Bike tour reviews with boat/barge Fluvius 31 to 60 of 66

 

 Boat/Barge: Fluvius • REMOVE  About Fluvius

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Sandra B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was our second Bike &Barge trip through Tripsite. Although both trips were different, both were amazing! Accommodations, food, staff, bike routes, guides....all top notch! Even the guests were terrific - a mix from several continents. Tripsite's online reps are knowledgeable, friendly, and personable. These trips offer an opportunity to experience the true flavor of other countries and cultures, without depending on bus tours or renting a car. Pedaling through villages, dining at back-roads cafes, chatting with locals at pubs... you're mingling with the locals, escaping from the crowded tourist spots.
    Planning a 3rd trip. Can't wait!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Michael W. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Great scenery, easy riding - a very enjoyable week aboard the Fluvius.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Bob T. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The on board accommodation exceeded our expectations, the boat exceeded our expectations, the staff were very accommodating, the tour route was excellent and our tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. Great trip!!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Greg G. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part: Biking the Belgian countryside

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Joanne R. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We were thrilled with our Bike & Barge from Amsterdam to Brugge! Everything was 5 star! Highly recommend

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Linda M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The tour guide was great. He took us to wonderful little locations for coffee & lunch breaks while biking. He clearly had built relationships with people at the stops. He took us for walks into town in the evening and knew history of buildings &/or towns.
    The bikes were in great condition.
    The captain (& his dog) were great, circulating and getting to know the passengers.
    The food was very good and the young crew worked very hard.
    I would go again with this barge, captain & tour guide in a heartbeat.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Nancy S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Hard to pick the most memorable part, I continued to be awed every single day! The food was amazing kudos to the chef for sure! The staff on the Fluvius were so hard working and made sure everything from our rooms to our social times were perfect. absolutely amazing!
    The tour guides were so helpful, patience and lots of fun, to say the least!
    Tripsite made every step from the booking to the beginning of the adventure so easy, keeping us informed, answering all the questions etc., etc. (And we had many!)
    Can’t thank you all enough!
    Looking forward to my next trip with Tripsite.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Debra G. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Staff was fantastic! Amazing overall experience.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Charlott H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Bike and Barge in Belgium and Holland was a whole week of memories and is at the top of my favorite trips! You are surrounded daily by beautiful landscapes and architecture unique to the Netherlands. The bikes are perfect for extended times of riding and you are on bike paths close to canals for most of the trip. This is an active vacation which I prefer but is never too difficult. Everything is done for you so there was never any worries and I was relaxed all week. Meeting people from around the world is amazing. I had the fortunate experience of meeting a special couple from Australia and that was a bonus! I hope to do this trip again in the near future.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Jim W. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Great experience, although a very large group to be riding together. The food was good but not great. Made some friends and really enjoyed the trip.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Kathy B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I really enjoyed everything about the trip: the scenery, towns and villages, camaraderie, guide, food , music evening. All was wonderful!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Sue N. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The most memorable part of our trip was people we met, we made some fantastic new friends. The Dutch countryside was especially beautiful, just like out of a fairy tale. Lots of other great countryside and small villages as well, quaint and old European.
    The rooms on the Fluvius were poorly ventilated, and the A/C was extremely noisy. The dining room, lounge, bar and upper deck were great.
    One of our rides included having to take a short ferry ride. We were all asked to pay .70 cents for this. Many of us felt that was being extremely cheap, and should have been included. Really...70 cents!!!!
    For each day of cycling we were only given 1-500ml bottle of water. This is not even close to daily requirements, especially given that on several days we were riding in 30 degrees C. It should have been at least 2L/person/day.
    Our guide lacked enthusiasm. He told us to fill our empty water bottles in the bathrooms, he talked about bathroom breaks in the pre-ride briefing but despite being told (during the ride) that we'd need a break, he just kept going. Rarely did he stop for photos; there was some beautiful countryside that many of us would liked to have captured. For the most part, the only time he stopped was for coffee and lunch. He did not seem overly concerned about safety; when there was a car coming from behind the riders would shout "CAR" and that kept getting shouted up the line. One time I was behind the guide, so we both heard it at the same time...the guide then very flippantly said "Good for the car". Crossing major intersections was dicey; many times he would cross despite the traffic, while the group would then wait on the other side until it was CLEARLY safe to go. This seemed to frustrate him.
    My bike was great, but it would have been nice to have a water bottle holder mounted on the frame, and include a cycling water bottle for it, which people could then take home. Not all bikes were the same; some had 2 hand brakes, while others had a hand brake and a foot brake, which took some getting used to for those that were assigned that type of bike. There was no option to swap.
    The Fluvius crew were amazing. Very, very hard working, yet personable and great senses of humor! Shout outs to Alex, Nadia, Marianna, David & Captain Arno!!! (PS, we hope everything is okay with Nadia's mom).
