Dolomites to Venice Tour Reviews — 1 to 10 of 10

4.6 out of 5

 


Sylvia T.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Our 8-day bicycle trip began in Bolzano and we ended the trip in Venice. This was a trip of a lifetime allowing us to ride through some of the prettiest villages and interact with the locals who were very friendly. Hotel accomodations were clean and very comfortable. We highly recommend renting electric assist bicycles as some of the ascents are long. The only thing that would have made the trip better is a more detailed map of the route. We look forward to our next trip with Tripsite next summer!

Alicia F.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

My sister, brother-in-law, and I highly recommend this tour. The views were stunning and the accommodations superb. Dobbiaco was our favorite stop with spectacular views of snow cap mountains, rivers, and UNESCO sites. A breathtaking experience!

Shirley D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I feel the bike should have been rated moderate-not easy moderate!

Scott M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The views on this tour were breathtaking. Northern Italy is so beautiful. For a mountainous region the pedaling was not difficult. Take your time and soak it in. Great food and drink in the region.

M. Sciulli
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The trip itself was amazing! Spectacular scenery and just the right amount of cycling every day. We loved the fact that it was self-guided so we could go at our own pace. The description of easy to moderate was accurate, but I know it would have been much harder had we not had electric bikes. I have 2 specific complaints: First, the quality of the hotels was not up to par. A friend described one as exactly like his dorm room in college...small, smelly, run down, not properly air-conditioned, out of the way, and generally unsatisfactory. Secondly, the directions and the maps need to be updated. More than once we found ourselves at a dead-end or could not find a turn we were supposed to take. We wasted a lot to time going back and forth trying to find the supposed route. Thankfully we speak Italian, so we could stop and ask locals for directions. At other times we just ended up relying on the GPS on our phone to find a proper route. Overall, if these two things were improved this would be a perfect trip. I highly recommend the trip.

C. Baird
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The Guide gave us very little information about either the equipment or route before he left us. Just simple things would have helped significantly. He was abrupt, especially with women and certainly less than helpful. The guidebook was good for the most part, but some sections were completely useless. Some of this may have been due to translation, but improvements are needed. When we entered cities, we always had to ask for assistance.
We have taken about 10 European bike trips and expect some difficulties finding our way, but have never encountered the degree of problems we had on this trip.

Jeff & Barbara Wahlbrink
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

A charming trip. Loved the experience. Hope to do more bike touring with Tripsite. My blog submission offers lots more positives. Thanks for publishing it! ; )

Now, if you really want some constructive criticism to share with Girolibero, here it is: Cue sheets were not up to date in a number of areas, which caused confusion and back-tracking. One of the days included a long stretch on a major highway, which was not too pleasant. The hotel in Belluno required that we haul our bikes up a long flight of stairs for overnight storage, and there was no elevator big enough or any staff available to help. ; The tandem bike provided was bigger/heavier than what we have at home, or what we expected. We are experienced cyclists, and we wished that there was an option for pedal cages or clips to give us some leverage on the hills. The gears on the tandem slipped regularly during climbs and the chain got stuck a few times. The brakes failed one day on a steep downhill, but Read More

Barbara Wahlbrink
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

What a delight! A unique itinerary that was wonderfully planned. Cozy hotels, great food, good support and awesome scenery of course - an experience we will never forget. Thanks, Tripsite! We are already dreaming about our next cycling adventure!

Yarden Dor
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I just came back from this trip two days ago and all I can say is "wow!"

Not only were the views absolutely amazing and dramatically different each day, but the tour itself exceeded my expectations! All the hotels were clean and comfortable, and you can really tell that the individuals who organize the trip truly care about what they do as well as your satisfaction! The directions were super easy to follow each day and even provided further detail about certain key cities or building.

Such an enjoyable trip! Will definitely book another! Thank you for a great time!

Natana Shek
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I have done many self guided trips across Europe. This trip I did with my two daughters. This was by far the best organized and coordinated trip I have every done. The support, the hotels and the bikes were outstanding. The people involved in coordinating bike delivery and some transport were engaging and very interesting sharing the history of the landscape and area. The ride itself was magnificent with no two days being the same. I highly recommend this trip and this tour operator!