Mosel & Saar Tour Reviews — 1 to 18 of 18

Marketplace in Trier, Germany along the Mosel River. Flickr:Dennis Jarvis

Mosel & Saar

8 days from €1700

4.1 out of 5

Mosel & Saar

Easy Bike + Boat Tour in Germany

On this bike and barge tour in Germany, highlights abound. Cycle back in time and explore the Roman legacy of this region including the ancient gateway, the Porta Nigra. On day three you go literally…

4.1 out of 5

 


Roxanne L.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

It doesn’t get any better than this !
What a fabulous time. After two years of rescheduling due to Covid we were so excited to take our trip aboard the Zwaan to cycle along the Mosel and Saar Rivers. Totally worth the wait.
The crew aboard the Zwaan was exceptionally helpful and friendly. The rooms comfortable and clean , and always a hot shower. We enjoyed having drinks on the deck watching the sunsets. Our meals were very good and we had fun trying to guess the ingredients and urge our chef to share his recipe. The energy expended from the staff to ensure we we happy and comfortable was commendable.
The cycling path was way going and we were pleased we chose to take our trip in early October because it was the time for harvesting grapes and the process was fascinating. Our weather held out albeit a bit cool at times but it’s better than biking in the heat. The towns we visited along the way were charming. We would have welcomed more time in Read More

Tom S.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

I enjoyed being on a smaller boat and getting to know everyone. Rick is a great cook, Mariska a great first mate and Ed a fun and patient guide
What would I do different, spend more time in the towns we rode through/by Plan some lunches in a town Eat dinner off the boat once or twice

Carol W.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The reason we booked this trip was the I wanted to see a European rail-trail. It for us, was the highlight of the whole week.

Grant C.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We had a great time on the Mosel and Saar guided bike & barge trip. The staff was fun and very attentive, the cycling was safe (thank you bike guide Wym) and the places we visited were very interesting. The whole group was friendly and everyone seemed to enjoy it. The food on-board was terrific, hats off to our chef! The arranged wine tasting event was excellent. The only suggestion I would have would be to try and arrange a few more guided walking tours.

Margaret W.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Think twice before booking a bike and barge tour along the Mosel & Saar rivers in Germany on the Zwaan boat. It was infested with BED BUGS...cabins 1 & 2. My tour embarked Sept 19, 2022. I ended up with over 50 bites that were nearly unbearable! My last three nights of the tour I slept in on-shore accommodations but continued riding with the group. There are other larger boats that are available. Maybe a little more money, but worth the safety of your health. The fiasco that one has to go through to rid your clothes and luggage from bed bugs is difficult when on vacation. Save yourself and book on another boat!

Linda K.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Biking through the vinyatds.

Susan C.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The Moselle-Maar Cycling Trail offered a lovely change of scenery from the also beautiful Mosel River paths we followed most days.

Jennifer R.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

See the beauty of the country and spending time with wonderful co-travelers. I was moved to realize the deep history of Germany, see vineyards EVERYWHERE, castles in nearly every view of the mountains, the lovely quaint villages and the friendliness of the people.

Dave G.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

We did the Mosel-Saar B&B trip on the Quo Vadis that began Sept. 5, 2021. We had fantastic weather virtually the entire trip, which helped. My wife and I were part of larger group of 4 couples from Boise, ID, and one couple from Detroit, MI. We had a fantastic time; the Mosel wine country is spectacular. The Dutch crew were not only outstanding running the boat, they were compassionate, sensitive, helpful and fun human beings. I cannot say enough good about them. As representatives of the Netherlands, they did a real service for their country and for Tripsite. Thanks for such a memorable experience!

James S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Biking along the river was incredible and I loved seeing small villages we would not have otherwise gone to. The lodging was way more comfortable than the pictures made the boat look, we were all impressed! The staff was all very accommodating to the multiple people in our group requiring gluten-free meals. Overall an amazing week with my extended family on the bikes and on the boat!

Rosalind K.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The boat crew and participants were wonderful. The food was beyond belief. The guide did any excellent job of leading the group on the road, but when we arrived at historic areas left us to ourselves. We did not receive any of the three guided town tours that the trip description promised.

Randall O.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We enjoyed everything about this tour - great accommodations on the Zwaan, wonderful meals, outstanding staff, and beautiful scenery.

Stephen M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This was a great trip - many great memories. Most memorable? - I rated it a 4 because we were stuck with the bow cabin on the Zwaan and no one should be given that cabin if they don't expressly want it - too small and too difficult to get in and out - and a much different standard than the other cabins on the boat. We are two taller, older people and the least suited for that cabin, but because we were the last to board we were stuck with it. We were told by Tripsite that we were getting a different cabin but that didn't happen.

Bob T.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The opportunity to experience rural Germany close up was awesome and made even better with the efforts of our guide and crew.

George P.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The scenery was gorgeous, there were quaint little towns around every bend of the Saar and Mosel rivers. Our bike guide was excellent and very knowledgeable about the areas we were at. The food was plentiful and dinners were way above average. Great tour!

Peter N.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Mosel/Saar B&B, It was a great trip, the barge was excellent, our staff especially the cook (meals) were wonderful and the scenery along the rivers was magnificent. I would highly recommend this trip especially with the barge and crew that took excellent care of our group.

Linda F.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I felt that the guide could have put more effort into letting us know what we were seeing. When we came upon a historic site such as a church, castle or such his standard comment was, "here is a church, you can go in and look at it if you want". We sat in front of the Porta Negra in Trier and were told it was a Roman ruin. Nothing more. My e-bike malfunctioned and I had to ride a regular bike the next day. I had ordered an e-bike because I have a health condition and was quite embarrassed that I held the rest of the group up while I walked the regular bike up small hills.

Peter N.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Great Trip, Great Barge, and Great Staff. This is a very scenic trip along the Mosel and Saar. The vineyards make the view even better. The staff was very helpful and friendly and helped make the trip even better. I highly recommend this trip to everyone.