Silver Coast of Portugal Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 14 of 14

 

  • Silver Coast of Portugal
    by Gayle W. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The highlights were the following:
    RIDING - Sergio and his team were outstanding in every aspect ...nothing was too much trouble for him!
    We loved every day of cycling except the day from Praia de Mira to Figueira da Foz - I would recommend that you cut this day out of the cycling completely as it is not only ugly due to the fire but it is uncomfortable for 35km. We would recommend that you have two nights in Coimbra ...even if you must transport the cyclists in order that the day is not too long. Figueira da Foz is not as nice as the other towns either.
    HOTELS - all hotels were wonderful except for the one in Porto - I would recommend a different hotel - maybe one a little closer to the town (the wifi didnt work and the water was cold and just not the same standard as the rest)
    RESTAURANTS- the recommendations were brilliant and we had amazing meals every night
    HIGHLIGHTS - We would suggest that as well as the booklet that the guests are given a Read more… small"daily highlights" card which they can peg onto the front of their bikes (so that they dont have to get the booklet out of the bag) The card could indicate the "attraction" / "highlight" and the number of kilometers so that they are easy to find.
    We have cycled with various companies in France and Italy and these would be the tips which we feel could benefit your company

    Countries: Portugal

  • Silver Coast of Portugal
    by Liz G. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bike company and owner Sergio were extremely helpful and particular that we all had a good experience. The bikes were of superior quality...Escorting us out of the center of Porto was greatly appreciated and necessary as we were a group of 12. Accommodations were excellent and GPS’ worked well. Restaurants along the way provided excellent food. The only negatives were the cobbled streets and some of the roads had many potholes so attention had to be paid instead of looking at the scenery. As Portugal becomes a “biking” country, I’m sure this will be addressed in the future. The locals were more courteous to bikers than our drivers at home!!
    The abundant storks nesting in one area was a highlight.

    Countries: Portugal

  • Silver Coast of Portugal
    by Jeanne W. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Porto was extraordinary as was Aveiro. The bike routes were primitive or sand covered. Local company was extremely nice and accommodating. Portuguese people couldn’t have been friendlier.

    Countries: Portugal

  • Silver Coast of Portugal
    by Kathleen B. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking along the coast was epic. The vistas were beyond beautiful.

    Countries: Portugal

  • Silver Coast of Portugal
    by Patricia S. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our Silver Coast of Portugal trip was splendid. Our guides, the food, our hotels and our group had a lovely time. We've done over 10 cycling trips and this was one of the best overall trips we've had.

    Countries: Portugal

  • Silver Coast of Portugal
    by Richard F. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our self-guided Bruge/Amsterdam had given us a detailed book as well as GPS. This was [portugal coast] only GPS and one road was not usable due to a rock slide, so we had to go around a mountain with no real help with map. Also, they warned us of bad road conditions due to fire last year in their big forest. They were surely right as 15 miles of solid potholes and loose rock were what we got.

    Countries: Portugal

    • Silver Coast of Portugal
      by Jehiel from Tripsite 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Richard,
      Thanks for this feedback. As you know, there are some factors we cannot control and do our best to prepare you in these situations. We have not received any feedback since your trip about poor route conditions and our local partner assured us this route is clear.
      Glad you still had a great trip!

      Countries: Portugal

  • Silver Coast of Portugal
    by Steven E. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Portugal Silver Coast bike tour was one of my favorite vacations ever! I and 7 other people took the guided version of the tour in early June 2019. The more urban sight-seeing highlights included the city of Porto, with its very unique architecture and charming neighborhoods and cityscapes that cascade down the walls of both sides of the beautiful river valley, providing memorable photo-ops everywhere you turn. We toured a port distillery and tasted. Also noteworthy was the town of Aveiro, with its canals inhabited by gondolas and its colorfully tiled town center. And finally the university town of Coimbra, with its extraordinary 16th century library and its charming town square where groups of university students wearing darkest black perform splendid music (instruments and vocals) in various Portuguese traditions, such as Fado. Rural high-lights included beautiful beaches, pine forests, and amazing villages of stork nests, some constructed on high-voltage power distribution Read more… towers.
    Food highlights included a seafood and rice stew served at a little café in Miramar right near the chapel on the beach. Also, standout was a sports bar named Núcleo Sportinguista in Figueira da Foz where we feasted on sardines. Our server was a gem! She was so friendly and patient with our rowdy group that she deserves some sort of prize! And on the final night, we enjoyed a really extraordinary meal of lovely tapas and wines at Taberna Urbana in Coimbra. Just excellent!
    Many thanks to our guides, Sergio and Henrique, for their generous hospitality and flawless attention to detail. It was a joy to have them along on the trip!

