Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 100

Douro River in Porto, Portugal. Flickr:Steven dosRemedios

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour

8–9 days from €1723

4.9 out of 5

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour

Easy–Moderate Bike Tour in Portugal, Spain

The Portuguese Coastal Wa,y or Caminho da Costa ,is a stunning but easy electric bike alternative route to Santiago de Compostela. This journey of faith and hope, commonly known as the Camino de…

4.9 out of 5

 


Roderick S.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Not getting a bike that fit me. The frame was too big. It created a hazard that I couldn't overcome. Make sure that they know your exact wants. I didn't and was hurt on the first day. I don't feel that the office was as helpful as they could of been in getting me from city to city afterwards. I spent well over $150. On taxis.

Craig J.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Though the entire self guided Ebike trip was amazing! (except for not being picked up at the airport in Porto on our arrival & having to take a taxis) For me probably the final leg of the EBike trip entering Santiago de Compestela knowing that we just completed the 7 day trip. At age 71 getting the Certificate of Completion is special. Though staying in the Castle in Bayonia & the Torre do Rio Hotel in Caldras de Reis where the waterfall flowed directly into the swimming pool were wonderful as well.

Jo Ann J.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The scenery was amazing! The guides were great about stopping for restroom breaks and great about taking photos and videos of the group. The bikes were top notch with thick tires and great shocks. A helmet was included which helped with packing. Saddle bags were also provided for carrying extra items like a windbreaker and sunscreen. Riding as a group meant we didn't lose a lot of time reading directions or getting lost. The meals we ate together were a lot of fun - I wish we had more of them! The hotels were very nice and most had good restaurants. Fresh fruit and other snacks were provided throughout the day. My only suggestion would be to set up a WhatsApp group at the beginning of the trip to allow people to communicate with the group and guides and to share photos. Overall a wonderful trip with great people and guides!

Christina V.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This was a great trip! This was our first time doing a trip like this. We loved it and are definitely going to do it again.

Debbie G.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The planning and logistics for the bike trip to Santiago was extraordinary: The GPS on our Garmen was easy to read; The transportation of our luggage to meet us at our new hotel each night was seamless; The staff gave us a walking tour of Porto and port tasting then on the start date of our 8-day bike trip escorted us out of Porto to ensure that all was OK with our bikes and ability. The selection of the hotel at each destination was wonderful and breakfast was always included before we mounted up again. The staff responded to any questions on What’sApp in a timely manner. There were no bike breakdowns or repairs during or 290 km trip for any of the 6 bikes of our group. A beautiful experience.

Anita G.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

I loved the tour, the cities are beautiful, the hotels are fantastic, our guides are perfect and everything was wonderful.

Juan u.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The parador in Baionne. Crossing to Spain. The last hotel before Arriving in Santiago

michael l.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Great Trip!
Best part was night at Torre do Río hotel WOW. Second best was boat crossing into Spain. Third best was night at the castle Parador de Baiona.
The trip lost a star because of the death bridge Ponte Effle, the long walk across bridge Ponte Fao and riding in traffic of Vigo and Porto.
thx-mik Sep23

Gail C.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Meeting all the pilgrims on the trail was lots of fun. Everyone was friendly and kind. The trail was a challenge at times with lots of rough rocks, quick hills, little streams to cross but we had e-bikes and can’t imagine doing it without them. Probably avoid doing this route in July and Aug because of the number of pilgrims on the trail.

David R.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We loved our entry into Spain from Portugal when traveling on the Camino de Santiago. In the morning hours we boarded a small boat and huddled with our bike, we crossed the river landing on a sandy shore where we disembarked directly on a beach (felt like survivor!). Later that day we entered Baiona where we stayed at the beautiful ancient castle Castillo de Monterreal that sits prominently at the entrance to the bay. The journey rewarded us with deliciously varied seafood, awesome biking and a spiritual uplift which we felt directly when entering into Santiago de Compenstela where hundreds of other people had pilgrimaged and shared their journeys. Don't miss the delicious handmade almond cookies made by nuns (it's a bit of a puzzle to find) and the Portugese Pastal de Nata. Thank you TripSite for everything you truly were our caretaker making our travels safe!

Steven G.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This bike trip was fantastic from beginning to end. We have been on many bike trips and this was one of the best. local partner did a great job of organizing and supporting the trip. The bikes and other equipment they provided were excellent. Would definitely use Tripsite again. The biking was varied, at times challenging, and interesting every day. At the end of each days ride we would look at each other and say “that was fun”. The hotels were all very good with a couple over the top. This certainly is a five star trip.

Cindy B.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The entire trip was excellent - memorable - great fun - challenging at times - but the hotels Tripsite booked us in were superb!

Louis C.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

-Cycling along the coast of Portugal and Spain
-Spending the evening in Baiona at the converted nobleman's castle, Parador de Baiona and enjoying a VERY festive Saturday evening in town center
-Spending the night at the amazing "rural house, Torre do Rio, in Caldis Dos Reis
-Cycling the off-road Camino trails on the last two days, some challenging hills and descents as the alternative to many flat miles
-Entering Santigo de Compostela city limits during an intense 5-minute downpour that felt like a "cleanse" before arriving at the Cathedral of Santiago. Not sure how our guides arranged than one?
-Meeting fellow adventure travelers from different countries

Jacques B.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Beautiful scenery

Vicki
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Sergio and John knew every inch of the route, and were professional, knowledgeable and supportive. All we had to do was show up every morning with packed luggage - they took care of transporting it to the next location. Each day’s ride was well planned and the team arranged surprises along the way. All accommodations were more than adequate, and a couple over the top! A great group of travel companions and a scenic, and sometimes a little challenging route.
The downside? - the week went too fast! We were so fortunate to connect with a great group of people to make a fabulous trip and memories. Absolutely recommend this tour.

