Spain Bike Tour Reviews — 181 to 209 of 209


Lorne M.
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

I have been on several Tripsite trips over the last few years, and this was one of the best. There were several reasons: The food and wine was fantastic and inexpensive; the scenery was incredible; the hotels were great, and I loved having the route on a GPS. One of the highlights was our walking tour in Porto - Joanna was absolutely terrific - her knowledge and guidance made for one of the best days of the trip. Sergio was great - he looked after us well on the first day, making sure the bikes were properly adjusted and we were all comfortable and he followed up with us via email during both weeks. He also came out to our hotel after the first week and cleaned and serviced the bikes!! The "bonus" was Sergio's restaurant recommendations - each one served authentic local cuisine and were not "touristy". I have already recommended this trip to several friends.

John E.
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Mallorca
Spain

The most memorable part of this trip were the rides down empty country roads, loving the scenery and quiet. A great choice of roads!

Marci Cincotta
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

Inspirational ride along the Portuguese and Spanish coastline! This trip is truly outstanding. The trip operator's personalized customer service was above and beyond! Though we did a self-guided tour, we felt very supported throughout our entire stay. The package included a walking tour of the city of Porto. Definitely take advantage of this. We had a personalized four hour tour which was rich with information and recommendations for the rest of our stay. Sergio, the owner of the tour operator checked in with us daily and even picked us up at the end to drive us back to the Porto train station to catch an early train to Lisbon. The biking route takes you along beachside boardwalks, many cobblestone roads, some mountain biking as well as some paved roads. You will ride through beaches, forests and vineyards and weave through tiny villages. The route is very well marked, especially in Spain, but the terrain can be challenging at times. While I found this a little Read More

Barbara petersen
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

Loved the trip and especially our guides, the hotels, the food., the scenery..The Way was interesting and challenging (some gravel, some sand, beach boardwalks, etc; walked a bit but not because it was too hilly. We actually biked theough vineyards and even under trellises of grapes!! ) If you have a choice don't start the cycling portion on a weekend during beach season. (Dodging beach goers disturbs the scenery and calm). Porto is lovely and interesting too. A great opportunity to slow down and enjoy the countryside. None of us needed to ride in the van!!!

D. Blank
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

The trip was really terrific. Super accommodations (especially Torre de Rio), abundant, delicious food ( and a real bonus that it was included in the trip price), varied and interesting scenery. However we feel that the Ebike was most useful (fantastic, really!!!) when there were no rocks or gravel. Fortunately our guides were kind enough to push the very heavy bike up some of the steeper rocky paths when the bike had traction problems. In general, the "moderate" designation for the trip should be explained in more detail, as beginning cyclists think that word means hills - when in fact, for this trip, it means surface. As Pedro said, "this is not a road trip." This is not a good trip for an inexperienced rider (which I'm not, but first time Ebike). Since we've been on many road trips, we didn't quite have the vision of what we were signing up for...although in looking back at the reviews, I now see that others did mention the road conditions but Read More

P. Braun
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Mallorca
Spain

The bicycle trip in Mallorca was a pleasant experience! The route was interesting, and the effort required to ride the daily distance was minimal. The instruction book provided for the self-guided tour was easy to follow. The hotels and the meals were very good.

Rycharde Farah
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

Fizemos, eu e minha esposa, em maio/junho de 2016, o Caminho Português da Costa a Santiago de Compostela. Foi fantástico, excelente organização! Recomendo.

H. Devine
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Andalusia - Seville to Granada
Spain

We requested electric bikes, but the guide and company was not very familiar with them, and the bikes provided were outdated and clunky compared to newer bikes that are available, and were not sized properly for the taller riders. E-bikes are a growing trend - they allow people to take bike trips that they otherwise would not have, and the company should get competitive with promoting them.

