Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 54

Zwinger Palace in Dresden, Germany. Flickr:bert kaufmann

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers

7 days from €850

4.9 out of 5

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers

Easy Bike Tour in Czech Republic, Germany

This bike tour in the Czech Republic and Germany from Prague to Dresden follows the flow of the Vltava and Elbe Rivers, through beautiful countryside, picturesque towns, and scenic parks. If you have…

4.9 out of 5

 


di wilkinson
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We really enjoyed this well set up tour through beautiful countryside with a carefully planned route. The maps and suggestions left time to explore and Lukas' team were easy to contact when a glitch occurred and was rapidly fixed. The accommodation was delightful and the bikes were perfect for the route (light enough frame to lift over kerbs, good range of gears). The route was mixed but mostly countryside. After the first day hill the route was mostly flat and presented no problems for us (we are 70/72) and we spent lots of time stopping for flowers, photographs and beer. We have used Tripsite before but this is now my favourite tour.

Donna M.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This was our 2nd extended family biking vacation. We had such a wonderful time, I think we may being making this a yearly event with Tripsite! Our guides were such nice thoughtful people, we enjoyed talking with them and the time we spent together riding through the countryside and during our dinners.

Doris S.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

A family/friends group of 14 plus 2 other riders, made this a large group to manage. Jan, Martin and Rodik did a great job. Excellent choices regarding lodging and restaurants.

Driekus M.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The cycle tour in Prague , just the 2 of us and our guide Ivo. Starting on Sunday morning at 8.30 am, hardly any tourists around and we cycled all around with stops for explanations and photo”s and a beer of course ! A great 3 1/2 hours !

We really enjoyed cycling to Hrensko and onto Tri prameny and walking up to Pravcicka Brana natural Bridge. although nature was scarred by the forest fires last year, it was still a great walk with amazing views.

Gregory G.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

A good range of hotels.
Good company.
Good route suggestions.

Howard C.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The trip to the arch and just biking along enjoying the river, traffic on the river and the villages we bike through.

James E.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The scenery was great. The other riders in our group coupled with the ride was memorable. Tip: next time I will bring shirts from Goodwill, wear them, then donate them in whatever city we are in. That way I won't have smelly shirts in my luggage and more room for souvenirs.

H Kashdan
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Just completed this tour a couple of days ago. The scenery was beautiful and diverse. The tour organization was excellent with super responsive local personnel who appreciated being contacted as the tour progressed. The luggage was moved efficiently and on time. The hotels, although basic for the most part, were well placed along the route. We used e-bikes, and were happy with their operation. We were especially glad to have them in the face of head winds that tended to blow through the canyons. It was a great way to see the natural surroundings and the cultural lives of local folks. It was a good one!

Roberta D.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Overall, the self-guided tour was excellent. The trail system was impressive, going through cities, towns and countryside mostly along the Vltava and Elbe Rivers. There were some tricky spots and we made some wrong turns, but always managed to get back on track. Make sure to get the electronic GPS maps and download and test them before you leave. It was essential to have all three sets of directions (electronic, maps and written directions). It was really special to visit all the historic towns and places in the Czech Republic, including Melnik and lunch at Strekov Castle as well as seeing all the spring flowers and crops growing everywhere. We stopped and paid our respects at the Terezin Memorial, the Nazi concentration camp, which was a sobering experience. Please note that in Hrensko, the trail to Pravicice Gate, (the natural bridge) goes through a major forest fire burn area, which really detracted from the experience. If we had known how devastated it was, we probably Read More

Angie N
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Great self-guided tour! We received best written directions we have ever had on a self-guided bike tour. The route was basically flat along the rivers and the route directions were clear, understandable, and often offered options. The route information also included recommendations and directions along the way to get to sightseeing points, cafes, pubs, and restaurants. Lukas provided a thorough review of the trip on our arrival, and was available to answer our questions. We used the recommended GPS as a supplement, which was helpful for confirming our location and when there was an instance of unexpected road construction on the route. We also very much enjoyed the bike tour of Prague with Daniel and his willingness to share his personal insights into the history of the city.

