5 star rated Bolzano - Mantova - Venice Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 25 of 25

 

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Rogan T. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Bike with friends.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Barbara E. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It is difficult to choose just one memorable part of the trip. Each day was filled with a new exciting adventure! Even riding a bike in an unexpected downpour was a fun experience when shared with cycling comrades. Seeking out a delicious gelato in a town square was a favorite activity. Exploring and discovering Italy while biking and barging aboard the Ave Maria was a truly delightful experience. Our crew was very helpful and eager to show us how proud they were of their country and all it has to offer. Pumpkin tortellini eaten at an outdoor restaurant was such an enjoyable eating experience! Grazie Mille for a truly amazing cycling adventure!!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Donald B. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Especially loved the area of the Dolomite Mountains, from Bolzano to Lake Gardia, for the beauty and then arriving in Venice.
    Trip was extremely well organized; wonderful crew, special tour guides in Mantova and Venice, good food...and bravo to Vivian and Sonya, excellent guides
    The cyclists really got along well so that was an added bonus.
    First trip that was guided for us and I was pleasantly surprised. Other trips were self-guided and so was the first part of the trip, from Bolzano to Mantova.
    Lack of toilets on the way...

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Avace W. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Guides were amazing. They worked hard to make sure all guests mingled with guests from other countries. Games played encouraged teams working together and finding new information about the villages we visited. Always extra surprises..like visiting the mussel fishermen, panoramic vista of Venice from rooftop. Training on how to use ferry system in Venice invaluable. I didn't think we could get a better tour than our 2018 trip, but this one exceeded all expectations. From snow in the mts. near Bolzano to swimming in the Adriatic, the differences in scenery was dramatic and thrilling. Bikes...so comfortable and fit perfectly. Didn't even need to wear my bike padding! Plenty of time to look around when we went thru villages. What can I say. This tour was the best!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Sandy H. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fabulous trip. Filled with adventure. Highlights included guide, staff, food and overall camaraderie developed with a great group of people!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Gorge M. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Menu and food prep. much better than other bike and barge/cruises we've been on.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Barbara C. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip was the gorgeous scenery around Lake Garda. I wish we could have spent more time there, but much of our time was wasted trying to find the boat. The directions definitely need improvement.

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by David & Patsy A. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved the scenery and it was such a relaxing bike ride we decided to go on our own rather than go with the group with the guide. The green arrow stickers saved us many times. Loved all the small villages on the way and stopped at a few every day for a cappuccino which was excellent. There was a few errors on the routes however we figured them out and pointed the errors to the guides when they occurred.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Katherine G. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Despite the crowds and chaos in Trento on day one of our cycling (Bolzano to Trento) due to the Alpine Black Feather military reunion, it is now one of my favourite memories and stories that I share! I also really enjoyed seeing all the beautiful poppies, gardens and farmers fields.
    The route guides had some errors and you could tell that they were translated by someone who’s first language is not English but we usually managed to figure things out. We preferred to cycle independently from the group as people rode too slow for us and being clustered together we were concerned about all of us crashing into each other. We loved being able to rendezvous with our guides and the rest of the group for the Carrosel Museum visit, the cheese factory etc.
    The staff on the Ave Marie Barge were fabulous, they all worked together, even the Captain helped set the table. The food was excellent and the chef was a real character.
    The bikes were excellent, we were provided Read more… with a pannier and a box style bag for our handle bars. It wasn’t necessary to bring a small backpack as they like you to remove and carry the bags with you when you lock up your bike.
    It was a great vacation and we hope to do another cycling trip in the near future.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Sue H. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Couldn't ask for more. We absolutely loved our bike/barge tour in Italy from Bolzano to Mantova to Venice in August on the Vita Pugna. The staff were fantastic and our guide Michela was amazing. We had a lot of fun, met some great people and visited some very beautiful places. The biking was not difficult. The food on the Barge was first class and plenty of it. Would absolutely recommend this trip. Can't think of the most memorable part of the trip it was all amazing. The first three days was challenging following the instructions, but we got there in the end. Was sorry to say goodbye to everyone.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Nancy B. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? Riding our bikes back to the barge in Venice in a rainstorm. The laughter and camaraderie was priceless.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Nelson S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip....tour guides outstanding ,more than outstanding....the food was fabulous and all staff were wonderful....first 3 days of self guided biking were well worthwhile.....stay hydrated if it is warm as cramping can occur.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by John B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We started out in Bolzano, going from Hotel to hotel the first three nights, and then on the barge for seven more. The scenery of the hotel to hotel was spectacular! The Ave Maria was a fantastic boat, the crew was great and very accommodating. The only negative is- I wish we could have spent more time in each town we went past. But with only ten days, squeezing anything else like more time is impossible.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by David & Patsy 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? The poppy fields along the bike ride was especially beautiful. Instructions need some updating.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Ian S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Superb scenery, boat, bikes and guides. Delightful in every way.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Nelson N. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy! Piano player and entertainer was a highlight.....food was fabulous.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Rosemary B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Parts: the swimming off the boat, out in the ocean after a hot bike ride, were amazing.
    The historical information from our tour guides was outstanding.
    The food was DELICIOUS.
    Sunsets out on the water were glorious

