Southern Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 10 of 10

 

  • Southern Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Nicky P. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Melody boat was absolutely spectacular- the crew, the food, the rooms and our outstanding tour guides, Toni and Willi. The riding and the islands were fabulous. Ensure you take the advice for an e-bike. The KMs may not seem high, but they have a lot of long steep hills, which I loved and it gave everyone a great workout to enjoy the delicious food.
    We had lots of great daily swim stops, with the ability to dive in off the back of the boat.
    I highly recommend this trip!!!

    Boat: Melody

    Countries: Croatia

  • Southern Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Nicky P. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What an amazing trip, boat and crew!!! This is a high end boar with great cabins and dining experience. It is most suited to people over 16, and the cycling has quite a lot of climbing at 10% incline. The company recommends e-bikes for this trip. Whilst I completely rejected the idea of an e-bike before I left, but by day 3, I had to use one due to the terrain and heat.
    The highlight apart from everything above, was our two tour guides, Toni and Willi. I have done many similar trips but both guys were beautiful, humble, informative about their country, and do passionate about their customers. If you get the opportunity to do this trip, I say - Just do it. Thanks, Team Melody

    Countries: Croatia

  • Southern Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Kate L. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I biked this tour in June of 2016, and it was absolutely the greatest. I have done a lot of bike touring on my own in the past with a tent and my own gear, and was looking for a way to share the experience with my dad that was a little more accessible than the way I'm used to traveling. That being said, I was a little nervous about what type of equipment might be available. I was nursing a hip injury, so we both ended up getting e-bikes, and I would absolutely recommend that to anyone. You could switch the power completely off and ride it as a regular bike if you wanted, but if you needed the help, it was really nice to have! The best part of the e-bikes is that it makes some of the most beautiful riding accessible to people who are not necessarily bikers. When I travel alone, the trip we did was about as challenging an itinerary as I like to do, but at 39, I was the youngest on our trip by far, and everyone was able to easily manage and still enjoy themselves even on the Read more… toughest hills. Since we were on small islands the entire time, the traffic was very minimal and the riding was absolutely picturesque.
    Our ship, the Melody, couldn't have been better, and far surpassed my expectations both in the quality of the ship, and in the amount of room. We had friendly and knowledgeable guides (Tony & Josh) and the food was SO good. Every meal was prepared using fresh and local ingredients and the ship staff did a wonderful job of trying to introduce the guests to local recipes, telling us a bit about each dish before we ate. It couldn't have been any better all around, and I am booking again on the same trip.
    The one recommendation I would have for anyone going on this tour, is bring some laundry detergent some and clothespins. We did our own laundry and hung it out on the deck.

    Boat: Melody

    Countries: Croatia

  • Southern Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Nianne F. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    There is a reason why the default bicycle on the Southern Dalmatia Plus trip is an e-assist model; the islands of Croatia are very hilly! The e-assist made it easier for me to stop on an uphill, take photos of fellow riders or the amazing scenery, get re-started easily, and make it to the top without holding up the whole group. Everyone, from the guides and crew on board to the locals in cafes and restaurants, was very friendly, helpful, and willing to speak English for the benefit of us uni-lingual folks!

    Boat: Princess Diana

    Countries: Croatia

  • Southern Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Brent H. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Food was ok but not great. A little more variety and quality with a little less quantity would go a long ways to correcting this.

    Boat: Princess Diana

    Countries: Croatia

  • Southern Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Robert G. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Croatia/Dalmatian Coast and islands are a beautiful vacation destination that we highly recommend. However the roads, lack of a shoulder, narrow streets, and lack of safety make it a very difficult and unnerving biking destination. Bikers need to fully understand that this area is not bike friendly.

    Boat: Melody

    Countries: Croatia

    • Southern Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
      by Jehiel 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Robert!
      Thanks for sharing this feedback. You are right that parts of the tour the shoulder and streets can be narrow. This is very common in this part of Europe. I can assure you that we take safety very seriously and work with our local partners to provide cycling routes with your safety in mind. You will also find the terrain and difficulty rating described on this tour page. Both should be taken into consideration when evaluating this tour. Glad you had an enjoyable and safe trip!

      Countries: Croatia

  • Southern Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Myra Hollie Nielsen 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Electric bikes, the black ones, were excellent. The food was a bit disappointing.
    The guides were excellent. Cabin was very nice.

    Boat: Princess Diana

    Countries: Croatia

  • Southern Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Kristine Kelley-Salamon 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I unfortunately had a back spasm during the trip and needed to be on land half way through the trip, so I had to get off the barge. (Croatia trip) the captain offered to give up his room so I could stay upstairs- so nice- but I needed to be on stable land. ( weather was a bit rough) the entire trip was so nice- would have loved to finish the trip. The crew was wonderful!

    Boat: Princess Diana

    Countries: Croatia

  • Southern Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by James Bowen 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Some issues with our room. We booked a room with two twin beds. We got a room with a double bed and bunk beds. The double bed broke the first night. It actually came apart because a brace had fallen off. Our phone charger was broken while trying to fix the bed. Our door lock malfunctioned locking us out of our room for two hours, and was difficult to use the rest of the trip. We asked for the phone charger to be replaced, but never got an answer.

    Boat: Princess Diana

    Countries: Croatia

PWPC