Tulip Tour - 7 day Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 41

Bikes over the canal bridge in Amsterdam, North Holland, the Netherlands. Photo via Flickr:vgm8383 52.370352, 4.88456

Tulip Tour - 7 day

7 days from €1995

4.9 out of 5

Tulip Tour - 7 day

Easy Bike + Boat Tour in Netherlands

The tulip has come to be a respected and treasured symbol in Holland, and this seven-day bike and boat tour lets you experience them in all of their glory! The flower exhibition in Keukenhof will…

4.9 out of 5

 


Laura P.
20 hours ago

Verified Reviewer

Seeing the Netherlands up close from the bike was fantastic. Our guide was very knowledgeable and personable.

Darlene G.
22 hours ago

Verified Reviewer

Biking under the excellent leadership of Tammy. The equipment was excellent. The pace of the trip perfect for retirement aged people

Mark P.
23 hours ago

Verified Reviewer

Barge and crew were great. Plentiful and tasty food. Our guide was superior

Deborah T.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The bike rides and the food.

Debby R.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The scenery was beautiful! The people that we biked with were great companions for the week!

Janis M
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

What a fantastic trip! From start to finish, this was a top-notch experience in all areas making it a great value, as well. The Merlijn is a beautiful boat and just the right size. Plenty of room to enjoy my time when not biking, whether visiting with other passengers or reading a book on my own. The rooms were spacious enough and comfortable with everything I needed. The Captain and Crew are professional, knowledgeable, and extremely nice and accommodating. All our meals were deliciously prepared by Christina. From a buffet breakfast and hand packed lunch to a 5-star dinner every night. Not only was every meal delicious as well as beautifully served, but accommodations were also made for each person whether it was gluten-free, vegetarian or if you just don’t like goat cheese! The bike rides were well planned and expertly guided by Tammy. We learned the rules of the road and felt safe at every turn. We kept a comfortable pace allowing us to take in the scenery. Be Read More

Kay S.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Fabulous guide, beautiful bike rides, wonderful food on the boat, great boat crew, fun group of travelers....overall it was a fantastic experience!

Bill N.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

My immediate response would be the expert cycling guide (Tamara), who insured we were 1) safe and knew the cycling etiquette in the Netherlands, 2) took the time to stop and educate us at special points of interest and 3) invited any passengers to accompany her on after dinner walks through the towns the barge overnighted at. Equally memorable were the gourmet meals prepared by Christina and her team. Each night she would announce dinner at 6:30 pm sharp and begin her detailed yet brief explanation of what we were about to savour that evening.

Lynne K.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

This was my first barge trip. Everyone on the trip who had been on other barges informed me that I had started at the top! The crew was amazing and provide first class service. The chef is the captain's wife and cooked us 5 star meals. The lunch she packed for the bike trips was wonderful each day. She accommodated the gluten-free passengers. Our tour guide, Tamy was knowledgeable and friendly. I learned so much about the cities where we docked and the countryside where we rode. This was my first bike trip and the description was accurate. The ride was flat and easy which made looking around at everything pleasurable. I loved that there were only 24 passengers on the boat. I got to know them all and enjoy their company at meals and during the rides. Since this was the first tulip tour of the season, the tulips were not yet blooming in the fields. However, there were many other flowers blooming to see on our ride. We saw many many tulips and other flowers at the Keukenhof where we spent several hours. I am looking forward to traveling on the Merlijn again in the future!

Sandra H.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Was the wonderful guide and the beautiful scenery we encountered every day. Peaceful countryside.The boat was top notch and the hosts went out of their way to make things nice . Food was well presented with lovely courses. I would recommend this tour to others.

Kendall P.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Trying to identify the most memorable part of my trip Is really quite difficult. Initially, I thought seeing the tulips in Kuekenhof was the best. The colors were so vibrant that it was like a sensory overload. Thankfully, there are some things you can't un-see. However, bicycle riding for a week through bucolic settings, windmills, and picturesque Dutch cities was also most memorable. Finally, the time I spent on the Merlijn can't really be relegated to second place. The ship was lovely and clean. The captain and crew were warm and hospitable. The meals were expertly prepared and presented. Ultimately, the time I shared with the other 20 passengers was unforgettable. Yes, I have failed dismally to single out a single most memorable part of a fantastic trip.

Maureen B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

There were many memorable parts including the wonderful people on the boat, the boat crew, the comfort of the boat, fabulous food and of course the beautiful scenery we biked through. The tulip fields were spectacular! Our tour guide was a gem! My only complaint was not having enough time in each port but our cruise was only 7 days and if you take a longer tour there is more for relaxation.

Louise W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

It was so smooth. The small size of the group, the fact that the owners of the barge live on board and their love for the vessel is shown on every part. This barge is loved and the people running it and working on it care about what they do and have welcomed you into their home as guests (an over-used word in the hospitality industry but accurate in this case). The Merlijn is comfortable and lovely. The meals were hearty and good. The bikes were in great shape and Thomas, who lead our tour, was engaging and very knowledgeable (and patient with the less keen cyclists and fanatics alike). He knows his way around the paths and he is very knowledgeable about the Netherlands and every town, village and city we stopped in. He adjusted the route when needed and even made excellent suggestions for after the tour. The beauty of the Netherlands and the Tulips is documented in millions of photos and paintings but to actually cycle through it, day after day revealing something new and seeing the beauty of each new town and field was marvellous.

