Germany Bike Tour Reviews — 91 to 120 of 223


Jenny B.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

We had many memorable experiences! Starting in the beautiful city of Prague with it's history & culture, biking through the Czech republic was the best way to experience this wonderful country, meet the Czech people & appreciate the changing landscapes. We were extremely fortunate with brilliant sunshine for the entire tour. The side trips provided further insight into this amazing country. Arriving in Dresden & exploring the side streets away from the main tourist areas was also a bonus.

Sherry
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

Just completed the Prague to Dresden tour and am giving it 5 stars based on the overall experience, although I'm going to lead with some negatives. Our group size was 15. I had asked the question early on before booking about size and was told usually 10-12. With 2 guides and a support van we were able to divide on most days, as part of the group was habitually late. It was also an issue for lunches since a group of 15 slows things down for restaurant service. Our lunch stops often approached two hours. In addition, there were times that we were down one guide apparently due to overbooking issues, plus one unexpected issue with the overnight bike storage that caused a huge delay in the start the second day. That was the Terezin day, and while we got into town, the sites were already closed.
But now for the positive, this is a great ride on mostly good bike paths. If you are in any way concerned about hills, weather, trail conditions or stamina, I highly recommend an ebike. Read More

Pilar Parra
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Berlin to Copenhagen
Denmark, Germany

Ha sido un tour fantástico. Hemos hecho la ruta desde Copenhague a Berlín, con unos paisajes increíbles, disfrutando de estupendos carriles bici. Es nuestro cuarto tour y esperamos continuar con un nuevo destino. Unas vacaciones inolvidables!!!
It was a fantastic tour. We have made the route from Copenhagen to Berlin, with incredible landscapes, enjoying great bike lanes. It is our fourth tour and we hope to continue with a new destination. An unforgettable vacation!!!

Florence B.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

This is a great ride, if you use the right company. We used Tripsite, who contracted Austria Radreisen, not the company to use. We were told that Austria Redreisen would meet us at the hotel in Passau the day before the trip was to start...they did not show( a competitor company, Donau, spent 2 hours with their clients, in our hotel). We tried to contact Austria Radreisen at their 'emergency' number...no one answer/no answering machine. The day the tour was to start, they delivered two bikes which were extremely heavy, and with 7 speed changers....we had specifically ordered 21 speed hybrids. The bikes were delivered by the person who picked up the suitcases, and we were told by him that he had no knowledge of how the bikes worked...we were on our own to figure them out. In spite of being in good physical condition, we found the bikes very difficult to use, as they would not coast. After 2 days with the heavy bikes, we had to take a day off as we were exhausted. Read More

Lindsay Z.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

Biking the "Prague to Dresden - Tale of Two Rivers" trip was a very enjoyable experience. We enjoyed the lovely scenery and our hotels along the way. We liked biking at our own pace with our detailed route instructions. I have been highly recommending this trip since we returned home, and I can't wait to do another cycling adventure in the future.

Maria L.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bavarian Lakes
Germany

The best part was the Tirol, and the lakes were amazing.

Bonnie W.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Romantic Road & the Bavarian Lakes
Germany

Be adventurous and try a self-guided trip in Germany. You'll enjoy beautiful scenery, lakes warm enough to swim in and charming Bavarian towns. The routes are well marked. If you enjoy cycling at your own pace, this is the trip for you.

Vincent D.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Baltic Sea
Germany

The Baltic Sea cycle was one of our best cycle experiences with magnificent forest, sea and landscape. Tripsite took care of everything including The Weather. It was the German Riviera with the most beautiful towns in which we stayed from Lubeck to Stralsund.
Thank you Tripsite and your wonderful staff.

Yael U.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Three Country
Netherlands, Belgium, Germany

My third trip booked through Tripsite.com and my third wonderful summer of biking! Three years ago, We traveled through Provence Villages. Last year through Slovenia and Croatia, and this year through Three Counties - Netherland, Belgium and Germany. We have LOVED each of these explorations: countrysides, villages, forests, inns, seasides, agriculture, architecture and delicacies. The days were never dull, they were not too difficult, they filled us with a sense of peace and joy. We completed our trip in Europe excited to dream of where our next Tripsite adventure might take us!

Brad C.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

The Prague to Dresden bike ride was an amazing vacation. Everyday there were beautiful sites and scenery that made the journey a really memorable trip. Each night we lodged in picturesque towns along the route and always near the city square where we enjoyed great dining and sightseeing. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a really unique biking vacation in the heart of Europe.

