Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna Tour Reviews — 1 to 23 of 23

Danube River flowing through Dürnstein, a popular wine-growing town in the Wachau region. Flickr:jay8085

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna

6–10 days from €763

4.7 out of 5

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna

Easy Bike Tour in Germany, Austria

The Danube Cycle Path is among the most beautiful cycling routes in all of Europe. Starting in the three-river city of Passau, you will follow the cool, clear water of the Danube, enjoying the…

4.7 out of 5

 


Laurence M.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Staying at the Renaissance Raffelsberger Hof was amazing. Hearing about the history of the home turned hotel was interesting. The other memory is of an Austrian band playing in the restaurant at Gasthof zur Traube in Grein. Lastly, the Hotel Widhof left a lot to be desired!! The “sister hotel” Hotel Nibelungenhof looked much nicer and more convenient.

Yves B.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The scenery was spectacular, especially between Passau and Linz and later through the wine region. Flat bike path almost all the way from Passau to Vienna. The booklet with directions that was given to us at orientation was extremely well organized, very clear, and useful. We enjoyed very much the freedom of the self-guided tour, stopping in villages for a cappuccino and pastries. Our luggage was always there when we arrived at our hotel. The hotels were nice, except for the one in Linz, (Shwarzer Bar) which was right above a noisy bar, and with poor service. I would recommend a different hotel. A major highlight of the trip was Hotel Kirchenwirt in the lovely village of Weissenkichen, in the one region. In fact, I would recommend staying two nights there to enjoy the spectacular biking through the vineyards and resting bit in the middle of the trip. The two 70+km days were a bit long but very doable. Overall a memorable vacation, very well organized by Tripsite.

Gavin O.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Biking along the river with the beautiful scenery and riding through the villages on the cobblestone streets was very memorable. Also loved being in a forest and riding next to farm lands and vineyards with the Cathedrals and Castles on the hill tops. Everyone at all the hotels were very friendly and helpful! The route was exceedingly well marked and there was no threat of getting lost!

Tips: Make sure you have sunscreen, snacks, cash and your ID's with you during the ride

theresa h.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The small towns and inns we stayed in were lovely. The people we met in these areas were warm and friendly. Not everyone accepted credit cards or cashless payment so it is necessary to bring cash along to these areas. The bike path was very well marked and easy to ride. The company in Austria that facilitated the ride was less than helpful. We used there app but it was not setup with our exact ride so finding hotels and restaurants was a challenge. We also did not get a proper first night introduction about our itinerary and therefore we were missing critical train tickets and boat information.

Paul G.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Cycling the Danube is memorable and the accommodation was excellent. Melk and the Wachau Valley were high points. The bicycles were a disappointment: Heavy & Clunky. We were expecting 24 gear Hybrids. The directions for Linz and the last day in Vienna need work. Perhaps you could a more detailed map for each city that show the route in street map detail. These would be separate from the daily cycling maps. There was confusion regarding where stayed : Ardagger Shift and not Grein! The daily cycling map suggested that we end the day in Grein.

Gilberto M.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The whole course along the Danube (Donau radweg) is amazing! ! One suggestion would be for the GPS to include more tips about the towns! In one occasion (ariving in Grein) the distance did not match becouse our hotel was quite far (around 8km) from the City (route destination) . The overall experience was great as all the three previous tours we did!

Jean-Yves B.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The very nice villages on the Danube.

RONALD Z.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Leaving Wachova toward Tulln. The gentle rolling hills covered with terraced field of grapes; it was breathtaking.

Jan H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

To learn about the customs of our German and Austrian people, and specifically their specialty foods and drinks (Weissbeer). Not at all places one would accept credit or debit cards, so I strongly suggest taking sufficient cash and learn about Bancomat (ATM) machines along the way.

Robert F.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Wonderful trip! Beautiful scenery, easy bike trail, nice accommodations. Tripsite did a great job organizing and setting up the trip. The representative at Austria Radreisen (the on-site bike company) was friendly and helpful in fitting our bikes, answering our questions, and making sure we were satisfied. The bikes were especially nice, easy to ride and shift with plenty of storage. Our luggage was always waiting for us at each hotel when we arrived.

