Slovakia Bike Tour Reviews 91 to 120 of 375

 

 Country: Slovakia • REMOVE

  • Denise G. 12 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    We had a mixed experience on this trip, having completed two other bike and barge trips on smaller boats (and smaller waterways). This is a wonderful region for riding - much of the route follows bike paths that parallel the river and provide gorgeous views of river towns. Unlike our other trips, participants ride on their own without a guide, and this worked well for us. Because the boat travels from Passau to Budapest and back again, there is quite a bit of travel time on the boat. At times, we enjoyed watching the scenery, but this also meant that our time on land was quite limited. Food was decent and several options were available at each meal. The dining room was noisy and it does take quite a bit of time to serve everyone, with the staff clearly working hard! During our tour, there were engine problems which resulted in a change in itinerary. The company struggled to manage this and identify reasonable options. In the end, they have promised us a partial refund, which Read more… seems quite fair. We would have preferred that this offer had come sooner in the process, without the numerous conversations that were needed to help the company understand the concerns of passengers.

    Boat: Arkona

  • Dan C. 12 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    Best part? The cycling along the Wachau valley

    Boat: Carissima

  • Lori C. 12 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    I adored the trip from start to finish. The scenery, the towns and cities and of course seeing everything by bike. I met wonderful people who share a love of travel and adventure. The only problem with the trip was the tour leader. He was condescending and rude to several guests. The rest of the staff was phenomenal. I would do this trip again tomorrow.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Gail W. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    Bike Boat 4 countries Germany, Austria, Slovakia and Hungary - most memorable part of the trip was experiencing the Danube River up close; boat was comfortable and so smooth sometimes I had to look out the window to see if we were moving

    Boat: Arkona

  • Wendy T. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? The beauty & grandeur of the Danube...and the ability to enjoy this while riding a bike!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Earl W. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    Best part of the trip was bicycling through the scenic Wachau wine region. The views of the Danube River and vineyards were magical. Views like you see in PBS commercials for Viking cruises. Bratislava was the most pleasant surprise. A beautiful city with an active cafe culture that is not as big and intimidating as Vienna.

    If you are unsure of your bicycling skills consider the hop-on hop-off tour option for Vienna instead of the bicycle tour. The crowds and heavy traffic make the bicycle tour slightly treacherous.

    The hardest bicycling day ironically was the first day with steep hills up to the Mauthausen concentration camp and the Clam Castle both of which were worth seeing. If you question whether you are in good enough physical condition for this trip rent the electric bikes, they make a huge difference.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Susan W. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    I would highly recommend this trip. The food was fantastic. The rooms were of a good size and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The cycle route were scenic and enjoyable. I would definitely do another.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Paul H. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    What an unforgettable trip! We were able to take our 75 year old dad and he cycled the whole thing easily. The touring days in the cities were full, overwhelming, and inspiring for someone who's never seen the rich history of Europe. Cruising down the river while eating a 4 course dinner was a perfect finish to cycling though forests and orchards all day. It was a perfect combination of cycling, cruising, relaxing and sight seeing. I would recommend it to anyone!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Paula H. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    This trip provides a chance to explore the rural areas along the Danube by bike and to visit the great cities of Budapest and Vienna. There is a lot packed into this trip.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Sherry D. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    This was a perfect way to spend a holiday. The food was AMAZING! The staff was personable, kind, and so very efficient with all they do. I was pleasantly surprised with all the paved bike paths and the number of cyclists out traveling on vacation. It was inspirational to interact with them along the way. Thank you, Normandie and staff. We had a fantastic time!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Sandi B. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    Cycling past the remnants of the Iron Curtain. WOW!
    There were so many highlights, but having Axel as our guide certainly added a great deal to our daily rides. Thanks Axel!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Ursula T. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    Biking along the Danube and in the evening sitting watching the sunset on the top deck. I would like more time on the bike, but happy we got to see so much!

    Boat: Arkona

  • Tracy F. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    The entire trip was wonderful! The food was great, accommodations were perfect and the scenery is spectacular.

    Boat: Arkona

  • Larry B. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    Biking along river was the greatest. Budapest and Bratislava wonderful. Time in Vienna too rushed. Strongly advise participants to take an extra day or two in Passau before the trip—a lovely small town.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Wendy 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    Mary,
    Thanks ever so much for all of the useful information you provided. We have booked next June and are quite excited. We love the bike and boat combination. It’s a great opportunity to have a nice mix of travel/touring and exercise. We did Brussels to Bruges last year and loved it. Mantova to Venice is booked for this fall.
    Again thanks much. Who knows. Maybe our paths will cross on some trip.

