Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 68

Duoro River in Porto, Portugal. Flickr:Alex Ristea

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour

8–9 days from €1723

4.9 out of 5

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour

Easy–Moderate Bike Tour in Portugal, Spain

The Portuguese Coastal Way or Caminho da Costa is a stunning but easy e-bike alternative route to Santiago de Compostela. This journey of faith and hope, commonly known as the Camino de Santiago, was…

4.9 out of 5

 


Kevin D.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

The paradors were incredible! And riding along the coast of Portugal and Spain... magical.

Gordon Shaw
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

My best bike trip ever. The route has some challenging sections but exciting. Will definitely go again.

Alessandra Melo
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Passeio fantástico!!!
Recomendo a todos que pretendem ter essa experiência de pedalar em Portugal e poder aventurar - se por caminhos que são uma verdadeira maravilha! Foi tudo muito gratificante, os guias, os hotéis!!! Muita a agradecer!!! Maravilhoso!!

Alessandra Melo
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Passeio fantástico!!!
Recomendo a todos que pretendem ter essa experiência de pedalar em Portugal e poder aventurar - se por caminhos que são uma verdadeira maravilha! Foi tudo muito gratificante, os guias, os hotéis!!! Muita a agradecer!!! Maravilhoso!!

Corinne V.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Riding along the coastline was incredible. The hill climbs and the terrain was more challenging than expected and some places I had to carry or push my very heavy bike through sand. I am so glad that I had an electric bike for the hills! All of the hotels were amazing, but the hotel de rio was so breathtakingly beautiful I wish we had spent 2 nights there. a suggestion would be to have some videos of the difficult sections on your website, and more detailed descriptions about the daily rides and the types of terrain.

BRENO C.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

every day was very special

Ivan M.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

We did the self-guided tour. My wife took the e-bike, and me and my daughters took normal bikes. It was an excelent combination.
The support was excellent, hotels are amazing.
We loved the tour.

Janellen H.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The memories of cycling along the Atlantic coast past long white sand beaches and through charming seaside towns remain long after the trip’s end. This route has incredible scenery. The experience of meeting other walkers and cyclists on route to Santiago enhances the feeling of a pilgrimage. The trip was well organized, the guides knowledgeable, and the accommodations and food exceeded my expectations.

ELIZABETH T.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This was the best cycling trip ever! A total exhilarating adventure!! The vistas, the terrain, the food , the accommodation were absolutely perfect. It really was a trip of a lifetime. As we rounded every corner there was another adventure. There was a smile on the groups faces constantly as it was a fun and somewhat challenging ride. The e bikes were really appreciated on the steep hills. However it still required hard pedalling,
I cannot give enough praise to Sergio and the crew. They took excellent care of us every minute. The group dinners were very enjoyable. This tour fills fast and I can now understand.
Sign up for this as the spots go very quickly and I can now say I understand why it is so popular

Melissa S.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

There were so many memorable aspects of our self-guided cycling tour from Porto to Santiago . . . too many to list. It's easier to list the negative parts of the trip because there were NONE, except for wanting to stay even longer! I really have to give a shout-out to Sergio and John at the bike shop in Porto because every aspect of this self-guided trip was extremely well organized and the trip went off without a hitch from the GPS and app directions, the daily luggage transfers, and the wonderful hotels . . . everything was perfect. Thank you for an amazing trip!

Chris s.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Wonderful trip! We were a party of eight, ages 55 to 72, and did the 8-day self-guided tour. The scenery was spectacular, the e-bikes were almost new (two of them were brand new), the GPS route finding was excellent, the hotels were all very comfortable, and the baggage handling was flawless. Most of the riding was on dedicated bike paths, backroads, or elevated wood paths. There were a few short sections of sand that required pushing the bikes and a few busy stretches of road (all with good shoulders). Two memorable hotels are Parador de Baiona in Bayona which is inside a castle, and Torre do Rio in Caldas Dos Reis which is in a remodeled 18th century textile mill featuring a waterfall pool and spectacular gardens.

