5 star rated Along the Danube - Four Country Tour Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 30 of 227

 

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Diane Q. 6 days ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was travelling through small Austrian villages! The bakeries and the little cafe’s were awesome!
    The food on the ship was delicious and plentiful. I would suggest mentioning to participants that they must bring their own helmets. We had unfortunately assumed we could rent some onboard and were stuck scrambling at the last minute having to go to a local bike shop to purchase some.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Barb W. 6 days ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip was that we could ride our bikes everyday in the countryside while being guided by Liacha. Then back to the barge where the captain, chef and steward were so lovely to us. They went beyond their duties and always with a smile.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sara W. 6 days ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking along the river was absolutely beautiful. We were able to do some site seeing in Bratislava, Budapest and Vienna. Highlight was the bus trip back from the Hungarian dancers in Budapest, we went up to a beautiful view of the city with all the city lights, it was after a day fighting the rain, so the rain had let up and we could enjoy then view.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jill T. 6 days ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip was amazing. It was my first time to Europe and to say now that I was in 4 countries!!
    The talks that we had each night with the information on our next day trip were very helpful. We had some bad weather, (rain), but we got by. I cannot complain at all.
    We did the off days on our own, walking around Vienna and Budapest. I took so many photos. It is great to have them now to look back on.
    I cannot pick one thing that I really enjoyed. Everyday was better than the day before.
    I am planning on doing another trip with Tripsite in 2020.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by William M. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Such varied but scenic bike riding!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Roxy K. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved the day by day review of what was to happen. On board entertainment was spectacular.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jeffrey B. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Must See: The excursion to the Clam Castle. Authentic Castle owned by the Clam family since the 1500's to the present.
    If you take this excursion or the concentration camp, inexperienced riders should rent an electric bike.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Samantha C. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was an amazing trip. The MS Carissima was very comfortable, the people were lovely, very helpful and friendly . The food was very varied to fit in with the countries and was always delicious . The cycle routes were leisurely and the scenery beautiful . We made life- long friends and had a wonderful time .

