5 Star Highlights of Northern Zealand Tour Reviews — 1 to 20 of 20

Helsingør, Denmark. Flickr:tegioz

Highlights of Northern Zealand

7 days from €1093

4.8 out of 5

Highlights of Northern Zealand

Easy Bike Tour in Denmark, Sweden

This cycling tour in Denmark, with day trip to Sweden, is a cyclist's dream come true. The cycling culture that exists in Copenhagen is the inspiration for cities throughout Europe as they design…

 Stars:  5     
4.8 out of 5

 


Ralph C.
3 days ago

Verified Reviewer

Hard to list one thing - many museums in Copenhagen and the canal boat ride; maritime museum in Helsingor, Viking ship village in Roskilde, riding along the sea, fine breakfasts, friendly and helpful Danish people. It was a bit hillier than I expected on a couple of days. Printed and phone app instructions were excellent.

David J.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Denmark is beautiful! Magical! Historical! It offers something for everyone—dedicated cycling trails along the North Sea, single track paths through lush forests, medieval forts and palaces, world-class museums along with cosmopolitan cities where you can feel perfectly safe riding a bike. This was our 8th self-guided excursion arranged through TripSite and it was well-organized and executed, as always.

Our e-bikes were reliable and durable, enabling us to cover many miles easily with loaded saddlebags. All the inns/hotels had dedicated parking for guests’ bikes. Breakfast buffets were outstanding with generous offerings to get us started for a day of cycling. BikeGPX was extremely useful in providing turn-by-turn guidance in real time. Our local bicycle/luggage transfer person was prompt, knowledgeable and courteous about scheduled meetings and bike drop-off/ delivery of our luggage every afternoon.

We would return again to Denmark in August in a heartbeat! Read More

Mary W.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The trip was wonderful. Riding along the coast line of Denmark was full of spectacular views. The one day in Sweden was beautiful. The bikes were very comfortable and rode well. The pick up and drop off of our luggage was great. The luggage was always at our hotels when we arrived. The hotels were great and the breakfasts were good. We really enjoyed this trip and the opportunity to see different parts of Denmark and Sweden.

Rick H.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The TripSite trip could not be improved upon!
I have made a trip like this to Europe 15 times and this one was the best!

Kathryn A.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We had a fantastic time! Cycling along the coast in both Denmark and Sweden (just for the day) was beautiful. We also really loved cycling through the small towns and through lush forests; it gave us a chance to see the rural life after being in the bustling city of Copenhagen. The variety of the route was perfect. A suggestion...at Kokkedal Slot on the outskirts of Horsholm, the nearby golf club restaurant was a great place for dinner with tasty food and a relaxing atmosphere.

Oscar M.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This was a fantastic trip. The biking was pretty easy and the days were set up so we could do a lot of site-seeing and explore a little "off map" if we wanted. The bikes and gear were really good for this type of tour, and the local reps were quick to help with any issues. My (adult) children arrived a day late due to travel delays, but the local reps made sure all their gear made it to that day's stop and we were able to head out the next day with no issues. All the hotels were great, there is a lot to do and see on each leg of the route. It's a beautiful, friendly place and I can't recommend it enough.

We had a few places that weren't necessarily on the map, but worth mentioning -
- During the Sweden loop, just before Sofeiro Slott is a lovely farm bakery, Brödkultur. Definitely worth the stop.
- On the Helsingør to Hillerød ride, near Havreholm is a zip-line and disc golf course, Til-Tops. The zip-lines Read More

Margaret W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

My son and I loved our bike tour of northern Denmark. The hotels were great - especially the breakfasts. Christian set us up with the bikes and moved our luggage to the next hotel. He seemed committed to making sure we had a good trip. I highly recommend this tour.

Van C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Could not have been better. Everthying about it was superb.

Lori C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The Highlights of Northern Zealand trip was great. The lodgings were good, especially the palace (Kokkadal). The breakfasts were all excellent with both variety and quality. The scenery and the sights are as seen on tripsite. Denmark is truly a biker's dream. Christian from Ruby Rejser was very helpful and kind. The only problem with this tour was the GPS. I have never used one before so I do not know if there are better ones but what we were given did not work well. They were tiny and difficult to read and they kept freezing. As well, the maps that we were given were not detailed enough. We met a couple from France who shared the app given to them by their travel agent and it worked quite well. There were two days that we used it when our GPS froze. I do believe that Ruby Rejser is obligated to provide equipment that works.

