Poland Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 26 of 26

 

 Country: Poland • REMOVE

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Cindy K. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip gave insight into East Berlin; life during communism and now. I have spent a lot of time visiting Western Germany - small quaint towns; beautiful hillsides, etc. This trip was more farmland and very rural. The bike path was varied terrain. Many times our lunch was in a small park or church with no town nearby. The Merlijn is a fabulous small boat (22 passengers) with exceptional owners. This was our second trip with the Merlijn.

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Poland’s Lake District
    by Patsy V. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Seeing Warsaw and the Poland Lake District, places that few Americans go, was on my list to see. Warsaw was a pleasant surprise with free walking tours in English of the old city restoration. The lakes are scenic and the forests around them lovely. Historically they have been a significant element of Poland's past. The biking was challenging for traditional road bikers but offered a new experience in off-road trails.

    Boat: MS Classic Lady

    Countries: Poland

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Edward R. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was great! The food was prepared by the wife of the captain and it was delicious. The tours were well planned and excellent. We rode 170 miles in 6-days and this is the first time I actually lost weight on a vacation trip. They preferred the tips for the crew to be paid in cash (Euros). Would definitely do another bike and barge again. The attitude, experience and knowledge of the captain and crew of the bike and barge definitely makes or breaks a vacation like this one, but the captain and crew of the Merlin were excellent!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Krakow and Southeast Poland
    by Sveinn O. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Well worth time. good tracks beautiful landscape. we started 3 hour trip in przmysl very nice town that is not on map going to top of town hill panoramic wiew. hotel in korczowa we got dessert first than main course :). staff in training

    Countries: Poland

  • Poland’s Lake District
    by jean h. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The sandy and gravelly trails that we rode through the forests...I felt that the rating of easy to moderate was not quite accurate. I had such a good experience on my first bike trip from Bruges to Amsterdam on a regular bike. But I wouldn't have been able to do this one if I didn't have an e-bike. I even stayed on the boat the 4th and
    6th days. Also, on the Bruges trip, coffee, tea, water, and even hot chocolate we're always available. But on this trip, you even had to buy your water at dinner. The breakfasts and dinners were both good everyday and the salads were especially delicious. If this was my first trip, there wouldn't have been a second. Maybe if I didn't have the Bruges trip to compare it to, I would have been more satisfied with this one.

    Boat: MS Classic Lady

    Countries: Poland

  • Poland’s Lake District
    by Cynthia M. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Classic Lady was a nice barge. It was clean, adequate cabin space, food delicious and staff very nice. This was all good if you just want to go on a barge tour of the Lake District in Poland.
    If you want a tour that highlights bicycling, this is not the tour for you. We went to both Cycle and see the area. The routes we were taken on were unsafe and basically unrideable. The course is approximately 80% in the woods on deep sandy, moderately rolling hills. The sand was so deep (4 inches and more) everyone was off their bikes walking. When you did get some cycling going it was a slow go with hands tightly on the handlebars, praying that you didn't fall. Everyone, including our guide, fell at least one maybe 2-4 times. Many get road rash and some hurt shoulders, hips and knees. Several folks only road 2-3 days out of 6 because of the course conditions or because they were hurt.
    This is an unfit tour for anyone.

