Slovakia Bike Tour Reviews 181 to 210 of 452

 

 Country: Slovakia • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Larry B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking along river was the greatest. Budapest and Bratislava wonderful. Time in Vienna too rushed. Strongly advise participants to take an extra day or two in Passau before the trip—a lovely small town.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Dean Y. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great bike routes. Vast majority on nice bike paths.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Donald V. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The staff on the boat were wonderful. Very helpful, friendly and hard working. The food on the boat was excellent. They consistently turned out perfectly prepared delicious meals. The bicycles were in excellent condition and performed perfectly. I thoroughly enjoyed this trip.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Mary R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The cruise through the iron gate was a highlight of this trip. Cruise director did a great job throughout the cruise. Weather was much warmer than average and many days of biking were at 90 degrees F on roads and trails with little cover or shade so were somewhat more difficult than anticipated. It was a great experience but people need to be aware that most of the riding in the Eastern European countries are on the side of roads sometimes without a bike lane and there was some traffic.

    • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
      by Wendy 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

      Did you just do the trip? I am seriously considering this trip with my husband. Would end of April or mid June be better? Those are the 2019 dates offered we are considering.
      Any other tips/advice or details you can add would be appreciated. Thanks

      • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
        by Mary R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

        Wendy - This tour was a little different than our first bike and barge which was on the Mosell in Germany. On that tour we rode bike trails almost exclusively and we were not traveling such a great distance on the river so our rides were quite leisurely with not having to really be back to the boat until dinner time. However, because of the long distance on the Danube to get to the Iron Gate and back, many of the ride had to be completed in a much shorter time frame so were more about the bike ride and less about the villages and towns in between. Two or three of the days were primarily on bike trails but the rest were either on the road or a couple times across dikes that were long and boring. However, overall, we enjoyed the experience, especially crossing into the various countries and the time in the capitals. There were only six of the 110 that were from the US so we really enjoyed the diversity of the 10 countries represented on the boat. As far as the weather, I would check the Read more… average temperatures for the area for both April and June. Our temps of 90 degrees F during the day were quite unusual for the area. The average temperatures in June were supposed to be comfortable in the low 70's during the day and low to middle 60's at night. I haven't checked April but it might be quite cool then and not sure about rain.

        • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
          by Wendy 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

          Mary,
          Thanks ever so much for all of the useful information you provided. We have booked next June and are quite excited. We love the bike and boat combination. It’s a great opportunity to have a nice mix of travel/touring and exercise. We did Brussels to Bruges last year and loved it. Mantova to Venice is booked for this fall.
          Again thanks much. Who knows. Maybe our paths will cross on some trip.

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Janene M. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Each day of the tour had its own special treat. A castle one day, a palace the next. The opera experience in Vienna was amazing. A day cycling through the vineyards with a relaxing place to sample wines. Crossing the river through the lock. The guide always explains in advance the best places to visit on the ride.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mary Beth R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Scenery was gorgeous, food was superb. Accommodations good.
    If you took Albert out of the equation I would give much higher ratings. He was inadequate with trail details. His info was hard to follow on the maps. Someone described him as a Peacock. Very apt. The rest of the staff was very good although you need another person in the dining room. Way to many people for the amount of people serving.
    Don’t advertise that you have WiFi....you really don’t .....

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Janet H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful time with friends. The maps and route descriptions need to be more exact.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Saundra F. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The scenery, along our bike route was like a dream! So spectacular! I felt I could bike forever! We did a video of all of us peddling through the lush trees! It could be a commercial for happinesses!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Glenn S. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The scenery and history while cycling though the Danube river valley.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Carol J. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The daily biking was wonderful. Every day was a new adventure with many different points of interest each day. A good variety of biking and places to see. Our guide was excellent. He was personable, extremely informative and shared all his knowledge of the area where we travelled each day. Juergen (sp?), our guide, was always patient, personable, enthusiastic and a lot of fun. Meals, staff and entertainment on the ship was excellent.....our beds were made up every evening and linens and towels changed daily as well....excellent job!!....my friend and myself booked a bike and barge through Tripsite last year and recommended to 16 other friends who booked with us for this trip this year. I will definitely recommend to others again for next year..... not sure where yet....but will be checking into that in the fall. Fabulous trip!!

