Bike tour reviews with boat/barge La Belle Fleur 31 to 46 of 46

 

 Boat/Barge: La Belle Fleur • REMOVE  About La Belle Fleur

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by L. Vandermeer 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The boat crew were both very nice, friendly and helpful. The bike guide was wonderful - such a great guy, wonderful sense of humour, very kind and considerate. He was also very knowledgeable about the places we went. The bikes were excellent. The routes we took were wonderful - made very good use of the great Dutch biking infrastructure, and we went through a very interesting mix of countryside, villages, pretty urban neighbourhoods, etc.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by L. Epstein 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    More hot breakfast food. The route was semi-urban and suburban and that could have been made clearer beforehand. I liked doing one or more interesting stops each day. Keukenhof day was terrific, including cycling by tulip and hyacinth fields.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by L. Daugherty 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My trip was wonderful. Sander and Els were incredible hosts and Arie was a fantastic guide. The information from Tripsite was spot on and very helpful. The only glitch I had was that the Tram stop for the boat was not correct but we found the barge without too much difficulty. I would definitely recommend this trip.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by B. West 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The experience was very good; the only negatives are beyond anyone's control! I was not adequately prepared for the wind, which was far stronger than I anticipated, and I didn't have anything to protect my ears and eyes. My eyes and lips were severely windburned one day. Goggles, or at least wraparound sunglasses, and a headband to cover the ears are a definite must!

    Other than that, everything was good. The cabin was comfortable, and the meals were excellent. It was a very good value. Most tours cover all but a few meals; this covers all of them. Captain Sander and Chef Els were wonderful hosts, and tour guide Arie went above and beyond to make sure everyone experienced as much of the region as possible. The day bike trips and the evening city walks were really interesting.

    Thanks for a great trip!

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by S. Hogg 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wish we had managed to cycle close to some tulip fields.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Melody Knapp 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Sander and Els were perfect hosts. The food, the service, the accommodations were also perfect. I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the cabins. Sander and Els also were very willing to let me stay on the barge two additional nights after the tour for an affordable price. The biking was also very pleasurable, so much so that I was sad when I realized we were on our last day.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Sandi Branker 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved the trip and hope to do it another in 2016!

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Donald Stockwell 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our guide was not good, would ride off too fast, often the tail end riders were lost and confused as they could not keep up. Everything else was excellent!

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Wayne Goodman 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I really loved: Tour guide, boat hosts, food, sights, other guests.
    I only enjoyed: quality of bike (could've been a better bike, but it was well maintained)
    Could've been better: speed of cycling (while I understand not everyone cycles at the same speed, there should be a ""fast"" group and a ""slow"" group
    --overall rating: 4.5 of 5

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Loretta and Lynn bendz 5 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had an amazing experience with Sanders and Els in April 2015 and I can't wait to do it again! The food and bicycles and itinery were all excellent! We had great weather although the northsea beaches were a little windy. I liked being able to pack my lunch so that we had more time exploring delightful Netherlands! Thank you for this fantastic opportunity. Feel free to share our experience with anyone interested in bike barge tour in the future. Thanks again! Loretta Bendz

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Nancy Van Sas 5 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I have just returned from our honeymoon from Netherlands. Five of the 10 days were spent on La Belle Fleur with Sander and Els. I cannot say enough positive things about this bike and barge. I have been planning this trip for 8 years, so there were very high expectations that had to be met, which they successfully accomplished. The barge was very cozy with wonderful food served daily, including traditional dutch cuisine. The bikes (Gazelle) were great in traditional dutch style. Our guide was knowledgeable and kept us on pace of a very full 5 day schedule. I highly recommend this trip if you are looking for an adventure and to experience the country in true Dutch style. I know I will be back to explore more of this beautiful country, hopefully aboard the La Belle Fleur for another adventure.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Peg Hanson 5 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I had a wonderful experience with Sander, Els, and Arie (sp). The food was amazing, the bikes were comfortable and efficient..enjoyed the walking tours and all the history information. Would recommend to anyone that wants a comfortable easy tour.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Shirley Stephens 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and had no glitches. I would like to recommend the barge and bike trip around Amsterdam thru the US affiliate, "TripSite". The office was very helpful, pleasant and efficient. The information offered prior to the trip was excellent and unexpectedly thorough including a history of the history of the Netherlands! The excursion did not disappoint. The barge was compact, as expected but clean and comfortable. Most notably, the food was OUTSTANDING. The wife of the captain is an excellent cook and offered a different, interesting 3 course fair nightly. The passengers complimented her frequently after the meal and gave her special applause at the end. As promised we were offered coffee and cake just before disembarking. An extra detail but so nice for closure.The guide on our bike tour was fluent in English and happy to answer all questions. He was thoroughly knowledgeable in the bike routes, taking short a cut through the tulip fields because they Read more… had were largely harvested due to the very early spring. This allowed us an extra half hour at the OUTSTANDING Keukenhof Gardens. There was a medical emergency while we were biking necessitating an ambulance. He handled it efficiently without alarm. He and the captain called for taxis for those of us needing them at disembarkation and gave directions to trains, etc for others. They stayed around until all were on their way. One of us talked to a local bartender in Leiden while using WiFi there. He asked what boat we were on and offered that it was "the best". He asked about the food. When we said it was outstanding, he offered that passengers from other boats had complained about their food onboard. Feel free to share our experience with anyone interested in such a tour in the future. Thanks again for your help.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Lorraine Tour
    by George F. 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a wonderful time on the Lorraine tour last year starting from Toul. One of the fellow passengers arrived late and in a state because she had difficulty finding the barge -- taxis and the police did not know where to direct her. A great landmark to cite is the Grands Moulins Aubry. It is a prominent building readily seen from the highway, and the barge moors in the canal just adjacent to the one by the moulin. We ourselves walked around for a day before finding the spot. Your Google map is spot on -- we found it right away after consulting it -- but internet access was not readily available. All of this to say: Your clients would find the spot without difficulty if you were to direct them to "the canal right beside the one at Grands Moulins Aubry" in your travel instructions. I hope you find this note helpful. Looking forward to our next trip with you.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by D.W. 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our Tulip Tour in Netherlands was the most fun I've had on a vacation in years. Although there was a super small group, our guide, Lia, and the crew, Sander and Els, treated us incredibly well. The weather was cold, but we rode bikes every day, and even though it was too cold to see tulips, we managed to enjoy ourselves the whole time. Lia was so knowledgeable about the people, lore, history, politics, and engineering of Holland that she made every moment come alive. One thing that surprised me were the many monuments to WWII and she explained the history and its impact on the people. In addition to the planned excursions, we were able to enjoy a few spontaneous stops along the way. With such a small group we found ourselves all together more than might have been expected, and never once did it feel as if anybody was bored with seeing the same few faces every day. Our crew were simply fantastic, telling us about the boat, the rivers in Europe, the locks we passed through, and the Read more… villages we stayed in along the way. The food was terrific, and even though the chef was a vegetarian, she prepared wonderful dishes that included meat with each meal. And the desserts each night were delicious. I've been thinking about this trip a lot ever since we came home, and I would be so glad to do it again. Marvelous vacation!

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Jill Nicholas 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a wonderful week, despite the strong winds which made cycling more difficult. The tour guide was excellent and very supportive of any problems. The very late spring meant that we didn't see any flowering tulip fields, but the fields of daffodils and hyacinths more than made up for it. The crew of the Eva Josiena could not have been more welcoming.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

PWPC