Slovakia Bike Tour Reviews 151 to 180 of 413

 

 Country: Slovakia • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mary Beth R. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Scenery was gorgeous, food was superb. Accommodations good.
    If you took Albert out of the equation I would give much higher ratings. He was inadequate with trail details. His info was hard to follow on the maps. Someone described him as a Peacock. Very apt. The rest of the staff was very good although you need another person in the dining room. Way to many people for the amount of people serving.
    Don’t advertise that you have WiFi....you really don’t .....

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Janet H. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful time with friends. The maps and route descriptions need to be more exact.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Saundra F. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    The scenery, along our bike route was like a dream! So spectacular! I felt I could bike forever! We did a video of all of us peddling through the lush trees! It could be a commercial for happinesses!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Glenn S. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The scenery and history while cycling though the Danube river valley.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Carol J. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    The daily biking was wonderful. Every day was a new adventure with many different points of interest each day. A good variety of biking and places to see. Our guide was excellent. He was personable, extremely informative and shared all his knowledge of the area where we travelled each day. Juergen (sp?), our guide, was always patient, personable, enthusiastic and a lot of fun. Meals, staff and entertainment on the ship was excellent.....our beds were made up every evening and linens and towels changed daily as well....excellent job!!....my friend and myself booked a bike and barge through Tripsite last year and recommended to 16 other friends who booked with us for this trip this year. I will definitely recommend to others again for next year..... not sure where yet....but will be checking into that in the fall. Fabulous trip!!

    Boat: Andela Lora

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sandra Bersin 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply    

    Terri, We toured on our own. We wanted the flexibility of stopping where we wanted, for as long as we wanted. We ran into a festival in Vienna, browsed the booths, watched traditional dancing, had a beer and shared a regional dish. We then visited the Naschmarkt where I was able to find the only store with a full selection of Zotter Chocolates. We also had time to enjoy a slice of Sacher Torte at the Sacher Cafe.
    In Budapest, we pedaled up to Buda Castle, the Royal Palace and stayed for the changing of the guards. It's like a little city up there! After the palace, we visited the Great Market. The guide discouraged guests from riding independently in Budapest because of bike thefts, but we brought an extra lock. It was a busy time and place, so we weren't worried.
    In Budapest, we also visited the Széchenyi Thermal Bath in the evening on our own. The guide/cruise director never mentioned them, but we follow the advise of travel journalist Rick Steves where Read more… ever we go in Europe and he never fails us! It pays to do your own homework before going. Have a great trip!

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Terri 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply    

    Sandra B...Did you take the guide package or tour on your own.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sandra B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking through Budapest was most memorable! We were amazed at the fabulous bike paths through the city. The car traffic was courteous to bikers and honored the cross walks. Biking through Vienna was great, too. Not quite as well defined, but it was so different to have the freedom to explore the cities, visit sites and landmarks via bike, and much more efficient than walking.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Thomas A. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was beyond our expectations. We have taken other bike and boat tours and this was superior to the others. The food on board the boat was wonderful. The cities visited were beautiful and interesting. We took the guided bike tour and the guide, Jurgen Gehrke, was wonderful. I would encourage anyone interested in a bike and boat trip to seriously look into this trip.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Avace W. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Having a guide who provided all the extra touches for touring for our perfect sized group of 10. Dinners on the boat were very dragged out with no opportunity to change tables and meet other guests. Food was beautifully presented, but the petite portions left me starving after a day of biking. I made sure to stock up on a big breakfast. Director made a big deal of tipping whereas this could have been explained ahead of time, so more time could have been spent on what to see in the quaint, darling villages. More info on what to see along the way would have enhanced the adventure. We did a lot of homework ahead of time on what to look for in each village and that helped us to appreciate the history and stories. Highly recommend a guide, but keep groups small for safety and management purposes.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Barbara C. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our private guide, Axel, was excellent. I strongly recommend a guide because it took away all of the worry about maps, directions and getting lost. He was also very knowledgeable about the history and geography of the areas we visited. I would definitely do another bike tour with Axel.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lou Ann C. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was amazing and fortunately, the weather cooperated and made it even more perfect. My only “suggestion” (not complaint) was that coffee was not available in the rooms. Being an early riser, a lot of us “seniors” prefer to have our coffee in the room while getting ready for breakfast! :).