Diane W.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

The beautiful scenery along the river was the most memorable part of the trip. We also loved all the little cafes right by the path for lunch and breaks.

Andrea S.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Most memorable thing from our Lake Konstanz trip?? How in the world do I pick?? The Biergartens? Picnics in medieval towns? Watching World Cup with locals in small family cafés? The acres of apple orchards? Seeing zeppelins flying over crystal blue water? Feeling the thunder of Rhein Falls? Getting lost and finding amazing parks and kind people? It was the BEST vacation we’ve ever had, and we’re already talking about which one to do next year!

Jeffery G.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bavarian Lakes
Germany

From forest paths at the outskirts of Munich to steep gravel trails en route to the source of the Isar, the tour featured a mind-blowing range of scenery and terrain. We pedaled more than 300 km in five days. Just one rainy day; we had to imagine the approach to Garmisch-Partenkirchen would've been all the more impressive under clear skies! Our bikes were custom made for touring, with seamless gear shifting and panniers. We built a couple of rest days into the schedule (we're by no means Tour de France contenders) but on a "day off" I got back on the horse and did a loop through the rolling forests and farms between Bad Tölz and the lakeside town of Bad Wiessee, on sparkling Tegernsee, a favourite of kitesurfers. By the final stage, Bad Tölz to Munich, the Alps had receded but the spectacular landscapes continued: woods, ravines and the crystal clear Isar River never far from our puncture-resistant tires. An amazing experience.

Tama L.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

My dissatisfactions, two nights in the suburbs of Constance, out of the way, should not be used. Konono staff excellent, but cost us for taxi to get there and back to the train. Route book imprecise. What is the route sign we were supposed to follow? What good is a dotted line on a map when there are multiple routes? Which are more scenic? Less hilly? Passing by cafes? Unpaved in a forest? Exactly how do you get to the Rhein Falls ferry? Book never mentioned the three elevators that take you up and down. We had frustrations every day.
Is it a beautiful trip? Absolutely. The Mozart and Park Villa are beautiful hotels, although not air conditioned.

Peg Hanson
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

I did the 7 day Around Lake Constance. This was my 4th Tripsite bike tour. I will list the positive things first.
I booked the Category 4 hotel package and was extremely pleased with all the hotels. Location was good for all except the Park Hotel in Uberlingen. It is located at the top of a very steep hill and was very difficult to find even after you saw the sign pointing the way!!
The breakfasts at all the locations were amazing and so beautifully displayed. A wonderful way to start the day!
The bikes were comfortable and almost brand new. Panniers, front bag and trip meter were all very nice.
Now the not so positive...
I had read all the reviews before booking and noticed the negative comments about the bike route directions. Since these comments were from a year and 2 years ago I assumed they had improved this info. NOT TRUE. The book with the routes is almost worthless. Getting from city to city was not always the problem but once in a city the Read More

Josephine S.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

I have just returned from a most pleasant bike trip Prague - Dresden. The well paved and mostly flat bike paths made the cycling quite easy and enabled us to enjoy the wonderful scenery of the countryside. The hotel rooms were clean and spacious, especially the Chateau Liblice, which was a real treat. We were well fed and got plenty of drinks. The Czech and german beers are excellent, the wines are not bad either. Our guide Vitek made every possible effort to meet all our expectations.His stories helped me enrich the knowledge about the country, its history, people, traditions. But above all Vitek is a very nice, kind and friendly person.
Thank you Vitek for all the fun we had and for making me enjoy every minute of the trip.

Manuel Pena
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Aare Trail
Switzerland, Germany

Wow. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone who wants to do something out of the ordinary. Our tour started on June 3rd, and I selected the 6 day tour for my son and I and it was just the right amount of length. By the end of the last leg we were just about beat. This was an easy ride, but if you don't bike much I would recommend the E-bikes to give you a little boost along the way. The standard bike's that were given to us were in excellent condition and we had no issues throughout the trip. All of the hotels we stayed in were adequate for what was needed and were in great locations in relation to the sites of each town. Each time we arrived at our hotel we would ask the attendant for a good place to eat and they always had great recommendations. I would recommend that you ask each hotel if they have a garage to store the bike and if they don't that you definitely lock them up and remove ALL of the saddle bags from the bikes and keep the bags stored in Read More

Maxine W.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

We four had a blast biking thru vineyards. Nice flat well marked path.

Maxine W.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

We four had a blast biking thru vineyards. Nice flat well marked path.

