Portugal’s Vicentine Coast & Algarve Tour Reviews — 1 to 23 of 23

Gorgeous cliffs and beaches in Algarve, Portugal. Photo via Flickr:Oliver Clarke 37.125505, -8.896179

Portugal’s Vicentine Coast & Algarve

8–10 days from €1603

4.9 out of 5

Portugal’s Vicentine Coast & Algarve

Easy–Moderate Bike Tour in Portugal

This is a breathtaking bike tour through one of Europe's most preserved regions, the Southeast Alentejo Natural Park in Portugal, featuring wild beaches surrounded by imposing cliffs, small mountain…

4.9 out of 5

 


Brenda P.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This was our first trip with Tripsite and we had such an amazing time that we have already booked another one. The coastline was beautiful, the accommodations were unique, the bikes were in excellent shape. Our guides Miguel, Berto and Pedro were awesome and by the end of the trip felt more like friends than guides. We rented E-bikes which I am glad we did. There was a nice mix of trail and country road biking with some sections that were a little challenging but that is all part of the fun. I would highly recommend this trip and would encourage E bikes.

John A D.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

If someone asked me which tour to do I would say this was on of the top Portugal trips to do.
Super full of cultural and historical facts and experiences.

Bradley Scott P.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Very good trip, views ,mix of road and trail cycling.
All accommodations were top notch.
Guides were very friendly and eager to assist.
I would probably rate the tour as moderate to say the least, loose sand and rocky trails can make it challenging.

David K.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Beautiful scenery along the coast of Portugal. This trip was rated as easy and if certainly was not. We were on regular bikes and there were quite a few very steep hills on rough terrain. People in our group had to walk their bikes up.

Cristina D.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The beauty of the beaches, the breathtaking views of the cliffs and Portugal food and wine. Sergio, our guide, also was perfect!

Ana Cristina F.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The Triple was fantastic! There where many memorable moments. One was the fado group at a charming hotel. The fantastic beaches and food must be noticed as well. The movie of the trip done by the local partner (sergio) was very touching. The guy is the best!

Norbert G.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The guides were very professional and the program/attractions very good. Good equipment. 4 of the 6 hotels were very good, the remainder 2, acceptable,

LUIZ EDUARDO C.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The Vincetine Coast is spectacular. The weather ( 6 sunny days), the views, the beaches, the guide´s, and the bikes were very good. Our Group was hibrid with e-bike and normal bikes. No problems with either. The e-bikes were very good.
i recomend this TOUR.

Denise S.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We had a wonderful trip from beginning to end. We decided to trust that it would all be good so we didn't research anything ahead of time so that we could be surprised. Every day was a pleasant surprise. We chose E-bikes and were very glad. We were all E-bike snobs and this trip totally changed that perspective. The routes were split between paved roads and dirt roads. The dirt roads were rugged and we loved them. The paved roads were well chosen. The side trips were well thought out and truly worth doing. We used the provided GPS device and the Ride with GPS device. We found the Ride with GPS easier to use and cross-referenced it with the GPS device for accuracy if we ever got off course.
The hotels were great. Each one was different and represented the region/village we were in. Part of the fun was seeing what would be for breakfast every morning. We were always greeted warmly and they accommodated the charging needs of the bikes. The hotels were Read More

Christina F.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

My husband and I are in our late 60s/early 70s. We selected the Vicentine Coast & Algarve trip (self-guided) to celebrate our early May 30th wedding anniversary. It was our first visit to Portugal, first tour with Tripsite, and first time riding e-bikes. Our expectations were exceeded in every aspect of this trip! The route was spectacular and almost exclusively off of busy roads. We rode mostly on pavement or dirt farm roads, with occasional gravelly/sandy paths. I found the paths to be challenging in some locations and chose to walk, affording more time to enjoy the delightful views and fragrances of the region. Our accommodations and food options were terrific and varied. We only needed to contact Tripsite a few times during our stay, and each time Sergio was very responsive. We added extra days in Lisbon on both ends of the bike-touring and were so happy we did. And one more thing, early May is an excellent time to visit this part of the world - sunny and in the 70s, fresh ocean breezes, and not too crowded. All around, an excellent adventure.

DeDee T.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The most memorable part of our trip were our 3 hr lunchs and the amazing people we met along the way! The hotel accomodations were also top notch, hard to pick a favorite but if I had choose Herdade Do Touril in Zambujeira do Mar and Casa Fajara in Carrapeteira were quaint and secluded and the staff were top notch! The breakfast at each of the hotels were fantastic, much more than we had expected. The local partner did a great job with the bikes, gps and roadside assist for a flat tire. Definitely plan to get lost along the trail at some point but honestly getting lost just added more fun to the journey. I would suggest that the leader and the biker at the end of the group use mirrors... to keep track of everyone and at the end of the group to watch for traffic. This was our groups first bike trip and we all thoughly enjoyed it! We really enjoyed being on our own schedule, unlike other tour company's that schedule events and meals we appreciated being able to come and go as we pleased and ate meals at small local restaurants which was really enjoyable. We have shared Tripsite with many travelers along the way and can't wait to book our next trip!!