Alice M.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Hard to say! We loved every bit of it! The peddling around the beautiful sceneries, the picturesque little villages, and the two amazing cities of Dresden and Prague! All spectacular! Take your time, maybe add more days so you can really explore the places around.

Barry & Nancy Thompson
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Took the Guided option. Glad we did. Our two guides, Michaela and Honza, weren't just helpful, they were upbeat and fun even if it rained. Most of the entire route was on quiet paved well-maintained paths. Having guides meant we were able to gawk around, stop and shoot photos at a whim and get inside info on the many castles visited along the way. We've cycled many times in Europe but this was the first time we set foot in Czech Republic. It's great. How can you not like a country where cake is served for breakfast! In fact, both Prague and Dresden cry out for extra days before and after the cycling even begins.

Thompson B.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Seven cycling trips we've enjoyed in Europe. This one ranked way up there. Two reasons why: Honza and Michaela. As our guides, they thought of everything. They knew the route inside-out and quickly got a feel for our interests, tastes and abilities. They went out of their way to assist. Once we needed distilled water for a CPAP sleep apnea machine. But it was a national Czech holiday. All stores and pharmacies were closed. Honza didn't give in; he actually convinced supply personnel at a hospital to provide the water. Being alongside the beautiful Elbe for the most part meant the terrain was primarily flat and manageable. Both cities, Prague and Dresden, cry out for additional days before and after the cycling begins. As for the accommodation, we chose the upgrades and we're happy about it. Breakfast at the Hotel Clement in Prague deserves special mention. It was outstanding. In fact, we had cake for breakfast every single day in the country.

Lázaro N.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The trip is allways on the river bank. So its very ease to bike this tour. The sightseeings are memorable. The most remarkable part was the view, the biergartens besides the bike path. Tip: dont let behind the visit on the rock bridge monument. Enjoy the small villages on the trip, they are very nice.

Anna M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Route offers a variety of landscapes and experiences.

Maria Patricia Zambrano
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Hello
I did this tour with my daughter on july 2022
the tour was excellent and really enjoy it!! WONDERFULL
The day before our trip, we met Luca and he explained us everything about the bikes and how to get to each city following a map in a App using our cel phones ... (I think it will be better for the company to rent GPS instead of us using our phones... so we use them only to communicate, take photos , videos etc and dont run out of battery ... (We came prepared so we didnt had any problem because we had extra external batteries... but anyway )
While traveling wE could contact LUCA by WhattsApp and was very easy to reach... He is a great guy !!

The first day as we started from Prague to Melnik was ok ... but as the days went by, the scenery began to get better and better and more beautiful til the end in Dresden !! Traveling by bike through all this places is very easy end very enjoyable.. IS LIKE DREAMING
There are many places you can sit down Read More

Deanne S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We liked cycling by the river and seeing the beautiful sights. We were lost a couple of times so would have liked more detailed instructions.
We also liked the places we stopped for the night and some of the side trips like at Hrensko and Terezin.

Michael B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We took the self-guided Prague to Dresden bike tour in July 2021. The first night in Prague we had our information meeting and received our bikes and equipment from Lukas. He is terrific. Lukas also guides these trips so I imagine he does a wonderful job. I was a little anxious initially about doing the self-guided trip with my 14 year old son, but Lukas was so thorough and helpful in the prep meeting that I felt very comfortable with out choice. He provided detailed and clear maps and wisdom as to what were the key sights to see along the way. The natural beauty of the trip and the wonder of arriving into new towns and hotels each day was special. I would say the quality time I had with my son and the chance to experience all the new places together was the highlight. I highly recommend this tour. Self-guided works great for those that want to travel at their own pace and the luggage transfer to each hotel worked great. The bikes were of solid quality and Lukas included repair parts and tools in case we had flat tires.

