights, the food and the accommodations were outstanding and can’t recommend them strongly enough. Make sure to take a side trip to Mainau Island. Truly a tour any cyclist would enjoy. Just do it!

Chris A.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Riding up towards the on the water stage in Bergenz was amazing. You could see it from quite a distance which built anticipation. We walked around the seating area and read all of the informational signs (presented in German and English) and took lots of photos.

Russell S.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This was a great bicycle tour. I would certainly recommend it. Although Tripsite is a re-seller/partner with Radweg-Reisen GmbH they were able to provide great detail, lots of help and were quick to answer questions.
The tour itself was great. Most of the hotels were wonderful, just a few exceptions lowered the overall rating for this trip. The detailed maps, provided by Radweg-Reisen GmbH we quite impressive. The overall signage along the trail was great, once you understood the various signs, logos, and colors.
The bicycles were good solid, well equipped - no mirrors though :( Panniers were large and very waterproof (we did get rained on).
Overall, a great trip.

Susan P.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I loved biking though the country side and seeing the small towns along the way. I wish I could have spent a little more time in the small towns. I kind of felt like I had to keep moving. The bike trail itself was very well marked and I really didn't need to use the map much. Just looked where I was going next and how far it was that was really all I needed to get around. The people were lovely. We enjoyed meeting other bikers on their bike trip many from England and having a beer with them at our destination. The hotels were all great, most in historic buildings that have been redone to modern standards. This was my first bike trip would defiantly take another one, but would pay the extra money to get an e-bike.

Donna L.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The beauty. Flowers were in bloom, the orchards were full of apples, the green hillsides were gorgeous.
The booklet we received would have been more helpful if received beforehand. The directions could have been much clearer, especially to the hotels.

Scott A.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

My wife and I would definitely recommend this tour. Hotels were all first class. Luggage was always at hotel no matter how early we arrived. No complaints on any part of the tour. We did use GPS on route which was helpful especially when trying to find hotels.

Chris S.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

My wife and I just completed the 7 day tour and had a wonderful time. The cycle trail around Lake Constance is mostly dedicated bike trail and the many towns and villages are beautiful. We did side trips to both Reichenau and Mainau islands. Reichenau island is near the bike pickup location in Constance and is an easy warm-up ride. Mainau island is well worth a couple of hours. We used standard bike which were fine (we are both in our 60s) but most people seemed to have e-bikes. Highly recommend this tour.

Donald K.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We had such a wonderful time - The bikes were great, the accommodations were very good, and the total experience was just suburb! We were a large party of 14, but all was taken care off, and we had a great time - a trip of a life time!

Rhonda G.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This cycling tour was amazing. I would have to say the Rhine Falls were spectacular. Riding into the Stein am Rhein village was simply breathtaking. To see how people live and still live in this village was simply amazing

Therese Z.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

My husband, son (16), nephew (17) and myself did the 7 day Lake Constance tour in Germany in August. It was an awesome experience from the booking, payment, tour, and hotels. We travelled from Canada and stayed in Zurich the night before tour. We took an Uber from Zurich to Lake Constance (approx 1 hour). The train was also available and the station in Lake Constance was directly across from our first night accommodation, Hotel Halm. The Hotel was quite nice with a beautiful dining room and incredible breakfast. All the hotels were clean, easy to ride to and had super friendly staff. We stayed in 3-5 star hotels as we wanted to be close to town centers.
The bike tour itself was mostly flat with a few hills. You must pay close attention to bike signs as we got lost a few times. Even with this, it was easy to get back on track. My husband had google maps that showed bike routes. Although I am an avid road biker my family is not. They had no problem biking 40km to 65km Read More

Susan B.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We loved the trails that ran close to the sea shore, as well as passing through the small towns. It’s really important to watch the signage along the way in order to stay on course. It’s sometimes challenging to locate the overnight spots based on the descriptions in the tour materials. They would be better if they provided more detail.

Sitaraman R.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Travel agent was very helpful with late booking.
Hotels were excellent.
Bike company was excellent and helpful.

Gordana L.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Very recommended for beginners and intermediate cyclists. Beautiful sights as well as great accommodations in quaint towns.

Larry F.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Overall, the Lake Constance tour was excellent - wonderful scenery, good bike paths, and we were fortunate the weather cooperated so well (sunny days throughout). I think we pushed ourselves to do the full lake tour in just five days, because this, in effect, meant only three days of actual riding, so the distances were a bit long, and this constrained our ability to stop and see more of the many interesting sites and just take our time moving across the breathtaking landscapes. The bikes were excellent - first class touring bikes and well maintained. The hotels were decent three-star options, and the breakfast buffets were a perfect way to start the day. All in all, a memorable experience, and we are already talking about a more extended bike tour with Tripsite next year.