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Carmel M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Every aspect of the trip made for a memorable experience. Having done both the hotel to hotel and the guided section gave us a truly great opportunity to see a part of Italy that is so varied in both history, culture, food and landscape.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Janet L. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We were glad that we did the independent bike ride starting in Bolzano 3 days before meeting up with everyone on the barge. The scenery and biking were incredible, especially on the alternate route. We did go solo the first day and got very lost 3 times! The next day we tagged along with others on the same trip. The directions could be more explicit ( Ex. It would be helpful to state directions that avoided questioning routes i.e. ""go this way, not that way""; caution - fork in road- bear right, but not up that 14% grade hill!) And what is a fly-over? (An overpass, we found out later) And what is considered a ""fountain""? (It's a small water spigot at a bikers rest stop). However, it was an adventure we won't forget. We learned we needed to have GPS through Google or another mapping/biking program. This would allow us to be more independent and ride self guided as biking with 28 or more people and 2 guides is slow going. The biking Read more… is on flat terrain, very easy. However, many days you bike around 30 miles, with many stops for breaks, tours, and sights. It was very warm in early June. Bring lip sunscreen and regular sunscreen!
    The Ave Maria is fantastic, our rooms were cozy but totally comfortable. The boat is in mint condition. Food is amazing! Our 2 chefs were top notch. Staff are fun and we really were lucky to have a great group of fellow travelers. Ronnie and Silvia were our guides and they were great. They were very patient, helpful and fun to be with. We had a competition one night, all the 5 groups from different countries did a skit. It was hilarious!!
    Also, arriving in Venice by boat at the end of the tour is the best way to go in our opinion. We stayed an extra day in Venice and took water buses to some of the islands. It was cooler there, we saw beautiful places and we used up our 3 day transit pass.
    I could go on and on, but suffice it to say, we had an unforgettable, wonderful trip and are thinking of where to go on our next bike and barge adventure!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Martha B. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Outstanding guide, great staff on boat, wonderful food. The beautiful scenery from Bolzano to Mantova was probably the most memorable. Really happy we took the additional 3 days before boarding the barge.

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Christine W. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery on the self guided from Bolzano to Mantua.
    The expert guide (Hein ), the food and the staff on the boat.
    They all went out of their way to make it a very pleasant experience.
    We could not have asked for a better crew.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Rosemary B. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We took the 11 day cycle in Italy and loved it all.
    A few things I think need mentioning.
    We got lost. Just as one of your reviewers mentioned on the way to Lake Garda. We were doing great and very early to get the boat but at one of the deviations,we turned towards Verona and didn't realize it until half way to Verona. We had to keep looking at the map and book description and when we thought we knew and didn't look at what we were doing, we got lost. So took a train to Verona, lugged the very heavy bikes up the train station stairs, no elevator or escalators there!! Then had to hang the bikes up on hooks on the train. Then the train back up to where we would have been finishing our trip in the boat down Lake Garda. PUCCINCI hotel in Peschiera.I was very disappointed to have missed the ride on lake Garda. So the day that was supposed to be our short day, and we had done 45k before noon, and should have been there, we did over 80K.
    I felt that in order Read more… to do each days trip on the extra three days, we had to miss lots of towns and sights I wanted to visit. The hotel in Bolzano was very lovely and staff was great.
    The hotel in Trento, The Grand, was very very Grand. We just loved it.
    The gentleman that was at the front desk in............Peschiera was very helpful and was trying to give us many many things to do until he realized we didn't have the time in one evening, when getting up early to ride, to do too much.
    The hotel at the bottom of Lake Guarda, Hotel Peschiera we had a large bedroom.
    The breakfast room was in the basement and was quite crowded.
    We went for a swim and I asked at the desk about towels for the pool and the woman said to just take the room towels. When I asked for dry towels later for our room she told me they were $5.00 each!!! Never have heard of that ever before.
    Our barge was wonderful and as the times we have biked and barged before with other companies, we were very delighted with the delicious meals, friendly crew and outstanding tour guide Lecia. She was so much fun, very professional, had amazing skills in many languages and we all fell in love with her. The rides were so beautiful, just as we expected and the others on board with us were friendly and keen like us.

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Daniel G. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We did the 3-day self-guided tour from Bolzano to Lake Garda to Mantua first and that was a great adventure for us. The food and people we met on the boat was also a wonderful experience.

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Joanne White 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This Bike and Barge tour was amazing, best holiday ever!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Christopher Manning 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Route guides(arrows)could in some areas(particularly in the Bolzano to barge section when riders on their own) be more clearly marked and better positioned.
    Steph,our guide,and the boat crew combined to make this a special experience.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

PWPC