Stephen M.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The bike riding was generally flat to rolling country roads. Mostly on designated bike routes. The Hotels were excellent. riding along the coast beach towns was very scenic. One thing we found a bit troublesome was the written route notes and small scale maps which we found difficult to use. The larger map with bike routes was more useful. On Day two we departed from the designated route and followed Google maps bike routes along a beautiful lake on quiet roads with almost no traffic. From then on we just Google mapped the bike route to the next town and found it very easy. For the last several years we have always been provided GPS with various route options on our bike trips (Ireland, Cotswolds') we found extremely easy to use. Dinner was on our own, only breakfast was included (OK with us, we knew this when we signed up).

Phyllis C.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip in Denmark. Cycling through villages and towns along the coast north of Copenhagen, the chance to visit museums and historical sites, and the excellent hotels were part of the pleasure. The route was thoughtfully planned to include some of the major tourist sites in the city before venturing out to the coast. One of the highlights of the tour was the chance to visit the Louisiana Museum of Modern Art. The bikes were fine, and my partner said his e-bike was better than the one he rented last year on the Danube. We chose the standard option, but the hotels exceeded our expectations of “standard.” Kokkedal Slot was a historic castle, and the Marienlyst had an excellent beachfront location literally on the sand. The tour would have been even better if there had been paper directions and a detailed route map. The included GPS was not easy to figure out. We, and other participants, all rode some extra kilometers trying to find the correct Read More

David S.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Fantastic bike trip with exceptional accommodations along the way. We noticed that we were given some of the best rooms at the hotels as the bike trippers are repeat customers of the hotels and the hotels strive to keep the bikers happy. We also noticed that we could check into the hotel upon arrival no matter what time we arrive while others had to wait until 3 or 4 pm which was the normal check in times at some of the hotels. Each of the breakfasts were outstanding with many many choices of hot and cold foods including some special diet selections at some.. We loved the freedom to choose our own location for lunch and dinner and to set are own start and finish times without the pressure of a group. That said, we did meet up with people in our group along the way and at breakfast that was nice. The GPS systems worked very well, accurately leading us down often hidden bike and dirt roads near but not on the main roads. We were rarely IN the same street as the cars travel. I am 73 and my wife is 60 with some but not a lot of biking experience.

John H.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This is a different type of tour, in that while others are on the same tour, you may or may not see them. Very independent tour. Go at your own pace, stop when you want to stop, and see what you want to see. Go from point A to point B at your own pace. Accommodations were very good at each stop. Only drawback was meal choices were not always convenient. Two on site restaurants were closed due to vacations thus food choices were up to 1.5 miles away. Minor inconvenience that was really not a big deal. Tour support was very good and only a phone call away, if needed.

Marlene Z.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Riding back into Copenhagen from the country, through the suburbs, and then entering the urban center with all the excitement of a big city, yet being so comfortable with the bike I have been riding for a week was very cool.

Janet A.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We loved our 'Best of Northern Zealand' tour. The hotels and breakfasts were amazing! A real treat. A must-stop is the Louisiana Museum of Modern Art at Humlebaek - fabulous. Also Sophiero palace in Helsingborg with impressive gardens.. would recommend this trip.

Lisabeth C.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Tip: Be sure to visit Karen Blixen's House and the Louisiana Museum of Modern Art.

Jane S.
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We really enjoyed riding bikes through the countryside of Denmark. There are bike trails everywhere. The scenery was spectacular. Our favorite moments were those when we stopped by a lake for lunch and saw a bald eagle which we were told by the birdwatchers who had gathered there that a bald eagle is a rare sight in Denmark.

A. Cooper
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Great trip. Some of the accommodations were a bit shabby but other than that is was great.

Christopher Elliott
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Much fun. Very relaxing and enjoyable although professional in every way. Would highly recommend.

Kerry Howard
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Fantastic trip! We made many lifetime memories! Thank you!