Paradise in Portugal Tour Reviews — 1 to 14 of 14

Monsaraz, Alentejo, Portugal. Flickr:Vitor Oliveira

Paradise in Portugal

4–8 days from €545

4.5 out of 5

Paradise in Portugal

Moderate Bike Tour in Portugal

This bike tour in the lovely Alentejo region of Portugal combines accommodations at an authentic country guesthouse with daily guided or self-guided cycling excursions. Located in a pastoral…

4.5 out of 5

 


Douglas C.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Staying at Quinta De Sao Tome. Great place to stay, great food and very friendly Hosts.

Francine P.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

we were lodged at Quinta de Sao Tome because they didn't have enough room at the original farm . We loved our stay there and the food was also delicious. The staff was great, especially Claudio, who was consistently pleasant and helpful. The bike rides were enjoyable but our enjoyment was reduced by the rather profoundly poor proof-testing of one of our maps. Because of the rough nature of some trails , specially the one going to the winery that nobody could find, nobody seemed to be aware of the actual incomplete nature of the mapped trail. We found this oversight vexing and could easily have led to further unpleasantries.
Although, one of our members was assured that she had a suitable bike to accommodate her size, an appropriate bike was not waiting for us and had to be found at the last moment and replace by a lower standard one / that was not very comfortable . We booked different bike ride in the past before this one and always received a briefing the night before Read More

William N.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

the bike rides were great. The service was good and the staff was wonderful. We can't wait to return next year.

Janis B.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The farm house was a beautiful environment, the small group made for cozy chats in the evenings. We enjoyed the daily rides through small villages. A special treat was a day to kayak on the lake. The staff were all friendly and wonderful.

Mary B.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The farm inn and surrounding countryside and aqueduct were lovely. The staff were all super friendly and helpful. The antique car museum and Pedro were a real highlight for my husband and exploring the walled city of Évora was very enjoyable.
The 1st day of biking was frustrating because of recent rains, the gravel path was muddy at times with deep ruts. Following days the paths were greatly improved. Since we were on a self guided tour, it would have been helpful to have the individual segments of the tour labeled with their distances so you could tell how far each different loop would be.

Grace G.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We had a lovely stay at São Quinta Tome, our accommodation for six nights instead of the farm which was fully booked.
We enjoyed most of the routes although we the scenery would be more beautiful in spring if before harvest.

Linda A.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Being a part of the Touaventur family at their farm near Evora

Teri A.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Loved the staff! Charming location on a farm outside Evora. Bikes were great - easy to ride and shift.
Map was confusing through Evora on the monolith tour

Diane A.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The entire trip was memorable! The staff at the farm made us feel at home, with a wonderful gift of hospitality, beautiful surroundings, excellent food, rooms with everything we needed. The wine of the area is so good, the restaurant recommendations spot on. Riding through the area was amazing. Guides took time to be sure our bikes fit well, explained the day, and we're so informative about the area and history. The tours were each very well done and enjoyable.
There are definitely hills, and I was grateful for an ebike - it made all the difference for me. Highly recommend this trip!

Andy Z.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This was an excellent experience for my first time visiting Portugal. What a truly fantastic way to explore and discover the historic attractions. I couldn't have been more impressed with the tour guides, and overall the service was first class. Thanks to Mario and Jorge for making this such an enjoyable trip. My only complaint was that I didn't have more time to spend, two days of riding was not nearly enough. I will be back to fix that as soon as I can!

Daryl P.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Each day had a different riding experience it would be difficult to choose one! The food was amazing, the biking was varied and unique, and the people that organized our trip were meticulous with their directions!
Additionally they were always there with an answer and we always knew they could assist us if needed. Excellent people and a huge shout out to Tour Adventura !!!
Portugal was wonderful and we’d do it again in a heartbeat!!

Andy Z.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This was an excellent experience for my first time visiting Portugal. What a truly fantastic way to explore and discover the historic attractions. I couldn't have been more impressed with the tour guides, and overall the service was first class. Thanks to Mario and Jorge for making this such an enjoyable trip. My only complaint was that I didn't have more time to spend, two days of riding was not nearly enough. I will be back to fix that as soon as I can!

Michael O.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The farmstay outside Evora was fantastic. The food sensational. The riding was great. (If you are after big climbs then not for you). We had an excellent holiday.

j michael Cunningham
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

My wife, I and two friends took this trip in September. The farmhouse was a wonderful place to stay and rooms and common areas are very comfortable. Pool and grounds are lovely. The farm's owner has a classic car collection that is an added bonus if you are able to see it. Breakfasts are excellent. The staff we dealt with --Maria, Manuela and Johanna--were beyond great. They consistently went out of their way to make sure we had the best trip possible. Bikes were well maintained and appropriate for the terrain. I have been on three self-guided bike trips in Europe and the daily directions here were excellent--the best I have seen. The only caveat I have about the trip is that the difficulty level should be moderate and not easy. Daily trips were challenging beyond an easy category. In fact, four of the five days riding instructions listed the route as a medium bike ride. Other than that a great trip and good value. I gave the trip four stars rather than five due to the difficulty level.