Austria Bike Tour Reviews — 61 to 90 of 132


Suzanne P.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Innsbruck to Bolzano
Austria, Italy

We really loved our ride from Innsbruck to Bolzano. The scenery through Austria was breathtaking and the hotel accommodation was excellent. We have not stopped telling our friends what an amazing time we had, all thanks to Tripsite.

Sean B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

Most Memorable Part: Staying at the Hotel Schloss Durnstein

Terence W.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Favorite Part: A short cycling day through quiet, autumnal countryside, took us to Bratislava leaving us with oodles of time to spend exploring colorful backstreets and the rise to the impressive castle.

Dean Mitzel
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Budapest
Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Austria

This was our third bike tour with Tripsite and we were glad we came back. We we were able to see 3 new countries for the first time (Czech Rep, Slovakia and Hungary) with the same excellent logistics, accommodations and food we experienced on our other two trips. Tripsite staff was there whenever we needed support in any country. We'll be back!

The Doeys
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Four Country
Austria, Germany, Liechtenstein, Switzerland

Our first bike and barge and we are already looking forward to many more. We are two 60 yr old couple who all love the outdoors, adventure and travel. Our cabins were on the top deck of the Carissma, roomy enough, turn down service each night and big picture windows. Excellent food, especially the dinners. Albert was the tour guide on board and he was organized, knowledgeable and patient! No problems with the bikes or directions - we were self guiding, 21 speed bikes. Easy terrain. We highly recommend the city bike tour of Budapest and Vienna as you otherwise may miss great hidden gems, interesting stories and local guides. We stayed at Hotel Residenz in Passau for one night before departure and highly recommend the visit to this beautiful port city and the hotel! We could not recommend trying this style of vacation more. The staff on the Carissma did everything to make the week comfortable, easy and well organized. Wonderful way to see cities in 4 countries in a week.

Ronald Z.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

St. Moritz to Innsbruck
Austria, Switzerland

Most Memorable Part: The small towns set in the beautiful mountains with it clean air and pleasant residents.

John and Janet B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance - 12 Day
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

The most memorable part was clearly the scenic routes, food, friendly people and cities selected for lodging. Great hotels! Tripsite delivered on services as promised.
We were disappointed/frustrated with the lack of route details and direction into and out of the cities. Despite the network of paved bike trails/paths, we spent too much time confused asking locals for direction to our destination. Perhaps for persons accustomed to biking in Europe, the vague directions presented no difficulty, but for persons from America not familiar with the signage and more accustomed to turn by turn cue sheets, we were frequently challenged to find our path. Asking directions from local residents did give us an interesting opportunity to communicate across languages. We would recommend you add more detailed directions into and out of cities.
Thanks for your arrangements to make our trip possible. We really did enjoy our bike tour around Lake Constance.

Larisa L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Most Memorable Part: Biking along the forested area near Minau, biking through cobblestoned streets, and seeing a wide variety of things in such a short distance (orchards, cathedrals, castles, swans, mountains, etc).

Ron Zauski
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

St. Moritz to Innsbruck
Austria, Switzerland

Wow....this is my fourth trip with Tripsite, this was the BEST natural scenery yet. The views of the mountains and countryside was breathe taking on every day. The hotels were very clean and well maintained; most hotels exceeded my expectations including the free breakfasts. Day #2 was the toughest day especially because the ascent was mostly on an unpaved surface, but the views on day #2 were the best. Switzerland and Austria are impeccably maintained countries; everyone was friendly and welcoming. With the main map in German, I appreciated the additional pamphlets in English in our packet.

Michael R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Four Country
Austria, Germany, Liechtenstein, Switzerland

Cycling through the countryside, seeing Stein-am-Rhein, the Rheinfalls, taking the boat across the Wallensee, seeing the Schattenburg in Feldkirch, and visiting the Abbey Library in St. Gallen were all highlights.

Jeff B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Four Country
Austria, Germany, Liechtenstein, Switzerland

Konstance was very bike friendly, and interesting.

Kristine C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Riding through the countryside, seeing the roadside farms along the way, was far and away one of the most beautiful parts of the trip. We enjoyed finding places to eat, visiting museums, taking an excursion to the monastery outside Stein am Rhein, and finding cool drinking fountains to refill our water bottles! We had some trouble finding the path at times, but the longer we rode, the easier it was to decipher the guide/route. We took one really long, uphill (very steep) wrong turn on day 2- at least riding back down to the correct path was easy. Overall, it was the best part of our trip! Would have loved to have seen Rhein Falls, but I think it may have been too far away.

Elyse Jacob B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

St. Moritz to Innsbruck
Austria, Switzerland

Most Memorable Part: The 3rd day of riding downhill.
Tip: The first two days are difficult. When you train for this trip be sure to train on hills.

Bill W.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

St. Moritz to Innsbruck
Austria, Switzerland

We are long time customers to Tripsite and have always enjoyed our trips. This year we did St Moritz to Innsbrook. It was an amazing trip with some of the best views we have ever seen. The ride was challenging for the first few days but then it got to be a typical river ride. We did a triple room package rather than paying for a single supplement and it worked great. All of the hotels were newly renovated and very modern. The people of Switzerland and Austria were very friendly and supportive. Again these trips in the alps are so spectacular! Looking forward to planning next years trip.

Deirdre R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

On the first day at the end of the ride, we tackling the "unpleasantly steep incline"(your words).....after going the wrong way at Stein am Rhein. We should have listened to the local 'angels' we met on the way! C'est la vie!

