Pearls of Dalmatia Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 31

Dubrovnik, Croatia. Flickr:Miguel Mendez

Pearls of Dalmatia

8 days from €1595

4.7 out of 5

Pearls of Dalmatia

Moderate Bike + Boat Tour in Croatia

This bike and boat tour in Southern Dalmatia, Croatia, not only features a breathtaking and sparsely populated part of Croatia, but it also includes Split and Dubrovnik, both UNESCO World Heritage…

4.7 out of 5

 


Mari Jo K.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

This is a delightful area to visit; the history of the walled cities along with the coastline, warm climate and great ride leaders made for an enjoyable trip. The climbs can be a bit challenging but e-bikes are available and they were the bikes of choice by 95% of the travelers. If you haven’t seen the “Pearls of Dalmatia”, you need to add it to your list or make it your next ride.

LDA
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

I had a great trip and meet some really fun new friends. Our upper level stateroom was pretty standard, small but comfortable. Itinerary was great and our guides were very accommodating, making a special stop at an olive mill per the request of a couple of our passengers. E-bikes were in good operating order and were a must for all but one person on our trip. We did a lot of uphill climbs, one was really steep, the rest just long and steady uphill. Probably due to the terrain/hills, most rides were on the shorter side (less than 20 miles for the day). Food was plentiful, but poor quality, vegetable soup without any trace of vegetables, thin chicken cutlets that were over cooked, and a main course of pasta daily. I ended up stopping at a grocery for snacks to bring onboard.

Tereceda J.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Our guides Ana and Bubi were most memorable; they were excellent and made us feel safe and informed. Ana is a gifted leader who always had a smile on her face.

The meals were nutritious and tasty; the portions were large ( often larger than needed). The crew and cooks worked very hard to make us comfortable and taken care of. The boat was clean and well maintained despite being older than the Harmonia.

The boat could’ve used chairs at the upstairs table so we could sit together there. One bench was good, but chairs are needed. Perhaps a wifi booster could be added in the captain’s helm so rooms at the front of the boat could stay connected.

Nancy B.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We had a lots of fun meeting the other guests and biking the islands. The crew were great and we were well looked after. The islands are very hilly with long uphills sometimes for 6 km. Even though it was not listed as an ebike trip, 29/30 of us used ebikes. If you are on the lower deck the port windows do not open. There are fans but I would have liked fresh air. For me the biking temperatures were great in April. We swam a few times after our bikes and found some nice beaches close to the port. The food is good and plentiful. The drinks, except water are extra. Coffee and tea are only included for breakfast so you need some cash at the end for your bar bill. The biking only took up part of the day so if you want to bike longer I would look for a different trip. Overall the people made the trip!

Dennis E.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Everything about the trip was great! Even though we are experienced cyclists, we chose the eBike option. Our tour started in Dubrovnik and terminated in Split. On our cruise, there were 4 Americans, 2 Brits and the rest, a group of Canadians. Everyone got along well. Our two guides, Luka and Serge were excellent. My wife and I are swimmers. We swam every day. Every port in which we stayed for the night had a nice, clean city beach. Each day when the ship docked, we sought out the city swimming venue. My only suggestion is that we wanted to have access to our bikes even after the boat docked. Unfortunately, the bikes were always locked up as soon as we arrived at the boat. It would have been nice to ride our bikes to the city beaches instead of walking. Ib Dubrovnik, we swam at the 50-meter indoor pool, Bazen u Gruzu which was very close to where the ship docked. In Split, we swam at a huge swimming/water polo indoor facility, SC Bazeni Polzud.

Ellen S.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Amazing trip with amazing views.
Cycle time was adequate with enough downtime to tour on yor own.
Crew was fantastic and met every need. Excellent food.

Donald Murdoch M.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Tour guides were amazing as well the scenery on the islands , Dubrovnik and Split
Rent the e-bike as the hills on the islands are steep and long unless you just want an extreme work out and not a holiday

James C.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The entire package was memorable which was enhanced by the other travelers on the boat. The camaraderie among the travelers, guides and crew was the icing on the cake for each day! The guides were excellent: informative, caring, supportive. Be prepared for "Croatia flat" (undulating hills) after climning the long hills while biking!

Scott R.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Fabulous scenery on the islands
Comfortable boat with friendly crew
Great meals
Hybrid bike was dated but reliable

Janusz W.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Wonderful views while riding the isles , great support from the guides

Tyann N.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The people, the beauty of the country, the food and cycling/swimming experiences.

If you are looking to just cycle, cycle cycle this experience for me was leisurely but challenging due to the hilly landscape and I did NOT use an ebike.

Bruce Z.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This trip had been postponed several times so we were really excited about finally getting to bike the islands and explore Croatia. From the experiences we have heard about from people who did this trip in the heat of summer, we knew that we would have a better chance in mid Sept for better weather and riding. That was definitely the case, although there were still some rather hot days.

Which leads to the boat, Romantica. This boat was okay, not great by any means. Small cabins which tended to get musty and damp. And the few days the weather got hot the indoor dining was extremely uncomfortable. The upper deck, unlike many boats, did not have a cover, so other than a few stretching sessions, became rather useless. No outdoor dining options on the boat. I would say the Romantica needs a major retrofit.

