5 Star Clair de Lune boat/barge tour reviews — 1 to 21 of 21

4 out of 5

 


Bob M.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Around Paris
France

The Around Paris tour on the Clair de Lune was a wonderful trip for us. Entering Paris by bicycle, having our barge room follow us, and being guided, fed, and hosted by Marcus and his crew was a great experience we recommend.

Carol P.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Around Paris
France

Around Paris as guests on Clair de Lune was a great trip! The scenery, the history, the visit to Fontainebleau, cycling the streets of Paris, and more! This is such a wonderful way to experience a country!

Susan S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Around Paris
France

Highlights: The kindness of the tour guide (Jan-Anne), the captain (Marco), and the chef (Sylvia); the beautiful landscape; sailing into Paris; riding through Paris.

Deidre S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Around Paris
France

We were in great hands with our captain, Marco, chef, Sylvia and guide, Rob, on the Clair de Lune! We truly enjoyed our week biking along the Seine and L’Oise. We highly recommend this barge and bike experience.

Eileen A.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Around Paris
France

Most Memorable? For me the day we cycled through the city of Paris. We got to experience a very authentic side of Parisian life, zooming along the myriad of bike paths with the locals, enjoying the sights, sounds and smells and knowing we were in the capable hands of our guide. Having a guide removes all of the navigational stress and allows for the freedom to sit back and enjoy the ride.

Richard O.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Around Paris
France

Our guide, Chris, was exceptionally talented. He answered questions clearly and completely, and he offered many interesting comments about the various sites we traveled through. Our captain, Connie, was also thoroughly competent and provided additional insight about our travels, especially thru the various locks. Meals were good. Breakfast was standard European and I appreciated their encouraging us to prepare sandwiches and snacks for lunch. Be aware that the instructions for meeting the tour bus from the train station, Gare du Nord, were incomplete: You have to continue walking about 100 meters on Rue de Maubeuge beyond Rue Ambroise Pare to find the bus. Also, this bike trip was considered "easy" based on the relatively flat terrain and modest miles ridden.
However, the paths were not always very smooth; we experienced rocky, bumpy, pitted and muddy roads for much of the trip. In general, however, this was a very memorable trip; I'd do it again!

Molly C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Around Paris
France

Overall the trip was great. Route was rated as easy, but it was a little more difficult than expected. Lots of traffic in Paris and trails and streets were often more like off-road or mountain biking. That should be made clear from the beginning.

Mary W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Around Paris
France

This tour of the Seine was delightful. The boat and crew were top notch. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about the history and bike routes of the area. And the weather was c'est bon. It was the trip of a lifetime.

Ginny D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Around Paris
France

Tips: Pack light. Bring layers of clothing. People great. Barge crew and bike guide wonderful!!

Jenny D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Around Paris
France

The trip was amazing!! It was exactly as described. There were no surprises. The bikes were very comfortable and perfect for the trip we were on. The boat and the sights were amazing. I loved the staff, the food, and the guide. If you are new to biking, I highly recommend spending some time on a bike before you go just to get used to handling it in both traffic and on dirt trails in the forest. Enjoy!

Paul W.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Tulip Tour - Bruges to Amsterdam - 8 day
Netherlands, Belgium

Have forwarded the link to your website to a number of our friends as we describe the fabulous experience on our tulip tour. Most memorable was being our timing in seeing the tulips in full bloom in the fields. But, every day was memorable!

Sherry M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Around Paris
France

The guide was attentive to each rider and knowledgeable about the towns and history.

Paul D.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Around Paris
France

Gourmet dining aboard the Clair de Lune was five star fabulous! The tour guide, Henry, was extremely knowledgeable about the area, and inspired the highest level of confidence in his ability to handle any situation. The Clair de Lune was very clean and in excellent condition. All the staff were wonderfully friendly, helpful and welcoming.

Virginia D.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Around Paris
France

Most Memorable part: Going through the locks on the barge in Paris. The kindness of our fellow bikers and staff.

Jenny D.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Around Paris
France

I just got back from the trip and had a wonderful time! The Boat, Bikes, and Food where the best that could be provided and the scenery was amazing! I found the description to be exactly as the trip experience. I felt like I was fully prepared for everything and cannot wait to do it again next year.

Marty W.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
Belgium, Netherlands

Marcos , captain and Kim, cook were at the helm of our trip with the Claire de Lune. They did an outstanding job; food excellent, conversation and safety of boat exceptional - we were taken care of very well. Paul, tour bike guide kept us all together on the back streets and roads, never lost and always got us back to the boat in time for relaxation time and dinner. He knew the area, well versed in the country's history and strong bicyclist and took good care of us. This trip is not for the faint at heart or easy bicycle afternoon riders. We road 30 miles almost every day - wind in our face and sometimes lucky with the wind at our backs. The riding was some back roads, some deltas and some cobble stone city riding along with traffic. Not rails to trails and no sag wagon. We saw beautiful country sides, the tulips were full aglow at the tulip fields and the windmill adventure was super. It was a good full week of adventure. The barge crew are to be commended for all that they did to make our week special.

S. Bingham
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Around Paris
France

This was the first Bike and Barge experience for my husband and I, and we feel very lucky to have had our initiation into this traveling experience with Marco, and the crew of Claire de Lune. What a fabulous way to see the sights so very few visitors get to see! The barge accommodations were tight, but efficient, and as advertised. Be sure to pay attention to the packing instructions sent out ahead of time! Our tour leader was extremely knowledgeable and very flexible with our small group of 7. Highlights were definitely riding through Paris, and "barging down" the tunnel under the Bastil. However, riding through the picturesque little French villages, countryside and forests were also what made this trip so special. We would highly recommend this tour, and hope to travel again on this barge, or one very much like it, on our next Bike and Barge trip.

Gary Koolhof
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Around Paris
France

The staff was very friendly and they made our trip outstanding!

Helen Belletti
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Around Paris
France

It was a great trip. There were only 3 of us on the tour so they gave us each our own private cabin which was very much appreciated. Marco, the captain was one of the best boat captains. He shared a lot of information with us and really made the trip fun and interesting. Our guide was great too, and tailored each day to our needs because our group was so small. The food was good too, and a good variety. I only rated the food as "satisfied" because I toured the year before on the Zwaan, the Mosel and Saar tour, and the chef was soooooo good, that he spoiled me for future tours! If you have any questions on my experience on any tours, please let me know. And I hope to book one of your tours again ~~

Lynne Newville
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Around Paris
France

We had the best time and have recommended the Around Paris trip to many friends. Loved the small tour group and guides. Two nights rather than one in Paris was a bonus on our tour. We would have liked more time in Arles. Guides and staff were excellent. Tiny berths but we like each other so it worked.

Karen Picard
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Around Paris
France

This was the first trip of this type that we have ever done and my first time to France. It was a great way to experience the country and it was nice to see rural areas, historic small towns, castles and the big city of Paris. The crew was wonderful-- friendly, accommodating, knowledgeable and thoughtful. The trip price was a great value for all that we received and experienced. It was great to get so much exercise while on vacation-- walking and biking makes it possible to see and do so much in the fresh air and to burn off the great food and wine we enjoyed. I highly recommend this trip!