Princesse Royal boat/barge tour reviews — 61 to 90 of 112

4.7 out of 5

 


Neal P.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

It was so wonderful to cycle through 2 beautiful countries taking in the scenery and ambiance.

Peter W.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The trip wasn't exactly as I understood it would be. The staff were absolutely great, couldn't be any better. The guide was also very good, knowledgeable and patient. However, it seems to me that the objective of each day's ride was to get from point A to point B; we didn't stop enough to enjoy & explore the sites along the way. Also, I wonder about riding thru farmers' fields. Perhaps that was the only way to reach certain destinations. We needed better introductions in the first meeting. We should have introduced ourselves at that meeting. We were 32 strangers together for 8 days, let's start with introductions.
The food was pretty average. Breakfast was fine; once in a while there was hot food served but you had to be aggressive to get any, there wasn't enough to go around. Food available for lunch was fine, no complaints. Dinners were disappointing. We didn't need gourmet dinners, we needed substantial meals. The best meal was the Read More

Andy K.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Most Memorable Part: Riding through beautiful villages and countryside! We stopped in beautiful places to eat lunch, rest and take pictures. Our guide Alfonse was amazing! Our last night, we took a private boat cruise on the canals in Amsterdam, arranged by our guide! AWESOME TRIP!

Marie B.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Overall this was a great experience. The boat was clean and the staff friendly. The itinerary and scenery was beautiful. The only negative was that the website had several inaccuracies. For example, the mileage each day was much longer than published. Also, the number of meals provided was less than published.

Bryan F.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

What I enjoyed most about my Boat & Bike trip were the rides through the countryside in the early mornings when it was quiet, and the only sound was the hum of my bicycle. Secondly, were the times we moved the boat during breakfast. I found myself staring out the window at life and business along the canals. Lastly, the new friends we made, from Britain, Australia, and Canada!

Robert K.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Brussels to Bruges
Belgium

Most memorable part: The small number of passengers and the bonding and friendships which grew. Also, the lovely relaxed biking through the countryside, villages and towns with the guide providing more than adequate explanations when required. Everything worked like clock work and was well organized.

Neal P.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Certainly it was a wonderful trip and I would recommend it to anyone HOWEVER our chef was fired on the 3rd day (the regular chef was on vacation), our stressed out guide was less than patient with passengers and we had 3 kids, 8 years old and younger who were poorly behaved and due to the insensitivity of their parents interfered greatly with the enjoyment of our trip. This created unnecessary tension for the the guide, captain and for the passengers. This family caused great delay in the itinerary starting on the very first day. I think in future children under the age of 16 should be prohibited from these biking trips. These kids, even their parents, were incapable of riding a bike for the distances required in the itinerary. All that aside we would book a bike and barge trip again but would be certain to inquire about age requirements. Thank you.

Colin O.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Bike / barge trip was great. However, there was a family on board with 3 children under age of 6. This affected our daily bike trips and the atmosphere on the barge. Children under the age of 12 should not be accommodated on these trips- especially when the parents, let alone the children have had little biking experience- especially considering the distances we needed to travel.

Carol H.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Barge: in our premium room neither the bed lights, the TV or the hairdryer worked. The Jacuzzi was cold. Clearly the barge had electrical issues.
Routes: the trip description said we could follow the routes and bike on our own, stop for photos, etc. This was not possible as the routes changed, the stops were prescriptive by the guide, and were for coffee/beer/bathroom breaks, rather than impromptu photo breaks
Routes: we would have liked to have spent more time in the Netherlands, less time in Antwerp. The "photo op" on the top of the museum in Antwerp was a waste of time.
Group dynamics: we lucked out; group dynamics were great!

Deanna G.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The entire week was fabulous. Loved cycling through the towns and country side. Tom our guide was very nice and an excellent guide. I also enjoyed our evening walking tour, especially when he brought us to the home of an artist and his wife. I bought a few pieces of jewelry.
We were very lucky with the weather and even ate outside 2 nights.
Loved that we were a small group and I knew everyone after a couple of days . I enjoyed everything.

