Koblenz to Saarburg Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 38

Along the Mosel River on Koblenz to Saarburg Germany Bike Tour. ©TO

Koblenz to Saarburg

8 days from €1098

4.9 out of 5

Koblenz to Saarburg

Easy Bike + Boat Tour in Germany

The Mosel River Valley is an idyllic setting and a perfect place for a bike and boat tour. Two rivers wind through this enchanting countryside, castles guard the hilltops amid the climbing vineyards…

4.9 out of 5

 


Angela S.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The friends we made during the trip were the highest point of the tour. We biked and hung out for drinks at the boat deck every night. The crew eas efficient, gentle and friendly. The food was exceptional. The cabins and showers were rather small.

Anieta W.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The Patria is a beautiful boat with highly motivated and cheerful staff so that every day is a party. The tour guide was very helpful and focused on making your holiday a successful one. The route is picturesque and beautiful, beautiful villages like Saarburg, Traben Trarbach, Beilstein, Trier. Places where you can drink your tea and eat the traditional cakes and have a beautiful view over the Mosel, those are the most precious moments. We have now done this tour for the second time, every day has his nice spots to see en enjoy of the river. We are already thinking about doing it again when the autumn colors are there. This is one of our favorite tours.

Shirley Elizabeth C.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This September my friend and I thoroughly enjoyed taking this tour for the second time (first April 2015). After taking 7 Tripsite tours this still remains our favorite due to the consistantly beautiful countrysides, lovely interesting villages, quality bike paths, and fantastic experience aboard the Patria. Not only are the port towns excellent, there are many wonderful places to investigate and enjoy along the ride every single day. We like it so much we plan to do it again in the future a bit later in fall to catch some color on route. Having taken both directions now our personal preference is Koblenz to Saarburg. We enjoy the northern villages with a hike to Berg Eltz most and feel the current routes are set up to enjoy this most fully coming from that direction. If your concern is avoiding inclines the south to north direction is your best bet since that is actually downriver. The southern villages are still outstanding, you just see more Roman influence mixed with the Bavarian half timber.

Kathleen O.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The ability to cycle along the countryside, enjoying a peek around the many small villages/towns, and be exposed to the 'day to day' observation of locals e.g. harvesting wine, picking walnuts, walking paths. The scenery along the Mosel River was absolutely stunning.

Roger S.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Our bike and barge was changed two weeks prior to leaving - that was hard - had to change plans and do a different barge trip
This was our second trip with Trip Site (which we really enjoyed the first time). This one was hard because of the change BUT
we did enjoy the Patria and did enjoy cycling down the Mosel river. Dagmar was a great tour guide. The younger staff were very pleasant but
Smoking outside the doors where we entered was not too pleasing.
Even with the changes - we had a good trip and hopefully will book again with TripSite.

Don and Sheryl E.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This was our first bike/barge trip. We loved the bike trails along the river ... did not like the times we were in busy traffic...when we left Koblenz day 1. The patria was a great place to call home...food was awesome and accommodations were fine.

Thor M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The scenery was beautiful, and all the bike paths were very well maintained. As expected the German towns we visited were charming. The Ship and crew were great. It was the end of the season, so while the bikes were in pretty good shape, most of them were probably ready for an annual maintenance/overhaul.
Food on board was tasty, and plentiful. The accomodations on board were fine. Everything was very clean.
The trip was very good value.
We enjoyed our fellow guests, and as mentioned, the crew were friendly, accommodating and efficient.
Tripsite did a good job of arranging the trip. If you towards the beginning or end of the season, be prepared for all weather, although it is all doable.

Louise R.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This was my first bike and barge trip. The most memorable part of the trip was the constant attention and effort of the staff, from the captain down, to make the trip special. Entertainment (they have abundant talent), tours of the engine room, attending to the passenger's needs - were all beyond my expectations. For example, while sitting on the deck on a chilly night after everyone else had gone in, a crew member brought us blankets. I am definitely looking forward to our upcoming trip!

Leonidas R.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I have completed 7 bike and barge trips with Tripsite and every one of these trips has been a wonderful and memorable experience. The latest one was a trip from Koblenz to Saarburg and even though we had already done this trip on the Patria on the reverse we wanted to enjoy the Mosel River once again as it truly is the most picturesque and enchanting route in Germany. The MS Patria and her crew are dedicated in making the trip a success by providing us with clean and comfortable even though small cabins, an outstanding menu on each and every night by a chef who for a very good reason has been on this ship for a very long time and a bike maintenance crew second to none. The bikes are ready when you get there and every night they are cleaned, inspected and ready for the next days adventure. That has made me and Clara to take 3 trips on the Patria and have enjoyed every one of them and have become a family with some of the crew members. Every route has its own beauties to show and every Read More

Lynn F.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Our first trip with Tripsite (bike/barge on the Mosel River) was fantastic! Our “barge” was charming, neat, well run... my idea of a barge. The bikes were good, our route along the river could not have been more beautiful, with the little towns and all the vineyards. The food was great, the other passengers were nice and friendly, staff were wonderful, the weather perfect... we all had a great time.

