Tulip Tour - 5 day Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 72

Tulip heaven in the Netherlands. Flickr:Steven Bittinger
Discount on select departures

Tulip Tour - 5 day

5 days from €874

4.8 out of 5

Tulip Tour - 5 day

Easy Bike + Boat Tour in Netherlands

This five-day bike and boat tour in Holland during peak tulip season goes through some of the most beautiful areas of the "Garden of Amsterdam." The tulips and other spring flowers herald the…

4.8 out of 5

 


Beth I.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The most memorable aspect of our trip has to be the incredible staff members and friendly people of The Netherlands! Each of the staff was welcoming, engaging, and so hard working! We mostly experienced Cori as she led our biking group, and she proved to be a very effective leader. She was a highly capable biker, very knowledgeable about all things Dutch, and kept our group on schedule with a steady, relaxed attitude. The other bike tour leader Angela was also quite helpful and capable, always willing to help find an answer to support us. Another staff member who really caught our attention was Ingeborg. Talk about a hard worker! She was a jack of all trades with a wonderful disposition and demeanor that was so fun and friendly. We truly enjoyed her for the warmth of her personality as well as her dedication to serving our needs! Our Chef Jorde's menu selections, plating and presentation was fantastic. We sure missed him once we arrived back at home and had to cook for Read More

Ruth P.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Everything was great, especially the boat staff and the food !

Biking guides were kind, knowledgeable and well organized.

The bicycles were new and of great quality. They fitted everybody with an appropriately sized bike.

Touring through the countryside of The Netherlands in the spring was fabulous. The routes were better than we anticipated. We even got to put our feet in the North Sea.The GPS App was really useful for see where you were even though we had a guide.

The food was exceptionally good. An on board chief prepared a different mean every night. We even got to dine with the Captain!

We are talking about doing another trip sooner than later. We only did a 5 day tour as the 7 day was booked. We would recommend the 7 day. 5 days is too short.

Highly recommend the Bike and Boat operators of the Magnificent II & III! Very professional and customer focused!

Mitchell V.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Loved the intimate atmosphere of the barge. Get a chance to know the other passengers and crew.

Rachel H.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Our 5 day trip aboard the Magnifique IV for the Netherlands tulip tour was magnificent! I can't say enough great things about the staff--each and every one was so helpful and accommodating. There was plenty of food at all times and the evening dinner was excellent. The rooms were small but clean and enough room for all of your belongings. The bikes were new and worked well. The only thing I would change about the trip was the weather (!) and perhaps I would have enjoyed eating lunch in the small towns we meandered through (versus packing a bagged lunch each day). Would definitely recommend this trip and will be booking with them again!

Thomas K.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The trip including the Kuganeuf gardens was terrific. Well organized and relaxing. Our bike guides were attentive to everyone's level and set a comfortable pace.

Abby R.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The Tulip Market and riding to the North Sea. The pace was great! Everyone on the boat was phenomenal! The food was outstanding, the entire boat was clean. We could not have asked for anything better. I highly suggest getting to know the Captin and crew! I can not say enough wonderful things about The Magnifique III crew!

michael c.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Just the whole trip everything was memorable, the barge crew, the ride leader & cycling. The Barge itself, the food and peolple

Kari M.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The most memorable part of my trip was the time we rode our bikes around the tulip fields. The scenery was breath taking!

I also really enjoyed my time on the Magnifique III

Donna M.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

When things are this wonderful, it is difficult to choose a highlight … guess all can be grouped together under amazing customer service. The boat was kept spotless, the food was delicious, and our guides were incredibly flexible about routes to please all and their knowledge made all extra enjoyable…. My only suggestion is sign up! You won’t regret!

Jane P.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Scenery
Keep two groups apart with staggered starts.
Would have liked more information about what we were seeing- know difficult to do - more stops perhaps?

Kelly M.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

the trip to the flowers was outstanding.

Theresa P.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

the most memorable part was biking through the fields of flowers and the farm fields. It was a joy to follow the canals and green fields. We decided to use e-bikes, we had a headwind one day and the e-bikes made it easy to peddle. We found out the reason they are known for windmills. The weather was a little chilly, so not bringing gloves was our mistake.

Linda L.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The Magnifique II was truly magnificent. All the little extras were greatly appreciated. The room and bed was very comfy and the meals were superb. I can't say enough good things about the excellent bikes, the tour leaders, and the timing for the lovely tulips. The whole thing was a treat for my granddaughter and me

stephen p.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

All of the crew and guides were exceptionally pleasant and helpful.

