Along the Ebro River to La Rioja Tour Reviews — 1 to 15 of 15

Vineyards in Rioja, Spain. Flickr:Javier Colmenero 42.342305, -2.427979

Along the Ebro River to La Rioja

8 days from €1291

4.9 out of 5

Along the Ebro River to La Rioja

Easy–Moderate Bike Tour in Spain

This unique bike tour in Spain follows the Ebro River, the country's longest, as it flows from its source in the Cantabrian Mountains. It begins as a mountain stream, gathering strength and force as…

4.9 out of 5

 


Gezina K.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The whole trip was most memorable. From our arrival until the last day. The staff, the food and the accommodation was excellent. We had such a wonderful time. The scenery is so beautiful.

Geoff M.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Fantastic route through rural Spain on quiet roads. More climbing than expected so be prepared to pace yourself unless you were born in Basque country. Food sources can be sparse so be sure to carry some nourishment at the start of the day.
Accommodations and hosts were good but as expected some rooms are very small and we we were in very rural communities for the first 3 days.
I've taken similar trips in Italy and Portugal which were very good but this ticked all the boxes for me.

Pat B.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Our excursion along the Ebro River was spectacular . The ever changing scenery was breath taking . The roads , for the most part , were quiet and free of traffic . Accommodation along the way was well organized by the tour company , Iberico, Our hosts were very welcoming , rooms were clean and comfortable and the excellent evening meal and breakfast that were offered reflected the region .

I would strongly recommend that e bikes be the chosen mode of transportation as there are many, many very long and steep climbs. Perhaps Pack and Pedal in their rating of the trip, could state «  Easy to Moderate «  with E bikes .

This particular trip will be remembered as one of our very favourites.

Many thanks to Trip Site for organizing all the details for us .

Pat

Liz G.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Best bike trip ever!
Ignacio, Borja and Phillip from Ibero cycle, to the accommodations to the scenery which was jaw dropping at every turn, we enjoyed every minute!

Jim F.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Beautiful scenery! Very pleasant hosts at accommodations. Inclusion of five dinners and breakfasts worked well, especially considering the rural nature of this tour. Hilly terrain...consider e- bikes.
Overall, our best bike trip ever!

Jim F.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Beautiful scenery! Very pleasant hosts at accommodations. Inclusion of five dinners and breakfasts worked well, especially considering the rural nature of this tour. Hilly terrain...consider e- bikes.
Overall, our best bike trip ever!

Stephen Fischer
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This was my third cycling trip to Spain and the first time I have used a self guided tour like this. Tripsite’s Ebro River trip was perfect in every way. The route is absolutely spectacular with a constantly changing scene of medieval villages, vast pastoral panoramas and cruising alongside the river through deep gorges. The roads were not only smooth but empty of cars. The local partner Borja from Ibirocycle met us on time at the location we selected and provided well tuned road bikes for our week long ride. Every accommodation was superb, clean quaint with great food and lovely hosts. Note that there are some long hills so if you do not feel trained up enough for that - take the electric bike option. But for anyone who would like to see this outstanding part of Spain at a slower pace - I can’t recommend this tour enough!

Jonathan M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We were continuously amazed by the natural and cultural beauty of this region of Spain. We were on e-bikes, which made climbing the hills relatively easy. Most of the roads had almost no cars on them and the route was diverse and always entertaining. We were dealing with some Covid-19 infections in the group and the Iberocycle team went above and beyond to take care of us. They were great. We recommend spending a few days in Bilbao up front to see the museums - worthwhile! We've done a number of similar trips around Europe and Eastern Canada and this one ranks very high.

Lucia C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

All the journey was amazing! As you follow the river, you pass for a great variety of wonderful views. My favorite day was the forth one: the perfect day in a life time!!!
But be aware: it is not so easy for beginners with some steep climbs at some points.
I would like to add that the support during the trip was perfect. Simon helped us at any time, always available.
It was my first bike tour and I just loved the experience. I intend to repeat it for sure in this same or other routes.

Lesley E.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Rolling along the Ebro Valley was fabulous. The ride had a couple of grunts on day 1 and 2, but well worth it. The accommodations were great and sunflowers amazing!

Cindy D.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Every bike should come with a FPS or Harmon with the route loaded in it. Pulling out a piece of paper at every turn is not an option

Mary C.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Astounding scenery. Experiencing the country off the beaten path. Seeing medieval villages and sights I never would have found on my own. We did feel that the difficulty of the ride was somewhat underrated, but we would still highly recommend it.

Debra L.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Great trip, cannot say enough about the lovely small towns we stayed in, with awesome inn keepers. This was exactly what we hoped to experience and we did. Trip although rural, had great scenery.

Kenneth L.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Of course the Rioja wines were what this trip was (mostly) about and they were so delicious for a low cost. It was great to stop for lunch and have delicious coffee and diverse tapas. The scenery was beautiful with great geological formations along the Ebro River. The history was fascinating. We saw cave dwellings from around 500 a.d., churches from 1100 and later. We had an extra day in Bilbao where we visited the Guggenheim Museum and the many festivities in the surrounding park. It was especially enjoyable to talk to local people about their life in Spain.

Maria luiza L.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

It was my second trip managed by Tripsite and everything was perfect. The route was amazing.