Our guide Jeff got off to a rough start by being late and because he was alone trying to resolve faulty bikes, was not able to provide several walking tours that were discussed in the itinerary. He wasn't a ""people"" person and didn't respond well to equipment problems and various requests by the guests. Toward the end of the trip, he really tried to redeem himself though, and knocked himself out to be helpful. Jeff is a wonderful person and I enjoyed his company and expertise very much. I think it was a little much to have 10 guests with only one guide to Read More

B. Carrigan
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Andalusia - Seville to Granada
Spain

We were looked after by our guide and the route was good. Spanish drivers were very considerate.

Sue Wise
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

In a word - FANTASTIC!

The entire trip was incredible. The route is extremely varied and beautiful. Starting in Porto and riding through seaside villages along the coast, then crossing into Spain and continuing along the coast, the riding is mostly flat and the views of the ocean just breathtaking. There are parts where you ride on bike paths, roads, boardwalks, cobblestone farming paths, and even a little single-track mountain biking type trail (which leads to a secluded beach area!). Later, the route takes you directly onto the Way of St. James (Camino de Santiago) and the riding is more hills and dirt paths, but also through small villages and historic areas. You follow this exclusively for the last 2 and a half days. You'll see many walkers making the pilgrimage - be sure to wish all a "buen camino"!

We opted for the self-guided version, using the GPS. This was perfect for us. We could linger in areas for photos, rest when we wanted to and ride at Read More

Carol Frey
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Mas Pelegri Multi-Activity Tour in Girona
Spain

I loved every moment of my time at Mas Peligri. From the moment I got there, I was relaxed and just fell in love with Spain. Fiona and Garett could not have been better hosts. They make sure everyone is happy and go over and above to make your stay amazing. The breakfasts and dinners together were so fun. I have some amazing pictures from my rides and did the horseback riding which was very fun. I did not want to leave and will definitely book another vacation with Mas Peligri.

mary
8 years ago

Tripsite Staff

Costa Brava - Dali’s Country
Spain

Mary from Tripsite, here! I biked this tour about four years ago, shortly after we began to offer it. I had lived in Spain during my college years and it was wonderful to return! I will not rate this tour 5 star because I found the welcome meeting to me inconvenient for me. I was combining two days into one and wanted to get on the road but the pickup location for the bikes is an actual bike shop which happen to be busy and I did not get started until much later than I would have preferred. There was also a point on the Greenways where I became very confused and ended up off track by several kilometers. This tour now includes GPS devices and tracks and I think that is the way to go. Bikes are very good, accommodations are lovely and unique....overall, a great tour.

Margie Hovan
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

Spain & Portugal were delightful but the guides worked so hard at keeping us safe & happy that they made the trip an exceptional experience. I will definitely tell friends that this was a wonderful trip.

Mary Burkhard
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

I wish I could say more about the route, but unfortunately, because of a biking accident, I was only able to ride the first day. The ebike seemed to be a really good one, but the combination of wet, slippery roads, the boost of power from the ebike, and the urging to use a higher boost mode on the bike was not a good combination. I know it's why I fell.

Michelle Oelsner
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Mallorca
Spain

Great trip. Should have upgraded on the bike to a road bike!

Donna DeLeo
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

The scenery was spectacular, the challenge was invigorating, the people were interesting, the guides were ever helpful and informative. Loved everything.

Lynn Conrad
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

The trip included wonderful biking-many bike paths, trails and traffic-free lanes. It was made special -even inspiring- by following the route of St James--the Camino -- a historic pilgrimage route.
Having tour guides made the trip stress-free thus more enjoyable. Their knowledge covered all aspects of the trip: best routes,history of the area, the best places to eat, out-of-the way special sites, translation and more.

David Sampel
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Mallorca
Spain

Fabulous trip. Pre trip instructions a bit confusing. Once we started everything went well.

Mary Daly
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

I felt this was more of a moderate to difficult ride not easy to moderate the tour guides treated us like family.

Sally Fischbeck
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

A wonderful experience! We biked on paths, boardwalks, back roads, through woods, along the beautiful Atlantic coast, beside pilgrims walking to Santiago, through city streets and sidewalks, and more! We opted to stay in 4 star hotels, which I would definitely recommend (converted palaces, monasteries, etc.).

