5 star rated Bike tour reviews with boat/barge Ave Maria 1 to 30 of 72

 

 Boat/Barge: Ave Maria • REMOVE  About Ave Maria

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Avace W. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Guides were amazing. They worked hard to make sure all guests mingled with guests from other countries. Games played encouraged teams working together and finding new information about the villages we visited. Always extra surprises..like visiting the mussel fishermen, panoramic vista of Venice from rooftop. Training on how to use ferry system in Venice invaluable. I didn't think we could get a better tour than our 2018 trip, but this one exceeded all expectations. From snow in the mts. near Bolzano to swimming in the Adriatic, the differences in scenery was dramatic and thrilling. Bikes...so comfortable and fit perfectly. Didn't even need to wear my bike padding! Plenty of time to look around when we went thru villages. What can I say. This tour was the best!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Sandy H. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Fabulous trip. Filled with adventure. Highlights included guide, staff, food and overall camaraderie developed with a great group of people!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Gorge M. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Menu and food prep. much better than other bike and barge/cruises we've been on.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Connie M. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The Venice to Mantua tour was excellent. We particularly enjoyed the stops for cultural and natural sites of interest. The food was wonderful and the staff very helpful.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Greg S. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It is hard to specify just one thing. The barge was great, the food superb and the staff could not have been better. Even though the weather wasn't great, we had a wonderful time. We're looking forward to booking our next tour.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by David & Patsy A. 6 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We loved the scenery and it was such a relaxing bike ride we decided to go on our own rather than go with the group with the guide. The green arrow stickers saved us many times. Loved all the small villages on the way and stopped at a few every day for a cappuccino which was excellent. There was a few errors on the routes however we figured them out and pointed the errors to the guides when they occurred.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Katherine G. 6 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Despite the crowds and chaos in Trento on day one of our cycling (Bolzano to Trento) due to the Alpine Black Feather military reunion, it is now one of my favourite memories and stories that I share! I also really enjoyed seeing all the beautiful poppies, gardens and farmers fields.
    The route guides had some errors and you could tell that they were translated by someone who’s first language is not English but we usually managed to figure things out. We preferred to cycle independently from the group as people rode too slow for us and being clustered together we were concerned about all of us crashing into each other. We loved being able to rendezvous with our guides and the rest of the group for the Carrosel Museum visit, the cheese factory etc.
    The staff on the Ave Marie Barge were fabulous, they all worked together, even the Captain helped set the table. The food was excellent and the chef was a real character.
    The bikes were excellent, we were provided with a pannier and a box style bag for our handle bars. It wasn’t necessary to bring a small backpack as they like you to remove and carry the bags with you when you lock up your bike.
    It was a great vacation and we hope to do another cycling trip in the near future.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Patricia T. 7 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I remember the day on a slightly "tricky" route into Chioggia. When we could bike into the town and rest our bikes for the first look-around -- what an enchanting place in such good company. We knew there would be another gourmet dinner that evening on the barge. Looking forward to another trip through Tripsite.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Carole H. 7 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Ave Maria barge was so very comfortable with wonderful staff & fabulous fresh locally sourced food, beautifully presented.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Casimira R. 8 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our guides were amazing made sure no one was left behind. I wish there would have been transportation for us from the train station to the boat. Other than that the trip was amazing and I would highly recommend this.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Bernadette G. 8 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This trip was the perfect balance for experiencing Italy as well as being physically active. The most memorable part of the trip was being with a group of like-minded active and curious people!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Danna J. 8 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The knowledge about the country that our guide, Hein, provided at sporadic times. He was very astute to stop on a hillock for a small respite when there was no “cafe” in sight. Great information.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Nelson S. 9 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Great trip....tour guides outstanding ,more than outstanding....the food was fabulous and all staff were wonderful....first 3 days of self guided biking were well worthwhile.....stay hydrated if it is warm as cramping can occur.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by John B. 10 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We started out in Bolzano, going from Hotel to hotel the first three nights, and then on the barge for seven more. The scenery of the hotel to hotel was spectacular! The Ave Maria was a fantastic boat, the crew was great and very accommodating. The only negative is- I wish we could have spent more time in each town we went past. But with only ten days, squeezing anything else like more time is impossible.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Heather P. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    A thoroughly satisfying experience in all departments!
