5 star rated Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 15 of 15

 

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Cindy K. 2 days ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip gave insight into East Berlin; life during communism and now. I have spent a lot of time visiting Western Germany - small quaint towns; beautiful hillsides, etc. This trip was more farmland and very rural. The bike path was varied terrain. Many times our lunch was in a small park or church with no town nearby. The Merlijn is a fabulous small boat (22 passengers) with exceptional owners. This was our second trip with the Merlijn.

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Edward R. 5 days ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was great! The food was prepared by the wife of the captain and it was delicious. The tours were well planned and excellent. We rode 170 miles in 6-days and this is the first time I actually lost weight on a vacation trip. They preferred the tips for the crew to be paid in cash (Euros). Would definitely do another bike and barge again. The attitude, experience and knowledge of the captain and crew of the bike and barge definitely makes or breaks a vacation like this one, but the captain and crew of the Merlin were excellent!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Nancy B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of our bike and barge trip from Malchin to Berlin was the day we biked on the Isle of Usedom. The landscape was beautiful, the beach front area was full of interesting shops and restaurants where we ate spaghetti ice, a childhood favorite treat of my husband. He has waited years to share this moment with our kids. We topped off the day with a swim in the Baltic Sea which was full of big waves and surrounded by soft, white sand.

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Kathryn H. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    One of my favorite parts of the trip was jumping off the boat into the canal. It was the end of a long, fun day of bike riding. The canal was clear and perfect for jumping. Everyone jumped off and everyone did fun tricks. The funniest was when Paul fell off and I never could keep a straight face around him again (Paul didn't get hurt except his pride btw). Captain Henk even put down a ladder to make climbing to the dock easier.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Kerry C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The entire trip was memorable. We had dinner at a restaurant on the dock one night and celebrated a birthday. The live band was excellent and it was a great opportunity to get to know our fellow travelers.
    We booked the trip as we knew that East Germany and Poland was somewhere we would probably not travel to. We were amazed at how vast, undeveloped and beautiful the countryside is. The biking and barging was great!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Richard C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Really enjoyed the quality of the bike paths in Germany.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Patrick C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Have done a number of trips with Tripsite and this ranks among the best. The Merlijn was a first class barge run by a first class staff! The biking through the forests and countryside of East Germany and Poland was magnificent and very ably guided. Would recommend this trip to anyone. Looking forward to next years adventure with Tripsite!!!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Emilee B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great Crew! Very friendly! Food was amazing. Never mind trying to pack a small suitcase, pack a big one there's plenty of room under the bed.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Pat C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is a trip that we probably would not have done on our own. It was well organized with a great crew, about (the Majestic) and guides that were most informative and will to do anything for the group. We had a great diversity in biking ability but all were handled with respect and in a light and friendly manner. The trip through the forests and lands of East Germany and Poland was magnificent and would recommend this trip to anyone. As repeat customers of Tripsite I can think of no reason to book with anyone else! Looking forward to next year already!

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Judith A. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I feel our guide could have been a little more organised with our daily route but I also have to remember that the biking from Berlin to Malchin is a route that has not been done very often.
    I am unable to pick one outstanding moment. Just being able to bike in eastern Germany & Poland was so outstanding & while biking to think of all the history of the area. It is also wonderful to think that efforts are being made to make a vast ecological area over the next few years in some of the region along canals where we were biking.

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Ann R. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The owners of the barge are on board and are involved in daily running of the ship. They made me feel like a guest in their home!

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Rita D. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    EVERYTHING stands out! From the greeting & service by the staff, (Lydia/Denisa) the guide Jack, the Captain & Jontein who ran the whole enterprise, Merlijn. The food. Lovely ever-changing table settings, The ample, fresh cabins, fresh flowers, excellent bikes and super maintenance & care, knowledgeable, friendly guiding thru the towns, memorials, history of the area. Capable, expert, amazing,skill of the Captain thru the narrow canals & rivers. The homegrown entertainment. We are putting a deposit on '18. ('17 is BOOKED!)

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Christopher P. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Merlijn is a terrific vessel and the owners, Jantien & Henk and their staff are first rate.
    Highly recommended.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Lisa W. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything was great but it was our crew that made it so special.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Joyce Thompson 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a great time; the bike guide (Tom) did a super job. Hope we have this same great experience on our next trip.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, Poland

PWPC