Germany Bike Tour Reviews — 121 to 150 of 207


Arnie K.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Regensburg to Passau
Germany

Operations and logistics were very well organized. Hotels and staff were excellent. Luggage transfer was great. Route descriptions gave very useful information on what to see and do along the way.

Diane I.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Spa Triangle and Prague
Czech Republic, Germany

Most memorable: The rolling hills and how all the natural beauty was so breathtaking that I hardly even minded when I had to pedal through the rain.

Suggestions: The provided breakfasts were varied. However, if you're vegan or vegetarian, head to some grocery stores or pack protein bars; it's definitely a country with a meat-based diet.

This is an absolutely gorgeous tour! The route is planned really well to give you a variety of things to do. The scenery is utterly picturesque, full of rolling hills, idyllic pastures full of cattle and wheat and wildflowers. If you're into architecture, you can see Medieval castles along nearly every path and you can marvel at the influence of different cultures when it comes to town centers. Want to take it easy and go to some hot springs for relaxing baths? There's time for that. Don't want to go up some really tough hills? Take a ski lift. What's that? You *do* want more biking? Great, head on Read More

Fiona M.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Regensburg to Passau
Germany

One hotel was excellent, one was poor and two were OK. For the money paid I would have expected air conditioning as standard. The advertised price of rooms was about half what we paid. I would also have liked to pay in sterling as I found the holiday through a UK search so would have thought this was possible. So - nice holiday, somewhat over-priced, let down by some inferior (noisy and very hot) accommodation.

Csop G.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

Most memorable part: The scenery. The varied landscape. The entire trip was an adventure. Definitely tack on an extra day or two in Prague and Dresden. It will make for a perfect holiday.

Ana Karla Oliveira
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

We loved the whole trip from Prague to Dresden ... Beautiful places to visit and spend a few hours admiring ... All the cities that we slept were special ... We chose premium option to stay in 4 star hotels, really Prague and Dresden were But the rest can be considered 1 or 2 stars ... The level of difficulty of the route is really easy even, very few climbs and are short ... The bikes were excellent, the maps very well elaborated ... I would just like to Suggesting that you take a closer look at Pravcicka Gate, because it was a very long walk, about 5 hours (round trip) to visit it ... It is beautiful, unique, wonderful landscapes, worth visiting , But you have to prepare for long distances ... This was the third time we hired the tripsite and it was great! As of other times, the pedaling was AMAZING! We recommend! We are already dreaming of the next! :))

Csop Glew
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

As our first self guided cycling trip, we can not see how this experiene could be better. The scenery was extraordinary, the accommodations were excellent and the trip coordinator was superb! We highly recommend this trip. Can't wait to do another trip!

Brad T.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bavarian Lakes
Germany

Riding through southern Bavaria was simply beautiful. Murnau, Garmisch and Wallgau were amazing towns. The route that this ride took was perfect, if only the bikes were better. Close to a third of this trip was on gravel/dirt roads, with a few decent climbs, and the heavy clunky bikes definitely took away from the enjoyment. This was my second trip through Tripsite, but I would be hesitant to do it again or recommend it to others simply because of how bad the bikes are.

Will L.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Aare Trail
Switzerland, Germany

My wife and I have just returned from a fantastic cycling trip along the Aare and Rhine Rivers in Switzerland. The organization of our trip was great, bikes, luggage transfer and hotels. We were particularly pleased to stay each night either in or near to the old centre of each city. Thanks Tripsite.

Alan G.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

The most memorable part was the biking along the rivers.

Deirdre R.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

On the first day at the end of the ride, we tackling the "unpleasantly steep incline"(your words).....after going the wrong way at Stein am Rhein. We should have listened to the local 'angels' we met on the way! C'est la vie!

Deirdre R.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

The most memorable part was the beautiful scenery, because of the spring blooming and greenery everywhere. We recommend someone to go on the trial to prepare markings at every intersection. We had to guess which way to go many times. For international travelers, maybe one page in the booklet of the varied biking markings would be very helpful.
The law in all 3 countries does not require you to bring a helmet, but we recommend it.

