Poland Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 33

4.9 out of 5

 


Ruth B.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

Riding the trails through the beautiful forests!

Patricia D.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

Great tour and fantastic boat. The Merlijn had it all - amazing food, friendly professional crew, gorgeous interior design, solid internet, spotlessly clean, and great communication. Several passengers had special diet requests that were thoughtfully accommodated. There are many small special touches - personal cabin intro, laundry folded neatly on bed, flavored cold water after biking, different table decor each night, espresso and small snacks available at all hours.

Our guide Lia was super energetic, friendly, knowledgeable and catered to the group's "wants". The first day fell into the moderate category - challenging surfaces (cobblestones, tank tracks, grassy sandy trails) and a long grunt up a hill in a field. Each day got easier with the last being an easy flat paved surface. Lia provided lots of information about the area's history, especially around WWII and its impact preunification. We visited churches, a castle, an artist's studio, and a Read More

Diane P.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

Going to Poland. This trip was too rural and remote. Very few stops and few points of interest. Mainly dirt paths or cobblestone paths that were very difficult to ride a bike on. The farm fields we drove our bikes through were awful, some were full of holes and quite dangerous. I do not recommend this trip for those who have back and neck problems or those who never have rode a mountain bike.

Lara P.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Krakow to Warsaw
Poland

The lovely countryside and friendliness of the polish people.
We had opted for e- bikes. And one had a faulty brake but with the help of an outstanding helpful driver (Pawel) it was fixed and we could use it on the second day. He also bought holders for phones which was an absolute must.
Generally the hotels met our expectations. Jóhanna the guide in Krakow was wonderful.
The maps and the description of the route were useless for us. Too detailed and impossible to follow. We were not able to use the mapme app partly because we got the GPS too late. Instead we used Google maps.
All things considered it was a great trip that we sincerely recommend.

Rafael L.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Krakow
Czech Republic, Poland

My first bike trip in E.
Very good planing and local and history knowledge from Lucaš , Jan and Michaela! I enjoyed it so much I could do a repeat next year! Great Crew! Little rain the last two days but they made it work. Recommend it to anyone who’s into Cycling- History- Culture- gastronomy - new experiences. (E bikes make it possible for those not so fit. )

Ronald Z.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Krakow to Warsaw
Poland

I don't think I had a single memorable moment. The older Buildings, learning the History, enjoying the Food, a few memorable people, the Niepolomicka Forest and the Ojcow National Park were all highlights. Once in a lifetime highlights. Though for me personally, the National Park and Forest are in my heart along with Kazimierz Dolny.
The highest compliment I can give is less than one week after returning home, I am already planning a return trip. Whether I do a Tour with your Company in the Bialowieza Forest or modify what we just did. To do that I would use my bike and carry my clothes and probably make use of the completed Vistula Cycling Route from Wisla to Szczucin then pick up your route to Kazimierz Dolny. I would spend a couple of days in the Ojcow National Park and Niepolomice to visit the Forest. I can see this taking two weeks or more.

Patsy V.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Classic Lady Poland’s Lake District
Poland

The Lake District of Poland is an undiscovered region of outstanding beauty in Poland and Europe - full of forests, farms, WWII history, fabulous food and welcoming Poles! Add a day or 2 in Warsaw with interesting free guided walking tours and you get a good sense of urban and rural Poland.
The itinerary for riding is a spiderweb of forest dirt roads, very challenging sandy farm roads, traffic for short distances on some paved roads, and lovely low traffic paved roads. This trip reqiires diverse biking skills but with an adventurous spirit, lots of rewards.

Jean H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Poland’s Lake District
Poland

The trip was much harder than I expected. The rating was easy to moderate but I felt it was moderate to difficult. Going through the sand and gravel paths was challenging even though I had an e-bike. My first trip was from Bruges to the Amsterdam and I had wonderful experiences on a regular bike. But if this Mazuria lakes district was my first trip, I would not have signed up for a second. The Magnifique 2 was much more comfortable and there was free coffee, tea, and even hot chocolate all day long. On the classic lady, there wasn't even free water. The state rooms were comparable on both trips. But the magnifique had a sitting area where we could gather and talk. On the classic lady, we had to sit at the dining room tables to socialize. The food was good

Ruth B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

Loved the buffet meal in Poland-delicious food, great sitting outside by the water, great band & fun dancing!

