Bolzano-Mantova-Venice Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 55

Gondola ride in Venice, Veneto, Italy. Photo via Flickr:Moyan Brenn

Bolzano-Mantova-Venice

11 days from €2102

4.8 out of 5

Bolzano-Mantova-Venice

Easy–Moderate Bike + Boat Tour in Italy

This bike tour in Italy is a variation of our traditional (and very popular) bike and boat tour, Mantova to Venice. This 11-day experience combines a self-guided hotel-to-hotel tour with a bike and…

4.8 out of 5

 


Janet C.
4 days ago

Verified Reviewer

The first few days of unguided biking Bolzano to Mantova because of the beautiful surrounding mountains.

Clifford C.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

The entire trip was an insightful and delightful experience, providing access to the heart and soul of everyday-life in "working Italy", versus an antiseptic highlight-reel tour of famous monuments and churches. That said, the overwhelming uniqueness and timelessness of Venice couldn't help but be a highlight. I wouldn't have minded a somewhat more strenuous cycling experience; however, that was more than offset by the enjoyment of the comaraderie of a relatively small tour group (20), forged both on the cycling paths and over fabulous gourmet meals provided by the two young chefs aboard the Vita Pugna.

Raymond L.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Once again, we just came back from a memorable experience with this tour. We began with the self-guided section from Balzano to Mantova which was very well laid out with our GPS, then was welcomed aboard the Vita Pugna to continue the tour all the way to Venice with the most interesting and amiable Hugo, our guide for the week. Life aboard the Vita Pugna was excellent… friendly crew and excellent food! I would not change a thing.

Karen L.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

I loved the self guided part as we were able to ride as far as we wanted to and stop when we wanted. The scenery from Bolzano to Peschiera was breathtaking. The towns looked like movie sets. The 5 hour ferry ride was also an adventure and exposed the most beautiful scenery imaginable.

The barge crew was great, especially Stephi and Stephani, our fearless guides. Francesco was also a huge help. My room was tiny, but I made it work. The only complaint, and it is minor, is that I have had better food on bike barge excursions. The food on this trip was okay. Not great. Also - need more salads!!

Perry W.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The first 3 days riding from Bolzano to Mantova were the best. Doing this self guided portion was wonderful...the Ride with GPS maps were spot on and hotel luggage transfers were flawless.

Alan C.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice and the surrounding areas were great to see. The food on board was amazingly good, really enjoyed by everyone.

Louise R.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Excellent trip, ver well organized. The hotels for the first three days were excellent, On the Ave Maria, the crew and the guides made the trip really, really enjoyable. The food was fantastic and the accommodation great. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Elizabeth J.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The dolomites were incredibly beautiful. The food aboard was the best we’ve had!

Scenery from Mantova to Venice was agricultural for the most part. A broad mix of surfaces to ride on and some detours on the self guided which could be confusing.

Barbara D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Enjoying all the regions of Italy with the chefs coordinating the evening meals with regional specialities was a delight. Everything was so well executed....bikes..tours...meals....coffee stops...museum and cathedral visits...super fun.

Maria F.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Wonderful trip cycling. The Ave Maria crew were friendly, helpful, and clearly worked well as a team. The bikes were well maintained and rode smoothly.
Some communication with the TripSite org (most notably the portion before the Barge part of the trip) could have been better but overall it was a fun and enjoyable adventure.

Curt G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Dinner together on the barge and riding as a group

Robin P.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I most enjoyed the first three rides of the tour from Bolzano to Mantova, the scenery was amazing.

Stephanie L.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I felt we were treated as valued guests both out on the bike rides and on the barge. Food and ride leaders were excellent.
Would like the option of paper guides for the Bolzano to Mantova part as we did get off course a few times, especially finding the ferry in Riva. Overall, a wonderful experience.

Charles G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Tip. 3rd party navigation tools such as a heads up Garmin Edge are 100% necessary for the self guided section. Also, the self guided section is NOT a beginner ride. Intermediate is more appropriate.

Kevin A.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The most memorable part of the trip was the people we met. From the crew to the fellow cyclists it was an amazing cast of people and made the experience such a pleasure. Riding with people from England, Germany, Canada and the US led to amazing days in the saddle and wonderful conversations over delicious dinners. When doing these trips the best advice I can give is at dinner move to a different table each evening and meet and dine with the other passengers. The friendships I have made over the years from these rides are truly remarkable.

Karl-Heinz F.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Many beautiful experiences, met new nice people, a uniquely great crew on the Ave Maria, great food.

