Slovakia Bike Tour Reviews 91 to 120 of 418

 

 Country: Slovakia • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Walter Z. 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Moment? Late afternoons on the sundeck after the bike ride. Watching the castles and quaint villages on the shore as the boat glided by. Perfect end to a great day.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Eliz P. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable was the experience of the bike and barge itself, as well as the scenery, the evening dining, and the fellow bike travelers. One tip would be to do your research ahead of the trip for cities where the boat docks (as in Budapest & Vienna) to be able to make the most of your time there. Overall, great experience; would definitely recommend this bike & boat trip along the Danube...

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Edie D. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved riding through the little villages and getting a sense of how people actually live from day to day. All the senses are stimulated- smelling the fruit trees, feeling the wind, hearing the laughter and different languages, touching the handcrafted cloths, and of course experiencing all the sites and lights as you float along at night.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jacques B. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Tripsite made our first bike tour so memorable we have booked another one for next year. It was perfect!!!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Vern O. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip was "The Entire Trip"!!! We met so many wonderful people. Our guide Jürgen Gehrke was "The Best"!! So much fun and really went above and beyond taking our group on special tours and always knowing the best Pubs for "The First of The Day"!!!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Linda B. 11 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    Best Part? Exploring new places in a relaxing way and getting exercise at the same time.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Margaret B. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery along the Danube was beautiful and we had lots of fun. Two things I would mention to people planning to do the trip 1) Realize that there is only time to see 1 or maybe 2 of the many sites listed for any given day. There is a small window of time that the barge will be in dock. We had envisioned having a leisurely ride seeing all these great sites and getting back to the barge by the end of the afternoon but thats not how it works. 2) Pay attention to whether you bought bike insurance through Tripsite b/c the barge staff will also sell it and they don't seem to know whether you have it already. We couldn't remember and the wifi was so bad that we couldn't verify so we ended up double paying for it.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jane F. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Every minute of this trip was amazing. Would do it all over again!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Nita W. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My sister and two friends are not hard core cyclists and found our jaunt down the Danube, from Passau to Budapest just the right degree of difficulty, enjoying the Hospitality aboard the My Story when not exploring by bike. Sufficient time was allotted to get to the next boarding spot and it was wonderful to compare the days adventures with our English speaking table over a tasty dinner. I loved not having to pack and unpack as one does on many tours. Our berth was tiny, but not much time is spent there besides sleeping.
    My low point for the trip was the onboard entertainment. Then again, I’m just not a big ABBA fan or fan of one man band keyboards. Others seemed fine with it. The staff created a fun international atmosphere and pirate night was a blast. We Canadians were largely responsible for that. One of us in particular.
    The additional excursions were worth it. I’ll not forget the schnapps and goulash and wild dulcimer music in Budapest!
    I did Read more… fine riding Vienna somewhat challenging as I’m not used to city cycling, but it was optional. I loved the hop on hop off in Budapest. Loved the quaint statues and architecture of Bratislava. Loved riding the wine region in Austria.
    We four talk gloat about this trip with such fond memories, it was a truly amazing, friendship time -literally!

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Cheryle C. 11 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    It was wonderful being with the tour guide, both relaxing and visiting places we would not have found on our own. The wine tasting and lunch stops were great. Also, we had a very blustery day and our guide found a route to get the wind behind us instead of sideways! There were a couple of issues with government closing roads and the staff got us where we needed to be on time regardless of the intrusion. Wonderful barge, great food and awesome people in our group.
    Our second trip with Tripsite.....we plan on a third next year!

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Deborah A. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I wanted to see quaint villages and remote hard-to-get-to places. I was able to do that and pleased with our itinerary. Bike was awesome and made me want to change my bike at home. I had non- electric.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Suzanne B. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The incredible scenery and the wonderful people. We met some incredible new friends on the trip.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sheri S. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My most memorable part of the trip was traveling with friends who have different cycling abilities. There was a something for everyone. The staff was helpful and very professional.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Gayle D. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Simple the thrill of cycling through Europe along the Danube River.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jeanne D. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The serene beauty of the country side of Germany, Austria and Hungry. Riding a bike through these wonderful countries was very special. The barge ride was very relaxing after a day of riding.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Laney B. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was beautiful and the accommodations were great. The riding was a pleasure start to finish. We loved it all and would do it again in a heartbeat!

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Ken S. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed the Abbey in Melk, Tulln Gardens and the short walk about tour in Bratislavia

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mary B. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip was sitting on the top deck in the evening, wrapped in a blanket, watching the clouds sail past the moon as the barge moved on to our next city on the Danube.
    Ensure you respond to the call to choose a table for meals on the barge if you wish to sit with or close to friends.
    Stay an extra night in Passau if you have the time...there is a lot to see and do.
    If possible, do some cycling before your trip to prepare you for the daily tours.
    If you would prefer to cycle with a guide let your agent know and they may be able to arrange it. It may be an option and worth an extra cost if it would make your trip more enjoyable.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Cheryle C. 11 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    Our bike tour guide was terrific. It was wonderful to not have to worry about missing sites. Riding in Vienna was made easy by 2 tour guides. Our group was like family by the end of the trip. The director of the boat made sure we made it to the opera night on time despite heavy traffic and extra security due to an important government meeting. Our rooms were immaculate. Our second trip with Tripsite and we plan on doing another next year!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jeanne D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The serene beauty of the country side of Germany, Austria and Hungry. Riding a bike through these wonderful countries was very special. The barge ride was very relaxing after a day of riding.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
    by Marisa C. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was awesome. The bike trails were excellent and we were so much in contact with nature that we couldn't believe it. Everything was very well organized and the villages and cities we visited were great. No complaints except for the Flamenco Hotel in Budapest, which was not as expected. We had to have our breakfast in the lobby sitting on a sofa because there weren't enough tables for all the guests. They didn't refill the breakfast buffet and no one took care of the spills on the tables. Besides the rooms were old and smelly.
    But it was just a hotel and we will definitely do more of these trips in the near future because it was a great adventure and a memorable experience! I really recommend Tripsite.