Deirdre R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

The most memorable part was the beautiful scenery, because of the spring blooming and greenery everywhere. We recommend someone to go on the trial to prepare markings at every intersection. We had to guess which way to go many times. For international travelers, maybe one page in the booklet of the varied biking markings would be very helpful.
The law in all 3 countries does not require you to bring a helmet, but we recommend it.

Annette Weaver
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Budapest
Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Austria

A fabulous tour. Friendly countries to cycle in, great history and a variety of terrain. Would recommend an extra night in Znojmo to give you a chance to go discover the catacombs.and a chance to enjoy the magnificent view , wine and delicious food from the local winery. Would check with the tour company to ensure that the bikes will be delivered the night before so they can be checked out.
The Czech Republic, Hungary and Slovakia were places we had never been to and they exceeded my expectations hugely. Accommodation was chosen well and the bike company was very helpful.

Sally S.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance - 12 Day
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

This was the BEST bike trip! Lake Constance is a beautiful setting, lodging was terrific, loved my e bike and food was good. Thanks to you and Radweg-Reisin for making the arrangements.

Steve & Jan C.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna - OV
Austria, Germany

Extremely happy with our trip. There were a couple of times where maps or detailed instructions would have been helpful, eg. How to get to the boat in Passau and more detailed directions to get to our accommodations. The other part of the trip that proved difficult was getting from the train station to our hotel (Novotel Suites) in Vienna. The biking through the city was a bit dicey.
Each accommodation and restaurant knew who we were and was expecting us. The luggage always arrived before we arrived. The bikes were comfortable and worked well (after using our own tool to adjust a dragging brake which wasn't discovered until after the first day). You offer a great service and were very helpful answering our many questions prior to the trip.

Neil Blanks
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Salzburg & the 7 Lakes
Austria

Just came back from an exceptional Salzburg Lakes holiday.
I'll start with the good - fantastic scenery (so green), friendly well-appointed hotels, not too difficult route (a few hills from time to time but appropriate for the "easy to moderate" level, well sign-posted. Even the continuous rain on the first day didn't dampen our spirits.
This was my second time with "Tripsite" (went to Provence, France two years ago) and I feel compelled to add a few negative comments by comparison. Most of the maps and brochures were in German and not English. The quality of the bikes was less than expected. Far worse was the comedy of errors on the bike handover - no saddle bags, no repair kit, no pump, no apology. We only got the missing equipment at the end of the first day of riding. My thanks to the Tripsite Team, who did their best to intervene on our behalf.
In conclusion - don't let the negative comments stop you from booking this trip. I would however recommend to Tripsite to have a serious word with their local agents to prevent such mistakes in the future. And, yes, I'm already planning the next trip !!

Marion M.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

The city maps could be better! We met 2 couples from Australia and teamed up and rode as a group! Great experience. However, on the last day on the boat trip to Budapest, the boat loaded a group of 19 bikes in addition to all the ones on the scheduled trip. When we got to Budapest only 1 in our group were able to unload, before the boat headed to the other shore. That left 5 of us on the wrong side. The last day did not end as planned. There were way too many bikes on the ship!

Philip S.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Innsbruck to Bolzano
Austria, Italy

Loved the route through small towns & vineyards in Sud Tyrol.
Guide book could be improved with maps incorporated.

Philip S.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Innsbruck to Bolzano
Austria, Italy

The most memorable part of this trip was riding through kilometers of apple orchards on a beautifully paved bike trail.

Phil & Kim
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Innsbruck to Bolzano
Austria, Italy

What an awesome bike trip!!
Well organized, incredible scenery, great hotels, mild/moderate difficulty.
Recommend to anyone in reasonable fitness level.

Evan C.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Munich to Vienna
Austria, Germany

A big thank you to all your staff and to Austria for making my journey a wonderful experience.

DeeDee & Steve C.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Moravia
Czech Republic, Poland, Austria

We've already recommended this trip and Tripsite when friends and family ask us about our experience.
We'd also like to complement Bird Service--the Polish bike tour affliate who organized the trip. Bird Service did a great job arranging all transportation, hotels & dinners.

Jack G.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna - OV
Austria, Germany

Very satisfied with Route, only comment the finish was not as clear a couple times to find the Hotel location.

The guide needed to be more clear on the final route to hotels .

Heidi L.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna - OV
Austria, Germany

The route (along the Danube) was excellent - all paved, mostly with a view of the river and away from traffic. Markings were great and easy to follow.

We were provided with a lot of information (maps, routes, suggestions), but they were in separate books and materials. It would be helpful if they could be integrated more, or if we could have received more of the information ahead of time. It took us a couple of days to sort through the various pieces.

The best hotel was in St. Agatha. The best meals were at our hotel in Melk. Grein was a very cool town, with lots of art and theater. It was also very picturesque as we approached. The most beautiful site was the Abbey in Melk; the most meaningful was the Mauthausen Memorial. The biggest surprise was the swimming pool at our hotel in Krems. We loved the Wachau Valley, where we had vouchers for a bottle of wine and a tasting of liqueur. We also loved having the bikes available to explore Vienna, on the last day of our magical week.

Sinéad D.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

This was my 4th cycling holiday but this year the quality of bikes was poor, only had 7 gears, had 21 gears every other year and did not like the back pedal brake.

Most memorable part was Stein am Rhein, and also liked the fact we could stop cycling and jump into the lake whenever we wanted.

Shirley P.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Hotels varied. My daughter stayed at Hotel Krenn-- not great. Food in Rhein am Stein not good. Hotel St Leonard and Hotel Cholsteroff had the best food. The rides were fantastic, would say the last day was a bit boring and less scenic (especially the second half). Would have been nice to include the Rhine falls. Would love to do it again as there were many sights we didn't get to see! Loved the trip and have highly recommended it back home.