    Despite the negatives, we had a great time, met some amazing people, saw stunningly beautiful countryside, had lots of fun & laughter. And, we would go again!!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Lynda R. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a wonderful time. The accommodation was above expectations, very clean and more roomy than expected. The food was excellent, plentiful, diverse and attractively presented. The staff was welcoming, helpful and made the trip extremely enjoyable. There were extras above what we expected...guided trips into the various cities in the evening and even entertainment with Music and dancing. We stayed with the guide every day and appreciated his expertise at choosing routes that were scenic and avoiding as much of the traffic when we did have to go through the cities.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Tom P. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The bikes, barge, food and staff were excellent. The biking distances every day were such that it left very little time for off bike sightseeing , but the bike route was really great. Thanks for a great trip.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Bev V. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The most memorable part of the trip was the camaraderie with staff and participants while riding through beautiful scenery.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Bob T. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This is a great way to see Europe.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Brenda B. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Food and scenery fantastic! Jack, bike tour guide was rude at times. Also expected everyone to keep up with his ebike. Several women spoke to him and he got a little better and used a sweep and someone to wait at turns. I expected something a little more leisurely so could take pictures along the way. I did not expect a road race even though I could keep up. However, inspite of this, I have recommended the trip to friends as it is a wonderful experience. I do hope you retrain your bike guides to be kind.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Roberta S. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The bikes were not in excellent condition. Some needed work on them.
    A guide better versed in local traditions and history would have been nice.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by E. Hull-parsons 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I have planned to contact you with feedback, but haven't. The staff was great except the guide. He was not friendly or helpful. We were all disappointed in his lack of leadership and "guiding". Of the three trips we have taken, this was the least appealing. The route was not attractive, and mostly industrial, urban or rural. We were near places we know were charming and interesting, but did not visit them. I'm left wondering if it is that tour company. For 35 people biking there really should have been more staff on the road with us. Still love you!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by W. Nurcombe 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The regular bikes are great but we rented an E-bike for our disabled son which did not work and there was no replacement. Riding a malfunctioning E-bike is extremely heavy and I was stuck with it for two days. Once we accepted normal bikes we all managed much better and my son amazed me. Tripsite was excellent in refunding us for the E-bike. This trip is a wonderful experience.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by L. Gluck 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    1) the description of the mileage per day on the itinerary was not the same as the reality. There were two days where it was listed that there would be a choice of riding 42 km or over 50. When we questioned our guide he said there would be no choice and that they keep asking for the itinerary to be changed but it hasn't happened. There were quite a number of people found the over 50 km too long.
    2) one guide for 36 people was too big a group. Also the same people rode up front with the guide everyday and they had the benefit of some really interesting information that the rest of us were not.
    3) we were assigned tables for dining and they did not change. With such a small number we would have liked the opportunity To move about and sit with different people at meals as we got to know people very well.
    4) all in all, we loved the trip and it was a great experience.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by D. Yeabsley 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I would have liked for the table assignments to have been mixed up a little bit so we could get to know more people. I also think the sweep should have a walkie talkie so he can let the guide know when he has missed a turn. This was a fabulous trip! The guide, staff, food, tour and accommodations were perfect!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by K. Hadley 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Some wait staff could have been more accommodating. We seemed burdensome at times. Running out of food & then having to wait for more or not refilled at all was an annoyance.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by T. Rosencrantz 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Barge trip starting May 7, 2016 on the Fluvius was fantastic from the minute we step on the barge in Bruges until the day it was over and departed the barge to take the foot ferry to Central Station in Amsterdam. Our guide Guus and the boat's crew were friendly and helpful 24/7. Loved all our fellow travelers too. The bike trips each day were through beautiful countryside and centuries old cities. The food on the boat was great. The bunks were comfy and the showers always had plenty of hot water. The bikes worked well. Our guide and our maps got us where we needed to go everyday. Even the weather was perfect! Can't wait to do another trip like this!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by C. Fligner 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Fabulous trip. The guide and staff were great. The biking was perfect. I would recommend highly and without reservation. Great trip. Great biking and guide and wonderful staff. The boat was very comfortable and the country was beautiful. I recommend this trip highly and without reservation.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by J. Proller 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I would have appreciated written directions each day of the turns so that we could do a self guided trip. Also, it would help to have a staff as a sweeper to make sure the group urging in the correct direction .

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Patsy Duggan 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    My sister and I loved the trip and have told many people to book the barg trip. One of the best trips I have had.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Cheryle Cassidy 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It was our first barge bike trip and hope to take another soon. Had a great time.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Craig Attkisson 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We think about this trip daily as it was an amazing experience. It seemed to good to be true when we signed up but it was better then we even thought after we did it. Thank you for your help.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Craig McGowan 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    All good on our bike and barge trip from Amsterdam to Bruges - especially the fantastic boat crew (I got to spend a rainy afternoon on the bridge with the boat captain).

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

PWPC