Martin B.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Ocean views, varying terrain, awesome accommodations, some beautiful places, and of course well planned ride from our guides. The only thing I could have asked for is a little more information of the history in our towns we visited. 5 stars all the way.

Cal Torres & Yanil Teron
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The Camino de Santiago bike journey from Porto to Stgo. De Compostela, Spain, is a must for biking enthusiasts.
Our experience with Top Bike Tour Portugal was outstanding. Sergio’s, Miguel’s, and Pedro’s attention to detail was excellent. The support van was always there when needed for rest and hydration stops. The pace was comfortable, and the terrain was varied and sometimes challenging (but fun). The lodging accommodations were first class, and our meals were excellent and reasonably priced. The journey took us over beautiful boardwalks, villages, cities, vineyards, farms, and mountains; never a dull moment.
We recommend the use of e-bikes unless you are a top-notch cyclist. All their bikes were of excellent quality. Go ahead and book today. The Tripsite team got it right in selecting TBTP as their partner in Portugal.

Kathryn L.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The trip was awesome. John from Porto bike shop was so helpful and patient. I would absolutely use Trip Site for my next trip!!

Sandi B.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We did the costal route from Porto to Santiago, unguided with a group of 9. We all had an amazing time and really enjoyed the route. Lots of varied terrain and beautiful views. There are a few challenges along the way going through bigger cities but all a part of the experience. The accommodations were all great as well as the food. Highly recommended!

Judith S.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Riding through the small vineyards and stone cottages with farm animals.

Stopping at chapels and churches.

Riding alongside the scenic rocky coastline.

Dave P.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The most memorable part of the trip for me as the third day, which was pretty challenging physically (nothing good in life is easy). The scenery was spectacular as we were along the coast for much of the day. We stopped for lunch at the recommended restaurant -- Taperia a Camboa with an ocean view and a menu swimming with wonderful seafood tapa choices. I had squid which was delicious. After lunch the ride continued on the coast to Baiona where GPS led us right to a fortress overlooking the city and the bay. I could hardly believe we were staying at such a scenic place. Be sure and walk the walls while you are there for wonderful views of the city and get down to the marina and board the replica of the famous caravel 'Pinta'.

Deborah B.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Tripsite did an excellent job of selecting accommodations for our journey on the Camino. At each location we were greeted with exceptional places to rest our weary bones after a day of riding including a couple of castles! We could not have asked for anything more!

Willem C.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Each day of the ride was fantastic. My only suggestion is that the beginning and end could be better organised. At the beginning we were not met at at the hotel as advised and we did not receive the promised tour of Lisbon . At the end the GPS did not take us to the finish and it was not clear where we could obtain our certificates .

Gary Eake & Jo Sawicki
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Our entire experience was way beyond our expectations. The city, seaside and countryside route allowed for a great snapshot of Portugal and Spain, the service provided by the guides and the amazing lodging where 2nd to none. And we were fortunate the other 18 attendees from Brazil, Canada and the USA were fun and courteous. No matter your bike skill level you will have a more enjoyable experience if you select E-Bikes.

Rachel H.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Sergio was an excellent guide. The accommodations far exceeded my expectations - extremely high end/luxury hotels. We had a large and diverse group - many from Brazil, Canada and US - with no language or riding skill barriers to making our journey an absolute blast.

Susan S.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This bike route was wonderful…so much variety. The cycling was very enjoyable with a few challenges along the way to keep things interesting. To experience the El Camino by bike was an amazing experience. The tour guides did everything possible to make our journey safe, interesting and fun. The accommodations were top notch including two outstanding hotels. With the help of the guides we experienced wonderful local food. This trip is a must do…..and would recommend using an e-bike.

Pat D.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

My kind of adventure, exercise, Europe, great food, fun people, and challenges.

Gayl G.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

I never knew there could be so many different types of trail surfaces, and on this trip, you could go from one type to another without warning. That made it a bit challenging but it also made it interesting.
The other thing that made it both challenging and interesting in doing the self-guided tour, was figuring out where the path went as it meandered through backstreets of towns. GPS was definitely necessary, but there were still times when you wondered, a little, where to turn. I noticed that signage did get more abundant as we got closer to Santiago, which made it a little easier.
There were also a variety of hotel types, which also made it very interesting.

Agata W.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Everything! One of ours best trip ever. Our tour guides were very caring and supportive. Sergio and John (sorry, I am sure I didn't spell your name in Portuguese) were always available and provide us with everything we needed including adventures and great crafted tour. They were very professional and always available. We had fantastic time and plan to travel with them again. We biked through beautiful and diverse landscape, we visited beautiful towns and villages, enjoyed great food and fantastic atmosphere a small group of people who loved active traveling.

John D.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

I think everyone else's review of the trip cover it well. Unbelievable postcard views every 100 meters.
I would however, really really suggest bringing a GoPro with a chest harness. So many things to take videos and pictures of and GoPro will do this with voice commands. I could kick myself for forgetting my GoPro. "GoPro start recording", "GoPro stop recording", "GoPro take a picture". Instead I would have to reach in whatever pocket and take an iPhone picture/video with one hand.
I am planning on signing up for their Fisherman's Trail in October.
Joao Natale was very cool guide. Busted his butt to make things happen. Got us a ferry across the river from Portugal to Spain as a special surprise.