Slovakia Bike Tour Reviews 91 to 120 of 447

 

 Country: Slovakia • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Veronica M. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It's been a delight to bike around Europe

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Donna G. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Part: Interactions with passengers from around the world

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Michael H. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Part? The nice people on the boat

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lorne H. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Earlier this year (May), my wife and I did the 4 country bike - barge tour, on the Danube. First I have to remark that everything "Tripsite" advertised was delivered at what we thought to be a reasonable price. In spite of unusually cold (damp) weather, our first experience (s) in Passau, Bratislava, Budapest and Vienna were very memorable highlights. However, aboard the "Normandie" we did have some concerns with the overall tour management. There were some particularly disappointing moments with an apparent strategy to keep the English speaking guests, and non-english speaking guests (mostly German) separated? For our part, we were keen to mingle - assimilate with all the guests aboard. That should not reflect our overall impression of the boat crew, who were very courteous and helpful.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Patricia C. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Sailing down the Danube at night under the full moon we witnessed the beautiful lighted bridges and magnificent buildings of Vienna. It was magical!

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mark R. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable: guided bike tour of Vienna.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Tammy M. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Having great weather was a real bonus. It was awe inspiring to float into the many enormous locks and envisage what the areas must have been like before harnessing the mighty Danube. The never ending beauty of this part of the world and appreciating the pride in property that shows up at every turn and in every village, is what leaves the greatest memories.

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
    by Alana B. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    One of the most memorable parts of the trip were all of the absolutely gorgeous roses we saw growing everywhere! It was a fairly easy ride although wish more of the route had been along the Danube! In a couple of spots, the signage was poor or nonexistent so that was a little challenging but overall it was delightful!

    Countries: Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Donncha O. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best part: Cycling in dry weather; we got soaked one day

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by John W. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I completed the eight-day Danube Bike & Boat trip in June. Biking along the Danube through quaint villages and vineyards was a very special experience. Onboard our "floating hotel" we enjoyed the food, amenities, and camaraderie with like-minded and active people. If you are keen on an adventure, I highly recommend this one!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kathie W. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Along the Danube- Four Country Tour aboard the Carissima- very large group on board and biking so lots of waiting and wading through the crowd. Cabin was clean and comfortable even labeled as ‘eco’ cabin. Food was excellent however many courses and supper would take up to three hours- too long. Drink package was highly encouraged but not necessarily economical. All coffee/tea was at a cost except for a brief time in the morning. Our guide was adequate however seemed to rush the biking limiting conversation and countryside observations. The tour director Albert was indifferent and not clear on what to do related to a tour bus that didn’t show up. It took quite a bit of arguing on my part to feel justified with the outcome to balance up the ticket cost as this was not made clear earlier. Staff seemed overworked and had favorites. I would recommend the trip as the countryside is beautiful but choose another barge/ship. Run by Rad/Reissen.
    All reservations Read more… and coordination through Trip Site- excellent in communication, coordination and cost information.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Nicole G. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved the trip but would like to offer some feedback. First, the breakfast was not great. I would have liked more protein, certainly eggs every day, more cold meats, salad, and cheese, after all, this was also lunch. We all thought that water should have been complimentary at the evening meal - really surprised that we had to pay extra for water. I also thought the guide should have been more knowledgeable about each day's ride and what we should have taken time to see. Petra was really great and had a lot of duties but we were riding through some very interesting country and it would have been nice to have a more detailed lecture the night before on the important land marks. I would be happy to pay more for this trip if the guiding and food were better.

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Alex Zucosky 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a great experience. Andreas was a wonderful tour director/leader. 2 weeks aloud us to have a great experience. As this was the ship's first cruise of the year we did experience a problem with our room but Andreas resolved the problem promptly and provided some compensation for our troubles. The crew provided excellent service. The meals were better than expected( I am not a gourmet but enjoyed every meal). the bike routes were very interesting. Our only issue was with the a/c but as this was an older ship some things are not always up to modern standards. Great value.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jenny J. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved the whole experience but one favorite highlight was the Hungarian Folklore show and being selected to dance with the troupe! We made great friends with our tablemates and are planning to visit them next year in Canada. We have shared our experience with so many friends at home that they want to do the trip too. Truly an amazing experience! I would be remiss if I failed to mention the value of the entire experience for the price paid. Very affordable!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Anna bird 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply    

    May I ask how you found a local guide? How many days did you use a local guide? Thank you in advance for any help you can give me.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Johanne P. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It is difficult to choose the most memorable part of the trip since the staff, food, guide, routes, and activities were without parallel! The Amsterdam /Bruge trip we took several years ago was outstanding and my favorite of all the boat/barge trips we have taken.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Petra V. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The cycling and the amazing scenery. We opted for a local guide and Axel was amazing. We definitely would recommend this tour and already have.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Vera S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I love everything... the routes in beautiful places, food, the freedom sensation. I already scheduled another trip for next tear!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Frank V. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The bike ride every day the sites and beautiful churches

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Phyllis L. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip was biking along the Danube River and visiting the small towns. We met many nice people from all over the world.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Dean G. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    The entire trip was more than we had expected in most ways. The highlight was definitely the sights we saw and as we cycled along bike paths that were so well kept and safe. Time spent on the boat was enjoyable-the food was varied and tasty. The servers and dining staff were very attentive and helpful. We have shared our experience with many friends and highly recommend the Danube bike and boat trip to everyone we talk to.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Patty S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What I appreciated was the response from staff when things went wrong. Which happens! It is how it is handled that matters. You will have my participation in any future trips! 100% satisfied with your service!

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Ray B. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I completed a trip along the Danube. The riding was very easy, the scenery fascinating and the staff on the barge both friendly and helpful. We were very appreciative of the standard of food and professionalism of the staff. We organized this trip from Australia and found this to be a very easy process. We will definitely be looking to do more bike/barge trips in the future.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Dean P. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was our first bike/barge trip and it opened a whole world of adventure for us. We have introduced this form of travel to many friends.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Doug N. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The accommodation and the bikes were great and the trip was very affordable. Our server for the week was terrific.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Michael D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The route was well planned. The views were spectacular. Couldn’t have imagined a better place to have done this (Austria). We biked approximately 50 miles a day. It was exceptional.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Wilma C. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? The bike route and tour help from the staff

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Anna A. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? Cycling the afternoon around Vienna

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Brian K. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful trip with a nicely balanced pace to the days varied activities: tasty breakfast followed by several hours of scenic easy cycling; back to the Carissima for a little deck time, beverage or two; good food, good company at dinner; perhaps up to the lounge for some entertainment or nicely tired back to the cabin to sleep. What’s not to like?

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Walter Z. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Moment? Late afternoons on the sundeck after the bike ride. Watching the castles and quaint villages on the shore as the boat glided by. Perfect end to a great day.

    Boat: Carissima

PWPC