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Beverly B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable part: Being on the water at night and looking out our bedroom window to see the Budapest Parliament bathed in a golden glow against the clear night sky.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Terrence Zito 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    We had a great time along the Danube river! The cycling was very good and the bikes adequate. The crew of the Theodor Korner were especially nice and competent. The tour guide was really on his game! Unfortunately, the boat itself needs a thorough rehab- our stateroom had an odd odor and was extremely noisy due to mid-ship engines. If we decide to do the Danube tour again we will choose a different boat!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Passau - Vienna - Budapest aboard the Primadonna
    by Carla from Tripsite 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

    Hi York,
    Thanks so much for your feedback! We have good news.... the route guides & maps are currently being updated for the 2018 season. We hope to avoid any confusion in the upcoming tours.
    Unfortunately the guide on board was a replacement and not as knowledgable as our usual guides. On rare occasions there is sickness or other factors that prevent our normal guides from being on board.
    So glad to hear you still had a great tour!
    Sincerely,
    Carla

  • Along the Danube - Passau - Vienna - Budapest aboard the Primadonna
    by Jehiel from Tripsite 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

    Hi Susan,
    I wanted to apologize that a portion of the Wachau Valley had to be eliminated from the itinerary. This was because of the low tides and the impossibility of docking at this location.
    For 2018 we solved this problem. Only habours running the whole year will be part of the itinerary.
    Glad you still had a time!

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Judith B. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Bike and Barge- along the Danube to 3 countries- was wonderful. The weather ended up being perfect, though it was October, and that made it all even better! Scenery was super! Bikes- well maintained and easy to ride. Lots of great encounters with staff on board; only problem was an accident with the ship on the last day. I am sure it will not happen again!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Michael K. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip exceeded my expectations. The beautiful country side along the Danube River, the locks and dams, the wine county of Austria and Budapest were the highlights.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Frank M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The daily briefing on what to see and do really helped to get the most out of the bike and barge tour.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Isabel V. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The way the staff looked after us concerning our gluten and lactose free meals. No effort were to big for them!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Charles H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wachau valley was my favorite part...small towns, great shops and wine.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kathy S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved our trip on the Danube! From the first day to the last, we enjoyed the food, scenery and new friends. Would definitely recommend.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sylvia G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything was well organized and the staff very friendly and helpful. We loved the whole trip . The countryside was beautiful.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Linda B. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Getting to explore so many intriguing places along the Danube was an awesome experience. The varying landscapes - farmland, vineyards, orchards, and enchanting villages - was very memorable. The route was a fairly easy ride, but I would stress to future riders to make sure that they do a fair amount of cycling before they embark on this adventure.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Heidi S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? The excitement of the biking along with the relaxation of being on the boat and our awesome room and room tenant (Rory?) and of course the food!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Edie D. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip was riding through the small villages and seeing how people really live throughout the country. The shops they buy in, how they farm, the type of housing, some of their recreation. I also loved riding through trees and pathways and having the various scents surround me - it made me feel very close and intimate with the experience.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Don B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Trip of a life time! Can’t wait to do another trip.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Leslie M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of our trip were the friendships we made! The boat, Carissima, was outstanding, the scenery was amazing and the ride was very enjoyable. Most of the staff were exceptional and the food was adequate on board. We are definitely planning another bike trip in the future with Tripsite!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sherri C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking is my most memorable experience. Boat and bike trips are beautiful scenic, historical and cultures. Definitely want to do other trip thru Tripsite.

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Lorna T. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The convenience and friendliness of the atmosphere on the boat, the helpfulness of the staff and the beauty of the of the scenery. All in all it was a wonderful experience.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

PWPC