Victor L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The scenes along the Danube. The quality of the hotels The simplicity of the directions on the the bike route.
Suggestions for others. Pack lighter and know that you will have saddle bags on the trip.
Another tip for me. If I know that I check in by 3 then it is not necessary leave each site before 11 The next thing I would do is plan my lunch stop. Might a great idea to know where half way is for a great salad.

Wyn D.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Well organised, with bikes made available as required, bags portaged without incident, accommodation arranged as planned.
Overall good organisation albeit the bikes with their infinitely variable in hub gears seemed less efficient than conventional bikes.

Barry M.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Best part: Biking into Vienna

John M.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Comments are for the self-guided Danube cycle path Passau to Vienna with support by Austria Radreisen.
Most memorable was riding through the small towns. Tips and suggestions: It was a little confusing how to leave the bike at the end of the trip, whether to lock it or not, would it be safe until returned to Austria Radreisen. We locked ours in the hotel inside parking spaces and left the key inside the panniers which we left in the hotel office. The hotel choice was good except in Linz it was very difficult to get there by bike; it was a big hotel and we would have preferred a guest house. The food was very good eating in hotel dining rooms everywhere except Traismauer where dinner was not available at the hotel. The "Danube Bike Trail" booklet provided by Cycline is a little confusing to read. We used a off-line map application (Locus) to find our way. I would have preferred a lighter bike and a single sided kickstand would have been better than the heavy double Read More

Stan Carr
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We took the self-guided "Sport" tour from Passau to Vienna, starting on 2 April.

A. Here are our suggestions for anyone looking at the tour options for Passau to Vienna.
1. Don’t ever sign up for the “Sport” version of the tour because it requires 50+ miles every day, and leaves no time for exploring or resting.
2. If you are doing the self-guided trail, do yourself a favor and get the e-bikes. The bikes given to us were really inadequate for the distances.
3. Consider doing the bike & boat option rather than biking the whole way. The reasons? If on a boat, you won’t have to pack and unpack every day; You won’t have to search for the hotel in the evening, and you can look forward to relaxing on a boat every night. Another big plus is that from the shoreline, you often cannot get a good perspective on the scenery. When the cliffs rise overhead and you are below, you can’t see them at all. And you may be able to Read More

Jennifer B.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I loved riding through Grein and the Wachau Valley, just beautiful!

Darryl S.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We enjoyed the relaxed pace, mingling with local village people and enjoying what Austria and Germany had to offer. The guides for the bike route were excellent, we had local people enjoying the bike paths with us and gave us a chance to practice our german. The accommodation and meals were of a high standard, after a day in the saddle the "Hugo" cocktails where very refreshing to end the day.
Thank you Tripsite for a great holiday.
Darryl and Brigitte

Jerline S.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Fantastic trip!!! Everything went smoothly. Want to return and spend extra days in some of the places!

Florence B.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This is a great ride, if you use the right company. We used Tripsite, who contracted Austria Radreisen, not the company to use. We were told that Austria Redreisen would meet us at the hotel in Passau the day before the trip was to start...they did not show( a competitor company, Donau, spent 2 hours with their clients, in our hotel). We tried to contact Austria Radreisen at their 'emergency' number...no one answer/no answering machine. The day the tour was to start, they delivered two bikes which were extremely heavy, and with 7 speed changers....we had specifically ordered 21 speed hybrids. The bikes were delivered by the person who picked up the suitcases, and we were told by him that he had no knowledge of how the bikes worked...we were on our own to figure them out. In spite of being in good physical condition, we found the bikes very difficult to use, as they would not coast. After 2 days with the heavy bikes, we had to take a day off as we were exhausted. Read More

Diane W.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The beautiful scenery along the river was the most memorable part of the trip. We also loved all the little cafes right by the path for lunch and breaks.

Maxine W.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We four had a blast biking thru vineyards. Nice flat well marked path.

Maxine W.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We four had a blast biking thru vineyards. Nice flat well marked path.

Sean B.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most Memorable Part: Staying at the Hotel Schloss Durnstein