  • Mary R. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    Wendy - This tour was a little different than our first bike and barge which was on the Mosell in Germany. On that tour we rode bike trails almost exclusively and we were not traveling such a great distance on the river so our rides were quite leisurely with not having to really be back to the boat until dinner time. However, because of the long distance on the Danube to get to the Iron Gate and back, many of the ride had to be completed in a much shorter time frame so were more about the bike ride and less about the villages and towns in between. Two or three of the days were primarily on bike trails but the rest were either on the road or a couple times across dikes that were long and boring. However, overall, we enjoyed the experience, especially crossing into the various countries and the time in the capitals. There were only six of the 110 that were from the US so we really enjoyed the diversity of the 10 countries represented on the boat. As far as the weather, I would check the Read more… average temperatures for the area for both April and June. Our temps of 90 degrees F during the day were quite unusual for the area. The average temperatures in June were supposed to be comfortable in the low 70's during the day and low to middle 60's at night. I haven't checked April but it might be quite cool then and not sure about rain.

  • Dean Y. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    Great bike routes. Vast majority on nice bike paths.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Annette Horner 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    Hi, I hope this is the Marilyn (Roos) Kuntze I am looking for! I have tried to contact you for several years through the only email address I had for you. Obviously, it no longer works. Please contact me, I would love to reconnect with you! Annette (Caldwell) Horner

  • Donald V. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    The staff on the boat were wonderful. Very helpful, friendly and hard working. The food on the boat was excellent. They consistently turned out perfectly prepared delicious meals. The bicycles were in excellent condition and performed perfectly. I thoroughly enjoyed this trip.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Wendy 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    Did you just do the trip? I am seriously considering this trip with my husband. Would end of April or mid June be better? Those are the 2019 dates offered we are considering.
    Any other tips/advice or details you can add would be appreciated. Thanks

  • Mary R. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    The cruise through the iron gate was a highlight of this trip. Cruise director did a great job throughout the cruise. Weather was much warmer than average and many days of biking were at 90 degrees F on roads and trails with little cover or shade so were somewhat more difficult than anticipated. It was a great experience but people need to be aware that most of the riding in the Eastern European countries are on the side of roads sometimes without a bike lane and there was some traffic.

  • Janene M. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    Each day of the tour had its own special treat. A castle one day, a palace the next. The opera experience in Vienna was amazing. A day cycling through the vineyards with a relaxing place to sample wines. Crossing the river through the lock. The guide always explains in advance the best places to visit on the ride.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Mary Beth R. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    Scenery was gorgeous, food was superb. Accommodations good.
    If you took Albert out of the equation I would give much higher ratings. He was inadequate with trail details. His info was hard to follow on the maps. Someone described him as a Peacock. Very apt. The rest of the staff was very good although you need another person in the dining room. Way to many people for the amount of people serving.
    Don’t advertise that you have WiFi....you really don’t .....

    Boat: Carissima

  • Janet H. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful time with friends. The maps and route descriptions need to be more exact.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Saundra F. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery, along our bike route was like a dream! So spectacular! I felt I could bike forever! We did a video of all of us peddling through the lush trees! It could be a commercial for happinesses!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Glenn S. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The scenery and history while cycling though the Danube river valley.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Carol J. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    The daily biking was wonderful. Every day was a new adventure with many different points of interest each day. A good variety of biking and places to see. Our guide was excellent. He was personable, extremely informative and shared all his knowledge of the area where we travelled each day. Juergen (sp?), our guide, was always patient, personable, enthusiastic and a lot of fun. Meals, staff and entertainment on the ship was excellent.....our beds were made up every evening and linens and towels changed daily as well....excellent job!!....my friend and myself booked a bike and barge through Tripsite last year and recommended to 16 other friends who booked with us for this trip this year. I will definitely recommend to others again for next year..... not sure where yet....but will be checking into that in the fall. Fabulous trip!!

    Boat: Andela Lora

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Sandra Bersin 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    Terri, We toured on our own. We wanted the flexibility of stopping where we wanted, for as long as we wanted. We ran into a festival in Vienna, browsed the booths, watched traditional dancing, had a beer and shared a regional dish. We then visited the Naschmarkt where I was able to find the only store with a full selection of Zotter Chocolates. We also had time to enjoy a slice of Sacher Torte at the Sacher Cafe.
    In Budapest, we pedaled up to Buda Castle, the Royal Palace and stayed for the changing of the guards. It's like a little city up there! After the palace, we visited the Great Market. The guide discouraged guests from riding independently in Budapest because of bike thefts, but we brought an extra lock. It was a busy time and place, so we weren't worried.
    In Budapest, we also visited the Széchenyi Thermal Bath in the evening on our own. The guide/cruise director never mentioned them, but we follow the advise of travel journalist Rick Steves where Read more… ever we go in Europe and he never fails us! It pays to do your own homework before going. Have a great trip!

  • Terri 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    Sandra B...Did you take the guide package or tour on your own.

  • Sandra B. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    Biking through Budapest was most memorable! We were amazed at the fabulous bike paths through the city. The car traffic was courteous to bikers and honored the cross walks. Biking through Vienna was great, too. Not quite as well defined, but it was so different to have the freedom to explore the cities, visit sites and landmarks via bike, and much more efficient than walking.

    Boat: Carissima

PWPC