Brian O.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The scenery was spectacular, on the edge of the cliffs overlooking the Atlantic...words and photos just can't do it justice. All the of the accommodations were excellent and the equipment provide by Sergio and team was of the highest quality. If you enjoy breathing taking views and unlimited sunshine then this is the tour for you!!!

Lori M.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This was a truly exceptional trip! The most memorable part was the scenery. The route included many different terrains, some quite challenging, and I was very thankful for the e bike. The rider should have some experience with trail riding and be prepared to encounter some steep ascents and descents on gravel roads. The accommodations were so lovely. I would highly recommend this trip.

Anne S.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

We took this trip as a self-guided tour in late January/early February in order to get a break from the cloudy, dreary weather in central France. We were a little worried about the weather conditions, but it turned out to be perfect - and no crowds! I started each day in a ski coat and double pants, but by the early afternoon would be down to just a light jacket. Ideal biking weather - never got hot, not very windy, and yet the sun was bright. Sergio had the trip set up perfectly - the bikes were top-of-the-line and worked well, the multiple GPS systems were accurate and useful, and he was always just a text away. A mix of accommodation types which were all good in their different ways, and a couple of them were just outstanding. The scenery and countryside were by turns fascinating and breathtaking. The coastline had spectacularly scenic rocky cliffs with interesting birds (including nesting storks). All the people we met were friendly, helpful, and welcoming. I would highly recommend including some extra days in Lisbon and Sintra.

Celine O.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

scenic views.great accommodations and enjoyable group dinners. Guides were friendly and helpful.

suggestions- rating it as " easy" was not accurate. the varying terrains made it more challenging. hill durations might be described better. I would give participants a branded water bottle as a take away.

Louise V.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Beautiful beaches. The coast of Portugal is truly remarkable

Valerie K.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The trip was outstanding. Sergio is the ultimate trip leader. Some in the group were not expecting as much off road dirt and stone trails, but they managed. Just know this will be part of the route. Until Portugal, and perhaps other countries, eliminate the currency exchange surcharge, I’d recommend bringing Euros with you. AAA is currently exchanging dollars to Euros with no fees for members. And pack lightly! Many had too much clothing.

Christina C.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Traversing by bike through the Vincentine Coast and Algarve was an unforgettable experience! The scenery was breathtaking at each turn...just when we thought we had seen the most beautiful view we rounded a corner and came upon yet another gorgeous view. The varied surfaces that we biked on kept things interesting but we were well guided by our fearless leader Sergio. We completed the ride on hybrid bikes but the majority of our group were on ebikes. We were able to visit many small towns along the way, a stop at a dairy farm with a tour of their cheese making and tasting, a wine tasting at a vineyard and opportunities to jump in the ocean! All of the accommodations were wonderful. We loved the trip and would do it again in a heartbeat!

Ann M.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

It was the trip of a lifetime! On top of our own fabulous group of 20 and lots of sunshine, our tour guides, Sergio, Miguel and Pedro,were phenomenal! They were patient, kind and fun and very knowledgable. We had a tour of the back roads and coastlines of Portugal that included visits to ruins, wineries, cheese farm, beaches & many small towns. They always had water and snacks available at each stop. Our guides were always flexible to accommodate the needs and wants of the group and worked very hard to keep everyone happy. A few minor technical issues with the bikes were resolved promptly. The accommodations along the way were all very different and each wonderful in its own way. I highly recommend this trip without reservation!!

Lori O.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Our trip was fabulous.
The coastal roads were amazing.
We felt like Sergio was available anytime we needed him.
The hotels were mostly perfect.
We would recommend this trip to all our friends!

Sally Snyder
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Four intrepid bikers completed the 8 day tour just ahead of covid-19 March 20, 2020. Lisbon and the coastal bike route were grand, as described. Maps could have been better quality. Two GPS supplied with route loaded, finding the correct route in towns and leaving villages was a challenge. Lodgings and restaurants very nice, some staying open when we were the only guests. Sergio, Enrique and Diego, and Tripsite were extremely helpful daily! Thanks. We are home now, finished with the virus quarantine, well and ready to create a photo log of the trip.

Todd S.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The Portugal Vincentin Coast bike tour was outstanding. The views along the coast were spectacular. The ride went through many nice little towns that you would probably never see if you were in a car. It was mostly on hardpack dirt roads with a few smaller dirt trails. When on paved roads, there were typically very few cars. The tour was mostly flat but there were a few challenging climbs, particularly on the last day to Lagos.

Kedar
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We just completed this trip in last week of May 2019 & had so much fun that I’m ready for one more right away. The process to book this trip was so easy & quick with excellent communication at all times. Once we landed in Lisbon Sergio picked us up at the airport & gave me a ride to the hotel which was excellent. The bikes they provided were really in good
Condition. Before we began our trip they gave us GPS route info & guidance which helped us tremendously in ensuring our trip was safe, enjoyable & exciting. I highly recommend this. Have fun.