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Ann V. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I can't really choose one memory as the whole trip was absolutely wonderful on and off the barge. The food, accommodations, and staff were absolutely top-notch, they didn't miss a beat. Loved cycling through the beautiful scenery of the rural, small-town areas, and the opportunity to visit several of the larger cities with the added excursions. I wish I had researched the area of the tour beforehand to familiarize myself with its history.
    I would have liked a more detailed daily map of the route with distances between landmarks noted. We missed several turns but were able to get back on track. Also one of our bikes in our group of ten did not shift properly even after being replaced, making for a frustrating experience. All that being said we will definitely do another bike and barge trip.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Chereda B. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Excellent cruise director, wonderful bike trails with good instructions as to how to follow them, excellent food. It was a great trip.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Janice M. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our Danube 4-Country bike and boat tour, Our ship the Carissima was very comfortable and the staff were great. The food was amazing- beautifully prepared and good variety for meat eaters and vegetarians alike. The bike trails were easy to follow for the most part and the scenery spectacular. We had so many memorable moments. One of the highlights were the bonds we formed with our fellow passengers. We got to meet some terrific people who became instant friends and who we will stay in touch with.
    My only suggestion would be to provide easier trail maps and directions. The briefings were helpful, but hard to remember all the details. Finding our way at times was a comedy of errors and we muddled through with other fellow riders. I guess all part of the experience.
    Overall an amazing trip and would highly recommend to others.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Christine A. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Self guiding our way along the Danube through amazing countryside.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Debra N. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved the arrival by night in Budapest! It was unexpectedly gorgeous with all the lighted bridges and buildings. Truly amazing. Fireworks were an unexpected highlight of the evening in Linz which just happened to have a celebration. Our third highlight was the last biking day through the Wachau Valley--such beautiful vineyards and small villages! One tip: bring a multi USB plug and more than one adaptor for use in the room.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Maureen B. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of this trip to me was the Operetta symphony concert at Schlosspark in Vienna. This is an experience that no one should miss.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jean B. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Just returned from this trip on the Carissima and it was a wonderful way to see the Danube. Booked the guided package and Axle was wonderful-took us to out of the way places we never would've found on our own and no other guests saw. Glad we rented Ebikes as there were a few long climbs and stiff winds several times. Kalkoff bikes are fantastic! Light rain a few days but nothing which impeded our rides--just be sure and take waterproof everything so you can still bike. Crew on the Carissima are great--rooms are clean, beds comfy, sufficient air con, nice hot water and water pressure in the bathroom. No real TV except a European sports channel and a few other Austrian channels--we didn't miss it at all. Meals were good but VERY small portions at dinner--not a problem for us but others complained. House white wine was good, red not so much. Packed lunch consists of a bottle of water, small sandwiches, fruit and granola bars--sufficient but we opted to eat at a local cafe Read more… a few times when we stopped. Two complaints: the boat doesn't dock at town centers every night so you can wander around and hit a pub or listen to some live music. Understandably some nights its moving and a few guests complained that the lower deck cabins were very noisy, especially when going through locks. In Passau, it docks several miles from the town center, and we were told there were only SEVEN taxis in the entire city and nearly impossible to get one. So the cruise director, Albert, said he hired a bus to take us to the train station upon disembarking, and the charge was 15 Euros per person. For a 10 minute ride--he only took cash and gave no receipts. This is highway robbery given that upon arrival in Passau we hired a taxi at a cost of 10 Euro for 2 of us. We would've taken a chance on an Uber but the ship was over 30 minutes late getting into Passau and we had a tight train connection on Sunday. We didn't do any of the optional activities however others said they enjoyed the concert in Vienna, but no one liked the Hungarian Folk Show in Budapest. Be sure and hike up to St. Mattias Church in Budapest at night--the view is spectacular! Finally, the Danube shoreline is largely undeveloped (a great thing), so you don't see a lot of towns and villages-I mention this because lines like Viking and AMA promote their balconies,huge window walls and gyms/spas/etc-and charge thousands of dollars more for the same itinerary-but you're not ON the boat for about 8 hours of the day, and when you are, 90% of the time you're looking at trees. If we'd spent $5000/pp to do this trip we'd have been really disappointed--bottom line--this trip is a great VALUE and you're seeing what everyone else sees. This was our second trip with Tripsite after doing the Tulip Tour last spring, and again they handled everything flawlessly--another couple on our trip also booked with them and said the same. Very satisfied and looking forward to our Mantova to Venice bike and barge trip next year-

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Francine P. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was a real memorable trip. Everybody in our group of 20 peoples loved it . Everything was great the cabin, the foods, the staff ,the entertainment and specially the bike ride . We had great bikes , the maps were good even the weather was hot and dry. We had a lot fun during the bike ride and when on board . Would love to do it again

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Douglas C. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything! The trip was very well planned and easily do-able. The bikes were great and were very comfortable. We had thought about bringing our gel seat covers, but did not and they were not needed. The routes planned were great and having downloaded the gps tracks we had no problems finding our way. The food on the boat was fantastic, my only complaint would be the length of time some meals took. The rooms on the boat (Carissima) were very comfortable.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Pat L. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The last day of the beautiful rolling hills and gorgeous monastery on the hill and quaint historic towns along the way were the highlight of the trip.

    I loved Jan's presentations. He was very well prepared and his delivery was great. You should keep him doing that. However, his personal customer service leaves something to be desired. He had no patience for details that were not perfect.

    All guides except for one were exceptionally good. The one guide in Budapest was so bad we got our money back for the bike guide in the city.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Gayl G. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Two wonderful ways to travel and see the world: on a bike and on the sun deck of a boat.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Amanda S. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The best way to have a holiday - you do not have to think about logistics, unpack and enjoy:) The Carissima was awesome, our every need was taken care of - the staff were super friendly and the food amazing!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Bob R. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    By far the most memorable part was the opportunity to explore regions on our own and meet new people. The ship crew was awesome and attentive, and as this was the first trip of its kind we'd ever taken, it was beyond expectations!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kenneth H. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The crew was fabulous, all of them!

    Itinerary was excellent the food was great.

