Clare & the Burren Tour Reviews — 1 to 11 of 11

Cycling south of Galway in Clare County, Ireland. Flickr:daspunkt

Clare & the Burren

8 days from €1168

4.6 out of 5

Clare & the Burren

Easy–Moderate Bike Tour in Ireland

If you want to experience a taste of Ireland’s musical heritage, you could not have picked a better Ireland cycling tour. Clare is the music center of Ireland, and, on this tour, you are sure to have…

4.6 out of 5

 


Karen K.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Ireland is a beautiful country and we enjoyed our trip very much. Our bikes worked well. Thomas, the bike guy, was exceptional. The trip itinerary changed a bit from the time we booked, one less biking day and shorter distances, but it allowed us to stay in Doolin for 2 nights as well as Ballyvaughan for 2 nights. We used the extra day in Doolin to take the ferry to Inis Mor, which was wonderful. The biking map and directions were a bit hard to follow while riding, so we opted to use Google Maps, which sometimes routed us different ways than what was provided, but it meant we could hear and see directions from our phone. Providing GPS tracks would be a great improvement. The hotels and B&B’s were great.

Dennis B.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The cliffs of moher and Aran islands. The narrow roads were very fun as well

Marie Elaine C.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Riding along the Atlantic coast. Views of the Atlantic Ocean were stupendous. It rained daily so it was a difficult ride at times. When the sun came out and a rainbow appeared it was heartwarming.

Barbara S.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The scenery was spectacular. I was happy to have some time to explore the area off the bicycle as well as on it. We were forworned to not hug the side of the road, and be respectful of the cars by not bunching up while riding. This was really helpful so that when a car needed to move around us, we didn’t feel like we were in danger.

Liz C.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The ride from Spanish Point to Doolin was spectacular. We loved seeing the Cliffs of Moher and then whizzing downhill to the Wild Atlantic Way and peddling along the coast to the beautiful town of Doolin. The craic was had there!!

Bjarte G.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We cyckled Ennis-Doolin-Kinvara-Ennis. Bikes arrived in Ennis at the scheduled time, and our suitcases was always ahead of us an waiting for us as we arrieved the next stopover. We enjoyed every place we spent the night, wether it was a cottage, a gutesthouse, a B&B or at hotel. Especially Ballyvaughan Lodge, the hosts Pauline and Gerry gave us a warm welcome and the best breakfast of the trip.
Before we got so far we visited Inisherin, recomended! and we saw The cliffs of Moher.
In Ballyvaughan we visited Burren Destillery, and got a very educational tour of the place. We enjoyed the dinner in Hylands Burren Restaurant very much.
On the way to Kinvara we split up, and took two different routes, so we got to see New Quay, Burren Perfumery, Corcomroe Abbey, and Hazel Mountain Chocolate factory.
We had a nice trip going back to Ennis from Kinvara.
The roads are narrow but the traffic is not bad, so cycling is fine. The bikes were very good, incluing helmets and bags.

Lawrence F.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This is a wonderful tour of a unique part of Ireland - County Clare and the Burren, tha extensive limestone karst plateaus of western Ireland. The tour was memorable for its distinctive landscapes, including the Cliffs of Moher and the Aran Islands, the lovely little towns, and the many ancient historical sites along the way. The cycling wsa excellent - good paved roads, great routes, rolling hills, and those lovely scenic views. The lodgings were all quaint and charming - comfy rooms, kindly, generous hosts, full, fresh, healthy breakfasts. We added extra days in Ennis and Doolin, both good decisions, and probably should have further extended the trip in some places. The music definitely added another great element to the tour, as we spent virfually every evening visiting different pubs, listening to traditional, informal Irish music sessions that are common in this region.

Kathy B.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

This was my first overseas cycling adventure. What a wonderful way to see a country! Our trip was very well organized, our Irish guide was wonderful, our fellow cyclists were interesting and fun, and the scenery was fantastic. Since riding on e-bikes is a relatively new concept, I would suggest spending a little more time up front with the features, especially the installation and removal of the battery, prior to taking off. We worked it out and the Irish Cycling company was very accommodating! Also, the most difficult ride, in my opinion was the first day...maybe consider reversing the trip and ending with the more challenging day when we are not jet-lagged and in good cycling shape. But, really, the trip was fabulous. Thank you, Hennie, for organizing it. I would definitely be interested in another one!

Karen R.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Wonderful scenic cycle routes with well-planned stops and comfortable accommodation

Cely de Souza Freitas
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Fiz esse passeio de bike, sozinha, de 08/08/2016 a 15/08/2016, com uma pequena alteraçõ pois terminou em Galway. Foi INCRÍVEL, uma experiência MARAVILHOSA, a empresa prestou um serviço PERFEITO, PRECISO E IMPECÁVEL. Minhas surpresa e satisfação motivaram iniciar preparação para mais uma aventura, desta vez, na Alemanha, que já conheço, mas, desta vez, farei de bicicleta. Muito obrigada por tudo e até breve.

K. Hatcher
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The most memorable part was the scenic route along the Burren and the Wild Atlantic Way. It was 22 km of beautiful ocean views and incredible landscape. It was also amazing to see the Cliffs of Moher.