    Boat: MS Classic Lady

    Countries: Poland

  • Krakow to Warsaw
    by Elizabeth C. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was tour #6 for me and it was completely different than my former experiences. My previous tours were full of tourist sights and charming villages with little shops, coffee/tea/bakery cafes, and restaurants (with restrooms) to stop at along the way during the day and actual bicycle paths. Krakow to Warsaw (Warka) Poland tour was very unique. Positives: Krakow is absolutely charming and has some interesting day trips available to the salt mines and concentration camps. Once on tour the bicycles, hotels and food were excellent. The forests and farmlands were lovely. The birds were singing, roosters crowing, and the spring blooms were abundant. We saw wild boar in the woods the first day and wolf tracks another. The route maps were detailed and easy to read. The tour company was quick to work out any issues such as transporting us on day 2 of cycling due to severe weather and flood warnings. This being said, I must point out this was not a bicycle path but a bicycle route utilizing Read more… narrow roads with usually light traffic (but some sections were busy), logging roads, dirt and gravel (possibly rutted), and horror of all horrors...soft sand. The third day of cycling was bone jarring at times and though only 40km we were exhausted. The last day of cycling was 65 km instead of 55km listed. We traveled all week through extremely rural areas with no restrooms, restaurants, shops, or tourist sights during the whole cycling part of the day most days. (be sure to take snacks!) When a village appeared on the map it normally meant a group of houses and a church...but no commercial establishments. Friday we did see a few businesses but it was a holiday so they were closed. If there were castle ruins at the beginning we didn't see them. The bunker mentioned on day 6 was closed. The Abbey/Castle was closed for renovation which was a major selling point of interest when booking (we were put in a nice hotel as a substitute). The last hotel though nice was very crowded with young families and it was very noisy late into the night. It also required a taxi drive to town. This tour takes you through the former soviet block section of Poland. Overall my friend and I didn't mind doing this tour since we have experienced the other tours first, but feel you should be aware of what you are signing on for: remote cycling in non tourist/commercial type areas over possibly challenging surfaces.

    Countries: Poland

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by sandy 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply    

    Nancy
    Thank you for your review. I went on a tour from Amsterdam to Brugges.
    It was rated EASY and was NOT because some days the biking was
    40 miles on fat tire bikes. I cannot get an explanation as to why this trip has an easy/moderate rating? Are there long hills??
    I'm debating if I should go and if I do rent and e-bike.
    I do hope to hear from you
    Sandy

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Nancy B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of our bike and barge trip from Malchin to Berlin was the day we biked on the Isle of Usedom. The landscape was beautiful, the beach front area was full of interesting shops and restaurants where we ate spaghetti ice, a childhood favorite treat of my husband. He has waited years to share this moment with our kids. We topped off the day with a swim in the Baltic Sea which was full of big waves and surrounded by soft, white sand.

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Kathryn H. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    One of my favorite parts of the trip was jumping off the boat into the canal. It was the end of a long, fun day of bike riding. The canal was clear and perfect for jumping. Everyone jumped off and everyone did fun tricks. The funniest was when Paul fell off and I never could keep a straight face around him again (Paul didn't get hurt except his pride btw). Captain Henk even put down a ladder to make climbing to the dock easier.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Kerry C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The entire trip was memorable. We had dinner at a restaurant on the dock one night and celebrated a birthday. The live band was excellent and it was a great opportunity to get to know our fellow travelers.
    We booked the trip as we knew that East Germany and Poland was somewhere we would probably not travel to. We were amazed at how vast, undeveloped and beautiful the countryside is. The biking and barging was great!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Prague to Krakow
    by Jehiel 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

    Hi Armando! Thank you so much for this thoughtful review. We are very proud to work with such a great local partner to bring the highest quality bike tours to you! We hope to help you plan your next trip!

  • Prague to Krakow
    by Armando A. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I did the 13 day Prague to Krakow self guided cycling tour the last week of August thru the first week of September 2017.
    We both enjoyed it immensely. Europe Bike Tours spent a couple hours with us reviewing the trip material. The paperwork Vitek went over with us included:
    A contact list and program itinerary.
    A description of the day, route description, problematic turns/crossroads/tips, highlights, bike repair shops, medical care, places to eat, plus a graph showing distance and climbed meters.
    Turn by turn directions for each day.
    Regional maps with the trip route highlighted.
    Plus a map of the town we were staying in each night.
    Hotel vouchers
    A GPS route was also available which we used and highly recommend.(It makes the biking more care free as you do not have to reference maps constantly, which saves a lot of time.)

    We were provided with hybrid (crossover) bikes which were very comfortable and suitable for the terrain. Read more… The terrain varied immensely from paved trails to rough trails through the woods.
    The bikes held up well. We had no flat tires or any other mechanical issues. The bikes had a bag on the front to hold what you needed during the day plus a cover in cased it rained. Helmets’ were also provided.
    We chose the standard hotel accommodations. They were all good and some were exceptional. The hotel location was always great; right in the center of town.
    The luggage transfer was great. Our luggage was at the next accommodation by 4pm or earlier each day.