    The staff were welcoming and friendly, instructive and knowledgeable. I felt entirely safe in their hands.
    Accommodation has been well designed and thought out. I shared a cabin with a friend and it was easy to find our own space within a relatively confined space.
    The food was DELICIOUS! The meals exceeded expectations and were presented beautifully; the chefs having entertained us with their 'Two Ronnies' routine at the outset of each repast. I have made a batch of refreshing lemon and ginger cordial since my return, which is perfect for a hot summer day and reminds me of a very happy holiday.
    The bike was a delight to ride. I'm not a regular cyclist and I found the daily trips enjoyable and, with the regular stops, entirely within my capabilities. The one day off I had, sailing along the canal, added an extra dimension as it was so restful and enjoyable to watch the wildlife and the scenery glide by.
    The guided trips were enlightening and I now have a 'feel' for the part of Italy we traversed.
    From the start we felt like guests at a houseboat party. It was interesting to meet and enjoy meals with others from various countries and backgrounds.
    I shall be talking about this holiday for a long time thanks to you all.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Ann W. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Best part: Riding through amazing scenery and picturesque villages in Northern Italy!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by David & Patsy 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part? The poppy fields along the bike ride was especially beautiful. Instructions need some updating.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Stewart J. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Hein was a most engaging and entertaining guide/trip leader. The rides were well planned with interesting stops and sightseeing, beautiful scenery and it didn’t hurt that we had spectacular weather. Post ride relaxation and camaraderie on the deck was great as was the value priced bar for beer/wine! The evening dinners were wonderfully prepared meals, truly excellent and overall the trip was very affordable, an A plus value.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Elizabeth Dianne D. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Montova was a really lovely spot and I liked the cycling around there. It might be easier in the towns if the cyclists all had either jerseys or pennies to identify the group so locals see we are all together which would prevent us from getting cut off or unable to pass.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Jeanne W. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most memorable part? All of it! Fantastic! Most memorable: Hein! And Marco! The whole staff! Loved every minute. Loved the e-bike too.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Patti S. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I was so impressed with the level of service and detail on this trip. Completely exceeded all expectations from the guides and the rides to the food and the lodging. So much fun! It didn’t hurt that we had perfect weather. Hoping to do it again!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Karilene M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Every day was a new adventure, loved it all!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Ian S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Superb scenery, boat, bikes and guides. Delightful in every way.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Mary G. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part: Biking with Hans as a guide and the side trips we made.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Nelson N. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy! Piano player and entertainer was a highlight.....food was fabulous.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Prosper B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    My most memorable part of these trips are always at the halfway mark when I realize they are almost over and I want them to go on and on forever. Italy is so beautiful and the ride to Montava is an extension of that beauty.

    My suggestion is simple: Do it. Don't wait. Go on a big cruise ship when you are too old to walk, but as for now, if you're able to bike, you're able to bike tour. Touring is different than racing. Its relaxing and invigorating, spiritual and memorizing. Seeing Italy at ground level and at 11 mph is the only way to experience it, in my book.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Christine D. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our guide, Hein, was the absolute best. Knew everything about history, culture, architecture, food... Had a great sense of humor. Best guide in 10 bike/barge trips.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Patricia K. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Everyday was fabulous. So difficult to pick any one memorable part when you experience Venice, Grana Padana tour and tasting, the oldest clock in the world, a lotus flower lake and charming friendly people and staff.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Myra B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Friendly knowledgeable staff, delicious food, great bikes! It truly was the vacation of a lifetime, and we can't wait for the next one!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Barbara S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Excellent dinners after cycling along some wonderful and varied routes. The tour guides were excellent and kept a great pace for all cyclists. Different activities and surprises along the routes almost every day. Highly recommend this trip. If you plan to travel in July, be prepared for hot weather.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

PWPC