    Countries: Portugal

  • Silver Coast of Portugal
    by Ann and Patrice 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved our bike trip and will definitely go back to Portugal. We would love to do another bike trip supported by Sergio and his team - we highly recommend them!
    Our trip was in April 2019 and from the moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed - with an airport pick up. We were given the best walking tour we have had which was done in conversation style allowing us to both learn about the rich history of Porto and to ask questions vs. being "talked at". A port tasting and tour was also included and was equally well done. Sergio and his staff treated us with incredible care all along the trip even though we were self guided. The bikes and Garmin GPS were top! The suggested restaurants along the way provided delicious food (that says a lot because we live in France and we are quite selective). Hotels were very comfortable some with spa facilities which were appreciated after being in the saddle. The route was varied - mostly coastal yet some forests. We enjoyed the Read more… visit to Vista Allegra to see the porcelain factory including the artists at work hand painting porcelain. We saw many birds along the route including nesting storks. The surface for cycling varied from paved bike routes, dirt trails and sometimes a bit of sand covering the route due to some wind. We strongly encourage you to treat yourself to this trip!

    Countries: Portugal

  • Silver Coast of Portugal
    by Leigh & Pat 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Just completed this tour - May, 2019. We were a group of 12 (Canadians) and were looking for a reasonably easy bike journey. The terrain was - as advertised - very flat and never strayed very far from the beautiful shorelines of Portugal. (one significant hill - character builder) Early to mid-May worked well and we could only imagine how crowded the beaches and communities would be if the trip were taken in high summer months. Many of the small towns we passed through were almost dormant - very little life or activity, and many shops seemed closed . If you take the trip - be aware of Sunday closings and fewer selections of restaurants in Portugal. Sergio, the organizer and supporter, was helpful in every way with the organization of the trip, gps devices and bikes. He was available at all times if needed. We did not require that sort of support - and we were non-guided. The actual surfaces of land that we biked upon were variable - ranging from excellent bike paths Read more… to rural, remote dirt roads - but all very passable.
    Not enough can be said about the hospitality and consideration of the Portuguese people we encountered. Bike travel is not as abundant in Portugal, and not as much a part of the culture, as elsewhere in Europe - but the gentle ways of the Portuguese are a pleasure to encounter. lb

    Countries: Portugal

  • Silver Coast of Portugal
    by Marjorie S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved this trip. The route was scenic and easily navigated, the bikes were well maintained and the customer service was impeccable. It was an easy trip with the exception of one leg at the end, but electric bikes made it doable. Absolutely recommended. The only point of confusion was occasionally the GPS would point us in 2 different directions. One was the main route and the other was an optional side trip. At times it was confusing as to which way to go. Otherwise, things were exceptionally well planned. See this wonderful part of Portugal while it’s still less visited by tourists.

    Countries: Portugal

  • Silver Coast of Portugal
    by Gloria 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Did a self-guided tour with a group of 5 women - had a blast. Flat terrain, beautiful scenery. Glad we built in time to explore Porto and Coimbra, both fabulous cities. Sergio was a pleasure to work with, highly recommend this trip.

    Countries: Portugal

  • Silver Coast of Portugal
    by Martha 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Very nice bike tour - great scenery and nice hotels. Everyone was very nice and helpful. Sergio is wonderful to work with and very responsive to our questions and requests. Wonderful trip!

    Countries: Portugal

  • Silver Coast of Portugal
    by Andy Foster 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A wonderful time. A hands off unguided tour down that beautiful coast just my friend and I. Thanks to Sergio and the gang for excellent guidance and suggestions, and his GPS, we never got lost and were able to stay on bike paths most of the way. All hotels were waiting for us, our bags already pre arrived. Thanks again Sergio! Highly recommended.

    Countries: Portugal

PWPC