Michael B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We took the self-guided Prague to Dresden bike tour in July 2021. The first night in Prague we had our information meeting and received our bikes and equipment from Lukas. He is terrific. Lukas also guides these trips so I imagine he does a wonderful job. I was a little anxious initially about doing the self-guided trip with my 14 year old son, but Lukas was so thorough and helpful in the prep meeting that I felt very comfortable with out choice. He provided detailed and clear maps and wisdom as to what were the key sights to see along the way. The natural beauty of the trip and the wonder of arriving into new towns and hotels each day was special. I would say the quality time I had with my son and the chance to experience all the new places together was the highlight. I highly recommend this tour. Self-guided works great for those that want to travel at their own pace and the luggage transfer to each hotel worked great. The bikes were of solid quality and Lukas included repair parts and tools in case we had flat tires.

Phil M.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Well organized tour led by personable, knowledgeable, and competent guides. Overall, a wonderful experience.

Maria O.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amazing holiday, easy cycling along the banks of the Labe/Elbe. Wonderful scenery, tasty cake and coffee stops and fabulous boutique hotels.
Everything was pre arranged by Tripsite and the local agents.
Would do this again in a heartbeat and definitely recommend.

Horst K.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The tour was well organized and we were put up in great hotels. Meals were very good and the tour operators provided water and healthy snacks along the route everyday.
I was more than pleased with the whole trip and will consider another tour with this organization.

Teresa I.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Cycling was a fantastic way to experience and travel threw the Czech Republic to Germany. A big thank you to our tour leader Vítek and his crew for taking such good care of the group.

John C.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This trip was a joy.

Our guides Vee Tex, Harvel and Jara were both enthusiatic and knowledgable about the route, the landscape and the history.

The accommodation on the trip was great, varying from a former manor house, country village hotels and more contemporary funky locations.

My fellow cyclists were companionable and talkative with people from Canada, USA , Australia and Germany.

The route was managable, and consisted of around 80-85% level/easy inclines along old toll paths or the old rail track, and usually 5-6 hours per day ranging from 25 to 50 klms per day.

Highlights for me were Prague, Litmorvice, Terezina, the mountain hike to the stone bridge - (worth every upward step!), plus I spent two nights in Dresden - and encountered striking buildings, excellent food (think pork knuckle in dark beer), easy of movement through a well organised transport system.

Would I recommend this trip? Yes, and if apprehensive about the length of the daily rides - there are e-bike available at reasonable prices, a boon for perhaps the less experienced and those allied to cycling devotees so they can join the fun.

Paula G.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The history and the countryside was fantastic. Need work with maps - took us over an hour to find the hotel in Dresden as we were never given a city map of Dresden with hotels marked as other cities. Do not recommend dinner package as fixed menu at some of restaurants was not very good.

Peter L.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The tour encompassed countries that had been behind the Iron Curtain post WW2. It was interesting seeing the remnants of this society that had been left unused and decaying since the fall of communism in the late 80s.There were castles perched on rocky outcrops,canal water locks featuring white water canoe courses,trains, chateaux, historic towns and an opportunity to do some bush walking.Just wonderful.

Margie H.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most memorable part of the trip was expert guides who worked tirelessly to make our trip the best it could be!

Heather W.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I think the most memorable part was Bad Shandau and our extra day there for hiking.
The route map and instructions leaving from Prague were missing the first several kms. So we had no idea where we were going.
The first hotel after Prague had a dirty shower and was missing several lightbulbs. The meal and restaurant in that town was wonderful.
We loved the whole trip and highly recommend it.

Rebeca I.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Great trails with magnificent views, lots of hills though! The tour guides are very friendly and knowledgeable. All the hotels were extremely clean and nice. The places where we ate were delicious. Our group consisted of 20 wonderful and fun people. thank you all for a great bike ride!

Con D.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Our group of 12 had a terrific guided trip around Prague with Lukas, we cycle every year and this was the best for scenery and accommodation along the Elbe from Prague to Dresden