5 Star La Belle Fleur boat/barge tour reviews — 1 to 26 of 26

4.5 out of 5

 


Valerie L.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

I was impressed with how many sights we were able to fit into the 5-day tour and with such variety! The countryside was so beautiful and biking was a great way to see the landscape. It was exactly what I was looking for! The tour guide (Win) and barge crew (La Belle Fleur) were very professional and accommodating. I always felt very safe when biking behind my guide and the bikes were very well maintained. Everything was as expected or better! Would definitely book with Tripsite again!

Linda C.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Bavaria Tour
Germany

The people we went with and the lovely people we met. The back roads we traveled and the wonderful tour guide...

Sheila S.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Lorraine Tour
France, Germany, Luxembourg

Most Memorable Part: How Saunder, Els, and Rola were all so committed to making sure we had a great trip with terrific cycling, fantastic food, and comfortable accommodations.

Tim O.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Bavaria Tour
Germany

Great riding, fantastic service on board. Unfortunately we hit a heat wave so nights were very warm. The GPS route on my phone was crucial to getting through.

Carol E.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Lorraine Tour
France, Germany, Luxembourg

We had a wonderful time on our trip from Bruges to Amsterdam, everyone was so friendly and helpful...we have booked another trip next Sept.

Jim W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Bavaria Tour
Germany

Awesome experience. Our guide was okay, but not great - and that did not take away from the beautiful scenery and meeting new friends.

Brenda H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Lorraine Tour
France, Germany, Luxembourg

Most Memorable Part? Staff on boat, people traveling and the scenery.

Teresa H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Bavaria Tour
Germany

Loved the whole experience! The scenery was beautiful and we got to experience the country in a way you could not with a car or by train. We quickly bonded with the other people and became friends!

Christiane and Pascale D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

The kindness and attention of Sanders and Als, owners of the barge, the delicious and beautifully presented meals, the bike tours so different every day, the size of the boat allowing super relations with the others, Rola the so friendly and helpful guide and to top it all, 5 days of perfect sunny hot weather....ordered by Tripsite, no doubt!!

Joanne F.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Lorraine Tour
France, Germany, Luxembourg

We truly enjoyed this trip, with beautiful flowers in every town and swans everywhere. One night, we had a bevy of swans peaking in at us as we ate dinner!. The bikes are great, with comfortable seats and smooth gearing. The dinners were always a delicious surprise. Sanders and Els were wonderful hosts, and our guide, Seitze, was extremely knowledgeable about the history of the Mosel area, including Roman aqueducts, medieval castles, World War II sites, and, of course, the history of the EU. Nancy was my favorite big city but we also had a night time walking tour of a little town overlooking the Mosel, called Liverdun...where delicious Madelines come from! Very cute town. We went in early September and the cabins were a bit warm even at night. You can open windows, but it could be uncomfortable in the summer. Biking was mostly flat so not difficult but I definitely got some exercise. Another favorite: stopping for coffee and pastry each morning!

David C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Bavaria Tour
Germany

The most memorable part was the friendliness of the other guests.

Karen H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Tulip Tour - Bruges to Amsterdam - 8 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The guide and crew were amazing. Great home cooked meals with personal atmosphere.

Barbara T.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Lorraine Tour
France, Germany, Luxembourg

This trip was most enjoyable and the cities and scenery were gorgeous.

Deborah C.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Lorraine Tour
France, Germany, Luxembourg

This was a very nice trip. Scenery, bike routes, side trips were all very good. We had a terrific guide who interacted well with the group. The barge was very nice and the owners/crew were exceptional. The dinners could not have been better - Els is an amazing cook.

C. Whytehead
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Lorraine Tour
France, Germany, Luxembourg

A good combination of biking and seeing the sites along the way. Plenty of time in the cities (Nancy, Metz) to wander around. This trip was not about putting on the miles every day on the bike but a good balance of biking and site seeing. Easy biking along canal paths mostly. Our guide got turned around a couple of times getting out of the cities. Els and Sander were great hosts on the barge. Very friendly. Els cooked me a birthday dessert one day that we enjoyed with our group after a day of biking. It was very hot in July and the air movement in the rooms was limited. A small fan would have been very much appreciated. As it was we slept with our door open (as did the others) just to get more air circulation. The barge is in very good condition. The bikes were brand new this season. They are owned by Els and Sander and not leased through a secondary company so they were in good working order.