Cary Z.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This was a wonderful, amazing trip! Bike guides Andre and Corrie were personable, professional, knowledgeable and thoughtful. The boat crew Michael, Thomas, Jolene, Alexandra, and chef Gerard were top notch, providing great service, great food and a delightful atmosphere! The bikes were in great condition, we chose ebikes that were wonderful. The days of bike riding (through all kinds of weather) provided a great introduction to the beauty and majesty of The Netherlands. Then we came home to a lovely boat with great snacks and food. Gerard was great at accommodating my need to avoid garlic while creating flavorful, delicious food. We would highly recommend this trip and look forward to our next tour on the Magnifique II!

Achal J.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The bicycle ride along the canals and fields of endless tulips! The staff and service was excellent. We highly recommend this trip to everyone.

bradley T.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Biking through fields of flowers was amazing. Don’t miss the flower market!

KAREN F.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The Magnifique II is the most beautiful boat and we were very chuffed to have had a female skipper. We so loved this trip - my mom grinned from ear to ear from beginning to end. The highlight is the tulips. Words cannot express what it is like to ride next to tulip and hyacinth fields and then to go to Keukenhof. It is a delight for the senses! But being on this boat is also a highlight. Fabulous staff, great food, comfy bed and a real shower.

Susan G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This trip was amazing! It was everything we expected and more! The crew and the food were wonderful! The bike tour guides did an awesome job of showing us windmills, tulips, Keukenhoff, the flower auction, ferry rides , and more. It was great to cruise the canals on our last day before biking too. There was so much variety in just three days of biking. Thank you!

Lou Ann N.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The 5 day Tulip Tour was a girl's trip which did not disappoint! From the moment we got on the barge, which exceeded our expectations, everything was amazing. The crew, food, service, bikes, bike tours, and the other passengers were awesome. I wouldn't have changed a thing and hope to do another bike/barge trip in the future. Trip Site was great to work with planning this trip.

Kathryn G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The most memorable part for me was riding through the tulips with friends. I really enjoyed the many stops that we had along the rides with so many interesting places to see.

Julia J.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The whole tour was fabulous. I especially loved our time at the Keukenhof flower park on April 18, where the tulips were in full bloom and the sun shone brightly. Riding past tulip farms on the way, was a great preview to the flower park.

I highly recommend the Magnifique IV barge. It offered multiple decks for passengers to enjoy. The rooms were comfortable and clean. For novice cyclists, reserve an eBike. They are easy and fun to use and take the pressure off of riding about 80 miles in three days.

Take advantage of the packing list provided by Tripsite. I would add a bar of soap to the list, as I prefer that over the shower gel provided. Additionally, arrive a couple of days early so that you can adjust to the time change and enjoy some museums and walking tours.

Andrea F.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Hilde our tour guide was extra special. Really enjoyed learning about her and her country. Biking around Amsterdam was amazing!! My favorite location was the Keukenhof gardens. Breathtaking!!

Julie J
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

After being delayed two years due to COVID, a group of friends took the Tulip Tour on board the Magnifique IV. It was a fabulous trip. We loved the barge, crew, tour guides, and itinerary. We gave accolades to the chef for his delicious meals. On April 18, we visited the Keukenhof flower park, where the flowers were in full bloom. We were lucky to enjoy sunny weather during our trip. This trip was well worth the wait!

Our group of 17 would highly recommend this tour.

Angela K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The whole experience was so fun. Sleeping and hanging out on the barge, of course the biking was so fun to see the area we were staying in. The food was fantastic on the boat as well as the staff. We we’re also able to go the the flower auction and visit the flower park.
I would highly recommend this trip.

Kathleen M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The Tulips. So many, they were just beautiful.

Søren K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

It was a great tour, where accomodation food and services on the boat were excellent.
The bikes were good and the biking programme brought us around to very interesting places.
Biking in towns with traffic and traffic lights gave a lot of stops to keep the group together. Smaller groups and less waiting time could be considered by the tour guides.
Best regard
Søren Kræmer

Nancy L.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Loved the bike rides through the tulip and hyacinth fields...............the fragrance was awesome. the Flower garden was inspiring. I loved the Flower Mart. wilma did a great job of leading and making us all feel comfortable. Food was delicious.

Natalie P.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We absolutely loved biking through the countryside in Holland. Our tour guides were amazing and knowledgeable, and it was an unforgettable experience!

Joseph S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The horrible weather. I know that the weather was so bad that everything was altered due to this and this is not anyone’s fault. I would however have to reconsider doing another bike trip. I am not an avid biker, but I do bike. The one day that we actually got to bike I was very frustrated in that we rode so slowly I could hardly keep my bike upright. 7 kg/hour was just way to slow. We did this due to one of the customers being very slow and rest of us had to wait. I do not have an answer to this but for me it ruined the one day we got to ride. The one group had real bikers so they went faster and longer rides, that may have been better than being with the group I was with. I would not do this type of trip again without having some reassurance the same thing would not happen again.