    Drinks were too expensive at the bar.

    One suggestion - smoking on the top deck - put the smokers at the back of the boat, not the front, so the rest of us don't have to smell the smoke if we choose to be on deck.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Craig A. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is a trip that is not to be missed. The crew was great, the sights were jaw dropping and the memories will keep me going for a long time. Second time using Tripsite to book and the experience gets better every time. Already planning on using them for our next trip.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lanette A. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was an absolutely amazing trip which exceeded all of our expectations. The food on the Carissima was wonderful, the trip overall was so well organized and the crew was helpful and professional. I would definitely recommend this trip to others.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Cindy T. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was our first bike & boat trip and we loved it. Each day was a treat with amazing cathedrals, quaint towns, and Budapest at night was gorgeous! The ship was just as pictured, the crew was very attentive and helpful, and we enjoyed our balcony room on the top level. We were slightly concerned that we'd be the only English speaking passengers, but were up for the adventure. However, most of the crew spoke both English and German and at dinner they placed us among about 8 tables of Canadians, Americans, and others who preferred speaking English to German. Each evening, about 80% of the passengers preferred the bike tour information in German, but they provided a slide show and directions in both languages. The directions were good, an there was only one day we all were a bit lost, but it was fun. With everyone on the boat having distinctive blue panniers, it was easy to follow each other and laugh at our attempts to navigate. We still had plenty of time to see everything Read more… and get to the ship.

    As far as the bike routes, I prefer dedicated bicycle paths (not "sharrows") and loved every ride. Most were on dedicated paved paths, but some traversed through villages on very quiet roads. A few tips: Breakfast was the best meal of the day. Check your packed lunch at breakfast, which typically contained a veggie (cheese) sandwich, a cold cut sandwich, fruit, sparkling water, and a pastry. From the breakfast buffet, you can exchange the fruit and add a slice of meat to your veggie sandwich. If you don't like sparkling water, they will exchange that for bottled water at the reception desk. Dinner was good and I thought the portion size was reasonable given the four course meals (the soups were yummy!). Watch the tightness of the breaks on the bikes (the front break can launch you if you're not careful) but the bikes were in great condition. Plan ahead for your massage (which was fantastic). One came with the room and we purchased a second. We chose to skip one day of biking along the Danube, and we're pleased that we had plenty of time to bike around the town in the morning before the ship left port, get lunch, a massage, and a nap, and then bike around the new port we arrived in that afternoon.

    Thanks to all the crew on the MS Primadonna, who learned our names and favorite drinks by the second day! We miss you already.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by ALAN B. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The pedaling was easy, the landscape surreal, the beer was excellent! My wife, myself, daughter, and her boyfriend enjoyed the Austrian scenery the most. Wine country is not to be missed. The food on the boat at night was superb. Meeting people from other countries on the boat was a plus.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Terry C. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is the only way to do a river cruise. You are able to see and enjoy the country and at the same time stay active and get exercise. The bike paths were mostly flat, very few hills. The boat was very nice with good food and service. The highlight of the trip was entering Budapest at 10 pm. It was more than amazing. The bike guide really tried to prepare us each day for the following day bike ride, but it is easy to get lost and the maps we were given were not very clear.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Winifred T. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our most memorable part of the trip was riding with several other cyclists who had better directions, and hence did not get lost!!! We rode through rain and sun, cold wind and steep hills, chic coffee shops and picturesque towns together. This is a wonderful first time experience for our family.
    I'd suggest to get to know other cyclists as soon as possible and try to arrange riding together. This would make the journey more fun.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Steve F. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Captain Dan and the crew of the Arlene II were fantastic! Great food, cozy accommodations, and really fun cycling.
    Would recommend the cycling City Tours in both Vienna and Budapest. We did not book these and I think we missed out.
    Our bike/barge holiday was well organized, super relaxing and tons of fun!
    We will definitely be taking another trip with Tripsite! You guys rock!

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Dave U. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a great time on the Danube four countries tour and it was great to bike and to get to visit 3 capital cities. Wonderful and I would highly recommend this trip

    Boat: Normandie

PWPC