Silver Coast of Portugal Tour Reviews — 1 to 16 of 16

4.6 out of 5

 


Doug S.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The tour was well organized and supported by the operators. Beautiful scenery, flat ride and wonderful food and drink. The hotels were excellent and showed thoughtfulness in their selection. Sergio was wonderful and handled a crash incident that we had very professionally. Thanks Sergio. Great ride we will use trip site again. D&J.

Elke K.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We had the best time!
It was our first time in Portugal and it was The perfect way to get to know beautiful towns and cities,

The routes were great as well as the the hotels .
Everything was really marvelous

Dianne A.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The second tour I joined Sergio and his team on was the Silver Coast tour of Portugal from Porto to Coimbra. It was stunningly beautiful along the never-ending boardwalks following the coast. This tour is very flat but very enjoyable, the breathtaking coastline of Portugal is definitely worth seeing. Our group managed each day’s cycling limit very easily and Sergio and Henrique are always very attentive, caring and totally devoted to making each client enjoy their holiday to the utmost. There was never anything that was a problem to them and they went beyond what I would ever have expected of them. Each meal was amazing, each day was fun and I just wish Sergio all the very best in his future because he was the most fantastic guide.

Gayle W.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The highlights were the following:
RIDING - Sergio and his team were outstanding in every aspect ...nothing was too much trouble for him!
We loved every day of cycling except the day from Praia de Mira to Figueira da Foz - I would recommend that you cut this day out of the cycling completely as it is not only ugly due to the fire but it is uncomfortable for 35km. We would recommend that you have two nights in Coimbra ...even if you must transport the cyclists in order that the day is not too long. Figueira da Foz is not as nice as the other towns either.
HOTELS - all hotels were wonderful except for the one in Porto - I would recommend a different hotel - maybe one a little closer to the town (the wifi didnt work and the water was cold and just not the same standard as the rest)
RESTAURANTS- the recommendations were brilliant and we had amazing meals every night
HIGHLIGHTS - We would suggest that as well as the booklet that the guests are given a Read More

Liz G.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Bike company and owner Sergio were extremely helpful and particular that we all had a good experience. The bikes were of superior quality...Escorting us out of the center of Porto was greatly appreciated and necessary as we were a group of 12. Accommodations were excellent and GPS’ worked well. Restaurants along the way provided excellent food. The only negatives were the cobbled streets and some of the roads had many potholes so attention had to be paid instead of looking at the scenery. As Portugal becomes a “biking” country, I’m sure this will be addressed in the future. The locals were more courteous to bikers than our drivers at home!!
The abundant storks nesting in one area was a highlight.

Jeanne W.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Porto was extraordinary as was Aveiro. The bike routes were primitive or sand covered. Local company was extremely nice and accommodating. Portuguese people couldn’t have been friendlier.

Kathleen B.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Biking along the coast was epic. The vistas were beyond beautiful.

Patricia S.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Our Silver Coast of Portugal trip was splendid. Our guides, the food, our hotels and our group had a lovely time. We've done over 10 cycling trips and this was one of the best overall trips we've had.

Richard F.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Our self-guided Bruge/Amsterdam had given us a detailed book as well as GPS. This was [portugal coast] only GPS and one road was not usable due to a rock slide, so we had to go around a mountain with no real help with map. Also, they warned us of bad road conditions due to fire last year in their big forest. They were surely right as 15 miles of solid potholes and loose rock were what we got.

Steven E.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The Portugal Silver Coast bike tour was one of my favorite vacations ever! I and 7 other people took the guided version of the tour in early June 2019. The more urban sight-seeing highlights included the city of Porto, with its very unique architecture and charming neighborhoods and cityscapes that cascade down the walls of both sides of the beautiful river valley, providing memorable photo-ops everywhere you turn. We toured a port distillery and tasted. Also noteworthy was the town of Aveiro, with its canals inhabited by gondolas and its colorfully tiled town center. And finally the university town of Coimbra, with its extraordinary 16th century library and its charming town square where groups of university students wearing darkest black perform splendid music (instruments and vocals) in various Portuguese traditions, such as Fado. Rural high-lights included beautiful beaches, pine forests, and amazing villages of stork nests, some constructed on high-voltage power distribution Read More

Ann and Patrice
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

We loved our bike trip and will definitely go back to Portugal. We would love to do another bike trip supported by Sergio and his team - we highly recommend them!
Our trip was in April 2019 and from the moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed - with an airport pick up. We were given the best walking tour we have had which was done in conversation style allowing us to both learn about the rich history of Porto and to ask questions vs. being "talked at". A port tasting and tour was also included and was equally well done. Sergio and his staff treated us with incredible care all along the trip even though we were self guided. The bikes and Garmin GPS were top! The suggested restaurants along the way provided delicious food (that says a lot because we live in France and we are quite selective). Hotels were very comfortable some with spa facilities which were appreciated after being in the saddle. The route was varied - mostly coastal yet some forests. We enjoyed the Read More

Leigh & Pat
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Just completed this tour - May, 2019. We were a group of 12 (Canadians) and were looking for a reasonably easy bike journey. The terrain was - as advertised - very flat and never strayed very far from the beautiful shorelines of Portugal. (one significant hill - character builder) Early to mid-May worked well and we could only imagine how crowded the beaches and communities would be if the trip were taken in high summer months. Many of the small towns we passed through were almost dormant - very little life or activity, and many shops seemed closed . If you take the trip - be aware of Sunday closings and fewer selections of restaurants in Portugal. Sergio, the organizer and supporter, was helpful in every way with the organization of the trip, gps devices and bikes. He was available at all times if needed. We did not require that sort of support - and we were non-guided. The actual surfaces of land that we biked upon were variable - ranging from excellent bike paths Read More

Marjorie S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We loved this trip. The route was scenic and easily navigated, the bikes were well maintained and the customer service was impeccable. It was an easy trip with the exception of one leg at the end, but electric bikes made it doable. Absolutely recommended. The only point of confusion was occasionally the GPS would point us in 2 different directions. One was the main route and the other was an optional side trip. At times it was confusing as to which way to go. Otherwise, things were exceptionally well planned. See this wonderful part of Portugal while it’s still less visited by tourists.

Gloria
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Did a self-guided tour with a group of 5 women - had a blast. Flat terrain, beautiful scenery. Glad we built in time to explore Porto and Coimbra, both fabulous cities. Sergio was a pleasure to work with, highly recommend this trip.

Martha
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Very nice bike tour - great scenery and nice hotels. Everyone was very nice and helpful. Sergio is wonderful to work with and very responsive to our questions and requests. Wonderful trip!

Andy Foster
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

A wonderful time. A hands off unguided tour down that beautiful coast just my friend and I. Thanks to Sergio and the gang for excellent guidance and suggestions, and his GPS, we never got lost and were able to stay on bike paths most of the way. All hotels were waiting for us, our bags already pre arrived. Thanks again Sergio! Highly recommended.