Greg T.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Relaxing, easy route coupled with comfortable boat made for a memorable trip.

Terry P.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most Memorable Part? Scenic bike rides along with meeting a lot of nice people.

Jim R.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Best part: The scenery along the way. But I really enjoyed the staff on the Patria for a trip up the Mosel River in Germany. It was very laid back can of trip but the staff and food were great.

Greg S.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

My Moselle River Bike and Barge tour (October 2018) exceeded my expectations in every way. Barge was comfortable, food excellent and cycling experience was wonderful. I cannot wait to do something similar in the near future. I would recommend this style of travel to anyone who enjoys cycling and wants to experience great scenery and lovely towns.

David A.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

On day 4 my wife's front tire went off the bike trail into a 18 inch drop due to road construction . She dislocated her shoulder and broke her arm . We had to fly home in California for surgery . Two surgeries later she is almost back to normal and we hope to return to Germany next year to repeat the Mosel river trip and also a Croatia bike trip. We enjoyed the short time we had. We didn't have insurance so lost our money and then some. We are saving for another thru Tripsite because everything else wonderful.

Richard S.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Highlights: The historical landmarks, castles, churches. My suggestion is to go when the weather is warmer. The April weather was colder than I like.

Stuart D.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The boat and crew were all fantastic and the cycling was fun and easy through beautiful scenery.

Paul W.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The trip was very good throughout so it's hard to pick one thing as the highlight. Exploring the Roman remains in Trier was something we won't forget, and so was singing sea shanties on deck with the crew!

T Garner
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Excellent value for money. Food was great and the crew were fantastic. Great fun on the bikes and beautiful places to visit. Only let down was the tour guide Jochen Winkler. Did the basic of roles and did not engage clients.

Rita de CAssia Graf
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Momentos mágicos vivemos no Rio Mosel.
Nossa casa foi o Patria,nosso guia o Reinert,atencioso e amigo.
Tudo correu bem, ate o clima colaborou.
Comida excelente, foi um sonho!

Gerald R.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Great trip but had some problems with bikes. I've had better bikes on other trips.

Richard S.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The best part was the setting with the river and the villages that we visited.

James R.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I just liked the laid back atmosphere of this trip and boat. The boat was simple and the crew were very friendly. It is not high end and I like that for its simplicity. It makes it very easy to relax on this trip.

Kevin M.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Route was easy. We especially liked the fact that the boat stayed overnight where each day's ride ended. Our guide was a replacement so we don't think he was familiar enough with the route to give us the best guidance.

D. Valkenaar
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The boat staff were outstanding! The boat dinners were outstanding! The boat breakfasts and lunches were just okay.

The biggest downside to the trip were the totally inadequate route guides. They were not written for new-to-the-route riders. On one hand, they assumed the user was familiar with the route and knew where they were going. On the other hand, they seemed to have been written by someone who had never ridden the route, who just looked at a paper (or electronic) map to write the guide.

Finally, the on-boat guides were of minimal help. While they seem to have ridden the route, they did not explain the complexities a new rider would encounter along the way. They did, however, explain the highlights to look for on each route.

With those two exceptions, the trip was wonderful! As for the most memorable, being dog people, we really liked having the captain's dogs on board.

Shirley Correll
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bicycle and boat are the best vacations ever! Can't wait for my next tour! Hope to make this an annual thing. :)

Neil Webley
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Overall we enjoyed the Bike and Barge along the Mosel River. However it seemed to be too much effort for the guide to interact with the English speaking clients.
Maybe he's been doing it too long.
Thank You

Leonidas Roussinos
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

All of your staff at the office are fantastic! We love talking to you and we truly appreciate your efforts and quick response to our questions and requests. Looking forward to Bordeaux next September.

Amy Rowland
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We had an absolute blast on this trip and made great friends with the other English-speakers. The route was beautiful and full of things to discover, and the biking was very manageable, even for my 75 year old mother. The downside was that our boat included a very large group that had booked together, so we felt slightly apart from the majority of the passengers and the separate language orientation sessions intensified this. I know you don't run these tours, but I wonder if having the sessions together and providing English language translation in writing on the Power Point would be another option? Encouraging switching up the seating at meals might also help. One last comment is that it would be helpful for the maps to include information on the location of public toilets along the route. We are not comfortable using the riverbank as our toilet as our guide recommended.

Susan Roeterink
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Trip was excellent. the boat is really bare bones but that was okay. Wifi was spotty and difficult at times.