5 Star Caprice boat/barge tour reviews — 1 to 11 of 11

4.7 out of 5

 


Sheilagh M.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Riding through the south of France along quiet country roads with the occasional stop to learn about the history and people of the place.

John C.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

The crew of the boat Caprice was wonderful. Each crew member did their utmost to make the trip perfect for everyone. The food was outstanding, our compliments to the chef Joseph who prepared a gourmet meal every night. The tour guide Alessandra was wonderful and kept the group moving along together. The size of the tour was perfect, 20, the route was ideal and that part of France was beautiful. Highlights were the Ponte du Gard, the villages in Provence, Avignon and the tour of the winery and La Moulin d'Huile. We also enjoyed the company of the others on the tour very much.

Suggestions: bring raingear if it's the rainy season, stop in the cafes in the little towns along the way for beer, wine, french fries or desserts.

Charlotte A.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Most Memorable Part: Riding through the countryside and small villages, visiting Arles and Les Beaux.

Andrew O.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

It is impossible to single out a single most memorable time. The food was delicious, the tour guide wonderful, the cycling routes took us to a variety of historical, cultural, and geographical places. We saw castles, an abbey, art, old villages, wildlife, walled cities, mountain top views, and took several short cruises on the river, The days were full, we had downtime when needed but were always kept busy if desired.

Marc L.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

The mutual congeniality among the group was especially memorable and was facilitated by every element of the trip! Antonella, our cycling guide from Avignon to Aigues-Mortes, was the glue which brought us all together - she was a delight! The accommodations, with several locations for socializing in comfort, encouraged us to relate to each other in multiple group configurations. Finally, the variety of daily itineraries gave us many options to enjoy beautiful scenery and cultural highlights.

Susan F.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

The Avignon to Aigues-Mortes bike-barge trip was terrific. Our guide, Antonella, was knowledgeable about the area as well as about the route. She did an amazing job of ensuring our safety and making it a really fun ride. We would have loved to stop at a winery or two!

Margaret H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

The whole crew on our barge was wonderful, helpful and contributed greatly to the enjoyment of the week. The food was excellent, plentiful and culturally relevant. Our tour guide was knowledgeable, capable, experienced and fun ... great assets!

Scott & Liz P.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Having never done a “biking” vacation before, this was our first experience and I will say that we both felt that this would be something that we would definitely want to do again.
The equipment was in great condition and was properly geared for the terrain that we encountered. The guide on our tour was part historian, part musician, part artist and part entertainer. He made our trip come alive with insightful facts and was always encouraging with all of the clients on the tour. We constantly felt special in the opportunities we had to gain access to sites that we toured.
The crew on the boat was exceptional as well. We were always made to feel at home and quickly realized how much effort they all placed on us enjoying ourselves.
The meals served on board were exceptional as well. Our chef Sara, provided seasonal, and local dishes that enhanced our journey through Provence.
Lastly, we would have to say that biking through Provence was by far, the Read More

Judith K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

The bike tour was terrific and exactly what our group was looking for. Biking along quiet country lanes and through vineyards. Our Italian cabin crew was fabulous.

Beverly P.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Amazing scenery - good guide, manageable route, fantastic food. Only thing that could have been improved was wifi on the boat. If more than two or three people were using it, it was impossible to connect and always very slow.

Gloria P.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

The routes of this trip were fantastic, even though the Lavender was not in bloom the fragrances hung in the air as we rode by the harvested fields. We rode to some of France's National Monuments which was special in of itself. I thought the routes and itineraries were great. I always looked forward to what they had planned for us next. Our guide and all the staff on the barge were all wonderful and so happy to share this journey with us! The food was excellent - who knew there would be such fine dining on the barge! This is an adventure not to be missed!