Steven U.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The most memorable part was riding bikes to quaint small towns and Bruges.

Marianne B.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Cycling along canals, stopping at picturesque locations, short tours of historic locations, all with a knowledgeable, patient, funny guide made this a most fabulous way to see the countryside of Belgium and the Netherlands.

Doug P.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The most memorable parts: The strawberry vending machine. Next was the rude employee on the boat who gave me and my wife a hard time on occasion.

Debbie G.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Every day was so wonderful, the entire trip was so memorable.

Franziska P.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Love the boat ride, also liked the bikes and bike riding as well as our tour guide.
The food was too American, it could have been more European. The scenery was
lovely and the trails terrific. Weather fantastic. Would do it again.

Linda B.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Most memorable part: Lovely long days of biking through beautiful countries.

Rinske B.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

It was a wonderful experience! The staff was very friendly especially our guide Tom Stout, and the sailor Joop was a fount of information with regard to ships and harbours.

Elisabeth D.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Everything was more than I expected, but especially the knowledge and good humor and patience of our guide Tom.

Gerald R.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

A great trip. The area was great loved the villages we rode through.

Henry S.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Brussels to Bruges
Belgium

Our guide, Arie, was terrific! The chef, Chris (I think), was fantastic! The whole bike/barge week was a 5 out of 5 experience

Eldon W.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

LIa is the best guide we've ever worked with - well informed, good managing people, qualified in every way; and went well beyond what she had to do in her position. All the riding - even in the rain and varied road surfaces - was extremely pleasant.

Because Lia is an exceptional guide; on this trip one guide for up to 30 cyclists worked well. In most cases, however, I think having only one guide for this large a group - especially a group with many novice riders - is bad practice. Also, a water bottle cage and a cyclometer on the bike would have been nice.

Jeff S.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Brussels to Bruges
Belgium

The bike and barge trip aboard the Magnifique was amazing. Could not have asked for a better trip! Can't wait to go on another bike and barge trip.

Judee W.
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Wonderful staff - the entire trip was just great! Tome, our guide was exceptional.

Debra Hendry
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Our first bike barge holiday and we loved it. Good mix of nationalities as guests. The Magnifique truly was glorious.

M. Mathews
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Was a fantastic trip!!! Tom was a great guide and will recommend this to others.

J. Kister
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

When I first heard of a bike & barge trip, I thought I would be sleeping on a cot under the stars! After obtaining more info, I realized we would have a comfortable room but I was very impressed with our accommodations. It was like being on a mini cruise. Food was great, tour guide was personable and entertaining, friendly staff went out of their way to make this trip extra special. We had an arranged canal boat tour complete with champagne after arriving in Amsterdam! I would highly recommend the Magnifique and this crew, for an awesome way to experience Belgium and The Netherlands.

C. Powell
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

This is one of the best trips I have ever been on. The boat was very clean, comfortable and new. The steps to the lower level kind of steep but very manageable. The staff was wonderful, especially the chef! and the bike guide! I liked the stops.The bikes were very enjoyable. I think the coffee could have been free all day instead of being charged for it after 4pm. I would love to do another trip!

Lynn McCormack
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Thomas our guide was excellent. It is surprising that people go on a bike trip with very little biking ability and poor fitness. We would love to go on another trip with a comparable barge.

Mary Netto
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

This trip surpassed my expectations! I would consider additional trips with this tour group in the future. Our chef was excellent and very accommodating of my food allergy.

Brenda Major
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

We have taken two bike and barge trips through Tripsite and both have been excellent. It is by far the best value for your buck and everything was perfect. One of the best reasons we love Tripsite is that we were able to call and ask questions during our planning stages, and SOMEONE ANSWERED THE PHONE...no automated system. We love you guys!