Koblenz to Merzig Tour Reviews — 1 to 27 of 27

Wine-centered town of Cochem, Germany. CC:Kai Pilger 50.14226958459554, 7.167177191230888

Koblenz to Merzig

8 days from €1434

4.5 out of 5

Koblenz to Merzig

Easy Bike + Boat Tour in Germany

This bike and barge tour in Germany loops along the Moselle and Saar Rivers, through quaint German towns with picturesque half-timbered houses and baroque churches. You will pedal your way through…

4.5 out of 5

 


Marcelo K.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This was our first bike/boat trip. Being able to contemplate wonderful Germany, from Merzig to Koblenz was an amazing experience. The pedaling across small towns and vineyards with friends and family was unique. The incredible staff was always available to make our stay even more pleasant. The food was outstanding with a variety that surprised us every day.
Bike tour, with all the historical sites was fascinating and the guide made it even more fun. Memorable trip!
Looking forward to to the next one wich is already booked! Thank you tripsite and Flora crew :)

Marcelo K.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This was our first bike/boat trip. Being able to contemplate wonderful Germany, from Merzig to Koblenz was an amazing experience. The pedaling across small towns and vineyards with friends and family was unique. The incredible staff was always available to make our stay even more pleasant. The food was outstanding with a variety that surprised us every day.
Bike tour, with all the historical sites was fascinating and the guide made it even more fun. Memorable trip!
Looking forward to to the next one wich is already booked! Thank you tripsite and Flora crew :)

Brooke M.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Don't miss this unique and intimate opportunity. Traveling the Flora is not for the high maintenance, needy and demanding. This is like very fancy camping on a magnificent boat that also serves as someone’s home. You are in someone’s home, being welcomed to their dining room, their living room and their hearts.

The ship is efficiently run! The captain is friendly and kind but gives the air (as any good captain should) that this is his boat and his rules. If you are familiar with small boat life you get it. It is a busy life with many parts and pieces. The chef! Junna, what can I say except you can taste her commitment and passion for cooking. My husband and I love variety and flavors and the Flora delivers! Quaint, rustic and nutrient packed dishes were a lovely surprise every day. I was fortunate to spend time with her and wish I had more time. She could easily become a great friend.
Berthus, Junna and Christiana were wonderfully kind, generous and great Read More

Cindy B.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The views along the Moselle River were spectacular. I especially loved riding bikes to the quaint little towns and through the vineyards. Every meal on the barge was delicious.

Timothy V.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Stopping at local towns to sight see and hit a cafe mid-morning and for a glass of wine or beer in the afternoon. Allure barge never made enough food for our group, rarely made stops while biking at cafe’s or towns for coffee or drinks in the mornings or afternoons. Felt rushed to get from point A to B and not enjoying the ride.

Celeste S.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The only thing keeping this trip from 5 stars is the boat we were on. The Allure was disappointing.

Terrance L.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The magnificent route, the crew’s attentive service, and the interesting side trips by the guide. The guide was very affable.
The food was amazing

The cycling signals were not to accepted standards and inconsistent.

Diane Kukulski k.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Each day was wonderful and the staff was great and very attentive.
Because we did not all have E bikes the guide needed a better cornering and swipe system. The were separated in towns with traffic or if we had to make twist and turns in the villages.
Reservations would have been a nice suggestion on the night we had to eat in town as it was hard to find open seating for our group.
Our weather was quite warm and our cabin was hot at night. A fan to circulate the air would have made sleeping easier.
Overall a fantastic experience.

Donna Z.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The Mosel River valley is quite beautiful and made for a great cycling trip. The Allure staff were great. Very helpful and cheerful. That said the boat is in need of a refresh including maybe at least fans in the cabins which gif hit and stuffy. The cycling guide seemed I’ll prepared to work with a group of various cycling tour experience.

Cameron B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The visit to Burg Eltz was fantastic. If I could suggest, it is worth having it be the focus of an entire day, as going and coming back involves a relatively strenuous walk, as well as a ride.

Gary & Rosanna S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Our most memorable part of the trip was the lovely riding along the Mosel and Saar with our family. As well as, the wonderful hospitality of the Flora crew (Berthus, Jonne, Christiana, Stephan) and great conversations with our guide, Wieger.