Lynn C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We are so glad we did the extension of Bolzano to Mantova! Absolutely stunning scenery along a paved bike path! 'Ride with GPS' provided the perfect directions for the first three days. Although we were surrounded by the mountains, the path was basically flat, following the River Adige downriver. When we reached the boat (early) we were welcomed aboard with a cool drink, our luggage had been transported, and we were able to continue to explore the city on foot.
Of course the boat & bike trip was equally memorable, especially the food -- a gourmet meal every night, prepared by a chef, who excitedly announced the meal, it's relation to the region and the perfect wine to pair. Bike tour guide was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and caring to all. Aboard the Vita Pugna, we were 18 total bikers, a perfect number! We became attached to all! The majority had booked through Tripsite for this and many other previous trips. Nice to hear they were very much pleased with Read More

Kathryn D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

My husband and I loved biking through the mountains and valleys adorned with vineyards, rivers and numerous towns..
The scenery was amazing!!
One of the best parts of the trip was..... we were on safe bike-paths most of the way!!
The food was excellent. Each day the Chef introduced and featured a new flavour of Italian Food pertinent to an area of Italy.
Hein, was an awesome guide who had many surprises in-store for us each day. A FEW of the main attractions were: he would stop here and there along the way for history lessons, we visited a few castles, a clam farm and a cheese factory, plus we had chats about agriculture, and gave the bird enthusiasts time for bird watching. Hein, then concluded the week with a spectacular tour of Venice.
The people aboard the "Ava Maria" were very friendly. It fun making new friends and we found we had bonded with many by the end of the week.
I would highly recommend this bike-tour and was very sad when it ended!!

Carrie H.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Wonderful staff, great food, prompt assistance....overall just a wonderful trip!

Rogan T.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most Memorable Part: Bike with friends.

Barbara E.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

It is difficult to choose just one memorable part of the trip. Each day was filled with a new exciting adventure! Even riding a bike in an unexpected downpour was a fun experience when shared with cycling comrades. Seeking out a delicious gelato in a town square was a favorite activity. Exploring and discovering Italy while biking and barging aboard the Ave Maria was a truly delightful experience. Our crew was very helpful and eager to show us how proud they were of their country and all it has to offer. Pumpkin tortellini eaten at an outdoor restaurant was such an enjoyable eating experience! Grazie Mille for a truly amazing cycling adventure!!

Donald B.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Especially loved the area of the Dolomite Mountains, from Bolzano to Lake Gardia, for the beauty and then arriving in Venice.
Trip was extremely well organized; wonderful crew, special tour guides in Mantova and Venice, good food...and bravo to Vivian and Sonya, excellent guides
The cyclists really got along well so that was an added bonus.
First trip that was guided for us and I was pleasantly surprised. Other trips were self-guided and so was the first part of the trip, from Bolzano to Mantova.
Lack of toilets on the way...

Rachel F.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The best part was the first three days self-guided tour near the Dolomites on our 10 day tour.

Terry W.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

As professional as the staff were and as delicious the food, the most memorable part of the trip was interacting with fellow travelers. Since the boat can only berth around 40, I was able to get to know almost everyone and learn about their countries and personal histories.

Avace W.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Guides were amazing. They worked hard to make sure all guests mingled with guests from other countries. Games played encouraged teams working together and finding new information about the villages we visited. Always extra surprises..like visiting the mussel fishermen, panoramic vista of Venice from rooftop. Training on how to use ferry system in Venice invaluable. I didn't think we could get a better tour than our 2018 trip, but this one exceeded all expectations. From snow in the mts. near Bolzano to swimming in the Adriatic, the differences in scenery was dramatic and thrilling. Bikes...so comfortable and fit perfectly. Didn't even need to wear my bike padding! Plenty of time to look around when we went thru villages. What can I say. This tour was the best!

Sandy H.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Fabulous trip. Filled with adventure. Highlights included guide, staff, food and overall camaraderie developed with a great group of people!

Gorge M.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Menu and food prep. much better than other bike and barge/cruises we've been on.

Barbara C.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The most memorable part of the trip was the gorgeous scenery around Lake Garda. I wish we could have spent more time there, but much of our time was wasted trying to find the boat. The directions definitely need improvement.

David & Patsy A.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We loved the scenery and it was such a relaxing bike ride we decided to go on our own rather than go with the group with the guide. The green arrow stickers saved us many times. Loved all the small villages on the way and stopped at a few every day for a cappuccino which was excellent. There was a few errors on the routes however we figured them out and pointed the errors to the guides when they occurred.

Katherine G.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Despite the crowds and chaos in Trento on day one of our cycling (Bolzano to Trento) due to the Alpine Black Feather military reunion, it is now one of my favourite memories and stories that I share! I also really enjoyed seeing all the beautiful poppies, gardens and farmers fields.
The route guides had some errors and you could tell that they were translated by someone who’s first language is not English but we usually managed to figure things out. We preferred to cycle independently from the group as people rode too slow for us and being clustered together we were concerned about all of us crashing into each other. We loved being able to rendezvous with our guides and the rest of the group for the Carrosel Museum visit, the cheese factory etc.
The staff on the Ave Marie Barge were fabulous, they all worked together, even the Captain helped set the table. The food was excellent and the chef was a real character.
The bikes were excellent, we were provided Read More