S. Midha
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Lorraine Tour
France, Germany, Luxembourg

Beautiful way to travel from Luxembourg to France. Bike quality was very Good. Our Bike Guide Arie was very knowledgeable. Every evening we had Four course Gourmet Dinner. Sander and Els were the best Host and Owner of the Barge.

Sunita
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Lorraine Tour
France, Germany, Luxembourg

I really enjoyed my first Barge and Bike Tour(June11th to June 17th)Sanders and Els were very Good. I would like to give them 10 out of 10 for their Hospitality. Our Bike Guide Arie was Great.

J. Probst
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Lorraine Tour
France, Germany, Luxembourg

I fully enjoyed the Lorraine/Moselle bike trip (May 14-20, 2016) with the staff of La Belle Fleur. This was my first bike and barge trip and it certainly was a stress free and relaxing way to see the region. The owner/operators of the boat (Sander and Els) were not only very professional, but charming, enthusiastic, and helpful. Els was also a superb cook so our meals were always delicious. Pieter was the perfect guide (and quite the character!), fun to bike with, patient, knowledgeable of the route and the potential sights, and willing to change the agenda to meet the interests of his clients. The pace was leisurely and we had ample time to view both the valley scenery and the grand old cities along the route. The bikes were in good repair and suitable for the mostly level countryside we were traversing. Another delightful aspect of the trip was that the route was mostly off the busy roads and on dedicated bicycle paths (except, of course, in the cities). The weather, though Read More

L. Bendz
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

This was my second bike and barge trip on the La Belle Fleur for the tulip tour and it was fantastic. We had an excellent guide, Koehn, who selected lovely routes thru rural settings and we saw amazing fields in bloom, the national park leading to the North Sea and the Amsterdam Forest on return. The barge sparkled and Sanders and Els were very warm and welcoming. Our room was very comfortable. The new bikes had very comfortable seats and were lighter & BETTER for riding the 13 to 23 miles/ day distances. Unfortunately we hit a week of rainy inclement weather so we wore every warm layer we had plus scarves and rain gear. Our fellow travelers from Canada and Brazil were very good sports. I can't wait to try the France river trip on the Mosel River next time!! Thank you for making this trip of memories possible!!

K. Vandermeer
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

The trip was awesome... Even tho it rained EVERYDAY...had a great time. The guide was great and he was able to adjust route to accommodate group. The scenery was incredible and enjoyed every day . The bikes were perfect with 8 gears to meet the needs of trip...

L. Vandermeer
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

The boat crew were both very nice, friendly and helpful. The bike guide was wonderful - such a great guy, wonderful sense of humour, very kind and considerate. He was also very knowledgeable about the places we went. The bikes were excellent. The routes we took were wonderful - made very good use of the great Dutch biking infrastructure, and we went through a very interesting mix of countryside, villages, pretty urban neighbourhoods, etc.

L. Daugherty
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

My trip was wonderful. Sander and Els were incredible hosts and Arie was a fantastic guide. The information from Tripsite was spot on and very helpful. The only glitch I had was that the Tram stop for the boat was not correct but we found the barge without too much difficulty. I would definitely recommend this trip.

B. West
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

The experience was very good; the only negatives are beyond anyone's control! I was not adequately prepared for the wind, which was far stronger than I anticipated, and I didn't have anything to protect my ears and eyes. My eyes and lips were severely windburned one day. Goggles, or at least wraparound sunglasses, and a headband to cover the ears are a definite must!

Other than that, everything was good. The cabin was comfortable, and the meals were excellent. It was a very good value. Most tours cover all but a few meals; this covers all of them. Captain Sander and Chef Els were wonderful hosts, and tour guide Arie went above and beyond to make sure everyone experienced as much of the region as possible. The day bike trips and the evening city walks were really interesting.

Thanks for a great trip!

S. Hogg
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

Wish we had managed to cycle close to some tulip fields.

Melody Knapp
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

Sander and Els were perfect hosts. The food, the service, the accommodations were also perfect. I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the cabins. Sander and Els also were very willing to let me stay on the barge two additional nights after the tour for an affordable price. The biking was also very pleasurable, so much so that I was sad when I realized we were on our last day.

Sandi Branker
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

Loved the trip and hope to do it another in 2016!