Mosel Bike Tour Tour Reviews — 1 to 11 of 11

Mosel River Valley vineyards by Bernkastel-Kues, Germany. Flickr:Megan Mallen

Mosel Bike Tour

8 days from €688

4.6 out of 5

Mosel Bike Tour

Easy–Moderate Bike Tour in Germany, France

This Mosel bike route leads along the border triangle of France, Luxembourg, and Germany. Your route through the Mosel River Valley will feature medieval castles, historic cities, vineyards, and…

4.6 out of 5

 


lais helena o.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Our first trip was canceled, frustating all group. The other was good because Mosel River is beautiful. The route description was awful and terrible for guide. We were lost sometimes because Tripsite don’t indicate a confiable app for route cycling . My bike was blocked with a different locker from others. The combination was written in a paper separately. We are so diappointed with Tripsite

Ann H.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Wine, good food and laughter with good friends at the end of the day each day. I loved the City of Trier, the hotel we stayed in in Piesport- Wiengut Lehnert-Veit, and the Eltz Castle outside of Trier.

Ann A.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

4.5 stars. If the gorgeous scenery, quaint towns, and efficiency of bag transfer were only being rated, it would be 5 stars. We’ve done 1 other European bike trip, and 6 bike and barge trips. We prefer the bike and barge for primarily 2 reasons: 1. You can drop your bags, unpack and call the boat home for the duration. 2. Great meals and camaraderie with boat mates is fun! Packing and unpacking is no fun. The Mosel was gorgeous, hotels were good, other than a few exceptions, and Tripsite always makes booking easy with friendly staff and good communication ;)

Alden G.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

I felt strongly the pull of the Mosel River as it flows across 2,000 years of history, spanning the Roman Empire, centuries of struggle between France and Germany culminating in World War II, and the formation of the European Union in 1985. From the bike saddle, we observe workers pruning vines and collecting grapes, children attending school and residents running daily errands. The experience unfolding before our eyes is enhanced by knowing a bit of that local history -- imagining Roman life here from 2,000 years ago, contemplating daily life in a medieval castle in the 16th century, and understanding World War 2 and postwar efforts to establish the European Union and the Euro common currency. All these historical events shaped life along this river; the evidence surrounds you, from Roman ruins, to castles, farms, footpaths, commercial barge traffic, and agriculture. Part of this journey is taking note of the layering of the modern world over deep historical foundations.

Sally S.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Riding along the river the entire time with beautiful scenery and good bicycling surfaces.

Marilyn K.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Our trip along the Moselle River from Metz France, through Luxemburg, to Koblenz Germany was a fantastic adventure! The route was easy to follow, especially with the GPS coordinates we were provided along with the detailed description of the towns. Our group of four travelled along the river following the mostly paved trail through fields and forests, vineyards, and city trails. The September air was crisp and cool and the vines were rich with clusters of grapes. Traveling comfortably an average of 35 miles on well-maintained e-bikes, we arrived at our destinations with plenty of time for exploration and discovery. Each town had its own charming character. Trier, one of the oldest cities of Germany was an incredible architectural experience with Romanesque arches, palaces and cathedrals. We discovered outdoor markets and enjoyed local Luxemburg cuisine as we learned about the creation of the Schengen agreement which led to the EEU. Old Roman castles dotted the terraced mountains and Read More

Anni H.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Cycling along the river, the journey

Peter V.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The Route Guide that we received was in German. We called Velociped and they said that they ran out of English guide - Basically we were SOL and not getting the Route Guide in English. They knew it way before hand that they did not have any English Route Guide - they should have let you or us know and maybe sent us written instructions for the route. We had difficulty in the first 3 days of the trip. We did not even get any instructions of how the electric bikes worked or how to operate it. The first day - my wife struggled on the ebike because it was not working right- we had to call. Instructions on what to do and how to start it would have been good. Very poor customer service. In addition, we signed up for CLASS A hotels, which was supposed to be 3 or 4 stars - not one of the hotels provided was a 4 star. The scenery along the Mosel River was spectacular, the luggage transfers between hotels was great.

Kevin from Trailsnet
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This bike tour had it all: great scenery, wonderful food, delicious wine and the perfect itinerary. The rental bike was fantastic, the accommodations were comfortable, the luggage shuttle was reliable & the guidebook was helpful/informative.

I was surprised at how much there was to do and see along the way. Each town was interesting & historically fascinating. Touring this region by bicycle is the only way to go. It allows you to stop in each village/town along the way to sample the food & explore the sites. The guidebook that is provided with your tour is quite helpful; but I encourage you to stop in as many towns as possible, even if they aren't listed in the book. You'll be surprised at the hidden charms you will discover on some of the side roads.

The bicycle route (mostly bike paths) can be found on either side of the Mosel River. And, in most cases, you can't go wrong. Once again, the guidebook provides suggestions for which side to choose. Read More

Sharon Robers
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Mosel trip was excellent. Danube trip, the map and instructions were worse than useless because they were actually wrong in places.

Stephen Roberts
11 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Great trip...We did the 7 day but wish we would have done the five days however. We are planning on booking for the third time this year just looking for a 5 day and it seems most are much longer.

Thanks