Kathy D.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

The hosts and tour guides were wonderful. The cabins were superb. The air beds were a treat. Everything was clean.

Cindy K.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

This trip gave insight into East Berlin; life during communism and now. I have spent a lot of time visiting Western Germany - small quaint towns; beautiful hillsides, etc. This trip was more farmland and very rural. The bike path was varied terrain. Many times our lunch was in a small park or church with no town nearby. The Merlijn is a fabulous small boat (22 passengers) with exceptional owners. This was our second trip with the Merlijn.

Patsy V.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Classic Lady Poland’s Lake District
Poland

Seeing Warsaw and the Poland Lake District, places that few Americans go, was on my list to see. Warsaw was a pleasant surprise with free walking tours in English of the old city restoration. The lakes are scenic and the forests around them lovely. Historically they have been a significant element of Poland's past. The biking was challenging for traditional road bikers but offered a new experience in off-road trails.

Edward R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

The trip was great! The food was prepared by the wife of the captain and it was delicious. The tours were well planned and excellent. We rode 170 miles in 6-days and this is the first time I actually lost weight on a vacation trip. They preferred the tips for the crew to be paid in cash (Euros). Would definitely do another bike and barge again. The attitude, experience and knowledge of the captain and crew of the bike and barge definitely makes or breaks a vacation like this one, but the captain and crew of the Merlin were excellent!

Sveinn O.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Krakow and Southeast Poland
Poland

Well worth time. good tracks beautiful landscape. we started 3 hour trip in przmysl very nice town that is not on map going to top of town hill panoramic wiew. hotel in korczowa we got dessert first than main course :). staff in training

jean h.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Classic Lady Poland’s Lake District
Poland

The sandy and gravelly trails that we rode through the forests...I felt that the rating of easy to moderate was not quite accurate. I had such a good experience on my first bike trip from Bruges to Amsterdam on a regular bike. But I wouldn't have been able to do this one if I didn't have an e-bike. I even stayed on the boat the 4th and
6th days. Also, on the Bruges trip, coffee, tea, water, and even hot chocolate we're always available. But on this trip, you even had to buy your water at dinner. The breakfasts and dinners were both good everyday and the salads were especially delicious. If this was my first trip, there wouldn't have been a second. Maybe if I didn't have the Bruges trip to compare it to, I would have been more satisfied with this one.

Cynthia M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Classic Lady Poland’s Lake District
Poland

The Classic Lady was a nice barge. It was clean, adequate cabin space, food delicious and staff very nice. This was all good if you just want to go on a barge tour of the Lake District in Poland.
If you want a tour that highlights bicycling, this is not the tour for you. We went to both Cycle and see the area. The routes we were taken on were unsafe and basically unrideable. The course is approximately 80% in the woods on deep sandy, moderately rolling hills. The sand was so deep (4 inches and more) everyone was off their bikes walking. When you did get some cycling going it was a slow go with hands tightly on the handlebars, praying that you didn't fall. Everyone, including our guide, fell at least one maybe 2-4 times. Many get road rash and some hurt shoulders, hips and knees. Several folks only road 2-3 days out of 6 because of the course conditions or because they were hurt.
This is an unfit tour for anyone.

Elizabeth C.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Krakow to Warsaw (old)
Poland

This was tour #6 for me and it was completely different than my former experiences. My previous tours were full of tourist sights and charming villages with little shops, coffee/tea/bakery cafes, and restaurants (with restrooms) to stop at along the way during the day and actual bicycle paths. Krakow to Warsaw (Warka) Poland tour was very unique. Positives: Krakow is absolutely charming and has some interesting day trips available to the salt mines and concentration camps. Once on tour the bicycles, hotels and food were excellent. The forests and farmlands were lovely. The birds were singing, roosters crowing, and the spring blooms were abundant. We saw wild boar in the woods the first day and wolf tracks another. The route maps were detailed and easy to read. The tour company was quick to work out any issues such as transporting us on day 2 of cycling due to severe weather and flood warnings. This being said, I must point out this was not a bicycle path but a bicycle route utilizing Read More

Nancy B.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

The most memorable part of our bike and barge trip from Malchin to Berlin was the day we biked on the Isle of Usedom. The landscape was beautiful, the beach front area was full of interesting shops and restaurants where we ate spaghetti ice, a childhood favorite treat of my husband. He has waited years to share this moment with our kids. We topped off the day with a swim in the Baltic Sea which was full of big waves and surrounded by soft, white sand.