    Boat: Andela Lora

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sandra B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking through Budapest was most memorable! We were amazed at the fabulous bike paths through the city. The car traffic was courteous to bikers and honored the cross walks. Biking through Vienna was great, too. Not quite as well defined, but it was so different to have the freedom to explore the cities, visit sites and landmarks via bike, and much more efficient than walking.

    Boat: Carissima

    • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
      by Terri 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

      Sandra B...Did you take the guide package or tour on your own.

      • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
        by Sandra Bersin 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

        Terri, We toured on our own. We wanted the flexibility of stopping where we wanted, for as long as we wanted. We ran into a festival in Vienna, browsed the booths, watched traditional dancing, had a beer and shared a regional dish. We then visited the Naschmarkt where I was able to find the only store with a full selection of Zotter Chocolates. We also had time to enjoy a slice of Sacher Torte at the Sacher Cafe.
        In Budapest, we pedaled up to Buda Castle, the Royal Palace and stayed for the changing of the guards. It's like a little city up there! After the palace, we visited the Great Market. The guide discouraged guests from riding independently in Budapest because of bike thefts, but we brought an extra lock. It was a busy time and place, so we weren't worried.
        In Budapest, we also visited the Széchenyi Thermal Bath in the evening on our own. The guide/cruise director never mentioned them, but we follow the advise of travel journalist Rick Steves where Read more… ever we go in Europe and he never fails us! It pays to do your own homework before going. Have a great trip!

        • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
          by Winifred 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

          Hello Sandra - your review is very helpful. Our family of 5 (3 adults and 2 teenagers) are planning to take this tour on the Carrissima in 2019. We hope to be able to do the self guided tour for flexibility and to save some $. (1) Did you have difficulty finding the route/signs etc? (2) Would we need to be able to speak local language to ask for direction? (3) Have you kept your travel notes and would you be willing to share them? Thanks much in advance!

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Thomas A. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was beyond our expectations. We have taken other bike and boat tours and this was superior to the others. The food on board the boat was wonderful. The cities visited were beautiful and interesting. We took the guided bike tour and the guide, Jurgen Gehrke, was wonderful. I would encourage anyone interested in a bike and boat trip to seriously look into this trip.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Avace W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Having a guide who provided all the extra touches for touring for our perfect sized group of 10. Dinners on the boat were very dragged out with no opportunity to change tables and meet other guests. Food was beautifully presented, but the petite portions left me starving after a day of biking. I made sure to stock up on a big breakfast. Director made a big deal of tipping whereas this could have been explained ahead of time, so more time could have been spent on what to see in the quaint, darling villages. More info on what to see along the way would have enhanced the adventure. We did a lot of homework ahead of time on what to look for in each village and that helped us to appreciate the history and stories. Highly recommend a guide, but keep groups small for safety and management purposes.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Barbara C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our private guide, Axel, was excellent. I strongly recommend a guide because it took away all of the worry about maps, directions and getting lost. He was also very knowledgeable about the history and geography of the areas we visited. I would definitely do another bike tour with Axel.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lou Ann C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was amazing and fortunately, the weather cooperated and made it even more perfect. My only “suggestion” (not complaint) was that coffee was not available in the rooms. Being an early riser, a lot of us “seniors” prefer to have our coffee in the room while getting ready for breakfast! :).

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Beverly B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable part: Being on the water at night and looking out our bedroom window to see the Budapest Parliament bathed in a golden glow against the clear night sky.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Terrence Zito 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    We had a great time along the Danube river! The cycling was very good and the bikes adequate. The crew of the Theodor Korner were especially nice and competent. The tour guide was really on his game! Unfortunately, the boat itself needs a thorough rehab- our stateroom had an odd odor and was extremely noisy due to mid-ship engines. If we decide to do the Danube tour again we will choose a different boat!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Judith B. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Bike and Barge- along the Danube to 3 countries- was wonderful. The weather ended up being perfect, though it was October, and that made it all even better! Scenery was super! Bikes- well maintained and easy to ride. Lots of great encounters with staff on board; only problem was an accident with the ship on the last day. I am sure it will not happen again!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Michael K. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip exceeded my expectations. The beautiful country side along the Danube River, the locks and dams, the wine county of Austria and Budapest were the highlights.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Frank M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The daily briefing on what to see and do really helped to get the most out of the bike and barge tour.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Isabel V. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The way the staff looked after us concerning our gluten and lactose free meals. No effort were to big for them!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Charles H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wachau valley was my favorite part...small towns, great shops and wine.

    Boat: Normandie

PWPC