    Countries: Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Stephen G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The food on board the ship was amazing, and at a higher quality more expensive competitors. I would definitely consider Rad und Reisen again.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by William G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Carissima had nice cabins that had ample room. The staff were truly amazing with their customer service. The daily briefings provided us with most of the information that we needed for the ride and Albert was excellent at answering all questions for those of us that needed extra help. We only had a few issues with directions. The bikes were in great condition, shifted easily and not as heavy as I expected, we used regular bikes. The cycling paths were filled with beautiful scenery and easy cycling. Touring in Vienna was much easier than expected. It was unfortunate that the water level was too low to take the boat all the way to Budapest but Rad Reisen did their best to make sure that their customers had a good experience and provided a tour bus to transport the people to Budapest, providing them with a nice lunch of traditional Hungarian food. The food on the Carissima was very well planned, their chef was excellent in his food preparation. I personally would have preferred a lot Read more… more vegetables but overall was very happy with his meal planning. The dining room was a bit noisy with all the people chattering so this made it difficult to converse with some of the other people at our table. The waiters were outstanding in their hard work. We will definitely go on more of these trips as we enjoy being active on vacations. This trip was a wonderful experience and so enjoyable.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kathryn G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was the 4th of the boat bike trips we had done with Tripsite and I would say the best. Our guide Axel was amazing and being able to visit the many little villages along the Danube was wonderful. We had two rainy days right at the start but we all came prepared so was still great rides. Biking around Vienna was really incredible as there are many good bike paths however one had to watch carefully as there were also many tourists. Our visit to Budapest was also a major highlight. Our guide Axel walked with us up to Buda Hill to visit the Fisherman’s Bastion for the most amazing views of Pest at night. The Bastion was also a beautiful sight at night.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Richard S. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    Great experience overall, will do another trip soon!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by David F. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Breakfast good. Bagged lunches okay but not great and they only had sparkling water which I don't like and can't drink. No option to get still water without paying extra. Dinners good but not great. Only one meal very good. Most upset about not being able to drink the water from the room sink (which was announced over the PA system just before dinner after we had been onboard for a few hours)and then having to pay for still safe water for the cabin, breakfast, lunch and dinner.
    Bike barge nightly talk about the following day was always the second talk of the evening (made for later evenings or no room in the bar). Would have liked to share the first time slot for half of the evenings.
    Concierge staff outstanding and serving staff in the dinning room good.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
    by William G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a great trip. The bike trail, signage and printed guide was very good on the section from Passau to Vienna. If we were lost it was due to our own failure to read carefully. The section from Vienna to Budapest was not as clear. There was more road riding, confusing or absent signage, and detours due to construction projects. There were also several stretches where the ‘path’ was gravel/sand or old Roman road. We do not regret doing both legs, but learned that most people do only the first segment and we can understand why they make this choice. Luggage transfer was seamless and all of our hotels provided secure, inside bike parking. We also had great weather, which made the ride much easier.

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Deirdre S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fantastic experience...staff could not have been better....the food was unreal!....everyone of the staff went out of their way to help... even through a surprise birthday celebration for me.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Maria Tereza and Arturo 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip was much better than we expected. The service on the boat was one of the best we have experienced. The food was very good. The cabins confortable, very good shower. Good and very well adjusted bicycles. Precise information each day of biking. Scenery gorgeous. Completely safe even for children and older people. The cycling distances were appropriate for all. Very tasteful sandwiches for those who were biking. The cities we visited are amazing. Congratulations to the team working on Carissima.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Estela B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is a great tour, with wonderful cities to visit and scenic bike rides. The barge was perfect, great food and service. We enjoyed the evening music and dancing very much. A heat wave happened while we were there, so we had a great time on the sun deck
    I was not as happy with the bikes. I was in charge of a group of 25 and at least 6 of them had bike issues: brakes that worked only in the front or back, e-bikes that only assisted when pedaling at full throttle, and more. Even though we reported this, and we were told they would fix the bikes, in reality the bikes were not repaired by the next day, and it took time and effort to get them replaced. I expected more from Rad & Reisen, the bike company. Also there was very little instruction on how to use the e-bikes. My suggestion is to have a person at the dock on the first day to give a 10 minute one-on-one instruction on the e-bike and make the person do a little test ride. It was not as intuitive how to use them if you Read more… never have done it.
    Another issue that could have been better is a bigger, clearer map on how to get to the path from the barge location. That part is usually the hardest.
    All that said, it was still a nice, memorable trip.

    Boat: Carissima

PWPC