Merzig to Cochem Tour Reviews — 1 to 16 of 16

Saar River near Merzig, Germany. Flickr:Wolfgang Staudt

Merzig to Cochem

8 days from €1475

4.8 out of 5

Merzig to Cochem

Easy Bike + Boat Tour in Germany

Cycle along the beautiful Moselle river on this bike and barge tour in Germany through charming cities and villages. You begin in either Merzig, not far from the French border, or Cochem, a charming…

4.8 out of 5

 


Kathleen R.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Bicycling through the beautiful vineyards and the opportunity to visit picturesque towns.

Rick C.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This trip was amazing with great scenery and a great crew and staff who were so friendly and fun. The towns we rode through were small but very interesting and loaded with history. The barge was perfect and similar to the different barge we were on with 12 cabins which we think is a great size. Our group of 11 met 8 amazing people from Canada and 2 others from the states who just made the trip so much fun with a lot of laughter. Time to start planning the trip for next year.

Johanne P.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

I particularly enjoyed the beautiful scenery along the river and the little villages we stopped in.

Lauren L.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Our week was the last week of the season and the ferry across the river to Luxembourg was closed. The guide saw how disappointed we were and offered us to bike an additional 14 km to be able to get to that country which was an unanimous decision by our group.

Michele S.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

A couple of stands out . First the staff , they were friendly and welcoming. There was nothing they would not do to ensure your safety and enjoyment. They worked hard so we didn’t have to . The evening gatherings to discuss next’s days events . And the flexibility of the captain to make a few stops that to allow people to return or leave.
The bike route brought us through beautiful vineyards, gorgeous landscape, and river views. Biking downhill through the tunnels and stopping in a wine cave was exhilarating.
Tips take rain gear, forecast was for sunny skies everyday but we ran into thunder shows.

Robert B.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The ship Quo Vadis the boat and crew were great. Our guides Leah and Tami made the bike riding and stops along the way very interesting.

Anne T.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We loved biking thru the wineries and the different scenery each day. We also loved the evening meals visiting with new and old friends.

BRUNO S.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Great Guides and accomodation

Brian M.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Another great trip on the Quo Vadis!

Henga N.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Loved biking through vineyards and stopping in little towns with loads of history and sipping wine or coffee with the gorup. The crew and the guides were superb and very caring.

Joy G.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

I truly enjoyed the trip. The Quo Vadis is a beautiful boat, lovingly maintained. The captain and owner, RJ, was unfailingly gracious. The food was terrific! Hats off to Martina, the chef. Guides Rocco and Jacks were pleasant and helpful, and the other guests were great as well. I think I could perhaps have managed a little more cycling each day, but what we did was certainly very pleasant.
All in all, really great trip!

Joy Goodman

Richard S.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We had a wonderful trip up the Moselle and Saar rivers. This was our fifth Bike/Barge trip and our second on the Quo Vadis. The trip does not disappoint! Capt RJ and his entire crew are most hospitable and the bike guides Japke and Rikko made our daily bike rides most enjoyable! The cycling was relatively easy on 80% paved cycling paths, with the balance either cobblestones or gravel pathways. The scenery was outstanding! My highlife of the trip was cycling down through the old train tunnels back to the Moselle! Epic!

Joseph L.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We enjoyed all aspects of this trip: the clean, efficiently-laid out accommodations, the delicious food(especially the vegetarian options cooked specifically for us), the great bikes, fun staff, knowledgable tour guides, and the towns and scenery we rode and boated through. We brought travel slippers to wear onboard which we enjoyed and others commented they wished they had done so. We wore padded bike shorts which we thought helped us avoid sore bottoms from biking since we are not accustomed to long rides. Although we rented electric bikes, this is a mostly flat trip and I don't think you need electric if you are a reasonably fit biker.

Lynda A.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Relaxing cycling through vineyards, watching the grapes being harvested and visiting the villages and castles aling the way

Ravi M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The entire trip was memorable , all 6 days of it , right from the moment we boarded till we disembarked everything was perfect, absolutely no complaints.
The Barge Merlijn, the owners, Coen and Christina and their entire team were par excellence ! Our guide , Lia was fantastic, with great sense of Humour and was prompt in taking care of any bike related issues . The food was exquisite, the most delectable vegetarian food we ate lovingly prepared by Christina. The bike paths thru the Vineyards and the varied landscapes were perfect along the river Saar and Mosel. It was in reality doing a leisurely tour on a bike. The hike up the mountain to view the Saar Loop was awesome , a perfect picture postcard scene . will definitely recommend this tour on the merlijn.

Tom R.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This was a great trip that the group from Spokane (Tom & Mary Kay R. Mike and Mary M., Jan and Mark B., John and Helen W. -UK) recommends to anyone interested in seeing a beautiful part of Germany. It was not just the scenery that was great, but also how the Merlijn ""crew"" always made you feel at home and took care of any problems. Special thanks to Jantien, Henk and Jacques!