5 star rated Bike tour reviews with boat/barge Sailing Home 1 to 28 of 28

 

 Boat/Barge: Sailing Home • REMOVE  About Sailing Home

  • Authentic Holland
    by Mary T. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The whole barge experience with fellow bikers was awesome. There were only 23 of us and we all connected. The dining was exceptional. Our guide lacked knowledge of the tour and did not provide enough cultural experience.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Holland Southern Tulip Tour
    by Barbara A. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This trip was fabulous! The biking in the countryside was beautiful! I especially enjoyed seeing the bounding hares, swans, sheep, flowers and lovely homes. The tulip, daffodil and hyacinth fields were spectacular and an experience I will never forget. The traditional Dutch dinners were delicious and the stories about the food were entertaining and fun. I did find the city biking frightening at times with the crowds. One tip is be prepared for this and stay near the guide in the heavy traffic areas. I thoroughly enjoyed the sites especially the factory in Delft, Harlem, biking through the Sand Dunes and Keukenhof gardens. A lovely country with so much to experience.
    I think this trip is an incredible value for the price. I can’t wait to take another bike and barge trip.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Cologne and Cologne to Amsterdam
    by Gail M. 7 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Great staff making us feel very welcomed and well cared for, from our guide Pete to the lady captain. I would highly recommend this company.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Germany

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Margaret W. 7 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Best part of trip traveling with friends old and new. Beautiful scenery. Great food. A great challenge. Looking forward to my next trip

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Denis E. 8 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most memorable part? Scenery and food and small group size

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Catherine S. 8 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our trip on the Sailing Home Amsterdam to Brugge was far more than we expected. The cabins are spacious enough for 2 people and the bathroom was well equipped and plenty enough space. The outside deck area was very social and the best way to finish the day with sundowners and your fellow cyclists. Loved this trip and would highly recommend.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Steve S. 10 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The scenery - Bruges was like a storybook. The food - The chef on our barge went out of her way to accommodate my family’s vegan requirements, and she did it with style.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Pam B. 10 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Enjoyed the accommodations, crew was great, and cycling was easy . Looking at another Bike & Barge adventure!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Suzanne D. 12 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Amsterdam to Bruges July 2018. We loved the whole aspect of cycling to meet our barge (our floating hotel) at the end of each day. The accommodations on the Sailing Home were great and the barge is a handsome one. Staff were friendly and relaxed but attentive and personable. Our cycling guide Karline was very competent and kindly took us into almost every town each night for a walking tour. Her historical knowledge of the areas in the Netherlends and Belgium we visited were an unexpected bonus. The food was great on board and most enjoyable. I will definitely recommend this trip to others.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Holland Southern Tulip Tour
    by Ruth M. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I loved being part of the Southern Holland Tulip Tour! The biking was wonderful, the scenery was unparalleled, and the Sailing Home was comfortable and well appointed. Staff was uniformly pleasant and accommodating. I enjoyed bonding with the other riders in the group , mostly from the Central and Western US and Canada. Our guide was knowledgeable and entertaining, however I feel that keeping our large group of 26 riders together on the rides was a challenge, and he would have benefited from the use of "corners" to make sure that all the riders were clear on the turns. Also, we were each given a booklet with the daily ride routes, but it would have been helpful to go over the next days map each evening so that we could visualize the lay of the land.
    Great trip all around and I am hoping to join another in the future!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Holland Southern Tulip Tour
    by Curtiss M. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We came to see the tulips and that was definitely accomplished. Albeit a bit late for most of the major fields, but Keukenhof was spectacular. Cycling through the polders and quiet countryside was also very enjoyable.
    On the negative side, the last days cycling into Amsterdam and departure from the boat was a bit rushed.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Holland Southern Tulip Tour
    by Angela T. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Loved the comfortable accommodations on the barge.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Lisa G. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was our first trip and we weren't sure what to expect. We had a phenomenal time. It was just the right level of difficulty in riding and a perfect amount of time to explore the area. The barge was a good, clean place to stay and the staff did an excellent job keeping it clean and keeping us well fed. We would highly recommend to our friends.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Cologne and Cologne to Amsterdam
    by Susan P. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The whole experience was wonderful. Pete was an excellent guide, crew and cook great and the group was very friendly.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Germany

