Metz to Cochem Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 102

Marktplatz in Bernkastel-Keus, a famous wine-growing region on the Mosel River in Germany. Flickr:Frans Berkelaar

Metz to Cochem

8–9 days from €1888

4.8 out of 5

Metz to Cochem

Easy Bike + Boat Tour in France, Luxembourg, Germany

This bike and boat tour in Germany, France, and, Luxembourg highlights the heart of Europe, following the path of the Mosel River through the land of the ancients. Vineyards climb the mountains and…

4.8 out of 5

 


Shelly Z.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

My husband and I loved the trip, our first bike/barge adventure. The boat, captain, crew, chef, and tour guides were wonderful. We enjoyed the other guests as well, which included couples and singles from the USA and Europe. The miles and miles of bike trails and visited sites were beautiful and memorable. Since experiencing the biking adventure, I have the following suggestions for potential guests. Bike riders should already have good bike riding skills. There are many path twists and turns to navigate, including sometimes in metropolitan areas. Before the trip, find out how many guests have selected e-bikes. If the majority are on e-bikes, it will be hard for the average bike rider on a regular bike to keep up with the group, even when the tour level is stated as “easy.” And, "easy" does not mean there are no hills or quick elevation gains. The group stays together. The tour is not at your own pace. We look forward to booking another tour through tripsite.

Patricia (Pat) B.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

RJ and the crew on the Quo Vadis were amazing. Every day Rikko and Wim would lead us through beautiful countryside and lovely towns. They shared much history of the Mosel region and educated us about the vineyards and wine production. The pace each day allowed exploring in the towns and then time to relax before dinner. The meals were delicious with attractive presentation and kept us fueled for the day's ride. Thanks to Inma, Marianne and Kim for taking care of us. It was a great vacation that I would highly recommend - physically active, beautiful scenery, history and much fun with the other riders and crew!

Criddle D.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We loved the camaraderie of the fellow guests. Our tour guide Wim was knowledgeable and entertaining. The crew made every effort to ensure we were made welcome and looked after in every possible way. The food was wonderful! Our daily rides were full of great experiences and amazing scenery. Overall we loved our tour!

David M.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The Magnifique III Is a wonder boat with well appointed cabins and public space. The Mossell river is one of the prettiest and easiest to ride along. Getting to Metz from Paris was an easy train ride. We did not have to rush to the boat by 2 PM. The first day you get fitted on your bike and then are free until dinner. I would recommend an E -bike as there are sudden uphill grades and it make life easier. The GPS for your phone is very easy to follow So I would recommend that if you are traveling with a group of friends that the group goes self guided because there are many quaint villages along the way that you could see. The rides each day are from 22 to 37 miles and with the guide and take about 5 hours. The guides are on a schedule to meet the boat and not arrive early. They stop every 8-10+miles and linger for 30 minutes. Lunch is in nice towns but you do not have enough time to enjoy them. Overall, it was a beautiful trip however really fast and experienced riders would be frustrated.
The crew and guides change with each sailing so we cannot comment on our experience. I will say both crew and guides were extremely competent and friendly.

Mark G.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The scenery, the history, the superior quality of the staff, the appealing pace of the active elements & the great food!

Jennifer K.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Bike guides fantastic, boat crew amazing. So many wonderful memories to pick out just one. Beautiful bike paths, scenery

Dolores T.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The bike tours were wonderful and the guides were very knowledgeable! The boat staff was great, they made you feel like family!

Jane Hempen H.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The crew was outstanding❣️and the guides were very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The food was superb

Susan H.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We had a wonder experience on our biking trip from Cochem to Metz. The Quo Vadis crew was superb. We wish RJ and family all the best on his retirement. The biking was beautiful all the way, but we especially loved the day we rode down the mountain back to Bernkastel-Kues. We loved the villages and vineyards. We would highly recommend this trip!

Jan S.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

What a wonderful tour that absolutely exceeded expectations. The barge was very comfortable, the bikes were great, as were the food, accommodations, staff, etc. Biking along the Moselle was incredible, I found myself repeating about the scenery, food, villages, people, "I could never tire of this!"

susan o.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Loved the tour of the Reichsburg castle. To think that it is still standing intact after 100's of years is amazing!

Sandra Z.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Bicycle riding along the Moselle was terrific. Beautiful scenery.
Guides were knowledgeable, but could have been a little more aware of riders in traffic situations.