    We purchased the half board dinner option which we would not recommend. Although the food was good to excellent in all the locations except for two, I was led to believe that we would receive 3 main course options and this was not true. You took what you got. We do not feel there were any benefits with this option. There were plenty of restaurants available to choose from for the same cost where you could select from a full menu.
    Prague and Krakow are both beautiful cities, with incredible architecture and history. Both cities have stately market squares, bridges spanning the rivers which run through them, plus numerous parks, cafes, restaurants, cathedrals, clock towers, castles, palaces, etc. We added four extra days to our trip giving us 2 extra days in both cities which allowed us time to explore them, which was totally worth it.
    The cycling route takes you through beautiful towns and countryside. It follows rivers where ever possible.

    Overall I highly recommend Europe Bike Tours. Vitek took very good care of us ensuring all went well.

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Richard C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Really enjoyed the quality of the bike paths in Germany.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Patrick C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Have done a number of trips with Tripsite and this ranks among the best. The Merlijn was a first class barge run by a first class staff! The biking through the forests and countryside of East Germany and Poland was magnificent and very ably guided. Would recommend this trip to anyone. Looking forward to next years adventure with Tripsite!!!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Emilee B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great Crew! Very friendly! Food was amazing. Never mind trying to pack a small suitcase, pack a big one there's plenty of room under the bed.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Pat C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is a trip that we probably would not have done on our own. It was well organized with a great crew, about (the Majestic) and guides that were most informative and will to do anything for the group. We had a great diversity in biking ability but all were handled with respect and in a light and friendly manner. The trip through the forests and lands of East Germany and Poland was magnificent and would recommend this trip to anyone. As repeat customers of Tripsite I can think of no reason to book with anyone else! Looking forward to next year already!

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Tripsite Traveler: Where on Earth is Moravia?
    by mike 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great blog post! I also really enjoyed the pictures. The pictures and the captions gave me a sense of what these places are like. I especially liked the food photos. I do have to end this comment with a question, why not Munich, Germany?

  • Moravia
    by DeeDee & Steve C. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We've already recommended this trip and Tripsite when friends and family ask us about our experience.
    We'd also like to complement Bird Service--the Polish bike tour affliate who organized the trip. Bird Service did a great job arranging all transportation, hotels & dinners.

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Judith A. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I feel our guide could have been a little more organised with our daily route but I also have to remember that the biking from Berlin to Malchin is a route that has not been done very often.
    I am unable to pick one outstanding moment. Just being able to bike in eastern Germany & Poland was so outstanding & while biking to think of all the history of the area. It is also wonderful to think that efforts are being made to make a vast ecological area over the next few years in some of the region along canals where we were biking.

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Ann R. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The owners of the barge are on board and are involved in daily running of the ship. They made me feel like a guest in their home!

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Rita D. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    EVERYTHING stands out! From the greeting & service by the staff, (Lydia/Denisa) the guide Jack, the Captain & Jontein who ran the whole enterprise, Merlijn. The food. Lovely ever-changing table settings, The ample, fresh cabins, fresh flowers, excellent bikes and super maintenance & care, knowledgeable, friendly guiding thru the towns, memorials, history of the area. Capable, expert, amazing,skill of the Captain thru the narrow canals & rivers. The homegrown entertainment. We are putting a deposit on '18. ('17 is BOOKED!)

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Christopher P. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Merlijn is a terrific vessel and the owners, Jantien & Henk and their staff are first rate.
    Highly recommended.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Lisa W. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything was great but it was our crew that made it so special.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Joyce Thompson 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a great time; the bike guide (Tom) did a super job. Hope we have this same great experience on our next trip.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Berlin to Stralsund
    by Virginia Cullen 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Have taken several trips with Tripsite......not one of my favorites. Biking wasn't as interesting as many of the other trips you represent.

    Boat: Princess

    Countries: Germany, Poland

PWPC