Bike tour reviews with boat/barge Sailing Home 31 to 49 of 49

 

 Boat/Barge: Sailing Home • REMOVE  About Sailing Home

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Mik L. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Amsterdam and a week of perfect weather

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Kevin Armstrong 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I have done this trip from Amsterdam to Bruges as well. I found this version to not be as enjoyable. The reason was there was not as much on the route to see and take in. I think that there are some differences do to which barge you are on which may restrict the routes. Bruges is amazing as was Amsterdam but in between nothing exciting. The barge was amazing (Sailing Home) with a wonderful chef. I love this style of touring and have done 8 of them and will do more!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Cologne
    by Kevin D. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What a dream vacation! Eating like a king every morning & night, and riding far enough in the time between to feel like you're burning it all off. My wife and I had a wonderful time with the three couples from our church who made the trip with us; the pace was leisurely enough for the least athletic of us, yet brisk enough to keep everyone's attention, with lovely scenery throughout. We're only back a few weeks and already thinking about where to take our next biking vacation! Thanks for such a memorable trip.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Germany

  • Amsterdam to Cologne
    by Lesa B. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is the BEST way to experience Europe! The countryside, scenery and little villages were breathtaking! We absolutely loved the food and experience on the barge! An experience for ALL your senses!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Germany

  • Amsterdam to Cologne
    by Jennifer W. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was such a fabulous way to explore a new country that we had never been to before! Waking up in a new town every day, with all of our food & lodging needs cared for, and our only job was to SEE NEW SCENERY! Such a fun way to get up close & personal with the people & culture of the Netherlands & Germany! The staff was amazing, food was DELICIOUS, bikes were practically NEW. We are already researching our NEXT bike & barge trip! THE BEST!!!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Germany

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Marie-Claude R. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable parts were the scenery, the cute villages, the windmills and the dunes with great people and staff.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Holland Southern Tulip Tour
    by Darle S. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The biking and scenery was amazing. The collective group, including staff, became family. The best was the fields in bloom with tulips and such. Wow!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Holland Southern Tulip Tour
    by Penelope H. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip was absolutely wonderful. Even with a day or two of challenging weather.....with the right clothes it didn't matter. We were surrounded by such beauty every day and the people of the Netherlands are top notch.....you really couldn't find people that are sweeter and friendlier anywhere. Five Star Plus!!!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Cologne
    by Robin V. 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fantastic dinners & wonderful guide, captain, staff!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Germany

  • Amsterdam to Cologne
    by Susan B. 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved the Netherlands countryside. Beautiful flowers and farmland and great trails.
    Also the friendly and professional staff.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Germany

  • North Holland Tour
    by K. Jevons 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was a great bicycle trip. Beautiful countryside, bike paths were excellent and the guide "Hugo" was exceptional. Barge was perfect. We were able to see the real Holland, not the typical tourist city Holland. Communication and arrangement of the tour with Tripsite was very good. Thanks.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Holland Southern Tulip Tour
    by S. Breaugh 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Overall I really enjoyed our trip. However, our guide Piet left a lot to be desired. He got us from the boat and back each day but that was about it. We had very few stops during the day for water breaks or photos. He did not provide any "tour guide" type of information like history or pointing anything out of interest, or even a clear idea of the details of the following day. While we got to all the towns on the itinerary, everything was pretty much closed after dinner so we couldn't do any sightseeing in towns on our own. The guide on our sister ship "Liza Marleen" did much more with her group.

    On the plus side, the barge Sailing Home was excellent and the crew was great - very friendly and helpful. Our chef Markus was amazing.

    I had an electric bike and I loved it. It made the trip much easier and enjoyable. Highly recommend it for inexperienced bikers.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Holland Southern Tulip Tour
    by B. Dewey-Kirschman 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The tour was wonderful! We had clear weather the entire week and a great group of people to ride with. The "Sailing Home" really was comfort plus, with an attentive and helpful staff.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Holland Southern Tulip Tour
    by C. Sheeran 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved it all! Wonderful staff, wonderful route, wonderful fellow passengers, wonderful guide! We could not have asked for anything more except less wind as we rode through the windmill area into a very strong headwind! Hardest day's riding we've ever done! But hey, this is Holland renowned for "wind"mills!! Keukenhof was amazing, everyone should visit this place once in their lifetime!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Cologne
    by David Fish 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was our first bike and barge trip and we loved it so much we've already booked next years trip!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Germany

  • Amsterdam to Cologne
    by John Heinze 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our guide was ok but I've had better ones on previous trips. It was a lot of going through the motions since he had done 15-20 trips prior to ours it was maybe a case of being burned out. A bit more interaction on where we were going and what we were seeing would have been nice. Overall trip was top notch though as usual.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Germany

  • South Holland Tour
    by Doug Dowell 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The food was spectacular on both tours. The crew and guides were excellent on both tours. In particular, having guides with expertise in the history and art of the area is much more important than expertise in cycling. We have been recommending these tours to friends and family all summer long. Thank you.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Cologne
    by Craig Morrison 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Amsterdam to Cologne Bike and Barge trip overall was very nice. I would have altered some of the biking to avoid Dusseldorf's industrial areas which were not very appealing. Otherwise the barge and their staff were excellent, the guide was good, but got lost a few times. In any case I would recommend it to friends.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Germany

  • Holland Southern Tulip Tour
    by Jill Crair 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Here it is almost 3 months following our trip and I'm just getting around to writing how wonderful everything was. It exceeded our expectations (which were high to begin with). To refresh your memory,we were the Nisky Riders.Our focus of the trip were the flower fields in the Netherlands and they were spectacular. We were on the Zwaan's maiden voyage for 2012 and loved the entire experience of being on the barge. The crew were very endearing, food was delicious (Dorus, the cook, had us hooked on the first dinner). We were accommodated beautifully. I have a gluten allergy and they took great care of me.

     A group of friends is currently on the Brugge to Amsterdam ride and LOVING it.

     We are exploring your site for our 2013 ride,  we would like to plan something for late spring or early summer. So I will be in touch in the near future.

    It all started with you and our experience with you sealed the deal. You added a personal quality that is much Read more… appreciated.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

PWPC