  • Amsterdam to Cologne and Cologne to Amsterdam
    by Katherine H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Enjoyed biking through the fields of heather, beautiful! Tip for others: use a gel seat!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Germany

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Mik L. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part: Amsterdam and a week of perfect weather

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Cologne and Cologne to Amsterdam
    by Kevin D. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    What a dream vacation! Eating like a king every morning & night, and riding far enough in the time between to feel like you're burning it all off. My wife and I had a wonderful time with the three couples from our church who made the trip with us; the pace was leisurely enough for the least athletic of us, yet brisk enough to keep everyone's attention, with lovely scenery throughout. We're only back a few weeks and already thinking about where to take our next biking vacation! Thanks for such a memorable trip.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Germany

  • Amsterdam to Cologne and Cologne to Amsterdam
    by Lesa B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This is the BEST way to experience Europe! The countryside, scenery and little villages were breathtaking! We absolutely loved the food and experience on the barge! An experience for ALL your senses!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Germany

  • Amsterdam to Cologne and Cologne to Amsterdam
    by Jennifer W. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was such a fabulous way to explore a new country that we had never been to before! Waking up in a new town every day, with all of our food & lodging needs cared for, and our only job was to SEE NEW SCENERY! Such a fun way to get up close & personal with the people & culture of the Netherlands & Germany! The staff was amazing, food was DELICIOUS, bikes were practically NEW. We are already researching our NEXT bike & barge trip! THE BEST!!!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Germany

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Marie-Claude R. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The most memorable parts were the scenery, the cute villages, the windmills and the dunes with great people and staff.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Holland Southern Tulip Tour
    by Darle S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The biking and scenery was amazing. The collective group, including staff, became family. The best was the fields in bloom with tulips and such. Wow!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Holland Southern Tulip Tour
    by Penelope H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This trip was absolutely wonderful. Even with a day or two of challenging weather.....with the right clothes it didn't matter. We were surrounded by such beauty every day and the people of the Netherlands are top notch.....you really couldn't find people that are sweeter and friendlier anywhere. Five Star Plus!!!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • North Holland Tour
    by K. Jevons 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It was a great bicycle trip. Beautiful countryside, bike paths were excellent and the guide "Hugo" was exceptional. Barge was perfect. We were able to see the real Holland, not the typical tourist city Holland. Communication and arrangement of the tour with Tripsite was very good. Thanks.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Holland Southern Tulip Tour
    by B. Dewey-Kirschman 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The tour was wonderful! We had clear weather the entire week and a great group of people to ride with. The "Sailing Home" really was comfort plus, with an attentive and helpful staff.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Holland Southern Tulip Tour
    by C. Sheeran 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Loved it all! Wonderful staff, wonderful route, wonderful fellow passengers, wonderful guide! We could not have asked for anything more except less wind as we rode through the windmill area into a very strong headwind! Hardest day's riding we've ever done! But hey, this is Holland renowned for "wind"mills!! Keukenhof was amazing, everyone should visit this place once in their lifetime!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Cologne and Cologne to Amsterdam
    by David Fish 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It was our first bike and barge trip and we loved it so much we've already booked next years trip!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Germany

  • South Holland Tour
    by Doug Dowell 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The food was spectacular on both tours. The crew and guides were excellent on both tours. In particular, having guides with expertise in the history and art of the area is much more important than expertise in cycling. We have been recommending these tours to friends and family all summer long. Thank you.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Cologne and Cologne to Amsterdam
    by Craig Morrison 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The Amsterdam to Cologne Bike and Barge trip overall was very nice. I would have altered some of the biking to avoid Dusseldorf's industrial areas which were not very appealing. Otherwise the barge and their staff were excellent, the guide was good, but got lost a few times. In any case I would recommend it to friends.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Germany

PWPC