Peter V.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Mosel Bike Tour
Germany, France

The Route Guide that we received was in German. We called Velociped and they said that they ran out of English guide - Basically we were SOL and not getting the Route Guide in English. They knew it way before hand that they did not have any English Route Guide - they should have let you or us know and maybe sent us written instructions for the route. We had difficulty in the first 3 days of the trip. We did not even get any instructions of how the electric bikes worked or how to operate it. The first day - my wife struggled on the ebike because it was not working right- we had to call. Instructions on what to do and how to start it would have been good. Very poor customer service. In addition, we signed up for CLASS A hotels, which was supposed to be 3 or 4 stars - not one of the hotels provided was a 4 star. The scenery along the Mosel River was spectacular, the luggage transfers between hotels was great.

Jonathan Lewis
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Romantic Road & the Bavarian Lakes
Germany

Great tour with fabulous scenery, great towns and on most days plenty of beer gardens. Mostly safe/limited cars with fair hotels in great locations. Romantic Road is great. Probably more difficult vs easy to moderate....2 days have some large hills....but manageable. The romantic road (first part of this trip) is also amazing but this portion has better hotels

Cheryl W.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

Mostly we enjoyed the country side. We did not have the greatest weather but we made the most of it.

Carolyn Gammel
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

This trip was FANTASTIC! As first time bike travellers, we elected to book the guided tour and it exceeded our expectations. Lukas and Honza were knowledgeable guides who attended to our every need. Cycling through the Czech and German Countryside was breathtaking and we learned so much about the history of the countries/regions. Cycling was broken up with other activities - hikes, boat rides, sight seeing excursions/activities. Our hotels and meals were spectacular -( we stayed one night in an 18th Century Chateau), the wine and beer - second to none, and the laughter and companionship was memorable. Would HIGHLY recommend this tour and this tour company.

Sally S.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance - 12 Day
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

This was the BEST bike trip! Lake Constance is a beautiful setting, lodging was terrific, loved my e bike and food was good. Thanks to you and Radweg-Reisin for making the arrangements.

Steve & Jan C.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna - OV
Austria, Germany

Extremely happy with our trip. There were a couple of times where maps or detailed instructions would have been helpful, eg. How to get to the boat in Passau and more detailed directions to get to our accommodations. The other part of the trip that proved difficult was getting from the train station to our hotel (Novotel Suites) in Vienna. The biking through the city was a bit dicey.
Each accommodation and restaurant knew who we were and was expecting us. The luggage always arrived before we arrived. The bikes were comfortable and worked well (after using our own tool to adjust a dragging brake which wasn't discovered until after the first day). You offer a great service and were very helpful answering our many questions prior to the trip.

Marion M.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

The city maps could be better! We met 2 couples from Australia and teamed up and rode as a group! Great experience. However, on the last day on the boat trip to Budapest, the boat loaded a group of 19 bikes in addition to all the ones on the scheduled trip. When we got to Budapest only 1 in our group were able to unload, before the boat headed to the other shore. That left 5 of us on the wrong side. The last day did not end as planned. There were way too many bikes on the ship!

Evan C.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Munich to Vienna
Austria, Germany

A big thank you to all your staff and to Austria for making my journey a wonderful experience.

Jack G.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna - OV
Austria, Germany

Very satisfied with Route, only comment the finish was not as clear a couple times to find the Hotel location.

The guide needed to be more clear on the final route to hotels .

Heidi L.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna - OV
Austria, Germany

The route (along the Danube) was excellent - all paved, mostly with a view of the river and away from traffic. Markings were great and easy to follow.

We were provided with a lot of information (maps, routes, suggestions), but they were in separate books and materials. It would be helpful if they could be integrated more, or if we could have received more of the information ahead of time. It took us a couple of days to sort through the various pieces.

The best hotel was in St. Agatha. The best meals were at our hotel in Melk. Grein was a very cool town, with lots of art and theater. It was also very picturesque as we approached. The most beautiful site was the Abbey in Melk; the most meaningful was the Mauthausen Memorial. The biggest surprise was the swimming pool at our hotel in Krems. We loved the Wachau Valley, where we had vouchers for a bottle of wine and a tasting of liqueur. We also loved having the bikes available to explore Vienna, on the last day of our magical week.

Sinéad D.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

This was my 4th cycling holiday but this year the quality of bikes was poor, only had 7 gears, had 21 gears every other year and did not like the back pedal brake.

Most memorable part was Stein am Rhein, and also liked the fact we could stop cycling and jump into the lake whenever we wanted.

Shirley P.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Hotels varied. My daughter stayed at Hotel Krenn-- not great. Food in Rhein am Stein not good. Hotel St Leonard and Hotel Cholsteroff had the best food. The rides were fantastic, would say the last day was a bit boring and less scenic (especially the second half). Would have been nice to include the Rhine falls. Would love to do it again as there were many sights we didn't get to see! Loved the trip and have highly recommended it back home.

