Tulip Tour - 7 day Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 31

4.9 out of 5

 


Kendall P.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Trying to identify the most memorable part of my trip Is really quite difficult. Initially, I thought seeing the tulips in Kuekenhof was the best. The colors were so vibrant that it was like a sensory overload. Thankfully, there are some things you can't un-see. However, bicycle riding for a week through bucolic settings, windmills, and picturesque Dutch cities was also most memorable. Finally, the time I spent on the Merlijn can't really be relegated to second place. The ship was lovely and clean. The captain and crew were warm and hospitable. The meals were expertly prepared and presented. Ultimately, the time I shared with the other 20 passengers was unforgettable. Yes, I have failed dismally to single out a single most memorable part of a fantastic trip.

Maureen B.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

There were many memorable parts including the wonderful people on the boat, the boat crew, the comfort of the boat, fabulous food and of course the beautiful scenery we biked through. The tulip fields were spectacular! Our tour guide was a gem! My only complaint was not having enough time in each port but our cruise was only 7 days and if you take a longer tour there is more for relaxation.

Louise W.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

It was so smooth. The small size of the group, the fact that the owners of the barge live on board and their love for the vessel is shown on every part. This barge is loved and the people running it and working on it care about what they do and have welcomed you into their home as guests (an over-used word in the hospitality industry but accurate in this case). The Merlijn is comfortable and lovely. The meals were hearty and good. The bikes were in great shape and Thomas, who lead our tour, was engaging and very knowledgeable (and patient with the less keen cyclists and fanatics alike). He knows his way around the paths and he is very knowledgeable about the Netherlands and every town, village and city we stopped in. He adjusted the route when needed and even made excellent suggestions for after the tour. The beauty of the Netherlands and the Tulips is documented in millions of photos and paintings but to actually cycle through it, day after day revealing something new and seeing the beauty of each new town and field was marvellous.

Coral C.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

There were two main memorable parts of this trip. First, the Dutch countryside and cycling infrastructure are amazing. We were fortunate to have clear weather and lovely, cool riding temperatures for our trip through the Green Heart of the country. The route planning was excellent, giving us opportunities to see farmland, cities, beautiful small communities, polders, and of course, picturesque windmills. Second, the Merlijn is a memorable ship: beautiful, comfortable, hospitable, and first class, no one could ask for a better barge/cruise experience.

Joyce F.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We had a wonderful trip. No down time to relax but this trip was about biking and seeing the sights. The trip is rated easy and I am a healthy 65 year old woman and in pretty decent shape and the rides challenged me every day. The guide was incredible and so was the boat and staff.

Maureen M.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Our trip was fantastic!
Our guide Hugo was the highlight of the trip!!
The food was excellent ..
The drinks were reasonable priced..
The crew was so nice!!
Can’t say enough great things about our trip!!

Cindy B.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The crew members were outstanding hosts. They never got tired of answering questions or making suggestions to make it a great week....even though the weather was awful. Cold/ windy/dreary. I missed a couple of days on the bike and the cruising part of the trip was wonderful.

Nancy L.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The boat, the crew, the guide, were all fabulous. Traveling alone, I never felt alone. It was the perfect way to see the country, learning the tulip trade, about the culture and cycling in all kinds of weather made this a very memorable trip. I must say, there was more than one experience as a florist I enjoyed the flowers and learning about their farms, the windmills and how they irrigate the canals, and the windmill keeper who gave us an extensive tour of his windmill and how it operates.

Janice S.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

I would recommend this trip for people of all ages. The staff on the Merlijn was wonderful. As were the scenery, biking, and the people of the Netherlands. Be aware that the weather fluctuates in the spring and come prepared. All of the water ways cause it to be windy as well. But it is well worth it!

Todd O.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Best part: Biking through the Dutch countryside and being exposed to the Dutch people and their wonderful culture, history, and way of life.

James D.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Merlijn and her crew were outstanding hosts for our Tulip Tour. Our guide, Ilsa, was knowledgeable and full of energy and interesting information everywhere we toured.

Lynda A.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Wonderful guide and the owners of the barge were a delight

Michael S.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Our guide and crew were the best! "The Merlijn Rocks!" Our group was so compatible...It was like traveling with family. The scenery and experiences were so beautiful and to be one with your natural surroundings while on a bike was an added bonus!

Lynda A.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most Memorable Part? Cycling in the warm spring weather seeing the fields of spring bulbs in bloom with windmills almost always in view.

Eileen S.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Exceeded my expectations. Best value for great experience.