The guides, Alan and Ivan, on the other hand were amazing. Just a pleasure to be around and so helpful all week long. They were informative and kept the days Read More

Timothy R.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

What a fabulous time we had! We could not have asked for a better trip with the best guides in all of Croatia. Alan and Dora were the best. They packed our trip with such great experiences, we could not be more pleased. Thank you!

Kathryn R.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Views from hilltops & the food on the boat!

Stephen M.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The people in the group were great. I think the boat should offer free coffee and wine at dinner. Also there should be more biking.

Paula M.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

If you like to get some exercise, I think boating and biking the Dalmatian islands is the best way to see the best of Croatia. The communication with
Tripsite was great. Our boat the Romantica was very clean and comfortable. The food was plentiful and very well prepared. Our guides were very pleasant ,helpful and good at their job. I would have liked the bedding changed half way through the trip.

Linda M.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Meeting all the people and getting a chance to have meals with each of them.

Suggestions for the boat-
-include cappuccinos and other coffee and teas without having to pay extra.
-include a bottle of wine for each table at least one or two times as the prices were very high.
-clean tiles in bathroom better as there was black mold growing.

For others
- bring water shoes for going into water at beach stops

Other than that, everything was great!!

Nancy W.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

When you think you had your best boat and bike trip ever, but then you decide I'll try another, and you wonder, how will it ever meet my expectations, and then! it exceeds your expectations, one couldn't be happier! This is a fabulous trip, the biking is undulating and a little challenging but the ebikes and the expert guides make it all possible. The crew went out of their way for our comfort, service when spending time on board, wonderful meals, clean rooms, and always finding a way to get us swimming in the Adriatic on days of high heat. The landscape, the historic ports, the charming town squares, and beautiful sunsets over the Adriatic made it a most memorable journey!

Boyd M.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The boat was better than other trips, the staff were excellent. Croatia is delightful and the trip I took showed off many of its assets. The arranged tours were a bonus that were generally well worth the attendance. I had no issues with the trip that Tripsite or the local supplier could be held responsible for. The Romantica was a well resourced boat with an excellent chef (can't be faulted and should be paid more). The company on the trip was excellent (again out of Tripsite and the provider's control) and I have no hesitation in recommending this trip to others. Croatia should be on everyone's to do list.

Boyd M.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Croatia is well known for its scenic nature and it does not disappoint. On our cycling trip we were constantly shown not only eautiful views of the coastline, but of the centuries old towns and cities. The swim stops in those wonderful waters were highlights of the days during or after bike legs. Our boat, the Romantica had a wonderful chef in Andeliqua, a steward, whose enthusiasm was another highlight, and our two guides who were always happy and helpful, and the crew were always calm, quiet and efficient. Day walks escorted by local tour guides added an extra dimension to the cities visited as well. Onboard services were very good. Coffee each morning on the rear deck was a great way to start the day.

Rentia C.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The promenade at Split! Cycling was fantastic and perfect! City tours so informative! Loved the boat, guides and food! Best scenery ever!

Teresa M.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The trip was absolutely fabulous. The staff was fun and friendly. The food was phenomenal! The only problem was the riding was way harder than described. My friends and I are very fit and ride regularly but these hills were brutal!

Michael B.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The incredible group of international participants and how we all enjoyed each other's company.

Donald P.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Guides Mirta & Kristofer were terrific and flexible. Angelina our cook served up meal after meal of tasty food & plenty of it. The bicycling was very scenic.
I would opt for an above deck cabin though, well worth the extra cost.

Emma S.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Croatia is a very beautiful country that reminded me of Greece. Touring the various islands with bikes was exciting and filled with stunning landscapes and seascapes.
This is a place that would be great to come back to again!

Deborah G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The family that owns and operates the Papa Prvi was wonderful. The were very responsive to any issues that came up such as a stuck door or broken toilet seat and special dietary requests were always met. The tour was great and the Croatian scenery stunning. Prepare for hills! Both up and downhill can be a bit challenging at times. Take it all in and enjoy the experience.

Linda H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The Pape Privi and her crew (all family) were wonderful. Rooms were spacious and meals were delicious.
I would definitely change the rating to difficult! There was nothing moderate about the hills of Croatia!
The overall experience would have been better if they had grouped the rides separating the regular bikes and e-bikes. There was a little too much waiting for everyone to be together.

Vincent Z.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Wonderful. This was our 4th ride of the islands. Beautiful as ever. Great crew and great companions from all over on the boat.

Julie H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

It was amazing! The most memorable part was the people! The crew of the Pape Prvi were personable, friendly , professional...a complete joy! The guides were the same; very enthusiastic, engaging and fun. The food was delicious. The cycling was more challenging than I expected. Many big climbs and steep, steep downhill runs. The scenery was indescribably beautiful...coastal beaches with clear turquoise water, grape vineyards, fig and pomegranite trees...

Suggestions for others: train on hills if possible!

Bradly K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The family/crew of the Pape Prvi provided excellent service and friendly advice. The food was wonderful and always enjoyable. The Croatian islands and coast were very beautiful and memorable. The guides, Dora and Shinz were fun and made the trip even more enjoyable. Thanks for such a great trip.