Basque Country to Asturias Tour Reviews — 1 to 11 of 11

Llanes in the Asturias, Spain. Photo via Flickr:AsturZephyra

Basque Country to Asturias

9 days from €1100

4.8 out of 5

Basque Country to Asturias

Moderate Bike Tour in Spain

On this bike tour in Northern Spain, you will follow the beautiful coastline, biking west from Bilbao in the Basque Country to Ribadesella in Asturias. This is misty land with an extraordinary and…

4.8 out of 5

 


Lorne M.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

I have participated in about ten TripSite tours in the last 12 years, and this was one of the best. It was a photographer's delight, particularly the beaches and towns. The food was amazing: the hotel breakfasts were all very good, even in the 3 star hotels, and the dinners and wine were fabulous yet reasonably priced. All of the hotels were very good. I traveled with four 4 others, all of us in our sixties or close to it. We took e-bikes for the first time and I would strongly recommend them for this tour. It is very hilly, and we would have all been dog tired if we didn't have the power assist for the big climbs. There's a fair bit of traffic on some parts of the tour, but we found the Spanish motorists very polite and accommodating, giving cyclists lots of room. We picked this trip because we thought it was photogenic, and because of the excellent cuisine. We were not disappointed!! Kudos to Ibero Cycle, who provided excellent bikes and support.

Karen K
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We had a wonderful time. The rides were amazing, although some were very difficult. We could tailor our days to fit us best, and it was easy to find a different way if we wanted to shorten or include less hills. The hotels were all beautiful, top notch places, in the very best locations for each city or town. Ignacio and Borja with Iberiocycle did everything within their power to make sure we were well taken care of. They communicated with us every day, fixed what needed to be fixed and got us on our way. We were a large group, 15 riders, and therefore not so easy to accommodate, but they did. The people of the northern coast were so friendly. Drivers were extremely courteous, even on the very curvy narrow mountain roads where it took a lot of patience for them to make their way around us. Because of the pandemic, we waited nearly two years to complete this trip from when it was originally planned, and we had the very best time. Thank you Ignacio and Borja from the Salty Dogs

Karen K.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We had a wonderful time. The rides were amazing, although some were very difficult. We could tailor our days to fit us best, and it was easy to find a different way if we wanted to shorten or include less hills. The hotels were all beautiful, top notch places, in the very best locations for each city or town. Ignacio and Borja with Iberiocycle did everything within their power to make sure we were well taken care of. They communicated with us every day, fixed what needed to be fixed and got us on our way. We were a large group, 15 riders, and therefore not so easy to accommodate, but they did. The people of the northern coast were so friendly. Drivers were extremely courteous, even on the very curvy narrow mountain roads where it took a lot of patience for them to make their way around us. Because of the pandemic, we waited nearly two years to complete this trip from when it was originally planned, and we had the very best time. Thank you Ignacio and Borja from the Salty Dogs

Dennis B.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Trip was a beautiful journey through northern spain with stops in Beautiful small villages. Every hotel was the best in the town and welcomed us. A great trip. Use ebikes unless you are quite fit.

Guðbjörg Anna G.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The perfect holiday!
The route is amazing, the variety in scenery, scent and sounds - always something new to experience. It is a bit hilly but we had the combination of e-bikes and hybrids so everyone was comfortable at the end of the day. The accommodation varied a lot with the small hotel in Santillana del Mar standing out in terms of service and comfort. The support team on the way was no short of exceptional: punctual, always ready to assist with advice, bringing extra items for the bikes or picking up small things we had left behind - everything with a smile on their face.
We highly recommend this tour and the operators to anyone interested in exploring Spain.

Einar T.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Absolutely a great trip and the service was 100%. Beautiful nature and good bikes.
Would love to go again.

David, Anne, Ryan S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We took this trip in late May, 2019, with e-bikes. It was a great trip with some amazing accommodations. Thoughts in no particular order: The first 3 hours of biking on the first day were pretty miserable, through industrial areas with no good place to ride on either the sidewalk or the road. Day 4 and Day 6 were spectacular, Day 4 was almost like a fantasy of a bike trip once we reached rural areas. The GPS was hard to read when the sun was out, and in several places we needed one person using the GPS and another the printed instructions. We've been on a number of bike trips, and the drivers in Spain were the most courteous and safe of any country - usually giving us at least 6 feet of space and never rushing us. The hotel (Organista) in Santillana del Mar was our favorite, with a wonderful host, Rafe, and an enchanting outdoor breakfast. (Note: this is right close to the Altamira cave, and we were glad we took the time to visit, even though it involved finding our own Read More

Claudia G.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Wonderful hotels along with breathtaking coastal views. Tougher hills than expected but a great trip!

Michael & Claudia G.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We loved the scenery, the historic towns and the lovely hotels. It was much more challenging than we expected. We followed your guidelines and felt prepared but this is not an "easy" ride. It is, however, a beautiful ride with breathtaking views.

Alana B.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The vistas on this trip were the most spectacular we've seen. Coming down a hill and seeing the cliffs along the coastline and the roaring ocean, the picturesque villages and green fields dotted with cows was unforgettable. Hearing the clanging cowbells only added to the experience! The accommodations were top notch and including breakfast was the way to go. However, anyone taking this trip should be prepared to climb many hills. Not sure this is "easy to moderate" until the last day!

Colleen D.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The bike trip was amazing! So impressed with the head of company who organized the trip and did the route and brought us our bikes. Hotels were all wonderful and included breakfast. Trip of a lifetime!