5 Star Magellan boat/barge tour reviews — 1 to 20 of 20

4.8 out of 5

 


Janet L S.
22 hours ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magellan National Parks of Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

I've been on several bike tours. This one was one of the best! The Magellan was beautiful with plenty of public spaces to hang out. The cabins, though small were comfortable. Even the beds were comfortable. The other guest were so much fun, friendly, and interesting. The onboard food was a pleasant surprise. I was expecting mediocre food (as I've had on the other bike/barge trips). The food on Magellan ranged from above average to excellent - and there was so much of it! No one was ever hungry. They even accommodated vegetarians, gluten-free, and other palettes. The staff onboard were kind, patient, and attentive. And our guides, Dora and Alan were simply wonderful. They were knowledgable, fun, funny, caring and were always smiling. It seemed like nothing was too much trouble for them. Dora set up a WhatsApp site for our group where we shared photos, information, and where she suggested the best restaurants for port meals. It was brilliant. We're still posting. We also Read More

Teresa B.
2 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magellan National Parks of Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

Croatia is a stunningly beautiful and historic nation. Our guides generously shared their love of Country. Would highly recommend this trip.

Alexandra P.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magellan National Parks of Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

My best memory is how much fun we had! Riding electric bikes made all the rides easy. Our guides were very excellent in so many ways. The cultural enrichment really added a lot to the wonderful trip. My tip is to book your trip now!

Nancy H.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magellan National Parks of Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

Beautiful scenery as we were riding e-bikes around on islands or coastlines!

Sherrill S.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magellan National Parks of Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

The tour was planned perfectly, just enough riding time, exploring the towns, on-your-own time, etc. The guides did an amazing job of preparing us and keeping us safe. The terrain and views were fantastic. Definitely a 5-star trip! One warning...you might gain weight from all the good food!

Nancy H.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magellan National Parks of Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

Riding my bicycle on a 7 km downhill to the seaport of Trogir. The scenery was breathtaking and the downhill ride exhilarating.

Karen B.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magellan National Parks of Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

I loved the ease of waking up and a nice route was planned for us. We were outdoors and exercising. Our guides Dora and Allen were excellent.

joan s.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magellan National Parks of Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

This was my first biking trip. I have to say it exceeded my expectations. The guides Dora and Allen were friendly, professional and responsive to our needs and concerns. The information provided for each days ride was accurate. The stops long the way while biking were well planned out. Swimming off the boat as well as at the beaches in October was really an extra bonus. The ship was comfortable with several areas to meet other guests and socialize and make new friends.

The crew on the boat were also wonderful and worked extremely hard. The food was plentiful however I have to say that many felt the quality was inconsistent. That being said their ability to put out the meals they did in the small galley was feat in and of itself.

I would definitely travel again with Tripsite and would eagerly recommend them.

Brenda D.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magellan National Parks of Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

The scenery was absolutely gorgeous! Swimming in the Adriatic Sea was so nice after a bike ride. We had a fabulous group of people on our tour. Our chef provided amazing lunches every day. We’re not used to a big meal middle of the day, but it makes so much sense to eat at that time and a smaller meal later in the day. The condition of the bikes and our guide, Dora was very knowledgeable. She provided a spur of the moment bike trip and it was one of the best rides and info about a little place in Croatia.
Suggestions - provide a bit of music in the evening
- coffee earlier than 7:30 and hotter

James C.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magellan National Parks of Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

Beautiful bike tour locations and friendly knowledgeable (and fun) guides.

Geoffrey M.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magellan National Parks of Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

Tuff question as there are so many great memories….but the daily rides throughout seaside villages was truly enjoyable & unforgetable experience.

Mary-Ann N.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magellan National Parks of Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

Loved the biking the beautiful view from the mountains tops. The bike ride down the mountain.
The biking along the water. The swimming from the back of the boat.
We didn’t like it that there was no biking the one day. Our tour guides put one together for us. Which we all really appreciate.
Also it would be nice if there was coffee available all day! We could get coffee till 7:30am. And that was the only time that coffee was available!

Dina R.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magellan Southern Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

Absolutely amazing adventure. This is the way to take a vacation. Great team to help you throughout stay. I love the biking adventures to explore the local scenery and really see different cultures. Will be doing this again and again

Luis O.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magellan Southern Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

This trip was better than expected... the boat had excellent crew, super clean and the food was outstanding. The guides super nice very knowledgeable and experienced, and finally, the people very friendly open and willing to make friends. On the other hand the scenery out of this world, super well organized and very easy to have fun.

Laurie M.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magellan Southern Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

The Magellan was a spectacular ship. She's beautiful and steady and had everything we needed. There were 8 crew on board plus 24 guests and we had plenty of room. There was never a feeling of being crowded together because the ship had so many places to sit and relax. Critical advice when selecting a ship during hot weather -- be sure the ship has a covered upper deck! We had wonderful lounge chairs on the upper deck, covered entirely by a sun screen, so it was a very popular place even in the heat of the day. Our crew was amazing, especially bartender Josip, who took such great care of us! The guides (Ana and Shyntz), sailors (Hare and Marko), chefs (Dusan and Milica), and Captain Ivan just made the entire cruise an absolute pleasure.

A couple of other items to mention:
1. Very, very, very few businesses in Croatia accept AMEX. And not one restaurant, cafe or bar accepted AMEX.
2. Only use Bank-owned ATMS. The private ATMs charge exorbitant fees.
Read More

Cindy M.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magellan Southern Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

Guides and crew went above and beyond our expectations. Anna and Shintz were best guides and complimented each other perfectly on their personalities.
My only complaint would be the cabins were too warm for sleeping. Fans onboard would’ve great improvement! The heat wave over Europe was intense, but moving the air would have helped.
Take lots of Euros, only way to pay onboard. American Express very rarely accepted in Croatia.
Non of the restaurants we visited took Amex
Highly recommend this trip!

Julie R.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magellan Southern Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

One of my most memorable moments on the trip was dropping the anchor in the Adriatic Sea and swimming in the beautiful blue water. Also biking over 100 miles on 6 different gorgeous island was truly a priceless experience. It was truly an amazing experience for me and my 18 year old daughter.

I was worried about motion sickness on the boat and never once did I fell sick.

Donna B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magellan Southern Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

The guides and crew on the Magellen were fabulous. Despite a last minute change in itinerary due to a regatta being held on one of the islands, the changes were smooth and seamless. The weather was perfect, which made the rides all that more beautiful. The people were wonderful - crew, guides and fellow passengers. We rode the ebikes, which greatly enhanced the treks over the mountains of each island. I was dubious that I could successfully do this trip, as I hadn't been on a bicycle in several years, but it turned out not to be an issue at all. A special shout-out to our guides Senad, Alex, and Luka for their unending hospitality! The only disappointments were that the food did not live up to expectations and the surprise that although there was a hairdryer in each stateroom, there were no other amenities like soap in the shower or shampoo.

Nick K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magellan National Parks of Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

The scenery was exceptional, the tour guides very attentive and ship's crew most helpful. It was an delightful introduction to a beautiful, clean and friendly country.

Debra B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magellan National Parks of Dalmatia
Croatia

Absolutely the most fabulous trip we have ever been on. We enjoyed biking the trails, seeing the National Parks, making our way through the small towns and seaside villages and our guided tours. The views are stunning. The Croatian people are kind, friendly and very hospitable. Our guides were amazing, delightful, knowledgeable, thoughtful and entertaining!