Shirley Pollock
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

6 of us did this tour and pretty much have only good things to say about it. The scenery was breathtaking, the sightseeing good, although we didn't always have enough time to see everything recommended. The last day was a bit boring as we seemed to ride alongside the railway a large amount of the time. Our luggage was always at the hotel on arrival. Booking the dinner option was well worth it as after a long day one doesn't feel like having to find somewhere to eat that is agreeable to all. All in all the hotels were good. My daughter and niece had to stay in a different hotel on one occasion and it was not good. Breakfasts were generally good. Our hotel in Kressbonn was actually a little before the town and wasn't well described in the directions but 10km later we got there! We would like to do the trip again as we felt there is so much to see. I think one could spend an extra day in some places if time permits.

R. Kocher
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna - OV
Austria, Germany

The scenery between Passau and Vienna was the most memorable part of the trip, even when we were away from the Danube. Beautiful.

The reason I gave the first question a 4 out of 5 is because the daily rides were long enough that it was hard (tiring) to get back out in the evenings to see the local sites or to see some of the sites along the way. That was probably also a result of trying to coordinate and corral too many people (9 on our trip) to get things done in a timely manner. I suspect the 10-day option for this trip might have been better for us.

Regarding route and description guides, sometimes it was a little too much to remember to coordinate the route book, the additional instructions in the travel documents (voucher) book, and Rad & Reisen's Travel Information book, not to mention the daily itinerary in the literature advertising this trip. In fact, the worst mistake we made was the worst one we could have made: ignoring the instructions to take the Read More

K. McKay
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Four Countries of Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Liechtenstein, Switzerland

Ok so.... all the hotels were perfect and suited to the atmosphere of our biking trip except for the Einstein Hotel in St. Gallen which was not in keeping with the "atmosphere" of the trip...a little too fancy if you get my drift. Also some of the breakfasts left a little to be desired but this could also have been from us just getting tired of eating the same type of food every day. The people in the hotels were all so friendly and accommodating! The bikes were perfect especially for my 6'2" husband. I had trouble with my gears one day, the next day a new bike arrived. Best service! The first ride (I think 65 kms from Lake Constanz to Zurich) was long and boring! Bike path most of the way. Not sure what could be done about that. The rest of the rides were awesome through little towns, gorgeous scenery. We will be booking our next bike tour with you next year!

C. Thompson
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Dresden to Magdeburg
Germany

Some of the directions from the bike path to the hotel were not great. In 2 cases, when hotel was far from bike path, it was only with GPS in our phone that we were able to find our way. Loved having the meal plan where possible. Thanks for setting that up.

K. Hagan
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Southern Alsace
Switzerland, Germany, France

This is our third trip with Tripsite and this was our least favorite so far. The scenery was not particularly stunning and in France we were on more roads than we would have preferred. We also stayed in larger cities such as Basel and Freiburg than in previous trips. It is a personal preference, but we prefer the smaller towns such as the ones we encountered on our trip from Amsterdam to Brugge and from Prague to Dresden.

On the positive front, the lodging and equipment were the best that we have had from the three trips. The hotels were quite nice and truly were 4 star accommodations. The bikes had cushy seats and comfortable handlebars. Even the panniers were a step up with easy snap on and off functionality and very good water proofing.

We enjoyed the trip and it was high quality as we have enjoyed with Tripsite. The scenery just wasn't as nice and that's why we rank this as our least favorite of our trips so far. Have no fear, we will go again next year and are already looking at the Barcelona/Girona trip. We love working with Tripsite and will be long-term customers!

W. Wittmer
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Romantic Road & the Bavarian Lakes
Germany

Our group has done bike trips with Hennie for more than ten years and in spite of a couple of days of cold rainy weather this ride had some of the most spectacular scenery we have ever encountered! As always the people of Germany are so friendly and accommodating. The beer is fantastic, the Bavarian pretzels are wonderful and food well what can one say. Overall one of our best trips!

L. Zantingh
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

This was the most amazing vacation we have had. For our 40th we decided to do a self- guided bike tour around Lake Constance. The first day was a struggle due to many hills, but that was by far the most difficult day. The hotels were clean and the breakfast was fantastic. When biking you see so much more of the countryside, the historical towns were simply breathtaking. On one day we needed to take a boat from point A to B due to an injury and it was very easy to access. I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone.