Danube Bike Path - Regensburg to Passau Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 9 of 9

 

  • Danube Bike Path - Regensburg to Passau
    by Tom H. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It's a great trip along the upper Danube there are some gravely bits and some places where the path was not always 100% obvious. This is a relatively easy bike ride to do the paved sections are great and the countryside and river views are beautiful.we were happy with most of the hotels and pensiones that we stayed in the food was really fun and good. some of the hotels were allowed if you had a room on the roadside so earplugs would be useful some of the directions getting into the cities were obscure so be ready to have your phone handy or some other mapping app.

    Countries: Germany

  • Danube Bike Path - Regensburg to Passau
    by Peter B. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great landscape and neat towns along the way.
    Suggestions: I thought I would be meeting with someone at the hotel on the first day per the trip description to discuss the route, which never happened. Also, several points of the route were under construction, a couple major. I should have been made aware of that since the navigation app did not redirect me. Two hotels did not have air conditioning. It was hot! That should be pointed out to permit upgrade to elect air conditioning.

    Countries: Germany

  • Danube Bike Path - Regensburg to Passau
    by Emily P. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Beautiful scenery, bike path was quite clearly marked as well without having to constantly refer to the map booklet, especially once we got onto the Danube trail. The booklet also had details on where we could find rest stops with food which was very handy. It was a great cycle experience for me and my companion, even though he's an inexperienced cyclist (it's only his 5th time or so on a bike!) we both enjoyed it very much--helps that the route is largely flat, the bike was very comfortable and we came prepared with extra seat padding just in case! The route also felt very safe, with minimal sections with road traffic. Accommodations were clean, comfortable and near the bike path, however the Deggendorf stop didn't have air-conditioning which I imagine may be a little uncomfortable later in the summer. One especially memorable moment was stopping by Walhalla, perched on a hill overlooking the Danube--incredibly peaceful with the most amazing views.

    Countries: Germany

  • Danube Bike Path - Regensburg to Passau
    by Lynn L. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Not only was the bike route scenic, it felt very safe, even for the short periods we were off the bike path. The Regensburg to Passau route was perfect for our group of four adults and four teenagers. None of us are experienced cyclists so three days of biking on a flat path was a perfect introduction to bicycle touring. We loved touring each of the cities on our trip.

    Countries: Germany

  • Danube Bike Path - Regensburg to Passau
    by Svetlana S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We have great quality time with family with balanced load of fitness and sightseeing. Excellent tour organization with very comfortable hotels (except Passau). Hotels central location gave us opportunity to enjoy historical city center and local cuisine with great comfort. We liked our bikes and found it very comfortable for our ride pace. It was nice sightseeing tour with great places to visit on the way. Additionally, we were lucky to have great weather. So everything was perfect and we plan out next trip. :)

    Countries: Germany

  • Danube Bike Path - Regensburg to Passau
    by Arnie K. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Very well organized, very good map & route descriptions, wonderful scenery and sights, excellent hotels with wonderful breakfasts, no hassle luggage transfer.

    Countries: Germany

  • Danube Bike Path - Regensburg to Passau
    by Arnie K. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Operations and logistics were very well organized. Hotels and staff were excellent. Luggage transfer was great. Route descriptions gave very useful information on what to see and do along the way.

    Countries: Germany

  • Danube Bike Path - Regensburg to Passau
    by Fiona M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    One hotel was excellent, one was poor and two were OK. For the money paid I would have expected air conditioning as standard. The advertised price of rooms was about half what we paid. I would also have liked to pay in sterling as I found the holiday through a UK search so would have thought this was possible. So - nice holiday, somewhat over-priced, let down by some inferior (noisy and very hot) accommodation.

    Countries: Germany

  • Danube Bike Path - Regensburg to Passau
    by Erin O'Conner 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful trip. Great descriptive guide book. Look forward to another trip soon.

    Countries: Germany

PWPC