Champagne Tour Tour Reviews — 1 to 20 of 20

4.5 out of 5

 


Anne Denise H.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Our third Tripsite bike and barge trip, it was very well organised as we have come to expect - well done! Loved the camaraderie of the small group, and glorious country scenery. E bikes were a must! Yay!

Cheree ONeill
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

What an adventure.. I loved it. My first bike/ boat tour and I was not disappointed.
Everything was top rate Martayn and Marjorie were excellent hosts and nothing was a bother. Marcel was a very knowledgeable guide and went that little extra to ensure we missed nothing. Frank cooked up a storm every day
The group blended well and I was sorry the trip had to end. Im already researching my next adventure.
The Zwaantje was great and I slept soundly every night.

Mark H.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The general biking was above average , with some awesome sites visited.
As far as the accommodation was concerned this was below average.
Although the space was confined more emphasis could have been done to the quality and hospitality of stay.

Orest M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The Champagne tour combined the pleasures of riding through vineyards, sampling champagne on both public and private tours, exploring out of the way gems that you would never find on your own, getting to know an extraordinary captain and crew of the Zwaantje, and meeting new friends, topped off with time to explore the City of Light. Although some of the daily rides were difficult, don't hesitate to join this tour because of the hills - get an e-bike and you're guaranteed the experience of a lifetime. It doesn't get any better than this!

Ray S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most Memorable Part? How beautiful the country looked. Our first time to Europe. France made a big impression and hope to return. Merci beaucoup

Barry B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

When a vacation is better than your expectations, as it was, it is vundarbar.

Karyn P.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most Memorable Part? Everything! The other cyclists, the barge crew, the food and of course the Champagne was all amazing!

Barry B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Crew, guide, staff were attentive, cordial and helpful. Barge was clean and comfortable. Bike routes were very scenic and interesting. Mary Ann, our guide was very knowledgeable, and simply terrific. Will we go again?....absolutely yes.

Martha Y.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The most memorable part of the trip was the scenery and atmosphere.

Michael F.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The Captain and crew were just wonderful. While the sights were certainly great, like cheese making, Champagne tasting, visitng the ruins and the WWII cemeteries it was the warm welcome from the Captain and crew that really made this trip. There was nothing they wouldn't do for us including getting fresh baguettes every day, finding out our personal preferences for drinks after a long day in the saddle, and in general giving 110% to keep everyone happy. I strongly recommend the Captain and crew of the Zwaantje! I also must mention a big thank you to Carla and her crew at Tripsite for their assistance in getting us additional e-bikes. Without the e-bikes some of us just wouldn't have made the hills, with them we enjoyed every minute. Thank you!

Jeff K.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The boat staff was great. Food, service and cleanliness was excellent.

Paul L.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The Zwaantje barge crew were most excellent - great accommodations, food and customer service!! I would take another bike and barge trip with this group....it was an experience of a lifetime!

Fulton A.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Mega-kudos to the Zwaanje crew, headed by Martin. They're an extraordinary group.
Our guide, Mintje, was good and well-intentioned, but she sometimes didn't grasp entirely the group's priorities.
The route was fantastic -- scenery, length of rides, etc. The tours (champagne, brie, etc., were excellent, especially the family-owned company, Nowak. We learned things and had a lot of fun.
We appreciated how Martin and Mintje responded to our requests for flexibility in developing distance options for less- and more-eager riders.
Also, availability of electric bikes made it possible for spouses (of both sexes) to accompany on rides they usually wouldn't be able to do. We know electric bikes are controversial in some corners, but they made the trip possible for some of our group.
One last thing ... TripSite's PDF summarizing the ride, proposing packing lists, giving directions and tips, was excellent. Congratulations.

D. Power
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The staff on the Zwaantje made the trip!

D. Miller
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The ship, captain and crew were wonderful. Our guide was totally unacceptable!

My only complaint regarding the boat was due to the small cabins. The French locks are narrow, so the boat is narrow, making the rooms a bit to small for my comfort.

Our main concern was the unprepared tour group leader. She was constantly undecided on how to proceed. I think it was more trying to please the group than not knowing what to do. There should have been a route guide for each person (all we received was a large map with no route shown on it). She needed to be a leader rather than a friend!

M. Dumestre
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I highly recommend the Swaantje barge. The captain is both technically experienced and oriented toward customer satisfaction. The staff was very attentive to passenger needs.
The bike guide was competent, but needed a bit more familiarity with the routes.

C. Robinson
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Rooms really small; Guide was lost a lot; Staffers not very good with knowledge of E bikes;
But food was great..staff was kind..trip was pretty.

D. Quigley
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Your tour was so damn good l find l'm getting naught done cause l want to go again - tomorrow. Seriously, l received courteous service that was pertinent and addressed any of the issues that l might have experienced. Personally, l think the whole Bike and Barge tour was run to the highest professional standards under what were adverse weather conditions. You can't plan for the tidal wave like flood of water that swept down the rivers and the very fact that you were able to 'tap-dance in the snow' and continue to operate at all does you no amount of credit. So from me, a big thank you to all the staff and keep up the good work. it was indeed a distinct pleasure for me to bear witness as other professionals surmounted adversity and came out on top.
D. Quigley - Melbourne, Australia.

D. Uram
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

For the most part the trip was wonderful, I would like to put most of my answers right in the middle of satisfied and not satisfied, I just thought the scenery and the landscape etc. was not what I expected. That is not your fault, enjoyed my trips to Italy and Germany were much more scenic

C. Bauer
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The guide seemed lost most of the time. He didn't know where to stop for a picnic and one day we ate our lunches at a bus stop. I realize cafes mostly close in France between 12 and 2, but his lack of knowledge of where to find a toilet after lunch was a problem. He chastised us for being slow to re-organize, but then later we'd stop for no reason and wait for up to a half hour with no info from him. He was good at describing architecture.