The GPS guidance takes you from door-to-door of each hotel on the tour. We got off track at least once a per day with the GPS it is easy to get back on route. I recommend using both the Garmin GPS provided by Top Bikes (the tour operator) and the "Ride with Read More

James P.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

What a truly wonderful trip. The team at Top Bikes, specifically Sergio, John, John N and Miguel were totally fantastic. We had so much fun. The E-bikes were brand new and very useful on the trip. They loaded the GPS maps (which were very reliable) onto my Edge 1030 which was very helpful. They did a great job getting us setup. Miguel happily led us out of Porto on our first day. While this trip is relatively flat the first three days the terrain is extremely varied. Paved roads, cobblestones, narrow streets, wooded paths with branches and pine needles through forests, boardwalks (some elevated) and SAND. The portions of the path particularly on the first two days with stretches of sand along the coast required some walking. But the scenery is varied and beautiful and all the pilgrims on the route are very pleasant. All of the hotels were quite nice and two are in beautiful centuries old buildings. We did self guided but were lucky enough to meet up with Sergio, Miguel, Read More

Andrew
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This was a fantastic bike tour in so many ways for our family! The pre-trip planning and communications were organized and prompt. The trip had a great combination of physical activity (bicycling about 25-30 miles per day), options (e-bikes available), thoughtful and accommodating guides (Sergio and Miguel), beautiful scenery in 2 countries (3 days in Portugal and 3 in Spain), history (Camino de Santiago), and outstanding hotels and delicious food. We couldn't have asked for a better trip. It is so relaxing, comfortable and convenient to stay in wonderful hotels with meals provided. Our family has done several other active vacations in other regions---this one may have been the best!

Kerry S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Best Part? Scenery and trials we traveled on and some of the accommodation we staying at.

Ailsa W.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The entire trip was most memorable: the scenery, the care taken of us by our guides-Sergio &Joa, the lanes & trails through town & country, the other group members , the nightly accommodations.
The trail riding on an EBike was ‘easy’ but there were some scary spots and steep climbs that added to the excitement!

Edna J.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The whole experience was extraordinary. Starting with the warm welcome at Porto until traveling back from Santiago de Compostela. Sergio and Juan Carlos were the best! We opted for the self-guided tour and we were equipped with all that was necessary for such an incredible adventure. The daily overview that is provided for you to read every day to understand how your next day ride will look like was great to have. It is provided both printed and also available to download in a mobile app. Hotels were amazing and well prepared to welcome bikers. Porta do Sol Hotel in Caminha, Portugal has a great SPA with pool and sauna, great to enjoy after your bike ride. My e-bike was a great differentiator to manage uphill's. Loved it! I would recommend this tour to anyone who enjoys biking with great scenery alongside the coast. We may consider to repeat this journey anytime in the coming years.

MANUEL V.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Hotel in Caldas de Reis was outstanding as wel as the last journey to Santiago de Compostela.

Our tour Guide Joao in Oporto was excellent, he was always worried how the trip was going on and ready to help us in case something went wrong

Renee C.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Wonderful adventure! I challenged myself and used the mountain bike , great experience learning to navigate steep hills and pedestrian traffic in the cities. Sergio and John supported me with lots of encouragement. The churches were magnificent to see and learning the history of each town was cool. The coastline was beautiful!
Would recommend to train on hills if your not using an ebike

ANTON TOMAZIC
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This was for the first time I took a bike trip with… But it was not just a trip, but also a pilgrimage – Camino Portuguese. Since I have chosen a »solo trip«, I could enjoy the freedom of choosing my own schedule, time, stops, food, drinks etc, but at the same time I did not have to worry about the daily accomodations, finding hotels, carrying my extra baggage etc. My bag would wait for me every afternoon in my room, prescribed by the baggage taxi. On my bike I had well prepared Garmin instructions and on my phone there was all other information tailored to my needs, contained in the application Ride with GPS. I would highly recommend the services of this company to anyone wanting a fun, relaxed, educational bike travel – they deliver!
Here are short Relive videos of my trip:
First day: Porto–Esposende
Second day: Esposende–Caminha
Third day: Caminha–Baiona
Forth day: Baiona–Pontevedra
Fifth day: Pontevedra–Caldas dos Reis
Sixth day: Caldas dos Reis–Santiago de Compostela
My photos: iCloud Photos

Martin Walsh
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

What a great trip. More challenging than advertised but still outstanding. Self guided was distracting. We would do it guided if we go again. Local support with Sergio was excellent. He reached out every day. The hotels were unusually good and the food was a foodie delight. My wife’s bike was a bit too big. She struggled all week with it.
We’ve done many trips. This was one of the best.