Susanna from Tripsite
4 years ago

Tripsite Staff

Bavarian Lakes
Germany

If I have to describe this tour in a few words I would say: Green landscapes, horses, Beer gardens, Rivers&Lakes with mountain views. Through every forest, I rode through, I was surrounded of beautiful melodies of singing birds. The beautiful landscapes are filled with horse ranches, hayfields, and rivers. As further south you go the mountain range starts appearing at the horizon that boarders with Austria. The locals are very friendly and the hotel staff was always helpful with local recommendation.
I also loved my bicycle with its NuVinci internal gearshift, it made it so much easier to shift on the uphill terrain.
All of my hotels were clean and comfortable. I especially enjoyed the hotels run by its owners in the smaller towns.
The map and route booked is a great help but you want to ask for the GPS-tracks. I got lost 2x because I wasn't paying attention on the maps. I strongly recommend downloading the GPS-Tracks on your smart device or GPS device.
Read More

Barbara
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

Just returned from five days of cycling through the Czech and German countryside from Prague to Dresden: A Tale of Two Rivers. A wonderful experience - beautiful countryside, quaint accommodations, good food and excellent service. Lukas and company of Europe Bike Tours do all they can to please and support their riders. Try it - you'll love it!

Emily P.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Regensburg to Passau
Germany

Beautiful scenery, bike path was quite clearly marked as well without having to constantly refer to the map booklet, especially once we got onto the Danube trail. The booklet also had details on where we could find rest stops with food which was very handy. It was a great cycle experience for me and my companion, even though he's an inexperienced cyclist (it's only his 5th time or so on a bike!) we both enjoyed it very much--helps that the route is largely flat, the bike was very comfortable and we came prepared with extra seat padding just in case! The route also felt very safe, with minimal sections with road traffic. Accommodations were clean, comfortable and near the bike path, however the Deggendorf stop didn't have air-conditioning which I imagine may be a little uncomfortable later in the summer. One especially memorable moment was stopping by Walhalla, perched on a hill overlooking the Danube--incredibly peaceful with the most amazing views.

Terrence Z.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Tauber River Valley Romantic Road
Germany

This potentially could be a great tour but it was not a great tour for us. The tour guide book was in German which we do not read, thus we wasted a lot of time every day being lost! Also, the provided bikes were not of the best quality, and pedaling them was not easy! The hotels were fine, but we would not recommend this tour unless you read German!

Evan C.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Aare Trail
Switzerland, Germany

As with my trip last year, this trip was a smooth operation. Only a few navigation problems which are part of the adventure. I'll be looking forward to another ride next year. Many thanks.

Dianne W.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

Vienna to Budapest was superb - easy to follow instructions (only got lost once) scenery good for the soul, countryside ducks in flight, historic buildings & bridges, food & wine a delight, accommodation excellent (and 1 unique hotel with a bowling alley in reception) comfortable bikes =easy ride (we are 60+) would be great for family with kids-Yet another Tripsite success (used before will use again)

Sean B.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

Most Memorable Part: Staying at the Hotel Schloss Durnstein

Ileana G.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

Visiting Strekov Castle was a highlight. First day is the most challenging with a couple of big hills.

Sara G.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bike and Wine Basel to Strasbourg
France, Germany, Switzerland

First day ride and exceptional lunch along the canal. Recommend more info on options to stop, eat, etc along the routes. Also recommend better bike maintenance - both bikes had shifter/derailer issues. Transfer of bikes and luggage went very smoothly. Hotels were all great, except the one in Freiburg - run down and rude front desk staff.

Patricia M.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

This was a wonderful vacation (from Prague to Dresden via Bohemia). Being a solo traveler I welcomed the guidance and support offered by this tour. Lucas and Vitek provided historical and cultural info along the route; the hotels, meals, and excursions all combined to make this an easy, active and memorable holiday. Can't wait for the next adventure!

Donatella Yelda
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Breisgau & Alsace Wine Road
France, Germany

Amazing tour...Loved every minute of it! The staff was awesome. The bikes were great! The hotels were all very clean, with friendly staff and great breakfast. The route was beautiful. The towns were fairy tale dreamy. Did we get lost more than once? Yes of course we did, it's a given and expected when you're not familiar with the rout and towns, no matter how good the map and directions are. Having said that, getting lost was part of the charm of the trip, we got to explore more areas/places. Most trails and routs are very well marked and if you follow the "Bike Route" marks you will not get lost too much, maybe a turn here or there. We used Google map along with the paper map/directions provided. In some areas Google conflicted with the provided directions and that's how we got lost ... but it was fun exploring. If you're the daring type who considers every turn a new adventure you will have a blast. But if you're the type that everything has to be precise then you might get frustrated.