Romantic Road & the Bavarian Lakes Tour Reviews — 1 to 11 of 11

Fussen, Germany. Photo via Flickr:Moyan Brenn 47.56361988981732, 10.670087853072523

Romantic Road & the Bavarian Lakes

8 days from €1073

4.8 out of 5

Romantic Road & the Bavarian Lakes

Moderate Bike Tour in Germany

Via Claudia Augusta was an ancient and important Roman road, known today as the Romantic Road, which still exists today. It is extremely popular among cyclists and hikers, traversing the very ground…

4.8 out of 5

 


dara w.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Another very well organised tour with a well selected route on quiet roads and cycle tracks mostly The Accommodation was very good and the bag drops very easy. The bikes were excellent. The info book accompanying the maps was clear with good additional information
Thank you
Dara

Vadim B.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

I liked the app showing the tracks, it would be even better if it automatically zoomed in around intersections. The bicycles are good (we used the non-electric enhanced ones), smooth gear switching, adequate gear ratio.

I am not sure if this is obvious to others, but a large part of this route (60km give or take) goes over gravel trails, which is not fun to say the least.

While hotels along the route are generally good, one night accommodation was a real dump, I did not expect that, and it was very disappointing.

A couple of suggestions:

- bring your own phone holder to make sure the phone with the map is mounted properly
- sometimes the luggage is left in the reception area, and sometimes put away in a storage room. Ask the receptionist if the luggage arrived to be sure, to avoid wasted time.

Brian K.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We did this trip with two friends in October, 2019. We enjoyed the route. The villages were close together. We were a little challenged to find restaurants for lunch given the day of the week or holiday. We quickly figured out to plan for some food along the way. The route was primarily on on bike paths and secondary roads. German drivers were very accommodating. The combination of markers and maps was very good. In the future we will ask for the GPS directions.

The hotels were quite comfortable and centrally located. One hotel was rather dated, but comfortable all the same.

We had previously organized our own bike trips, but found it much easier to have all the arrangements made including the bike and transportation of the bags. We will definitely do another tour with Tripsite.

Bonnie W.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Be adventurous and try a self-guided trip in Germany. You'll enjoy beautiful scenery, lakes warm enough to swim in and charming Bavarian towns. The routes are well marked. If you enjoy cycling at your own pace, this is the trip for you.

Jonathan Lewis
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Great tour with fabulous scenery, great towns and on most days plenty of beer gardens. Mostly safe/limited cars with fair hotels in great locations. Romantic Road is great. Probably more difficult vs easy to moderate....2 days have some large hills....but manageable. The romantic road (first part of this trip) is also amazing but this portion has better hotels

W. Wittmer
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Our group has done bike trips with Hennie for more than ten years and in spite of a couple of days of cold rainy weather this ride had some of the most spectacular scenery we have ever encountered! As always the people of Germany are so friendly and accommodating. The beer is fantastic, the Bavarian pretzels are wonderful and food well what can one say. Overall one of our best trips!

Lázaro & Ana Karla
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We went to this tour, my wife and I, on september 2015. We enjoy at first Oktoberfest, the amazing beer festival. Then we went to Augsburg, a very nice town, to start the journey. The trip Augsburg-Worthsee was easy, but we got lost a litle bit to leave Augsburg. We have to ask for directins some times. After leaving the city, everithing goes easy.
The hotel in Worthsee, actually, in Inning, was very comfortable.
We faced some troubles in the tour to Murnau, but it was our fault: we turned following red signs instead of blue, that was the right color.
After some wrong small trips, we finaly got to Murnau.
All small cities in this tour are amazing. The churches, even in rural area, are very rich and beautiful.
This bike tour around Bavarian was one of the most incredible trip we ever did.
We higly recommend this trip.

Lázaro & Ana Karla
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We went to this tour, my wife and I, on september 2015. We enjoy at first Oktoberfest, the amazing beer festival. Then we went to Augsburg, a very nice town, to start the journey. The trip Augsburg-Worthsee was easy, but we got lost a litle bit to leave Augsburg. We have to ask for directins some times. After leaving the city, everithing goes easy.
The hotel in Worthsee, actually, in Inning, was very comfortable.
We faced some troubles in the tour to Murnau, but it was our fault: we turned following red signs instead of blue, that was the right color.
After some wrong small trips, we finaly got to Murnau.
All small cities in this tour are amazing. The churches, even in rural area, are very rich and beautiful.
This bike tour around Bavarian was one of the most incredible trip we ever did.
We higly recommend this trip.

Ingrid Bjerkelund
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Enjoyed the Bavarian Lakes and Romantic Road trip. Would like to cycle in Italy or Croatia next.

Kirsten Olson
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Beautiful ride on, for the most part, very safe roads/trails. Incredibly picturesque. I would be very happy to repeat the same trip. If I were to do it again, I'd bring a gps as we got lost a few times.

Heather & Andy Brown
11 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We went on this self guided tour Summer of 2010 and had an amazing time! The scenery is beautiful every miles of the way. You go through parks, forests, quaint Bavarian towns, and past some beautiful lakes. The accommodations were phenomenal. We were very satisfied with the quality and locations of the Inns. If we had to name our favorite part of this trip, it would be riding towards the Alps on our way to fussen. Definitely take a tour of the Neuschwanstein castle! The terrain on this trip is a nice challenge for any level biker.