Kathryn H.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

One of my favorite parts of the trip was jumping off the boat into the canal. It was the end of a long, fun day of bike riding. The canal was clear and perfect for jumping. Everyone jumped off and everyone did fun tricks. The funniest was when Paul fell off and I never could keep a straight face around him again (Paul didn't get hurt except his pride btw). Captain Henk even put down a ladder to make climbing to the dock easier.

Kerry C.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

The entire trip was memorable. We had dinner at a restaurant on the dock one night and celebrated a birthday. The live band was excellent and it was a great opportunity to get to know our fellow travelers.
We booked the trip as we knew that East Germany and Poland was somewhere we would probably not travel to. We were amazed at how vast, undeveloped and beautiful the countryside is. The biking and barging was great!

Armando A.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Krakow
Czech Republic, Poland

My wife and I did the 13 day Prague to Krakow self guided cycling tour the last week of August thru the first week of September 2017.
We both enjoyed it immensely. Europe Bike Tours spent a couple hours with us reviewing the trip material. The paperwork Vitek went over with us included:
A contact list and program itinerary.
A description of the day, route description, problematic turns/crossroads/tips, highlights, bike repair shops, medical care, places to eat, plus a graph showing distance and climbed meters.
Turn by turn directions for each day.
Regional maps with the trip route highlighted.
Plus a map of the town we were staying in each night.
Hotel vouchers
A GPS route was also available which we used and highly recommend.(It makes the biking more care free as you do not have to reference maps constantly, which saves a lot of time.)

We were provided with hybrid (crossover) bikes which were very comfortable and suitable for the terrain. Read More

Richard C.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

Really enjoyed the quality of the bike paths in Germany.

Patrick C.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

Have done a number of trips with Tripsite and this ranks among the best. The Merlijn was a first class barge run by a first class staff! The biking through the forests and countryside of East Germany and Poland was magnificent and very ably guided. Would recommend this trip to anyone. Looking forward to next years adventure with Tripsite!!!

Emilee B.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

Great Crew! Very friendly! Food was amazing. Never mind trying to pack a small suitcase, pack a big one there's plenty of room under the bed.

Pat C.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

This is a trip that we probably would not have done on our own. It was well organized with a great crew, about (the Majestic) and guides that were most informative and will to do anything for the group. We had a great diversity in biking ability but all were handled with respect and in a light and friendly manner. The trip through the forests and lands of East Germany and Poland was magnificent and would recommend this trip to anyone. As repeat customers of Tripsite I can think of no reason to book with anyone else! Looking forward to next year already!

DeeDee & Steve C.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Moravia
Czech Republic, Poland, Austria

We've already recommended this trip and Tripsite when friends and family ask us about our experience.
We'd also like to complement Bird Service--the Polish bike tour affliate who organized the trip. Bird Service did a great job arranging all transportation, hotels & dinners.

Judith A.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

I feel our guide could have been a little more organised with our daily route but I also have to remember that the biking from Berlin to Malchin is a route that has not been done very often.
I am unable to pick one outstanding moment. Just being able to bike in eastern Germany & Poland was so outstanding & while biking to think of all the history of the area. It is also wonderful to think that efforts are being made to make a vast ecological area over the next few years in some of the region along canals where we were biking.

Ann R.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

The owners of the barge are on board and are involved in daily running of the ship. They made me feel like a guest in their home!

Rita D.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

EVERYTHING stands out! From the greeting & service by the staff, (Lydia/Denisa) the guide Jack, the Captain & Jontein who ran the whole enterprise, Merlijn. The food. Lovely ever-changing table settings, The ample, fresh cabins, fresh flowers, excellent bikes and super maintenance & care, knowledgeable, friendly guiding thru the towns, memorials, history of the area. Capable, expert, amazing,skill of the Captain thru the narrow canals & rivers. The homegrown entertainment. We are putting a deposit on '18. ('17 is BOOKED!)

Christopher P.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

The Merlijn is a terrific vessel and the owners, Jantien & Henk and their staff are first rate.
Highly recommended.