Our suggestion/tips for others would be: be prepared for intimate living quarters with others and enjoy the bike riding through a beautiful part of Germany. It is about the journey, not the destination. And, DO take the tour at Burg Elz!

Coach
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Greetings!
I'm still in "la-la-land" thinking back on all the fabulous crew, adventures, sites, food (Did I say food---delightful), wines, and incredibly beautiful rides along the Mosel and Sar rivers. Day 1: meet the superb crew, fun travelers (11 in our group, 7 others, also fun) and make our home-away-from -home cabin cozy and prepare for our first dinner. Each day began with a hearty, fresh breakfast as well as choices for making our packable lunches. Days were filled with the most beautiful sites of castles, to wineries, to intimate villages as well as the opportunities to stop and have lunch in local restaurants. View, views, views! Yes, bring raingear, enjoy the clean air and winding river bike paths (95% paved) as you are guided (thanks Weiggart!) through each unique village, winery, town, and forest. If you are the "sweep", make sure you remind your riders to "give each other space for slowing" and as you ride, watch for riders Read More

Wayne M.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

It was such a wonderful trip right from the minute we boarded the barge. The people we met, the sights, the bike paths, the weather were all wonderful.

Nicola F.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Highlights: The Mosel and Saar rivers/the Barge Merlijn

Ruth B.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Loved cycling through wine country & hiking twice on side trip.

Cindy K.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most Memorable Part: Scenery along the Mosel and Saar

Paul A.
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I speak as one who has done three previous bike/barge tours via Tripsite. It was marvelous, "gezellig," being the Dutch term. Capt. Rendert Jan and his excellent crew went out of their way to please the passengers, including providing a guitar for my wife to practice with. The scenery along the Mosel is like a fairy tale. The bikes ran perfectly. The food was plentiful and excellent. Considering that it was late October, even the weather cooperated--except for the first day when our small and perhaps unwise contingent got drenched. We had a bonus because it was the last trip of the season so we stayed on past Koblenz for two nights and left the Quo Vadis in Arnhem where we overnighted in a hotel in order to catch the crack high speed train to the Frankfurt airport. Said crack high speed train broke down in Cologne and we barely made our flight.

Patti P.
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The scenery was spectacular and our guides were knowledgeable, so much fun and made our journeys safe and memorable. This was a top notch holiday for us.

Marilyn P.
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The scenery was amazing! Crew were excellent! Food was delicious! Can't wait to go again!

Chris Pavich
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

One problem became evident at the time of the one significant incident when one client while riding her bicycle down a sloping gravel road ineptly/incorrectly applied her front brake only, and somersaulted, leading to a serious leg injury. The group problem as far as I am concerned was only the lack of easy communication between the cycle group leader and the last riders in the group. The designated last rider needs a device such as a small UHF transceiver, or where mobile phone coverage is a certainty a tested/checked cellphone link, to be able to immediately alert the leader of any problems behind.

Susan Donnely
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The journey was well organized. The crew were fantastic, friendly, obliging and fun. The food was world class delicious and beautifully presented at all times. Our guide was very nice and did her utmost to adapt to the differing expectations of individual riders. We loved that she also took us on evening walks after dinner.

Ivy Higgs
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We were a bit late in the season so weather not great. Food brilliant.

Charles Coggins
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Excellent staff, excellent food. Very professional.

Dorothy Kenyon
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I loved your barge/bike trip!! Would do it again to somewhere else, but I need a travel companion!! Thats the only thing holding me back.

Gregory Robinson
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Everything about the Allure and holiday was just amazing,a holiday we won't forget in a long time. The staff just so helpful and nothing was ever a trouble, bikes and our leaders just great. Thank you.

Cheryl New
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

While I was totally satisfied with everything, I had to ask for a change of sheets after 2 weeks. Our cycling guides tried their best but our 1st had a little communication problem. Our 2nd was great. Overall I would go back tomorrow if I could. The food was great and plenty of it. The crew marvelous. In all a great holiday. Very easy cycling.
"

Dennis Milling
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Walked onto the Allure at Koblenz in Sept 2014 and immediately knew that the week ahead would be enjoyable. Skipper Martin's smiling face was ever present and the crew were simply obliging. Our cycle guide was a scream...we lost her regularly as we stopped off for the occasional German ale. It was with heavy heart that I left the Allure in Merzig 7 days later.