Klazina van Buren
9 years ago

Tripsite Staff

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

I never expected this trip to show that much variety in scenery, was awesome.

Tim and Jan
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

“Self-Guided Bike Tour Porto to Santiago de Compostela - 6 days cycling”

Sergio and his team did themselves proud - congratulations. This is a bike tour with a difference....from the excellent personal service, to the included walking tour of Porto, to the interesting and varied ride, to the high standard of the hotels especially the absolute gem Torre de Rio at the end of day 5.
The ride for the most part follows the Portuguese Caminho way, so is not always smooth and easy, but this is to be expected by its very nature, and adds to the challenge.
My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the trip and unreservedly recommend it to all enthusiastic cyclists.

Visited June 2015

Wagner Brotto
11 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Dali’s Country Road Bike Tour
Spain

First, I would like to thank your for attention and effectiveness in care provided to us on our bike trip around the world of Dali. It was a unique experience and perfect. It all worked. The place, the routes, the hotels, the bikes ... Anyway, a beautiful trip and operation. For my part, I consider myself extremely fortunate with the choice of Tripsite.

Priscila Brandão
11 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Girona Countryside
Spain

A todos os envolvidos na nossa viagem, gostaríamos de dizer que ficamos encantados. Ficamos surpresos de saber que éramos os primeiros brasileiros em muitos lugares que passamos, no nosso roteiro. Precisamos divulgar melhor essa bela opção de viagem que voces estão promovendo.

obrigada mais uma vez

Mary Becker
12 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Dali’s Country Road Bike Tour
Spain

Our family of 3 teenagers and 2 adults just did this trip in June. We had a fantastic time. Roads were in excellent condition. The auto drivers were safe and considerate (unlike the US!). The routes were challenging; the bikes to die for. We loved Girona and Calella. Farmhouse overnight was charming. Food and scenery were incredible. We can't wait to go back!

Mary Rohde
12 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Andalusia - Seville to Granada
Spain

Spectacular! Matt of Adventurebug was our guide and an outstanding leader! He took such awesome care of us, the bikes and all the details involved in a cycling trip. The hotels were charming, he made sure we tried all sorts of local produce, wines and cheeses. He was ready with dinner suggestions, took us to a flamingo show , olive oil factory and was a wealth of information on history, local customs and traditions. I highly recommend this trip.

Marilyn and Don McKenzie
13 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Costa Brava - Dali’s Country
Spain

This was one of the most beautiful bike trips we have experienced. Wonderful coastal areas and the greenway made for variety. Lodgings were very nice as well. Lots of old Roman and even older sites.

Kristina Hatcher
13 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Dali’s Country Road Bike Tour
Spain

My boyfriend and I booked this trip in late May 2011. The bikes the shop rents are incredible. We loved it and are planning on doing another trip this year. The weather was perfect, not too hot, not too cold. The couple that runs the bike shop is wonderful. I would also recommend the luxury accommodations, for only a little extra, it is definitely worth it. The rides were very good and there were definitely some hills, but it was a great experience.

Duane Kohut
13 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Dali’s Country Road Bike Tour
Spain

My girlfriend and I rode the Dali Country Road bike trip May15-22, 2011. It was a perfect time of year to do so, and everything worked out very well. The bike shop in Girona is run by a great couple, and the bikes they rented us were excellent. As it wasa a self-guided tour, directions are important, and they were quite precise. I would recommend the luxury accommodations - the Historic Hotel in Girona is a highlight on all it's own! You ride nice coastal scenery, hit some nice beaches, and encounter very pleasant people. My girlfriend was nervous about the road biking aspect, but she soon loved it. I would class the riding as intermediate - no real killer hills - lots of small villages to explore. Plenty of riding and things to do to make this a wonderful vacation (except on vineyards). And the food and wine of Spain is fantastic. Enjoy!