Coral C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

There were two main memorable parts of this trip. First, the Dutch countryside and cycling infrastructure are amazing. We were fortunate to have clear weather and lovely, cool riding temperatures for our trip through the Green Heart of the country. The route planning was excellent, giving us opportunities to see farmland, cities, beautiful small communities, polders, and of course, picturesque windmills. Second, the Merlijn is a memorable ship: beautiful, comfortable, hospitable, and first class, no one could ask for a better barge/cruise experience.

Joyce F.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We had a wonderful trip. No down time to relax but this trip was about biking and seeing the sights. The trip is rated easy and I am a healthy 65 year old woman and in pretty decent shape and the rides challenged me every day. The guide was incredible and so was the boat and staff.

Maureen M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Our trip was fantastic!
Our guide Hugo was the highlight of the trip!!
The food was excellent ..
The drinks were reasonable priced..
The crew was so nice!!
Can’t say enough great things about our trip!!

Cindy B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The crew members were outstanding hosts. They never got tired of answering questions or making suggestions to make it a great week....even though the weather was awful. Cold/ windy/dreary. I missed a couple of days on the bike and the cruising part of the trip was wonderful.

Nancy L.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The boat, the crew, the guide, were all fabulous. Traveling alone, I never felt alone. It was the perfect way to see the country, learning the tulip trade, about the culture and cycling in all kinds of weather made this a very memorable trip. I must say, there was more than one experience as a florist I enjoyed the flowers and learning about their farms, the windmills and how they irrigate the canals, and the windmill keeper who gave us an extensive tour of his windmill and how it operates.

Janice S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I would recommend this trip for people of all ages. The staff on the Merlijn was wonderful. As were the scenery, biking, and the people of the Netherlands. Be aware that the weather fluctuates in the spring and come prepared. All of the water ways cause it to be windy as well. But it is well worth it!

Todd O.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Best part: Biking through the Dutch countryside and being exposed to the Dutch people and their wonderful culture, history, and way of life.

James D.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Merlijn and her crew were outstanding hosts for our Tulip Tour. Our guide, Ilsa, was knowledgeable and full of energy and interesting information everywhere we toured.

Lynda A.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Wonderful guide and the owners of the barge were a delight

Michael S.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Our guide and crew were the best! "The Merlijn Rocks!" Our group was so compatible...It was like traveling with family. The scenery and experiences were so beautiful and to be one with your natural surroundings while on a bike was an added bonus!

Lynda A.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most Memorable Part? Cycling in the warm spring weather seeing the fields of spring bulbs in bloom with windmills almost always in view.

Eileen S.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Exceeded my expectations. Best value for great experience.

Mary A.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Our boat, the Merlijn, and its crew were fabulous! A huge thank you to Jantien and Henk for an amazing weeklong experience! This is the way to see The Netherlands! We rode bikes from one port to another, exploring the countryside, meeting local families, enjoying the beautiful fields of tulips, daffodils and hyacinths, purples, reds, yellows flowing across the land. Our hosts fed us 3 wonderful meals a day, and gave us opportunities to explore each city in the evenings with our knowledgeable and dedicated guide, Ferry. We stayed a few extra days to learn all about Amsterdam as well, which was definitely worth it. So much to see and learn about. Tripsite did a great job of organizing this trip, from efficient email contacts, timely billing reminders, and tips for preparing for a unique trip such as a Bike and Barge in Amsterdam. Absolutely we recommend Tripsite, and the Merlijn in particular!

Carla Puntel
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We did the Tour of Tulips of last day 8 April 2017. Our group was of 9 brazilians and the compliments were unanimous. The boat is amazing, very cozy and comfortable, the food delicious and the wonderful staff. Our guide, Lia, was extremely professional, attentive and available. The bike tour was really indescribable. We’ve been through wonderful places and we could learn a bit from Netherlands and its charms.
I would like to especially thank Jantien and all the care and attention with which she dedicated to me, when I hurt my ankle.
Thank you for everything Jantien! We hope to see you soon in another bike tour. Big hug !

N. Tucker
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We had a blast on this trip! My first Bike and Barge through Tripsite. Our captains, Hank and Yantine, made us feel like part of the family. The boat was very clean and we loved the table designs at each sitting! Our guide, Francine, made us feel very welcome and really went out of her way to provide us friendly travel tips as we continued on our journey! Thanks for such an awesome time!

J. Geall
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We had a super time. My only suggestion is have a snack for post bike ride and pre dinner. We arrived starving so that would be great. Otherwise this was just an amazing way to see Europe.

T. & C. Tucker
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We had a total of six people who we traveled with. All had a positive option of he barge and the bikes. The owners, Hank and his wife gone over the top to make sure everyone had a good time and responded to any issues or problems. Our bike tour guide was outstanding and explained many of the sites. Great value.