Southern Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat Tour Reviews — 1 to 28 of 28

Trogir, Adriatic Sea, South Dalmatia, Croatia. Flickr:Nick S.

Southern Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat

8 days from €1695

4.6 out of 5

Southern Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat

Moderate Bike + Boat Tour in Croatia

The beautiful Southern Dalmatia coastline is a wonder to see from the sea and a delight to explore by bike, combine the two, and you have this bike and boat tour in Croatia that offers the best of…

4.6 out of 5

 


Susan G.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Our boat, the Melody had a luxurious feel with very spacious rooms. The captain and crew were all gracious and helpful, Carla's smiles always bountiful. Our guides, Dora and Tara were fabulous, warm and knowledgeable. Dora is quite articulate and provided us with a lovely tour of Split. The weather was amazing and each swim stop most enjoyable. The waters of the Adriatic Sea are incredibly blue and clear. We were sorry we didn't participate in the rafting trip on Split, as those that did spoke highly of the adventure. The wine tasting at Vinarija Lipanović on the island of Vis was lovely, very good wine and food. Our visit to the beekeeper, Goran, on the island of Solta was also a real treat, prompting us to seek out our own local beekeeper at home. Since we were on the 2nd to last tour of the season, we were able to enjoy the quieter side of the roads, cafe stops, ports and sights.

If I could offer one suggestion; it would be to have stronger coffee on board the boat in the morning.

Neal & Susan

Donna B.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

The guides and crew on the Magellen were fabulous. Despite a last minute change in itinerary due to a regatta being held on one of the islands, the changes were smooth and seamless. The weather was perfect, which made the rides all that more beautiful. The people were wonderful - crew, guides and fellow passengers. We rode the ebikes, which greatly enhanced the treks over the mountains of each island. I was dubious that I could successfully do this trip, as I hadn't been on a bicycle in several years, but it turned out not to be an issue at all. A special shout-out to our guides Senad, Alex, and Luka for their unending hospitality! The only disappointments were that the food did not live up to expectations and the surprise that although there was a hairdryer in each stateroom, there were no other amenities like soap in the shower or shampoo.

John N.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

The trip was beautiful, the rides on the islands were fantastic, and the guides were absolutely the best! Riding on the islands of Hvar, Korcula, and Brac was a once in a lifetime experience. We loved it. Our guides added a great deal to the rides by offering explanations of the history, the language, and the sites. They also set up guided tours (included) in Split and Trogir that were excellent. The guides' knowledge of the area was remarkable; they made the tour that much more interesting. The on-board service was very good; Tina did an excellent job. The scenery was consistently breathtaking. We loved this trip.

The one area that could be improved was the on-board dinners. For the most part they were unremarkable, and sometimes disappointing. If the food were as good as it's been on other bike and boat trips this would have been a 5-star tour. I hope this can be improved.

Roderick M.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

A nice trip but the rides should be longer and normal bikes shouldn't be mixed in with E-Bikes.

Gina F.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

So difficult to choose because there were so many. Loved riding the e-bikes through all the islands: Hvar, Vis, Brac, but Korcula was the most breathtaking because our ride was the longest and each view was more impressive than the previous. Downhill gave me a rush similar to skiing. Our guides, Toni and Dini, were very welcoming, caring and knowledgable. They went out of their way to make sure our needs were met and their insights added so much to our enjoyment. Don't miss the raft excursion in Omis. We had a blast riding the rapids and "attacking" other rafts. The boat itself, Melody, was the nicest, most spacious and comfortable of all the boats I've been on and this is my fourth with Tripsite/Island Hopping. And going for a dip in the cool, deep blue and very buoyant waters of the Adriatic after of before a day of biking added to the sense of well-being.

Jeffrey A.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This is the second trip that we have booked on tripsite. Both were amazing. One of the fun things that we’ve done is both of the trips have been on KSL radio. https://omny.fm/shows/ksl-outdoors-show/riding-through-split
Best food, best time, best accommodations with this company.

Janet L.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The trip was fantastic. Exceeded our expectations. The Melody was a beautiful boat and the meals were great. The other guests, guides and crew made the trip really fun.

Janet L.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Loved everything about the trip. The boat, the Melody, was really nice. The food was excellent. The bike rides were beautiful and the guides were very helpful and informative. Loved swimming off the back of the boat in the afternoons. The other passengers, guide and crew made the trip the best.

John R.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Our guides throughout the week, both on the Melody ship and while cycling, were friendly and knowledgeable. Likewise, the wait staff, kitchen crew, captain and boat crew were top-notch. The scenery was unbelievable, but without these folks, the trip would have been less enjoyable.

Susan S.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Our tour on board the Melody was absolutely amazing! We had a wonderful time bicycling the islands and enjoying the small port cities along the way. The views were breathtaking. The crew did a fantastic job making sure each day was special. Toni and Sylvia were excellent guides, kept us laughing, and made sure we saw the unique spots along the way. The weather was perfect and the water crystal clear. The size of the boat was perfect for getting to know the other guests and making new friends. This trip exceeded all expectations and has made memories for a life time. During a time of uncertainty due to Covid, this trip was a much needed escape. Everyone in our group will say this trip is at the top of their list! Thank you Tripsite for guiding us through the planning and making this trip possible!

Steven T.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

E-bikes helpful in the heat of August in Croatia

John H.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Countryside . . stunning views & lovely rides. E Bikes exceptionally good and reliable.

Caren H.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Excellent trip with family, friends and new friends. The small port villages, biking routes and swim stops were amazing. First time with ebikes and definitely not our last.

Mary J.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This was a vacation that exceeded even our very high expectations. The Melody and its crew were amazing and 30 passengers is the perfect number for traveling, dining and making new friends. Highly recommend boat/bike excursions.

