Connemara Tour Reviews — 1 to 10 of 10

Derryclare Lough in Connemara, Ireland. Flickr:Leo Daly

Connemara

8 days from €1050

4.1 out of 5

Connemara

Moderate Bike Tour in Ireland

This bike tour in Ireland, the Emerald Island, explores the beautiful region of Connemara famous for its rugged granite landscape as well as its beautiful lakes and rivers. You will enjoy an…

4.1 out of 5

 


Barbara W.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The people we traveled with and the shared adventures as well as the beauty of Ireland

Doug K.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Loved the off day in Clifden. Ireland is beautiful and the people could not be more warm. But do not recommend biking in Connemara. Many, many hills make it moderate at best, and there are no shoulders on very narrow lanes.

Mary C.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We only had 6 in our group so we were self-guided. From day 1, we felt the tour was incorrectly rated as easy-moderate. All 6 of us are seasoned riders but the hills, especially Day 1 were in the “difficult “ category. Four of the riders had been on previous tours with other companies. The directions for each day were lengthy and confusing, often requiring us to stop often to reread them. Some of the restaurants suggested we’re out-of-the-way only for us to later come across a nice one on our route. Caused us to question whether the person writing the directions had ever taken the trip. Luckily, we had a rider who would use his GPS which proved more helpful than the written directions. It was a fantastic trip because of the riders and the beautiful countryside. The ranking of difficulty needs to be changed as a novice biker would not be able to complete this tour.

Kirsten D.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Favorite Part: The fantastic landscapes of Connemara.

Alan G.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amazing riding with different terrain each day. Wonderful scenery. Bikes good. Company good. Food good. Guide very good. Best cycling trip I have been on and I have been on a few. Can't wait to go back to Ireland.

Alan G.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Highlights: The scenery. The guide. The route. Loved it.

Richard S.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The ferry to the Aran islands, over night in a surprisingly modern hotel with an excellent kitchen and the ride around the island was the culmination of a very pleasant and interesting 5 days of riding.

Laurie C.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Our Connemara trip was a wonderful experience! This was our first bicycle trip outside of the US- I would highly recommend it. The guides were knowledgeable and attentive-the scenery was beautiful and the food was great! Don’t hesitate to sign up for this tour.

Mark R.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The person who dropped off the bikes did not have the tools to adjust the handle bars, so the bikes did not fit well.
The saddle (bike seat) was the type that would be commonly found on a road bike and not on a touring bike.
The gears were not aligned correctly, so it was extremely difficult to shift gears. Sometimes, in order to shift gears, it was required to repeatedly shift the gears up and down before the bike would shift into the lower or upper gear.

Lynn Tindula
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We went in July, two years ago. The Irish people were delightful. Everywhere we stayed was great!The Irish homes (B&B's) had all been updated and bedrooms and bathrooms were comfortable and modern. All of the hosts were just wonderful; so accommodating and fun to talk with! Irish breakfasts were great in the B&B’s. The food was delicious almost everywhere!

You do a fair amount of riding on the road with cars in Ireland. The drivers are very nice and respectful of bikers, but I do like a dedicated bike path better. Also, some of the rides were a bit more challenging than our previous trips but you can take it at your own pace and they usually give you can easier option. The scenic beauty of the west of Ireland is spectacular!

LOVED the Irish people - friendly, accommodating, with a terrific sense of humor. We ended our trip by staying four days in Dublin. I would recommend the trip! If you haven't been to Europe before and/or don't speak another language, Ireland is very easy to navigate and everyone is very helpful!