Winston J.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Impossible to pinpoint a favorite! It was all amazing in so many ways! Our guides were the best you could ever imagine always anticipating every need. What stands out is the time we were to have lunch in restaurant in a big city but there was construction so we chose to hang out on a street corner where there was a bench and some places we could grab a quick bite. Suddenly Sergio appeared with fresh figs, watermelon, bananas, and grapes all cleaned, sliced and ready for us to devour. John was driving our luggage in the support van with snacks and bike parts and accessories if we needed them and was a fabulous tour guide from the moment we met him.The accommodations were over the top gorgeous with outdoor pools and most often near the ocean as was the trail. Bring a bathing suit to enjoy! I wish I would have been smiling and waving to Sergio as he recorded video footage of practically the entire ride! Enjoy!!!!!!

Suzanne C.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

We had a fabulous trip - self-guided with e-bikes from Porto to Santiago. The route is perfect - so varied, beautiful and fun. And the hotels! One of them was the best hotel I've ever stayed in (and I intend to go back there). Sergio was available at all times, for any problems or questions. I highly recommend.

João V.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The trip was wonderful, the energy of the people all the way is fantastic. The Torres del Rio hotel impressed by its beauty and harmony with nature. Arriving at Santiago de Compostela Square crowned the tour, all the people praying and prising God, it´s very amazing trip. The tripsite agent, Sergio was very attentive.

Ermelindo R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The whole trip was memorable, but the arrival in front of the Cathedral in Santiago de Compostela was wonderful and unforgettable!

William W.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Lovely and well organized trip by Sergio and Santiago from Porto to Santiago

Claudia W.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The trip was outstanding from beginning to end. We had a small group of 9 guests from Australia, US, New Zealand and Canada. The group clicked right from the start and we quickly became good traveling partners. We peddaled along the coast and viewed gorgeous beaches, wetlands, rugged Atlantic shores, pine forests and so much more. The biking was rigourous as we encountered many different surfaces from sand to cobblestone to dirt to gravel. However, the bikes we were provided allowed us a safe and pleasurable journey. There were many highlights along the way. Everyday had its own special sights and experiences. The hotel accomodations were excellent. The most spectacular was the Torre do Rio. A recommendation is to consider scheduling dinner there rather than going into town. Hotel Parador in Pontevedra was very special, as well.
Our tour guides, Henrique and Sergio, were wonderful. They provided us with excellent equippment and ensured we were all fitted properly. Read More

KEVIN
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This trip was so incredible on multiple levels,

Sergio and his staff Henrique, Diego and Marta were fantastic. The equipment was excellent as was the walking tour of Porto.

The accommodations were unbelievable especially the Torre do Rio The two paradors were amazing in history and comfort. Each of the hotels provided great rooms and breakfasts. The service at each location was wonderful and really appreciated.

As we did this as a unsupported self guided tour we were on our own. This gave us the opportunity to meet many amazing people along the way. As many people do this as a religious pilgrimage by walking or riding there was no shortage of opportunities to meet new people. We met people that will be friends for years.

This tour is listed as easy to moderate. I would not recommend this to newer riders as a lot of the tour is on trails of sand, gravel, rocks, dirt and other surfaces. There is also many climbs.

Kap R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I and my wife took 7 days bike trip from Porto to Santiago De Compostela. We had a very wonderful experience and saw amazingly beautiful scenery. It was a very good hotel and accommodation was fantastic.
7 Days, non-stop biking was a little tough. I like to suggest that 3 days bike and one day break time if a course is hard.

Soaking wet, but we have a great time....

Kristi K.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The views were amazing, the guides were gracious and knowledgable, the food was so very yummy, and the people of Portugal and Spain so friendly! Trip of a lifetime.
Suggestion: have a fresh pair of cycle shorts for each day of the trip. I got nervous when I had to send mine out to launder, but they did come back in time.

Ralph W.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We did a self-guided tour and completed it a week ago. 5 stars and more! First, Sergio was simply fantastic in providing new bikes, a GPS with clear markings every step of the way, and support whenever needed. The city tour of Porto by Enrique was great. The ride itself along the coast and then into Spain was excellent. The hotels were terrrific and all top notch. Cannot recommend both the tour and Sergio enough. Riding along the Camino trail that thousands over the centuries had walked was a wonderful experience, and entering the Cathedral Square was a moving experience.