Karen U.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This was our second bike trip in Croatia and it was spectacular. The boat, the scenery, the guide, the history…the beauty of it all.

Mary H.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Island hopping and riding through each new place was beautiful!
Bonus : when we anchored off shore to swim / paddle board/ kayak
The boat had plenty of space to spread out , relax, and enjoy the scenery

Courtney R.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Our trip on the Melody in the Southern Dalmatian islands was amazing. The Melody was modern, spacious, comfortable, and had an amazing crew. The rooms were unexpectedly large with a big shower with great water pressure. The food was plentiful and delicious. The onboard bar was well-stocked and reasonably priced. Karla was always smiling and happy to help in any way.
Our cycling guides Ivan and Sina provided great information about each days cycling trip and the rest of our daily activities. Ivan provided great information about each town, village, fort, island, etc. that we visited. Ivan spoke excellent English (and knew American culture and slang amazingly well) as well as Spanish, Croatian, and German. This was Sina's first time doing this itinerary and she was very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed sitting next to each of them at several meals.
The islands on our itinerary all had beautiful coastlines and amazingly clear water. I'm so thankful for the e-bike (my first time riding one) because our routes included several long, steep climbs (with beautiful views at the top).
This was my 4th and BEST TripSite trip!

Susan P.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Great scenery, knowledge guide. Exploring new places.

Donna Anderson
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

My husband, 12 year old granddaughter and I just got back from this trip. We were scheduled for the easy bike tour, but were moved to this tour. We were worried, because we are not avid bikers, are over weight and older, but we had no problems with the steep hills with the e-bikes. (Padded bike shorts are highly recommended.) Our boat was the beautiful Melody, built by the captain and his family. The Captain, Ivonna our bar tender/server and the entire crew were awesome! The food was wonderful. Our guides Tony, Ivonna and Marco were outstanding! Tony has a vast knowledge of history; he also plays guitar and has a wonderful voice. I recommend doing the river rafting option when offered. The side trips were very enjoyable as well as the swim breaks. I highly recommend this trip. Although a challenge, this trip was one of the best we have done.

Nicky P.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The Melody boat was absolutely spectacular- the crew, the food, the rooms and our outstanding tour guides, Toni and Willi. The riding and the islands were fabulous. Ensure you take the advice for an e-bike. The KMs may not seem high, but they have a lot of long steep hills, which I loved and it gave everyone a great workout to enjoy the delicious food.
We had lots of great daily swim stops, with the ability to dive in off the back of the boat.
I highly recommend this trip!!!

Nicky P.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

What an amazing trip, boat and crew!!! This is a high end boar with great cabins and dining experience. It is most suited to people over 16, and the cycling has quite a lot of climbing at 10% incline. The company recommends e-bikes for this trip. Whilst I completely rejected the idea of an e-bike before I left, but by day 3, I had to use one due to the terrain and heat.
The highlight apart from everything above, was our two tour guides, Toni and Willi. I have done many similar trips but both guys were beautiful, humble, informative about their country, and do passionate about their customers. If you get the opportunity to do this trip, I say - Just do it. Thanks, Team Melody

Kate L.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I biked this tour in June of 2016, and it was absolutely the greatest. I have done a lot of bike touring on my own in the past with a tent and my own gear, and was looking for a way to share the experience with my dad that was a little more accessible than the way I'm used to traveling. That being said, I was a little nervous about what type of equipment might be available. I was nursing a hip injury, so we both ended up getting e-bikes, and I would absolutely recommend that to anyone. You could switch the power completely off and ride it as a regular bike if you wanted, but if you needed the help, it was really nice to have! The best part of the e-bikes is that it makes some of the most beautiful riding accessible to people who are not necessarily bikers. When I travel alone, the trip we did was about as challenging an itinerary as I like to do, but at 39, I was the youngest on our trip by far, and everyone was able to easily manage and still enjoy themselves even on the Read More

Nianne F.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

There is a reason why the default bicycle on the Southern Dalmatia Plus trip is an e-assist model; the islands of Croatia are very hilly! The e-assist made it easier for me to stop on an uphill, take photos of fellow riders or the amazing scenery, get re-started easily, and make it to the top without holding up the whole group. Everyone, from the guides and crew on board to the locals in cafes and restaurants, was very friendly, helpful, and willing to speak English for the benefit of us uni-lingual folks!

Brent H.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Food was ok but not great. A little more variety and quality with a little less quantity would go a long ways to correcting this.

Robert G.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Croatia/Dalmatian Coast and islands are a beautiful vacation destination that we highly recommend. However the roads, lack of a shoulder, narrow streets, and lack of safety make it a very difficult and unnerving biking destination. Bikers need to fully understand that this area is not bike friendly.

Myra Hollie Nielsen
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Electric bikes, the black ones, were excellent. The food was a bit disappointing.
The guides were excellent. Cabin was very nice.

Kristine Kelley-Salamon
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I unfortunately had a back spasm during the trip and needed to be on land half way through the trip, so I had to get off the barge. (Croatia trip) the captain offered to give up his room so I could stay upstairs- so nice- but I needed to be on stable land. ( weather was a bit rough) the entire trip was so nice- would have loved to finish the trip. The crew was wonderful!

James Bowen
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Some issues with our room. We booked a room with two twin beds. We got a room with a double bed and bunk beds. The double bed broke the first night. It actually came apart because a brace had fallen off. Our phone charger was broken while trying to fix the bed. Our door lock malfunctioned locking us out of our room for two hours, and was difficult to use the rest of the trip. We asked for the phone charger to be replaced, but never got an answer.