Mary A.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Our boat, the Merlijn, and its crew were fabulous! A huge thank you to Jantien and Henk for an amazing weeklong experience! This is the way to see The Netherlands! We rode bikes from one port to another, exploring the countryside, meeting local families, enjoying the beautiful fields of tulips, daffodils and hyacinths, purples, reds, yellows flowing across the land. Our hosts fed us 3 wonderful meals a day, and gave us opportunities to explore each city in the evenings with our knowledgeable and dedicated guide, Ferry. We stayed a few extra days to learn all about Amsterdam as well, which was definitely worth it. So much to see and learn about. Tripsite did a great job of organizing this trip, from efficient email contacts, timely billing reminders, and tips for preparing for a unique trip such as a Bike and Barge in Amsterdam. Absolutely we recommend Tripsite, and the Merlijn in particular!

Carla Puntel
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We did the Tour of Tulips of last day 8 April 2017. Our group was of 9 brazilians and the compliments were unanimous. The boat is amazing, very cozy and comfortable, the food delicious and the wonderful staff. Our guide, Lia, was extremely professional, attentive and available. The bike tour was really indescribable. We’ve been through wonderful places and we could learn a bit from Netherlands and its charms.
I would like to especially thank Jantien and all the care and attention with which she dedicated to me, when I hurt my ankle.
Thank you for everything Jantien! We hope to see you soon in another bike tour. Big hug !

N. Tucker
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We had a blast on this trip! My first Bike and Barge through Tripsite. Our captains, Hank and Yantine, made us feel like part of the family. The boat was very clean and we loved the table designs at each sitting! Our guide, Francine, made us feel very welcome and really went out of her way to provide us friendly travel tips as we continued on our journey! Thanks for such an awesome time!

J. Geall
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We had a super time. My only suggestion is have a snack for post bike ride and pre dinner. We arrived starving so that would be great. Otherwise this was just an amazing way to see Europe.

T. & C. Tucker
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We had a total of six people who we traveled with. All had a positive option of he barge and the bikes. The owners, Hank and his wife gone over the top to make sure everyone had a good time and responded to any issues or problems. Our bike tour guide was outstanding and explained many of the sites. Great value.

J. Ruetz
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The only comment I have is "I want to do another bike and barge trip."

C. Wells
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I had a wonderful time and will recommending the trip to others!

Marilyn Mendelson
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Ode From An Enthusiastic Tripsite User

I had never worked with Tripsite before.
Their competent planning received a high score.
All details were covered, everything was first rate.
They delivered what they promised, now isn't THAT great?!!
I'll remember this fab trip my whole life through.
Listen up, fellow travelers, Tripsite's for you.

Melinda Johnson
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I have booked a couple trips through tripsite.com and frequently recommend them to my friends. What separates Tripsite from the pack is their service, value and expertise. I am looking forward to working with them on my next adventure!

Debby Repensky
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Loved the trip!!

Liz and Bill Chudoba
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Highly recommend Trip Site for our bicycling vacations. We, family and friends booked the Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Amsterdam. Had a fantastic time again on the MERLIJN. Knew one week was not enough, after our 1st tour in 2011 in Germany, we had to book the following week also - Amsterdam to Brugge. The highlight of course were all the flowers in the Keukenhof. This is a must see for all flower lovers. Trip Site employees in PA were very easy to work with and will book all our tours for us. In fact we will return to the MERLIJN on September 27 to October 4th 2014 for wine country.

Susan Cumming
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This is a great way to travel in Europe. The flowers were beautiful at Keukenhof and the Merlijn provides wonderful accommodations! This was our second trip through Tripsite and we are going again.

CONSUELO PAGANI VIEIRA MACHADO
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amei o passeio!! Tudo foi maravilhoso, desde a recepção calorosa na chegada, o barco todo decorado de flores e tulipas, aconchegante, a turma que fez o passeio conosco, os jantares maravilhosos feitos pela chef de cozinha simpatissíssima (que é dona do barco), o guia Sietsen que é super 10, as paisagens maravilhosas que apreciávamos nas pedaladas - plantações de tulipas de todas as cores, cisnes nadando próximos de nós, patinhos e aves coloridas, almoço em frente aos moinhos, as lindas vilazinhas e as cidades bucólicas do interior da Holanda, tudo muito lindo, e mto bem organizado. À noite, ainda tinha a roda de viola que o colega Eric tocava divinamente! E todos nós cantando juntos! A turma toda calorosa, que parecia que nos conhecíamos há anos... só deu vontade de voltar. Ano que vem, quero fazer outro roteiro e já estou convidando as pessoas no Brasil. VALE A Read More

Sharon Brunhuber
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

A group of us will be doing the Tulip Tour on the Merlijn. A couple of years ago we toured Germany on Merlijn. It was a top notch experience and we are looking forward to this years trip.

Rick Teitell
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This was a fabulous tour (April 2012). The boat was spacious and clean, with very good food & amenities. The bikes provided were in excellent condition. The hosts & staff were friendly & accommodating. The daily bike trips were interesting & well organized- too many highlights to describe. A great way to see many parts of Holland, especially if you combine the bike tour with several days before and/or after in Amsterdam. The staff at Tripsite provided all necessary information.