Amy L.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

EXCELLENT staff on the barge, Magnifique lll. Only tip for others: ENJOY the beautiful scenery and the lovely staff

Sandra W.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Food prepared for dinners and beautiful scenery on the rides

Michele Y.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Our trip was another trip of a lifetime. Number 5 with trip site. This company is the best. There is no other that will give you this type of service for the money. We have used them five times over the last 10 years and will continue to. Each trip has surpassed the last one in regards to being another trip of a lifetime that out does the one previous. Our group has gone on two trips to Croatia want to Greece/Turkey, one to Brussels and one to Germany. I will be planning the next one soon. You are missing out if you did not take advantage of this opportunity to book with trip site for any of their biking boating trips. Germany gear grinders, Croatia crazy crew, Greece gear grinders, Belgium bike bashers, more to come.

Jim and Leslie W.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Our chef was outstanding! Our stop at a winery along the way was outstanding. Wish there were more fun stops along the way.

Bonnie S.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The Crew, The CHEF*****, The Views, The Guides, The people we met along the way!!

Tom K.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We were amazed at all the vineyards! We knew the area was famous for Riesling but we had no idea how immense the area was. We also loved the small villages. So much history there.

richard p.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The scope of the vineyards in the river valley. The manual biked were absurdly heavy and improperly geared for the route

Janet W.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Cycling each day in beautiful weather. I found the seats quite hard even though I took my own memory foam seat cover. The rides are long and sitting on hard seats can be a problem, so I’d recommend taking a comfy lambs wool seat cover. Friends had one and they looked great. The guides do stop every 20 mins for a water & bathroom break which was great. The boat was really lovely, nicely decorated, our cabin downstairs was big enough to be comfortable, the food was exceptional and plenty of it. A wonderful experience overall.

Maureen W.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This was the perfect vacation. We were biking in 3 beautiful countries, enjoying the scenery with a guide, then going back to the barge and having great meals. Had evening tours of the towns. Great communication before the trip from Tripsite and during the trip, we had the guide and crew who were above and beyond in anything we needed for a good trip. We will be going again next year on another one.

Jane B.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The villages were so beautiful. It seemed as though they could have been taken from a storybook or a movie.

Our crew worked seamlessly to provide an optimal experience.

James L.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The itinerary, crew and food were very good. Also, the fellow bikers were all very nice and sociable. Lack of storage space in the room was a minor problem, but we adapted.
The bikes were somewhat of an issue as about 50% of the bikes were e-bikes, which when mixed with the hybrids created problems on hills (most hills were leading up to bridges),
E-bikes do not have to build up speed, so stayed constant, but if the hybrids were behind, we could not always build up speed to get them up the minor hills as quick, causing delays. Only having 8 total gears, without another smaller one in the front compounded the issue for some. The e-bikes should be at the rear of the group. Speed is not an issue for the rest of the biking on level ground.

Tracy F.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The guides and boat employees were very good. The food was excellent. The boat’s air conditioning was okay to poor in the rooms and nonexistent on the main deck. Many people had daily issues with their bikes (brakes, gears, e-bikes not always working, etc.). The guides were excellent but had limited bike mechanic skills. These trips need a full time bike mechanic and extra bikes available to trade out when some bikes are not working well.

Winifred T.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This is the 2nd time our family of 4 (age 19 to 63) joined a bike and boat tour. Last time it was a much bigger boat on the Danube whereas this time is a much smaller but very comfortable and cozy boat Princess Royale on the Mosel. We are very glad we picked this tour!
To start with, the itinerary was carefully designed to cover enough quaint small towns to impress us, allowing enough break/rest in between for those (like me) who are physically less fit! The scenery along the Mosel needs no elaboration! We were lucky that the weather has been superb: not too hot nor too cold, no rain, nice breezy every now and then!

But what makes this trip especially memorable has to be the crew:
(1) Our guide Ilsa (not sure is I am spelling it right) is just amazing! Knowledgeable, professional, well organized, friendly....we saw her riding out to double check next day's route even after the day's long ride! At each stop point, be it architecture or scenery, she had Read More

Jeff G.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Mosel river valley is beautiful. Dinners on the ship each night were delicious.

Michael C.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Way too many memories to pin it down to one part. Amazing journey, what a great way to see and experience Europe!! Purchase trip health insurance!!! Woman on our trip fell and broke her femur. Had surgery in German hospital and had to be flown back on a special plan with a nurse! Big money!!!

Janis S.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Fantastic trip in every way!

Our guides were amazing. They provided variety, information and enough stops to inform, rest and recharge.
Our cook must have come from the most prestigious restaurant. Her variety, presentation and enthusiasm made every meal a treat.
The crew could not have been better. They attended to everything and worked as a fine tuned team to make our trip memorable.

I highly recommend this trip experience.

Brigitte V.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Had 2 awsome tour guides

Bonnie B.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Fabulous food-very fresh and expertly prepared. Beautiful rides through the countryside- and many historic sites!