5 star rated Around Lake Constance Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 19 of 19

 

  • Sitaraman R. 4 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Travel agent was very helpful with late booking.
    Hotels were excellent.
    Bike company was excellent and helpful.

  • Gordana L. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    Very recommended for beginners and intermediate cyclists. Beautiful sights as well as great accommodations in quaint towns.

  • Larry F. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    Overall, the Lake Constance tour was excellent - wonderful scenery, good bike paths, and we were fortunate the weather cooperated so well (sunny days throughout). I think we pushed ourselves to do the full lake tour in just five days, because this, in effect, meant only three days of actual riding, so the distances were a bit long, and this constrained our ability to stop and see more of the many interesting sites and just take our time moving across the breathtaking landscapes. The bikes were excellent - first class touring bikes and well maintained. The hotels were decent three-star options, and the breakfast buffets were a perfect way to start the day. All in all, a memorable experience, and we are already talking about a more extended bike tour with Tripsite next year.

  • Sue S. 7 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    We biked around Lake Constance in August and can’t speak too highly of this great cycling adventure! Mostly on well- marked, dedicated, flat bike trails winding through apple orchards, vineyards, sunflower and strawberry fields with stunning views of the lake. We loved exploring the pretty, small towns, castles and churches and savored lots of local delicacies. We swam in the clear, blue waters, soaked up some sun on pretty beaches, and enjoyed lots of art - interesting statues, an international sandcastle building competition, and an art exhibit at the top of Pfander Mountain. The joy of this type of trip is that you go at your own pace and get to spend time doing whatever appeals! We got lost almost daily, but somehow this added to the adventure... directions to hotels in bigger towns were poor, with maps often leaving out many road names. Accommodations were varied - some basic hotels and some charming family owned inns. Breakfasts were generous feasts and hotel staff helpful Read more… and friendly. This was our second Tripsite adventure and we will certainly be back for another!!

  • Laura Z. 7 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    I have to say the whole trip was amazing! We biked around Lake Constance! The hotels were clean and the breakfast at each hotel was delicious!

  • Laura M. 8 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    Biking beside Lake Constance, stopping for a beverage along the way and the complete satisfaction of a great week! And as always spending time with great friends!

  • Jane M. 10 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was beautiful. The extra excursions were popular with our group. The breakfasts were great.

  • Andrea S. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable thing from our Lake Konstanz trip?? How in the world do I pick?? The Biergartens? Picnics in medieval towns? Watching World Cup with locals in small family cafés? The acres of apple orchards? Seeing zeppelins flying over crystal blue water? Feeling the thunder of Rhein Falls? Getting lost and finding amazing parks and kind people? It was the BEST vacation we’ve ever had, and we’re already talking about which one to do next year!

  • Larisa L. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Biking along the forested area near Minau, biking through cobblestoned streets, and seeing a wide variety of things in such a short distance (orchards, cathedrals, castles, swans, mountains, etc).

  • Kristine C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Riding through the countryside, seeing the roadside farms along the way, was far and away one of the most beautiful parts of the trip. We enjoyed finding places to eat, visiting museums, taking an excursion to the monastery outside Stein am Rhein, and finding cool drinking fountains to refill our water bottles! We had some trouble finding the path at times, but the longer we rode, the easier it was to decipher the guide/route. We took one really long, uphill (very steep) wrong turn on day 2- at least riding back down to the correct path was easy. Overall, it was the best part of our trip! Would have loved to have seen Rhein Falls, but I think it may have been too far away.

  • Deirdre R. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    On the first day at the end of the ride, we tackling the "unpleasantly steep incline"(your words).....after going the wrong way at Stein am Rhein. We should have listened to the local 'angels' we met on the way! C'est la vie!

  • Deirdre R. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was the beautiful scenery, because of the spring blooming and greenery everywhere. We recommend someone to go on the trial to prepare markings at every intersection. We had to guess which way to go many times. For international travelers, maybe one page in the booklet of the varied biking markings would be very helpful.
    The law in all 3 countries does not require you to bring a helmet, but we recommend it.

  • Shirley P. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Hotels varied. My daughter stayed at Hotel Krenn-- not great. Food in Rhein am Stein not good. Hotel St Leonard and Hotel Cholsteroff had the best food. The rides were fantastic, would say the last day was a bit boring and less scenic (especially the second half). Would have been nice to include the Rhine falls. Would love to do it again as there were many sights we didn't get to see! Loved the trip and have highly recommended it back home.

  • L. Zantingh 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    This was the most amazing vacation we have had. For our 40th we decided to do a self- guided bike tour around Lake Constance. The first day was a struggle due to many hills, but that was by far the most difficult day. The hotels were clean and the breakfast was fantastic. When biking you see so much more of the countryside, the historical towns were simply breathtaking. On one day we needed to take a boat from point A to B due to an injury and it was very easy to access. I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone.

  • hermann friedmann 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip, through beautiful area. No problems with bikes or hotels. Staff at all hotels was helpful, accommodations great and all our luggage was always waiting for us.

    Strongly recommend emailing pdf version of bike route maps and direction two weeks prior so they can be read and the directions studied. This is especially important in the city of Konstanz and suburbs due to lack of bike route signs in those areas. Had it not been for some friendly English speaking locals, we would have been seriously lost several times.

    Also would be a good idea to provide directions to the next bike path segment from the each hotel as well as the from the end of each bike path segment to the next hotel.

  • Tammy Schmidt 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We could not have had such an amazing trip without the help from Tripsite. Anna from Tripsite worked with me on all of my hotel request, allowing us to customize our trip. We were able to choose the towns we preferred to stay in around the lake. Anna recommended hotels over other hotels and reserved lake view rooms which we requested. Our biking trip around Lake Constance would not have turned out as spectacular if it were not for Anna's hard work. I don't think we will use another tour company. The Barge/bike trip offers it all. An added bonus of traveling by boat is that you don't have to pack up every morning like you would have to with other tours that move your stuff from hotel to hotel with a van. The stress of packing up every morning is not there with this tour.
    On the Barge/boat trips you simply wake up, go have your coffee and breakfast before you set off on your bike no packing required. When you return to the boat after the day's biking Read more… there is no unpacking or waiting to be assigned a room, it is off to the showers and out on the deck to join your new friends. We love the friends from around the world that these tours have allowed us to meet. It is a cultural exchange and add to the interest factor of traveling abroad. Thanks Tripsite, the Oppenheimers will be finding some more boat/bike tours that Tripsite offer, maybe Turkey or Greece.

  • Mark Hensien 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We had a great family adventure. We all enjoyed seeing and exploring new things while staying active. We really liked the self guided option, because it let us control the schedule and select what we wanted to see and do.

  • Ray Damijonaitis 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Good job in organizing the trip. The only suggestion I would have is for the route organizers to take construction projects into account when giving the directions . We encountered 2 cases which made us deviate from the stated route. One of which go us quite turned around.

    In any case it ultimately added to the adventure.

  • Hazem Zayed 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    wonderful tour around the Constance perfect roads visited Switzerland, Austria and Germany perfect organizing and extremely caring team despite that we made the booking at the very last minute.
    Hazem Zayed

PWPC